(2007/11) November MTBs

hmm, if it's whitish stuff dried up i dunno if it's colostrum leh..
but since its liquid seeping out during massage i suppose it is lor..

but dunno if the colostrum will finish or not leh if keep massaging and those colostrum keep seeping...
colostrum is very impt for bb right??
if bb come out no colostrum how??
tink i better check with the nurse/gynae on my next visit on next mon...:p

oh btw, for those who wants to do the breast massage, the nurse told me to do only from 36 weeks onwards leh..
cos can induce labour...

Anyone signed up successfully for the Joyful Parenting talk on 10 Nov? I've sent in the cheque last week and juz got a call from them that my seat is confirmed for the afternoon session. It will cover breastfeeding and got live demo session on bathing the baby. Will share tips with you after attending it

Talking about colostrum, milky discharge, think both i dun have, except maybe some tiny white crust thing. However, one thing I know I have is really very itchy nipples the past week...everyday is like getting more itchy...do any of your ladies experience that? I have started to use lanolin on my nipples which helps a little, but during the course of the day, I feel the itch again, especially at night...sigh, not sure if scratching it will cause clot ducts

Erika, dun scratch...in case it gets too dry and crack then ur initial BF days will be bad....bring ur Lano along and apply when necessary.

hiaz...my stretch marks also getting worse...when i had my 1st born, i dun have stretch marks...this gal really stretching me badly....jus bought the Palmer's anti-itch oil and last night could sleep better aft spraying on.

s@l:: my stretch marks also getting bad and badder by the day. it's like beginning only a few lines at the side of the tummy. now the marks appear even just beside the belly button area. SOBS. so upset.

Cindy, ya...kept asking hubby' "do u mind"..and of course his answer was NO, but cant help feeling its no longer sexy with stretch marks..hiaz...what a sacrifice becoming a mummy. And i heard no amt of cream/ oil will reduce the marks....it will jus lighten....sianz

S@L, Cindy

Dun worry. You gals are not the only one. I started out with only a few, now towards the end of the preg when the bb is growing faster, more lines have appeared. I just console myself that it is not red long lines down my stomach like a watermelon (haha my friend uses this to describe), but just short red lines here and there. I used the clarins oil and cream (although not very diligently). Don't think it's the cream you use. It's probably the elasticity of the skin. My friend says one year after her delivery, now her stretchmarks are still red. I was like "WHAT!" Hopefully mine will go away, but think it's too late to do anything to the existing ones that have appeared, but to apply cream and hopefully they will lighten. But need to apply to try to prevent more from coming out. These days, I apply more. Hopefully it will help...Sigh what a big sacrifice!

poissons:

So u managed to have yr seats confirmed, that's gd.I din sign up for it, ya perhaps u can share with us aft the session. Thanks.

cactusnah, ok sure will inform u the postage soon.
I really stress now cos some mummies waiting for the items to arrive....

I jus managed to pack 30% of my hospital bag...very lazy to do it dunno why..then realise that I need to replace my breastpump parts...have to go and buy later...aiyo so muddleheaded....seems like 2nd baby more relaxed and become 'bo chap'!

S@L,

I havent pack yet. very lazy. Cant find my haversack..sianz.

One thing to note about bf, the breasts may sag. So important to take care of it. If not , will surely not sexy. tummy stretchmark, breasts sag etc
I have been wondering whether ok to wear support bras during period of bf babies. Hmm..must go and check it out.

re: stretchmark
yalor, hv to sacrifice as a mummy, with those stretchmarks... just hope that they will lighten in time to come... i also noticed for this 2nd pregnancy, new stretch marks appear next to belly button :S

S@L and dokie,
same like both of you, also very lazy to pack my hospital bag... am only very reluctantly putting one thing into a box at a time (i'm not packing them into a bag yet until i hv all items ready)... but this process seems to take forever...

plim,

haha you are funny. Yah I agree. Can't seem to be willing to sit down and pack THE bag. Just know that the items are all ready, except it's all over the house. Hopefully my hospital bag will be ready by the time bb wants to come out. Feel much lazier nowadays, carrying bb around in my stomach is quite tiring.

i finally packed my hospital bag already , just some stuffs to throw in last min (like HP and Hp charger) actually spore so small, if forget anything, can buy from hospital pharmacy or get hubby to bring from home.

S@L, dun stress... u r an expecting mummy too. if the stuff come in time, good lah... if not then the rest of us just wait
Online shopping cant predict one mah.

one question on breastpump, can we sterilise it at the hospital? or do we have to do it from home ? I will be bringing to the hospital but dunno when I shoudl sterlise it..

Plim/dokie,
I was packing jus now and my mind was blank, cant recall what i should pack and seems like a lot of things are redundent. so far only my PJs, Breast pump, pads and slippers are in....

i thnk tats the 'spirit' of 2nd time mummies..hahaha....no discipline! For 1st bb i was so strict with my diet..this time round i eat all the crap....haha....

Yami, hee i think we touched on this topic before regrd sterilising the pump. I have actually decied to bring the steriliser along...until i started packing jus now...I realise i was too ambitious. I'm sure can sterilise in hospital ... jus a bit troublesome to bother the nurse. Anyway if u sterilise at home, it doesnt stay sterile for long...u wont know when u need it..so jus bring to hospital and see how. Easier way is use the tablet..but i personaly hate the smell.

sorry, a bit mountain tortoise here. So we sterilise the pump in the sterilise normally and then put in ziplog bag when go out. Just curious how it works. I mean if we bring pump out to work.

S@L, then I think I be kiasu and sterilise at home first and bring to hospital. At the hospital, if required then ask the nurse to help sterilise for me.

I am down with flu and running nose.
May I know if anybody have consulted your gynae during your pregnancy for down with this problem, what does your gynae precribed u?

Mine is on holiday, and I am not comfortable going to the GP. I need something that is safe to take....

tinkabel, my cousin told me, if you bringing pump to work, can consider buying a mircowave steriliser. Then u can sterilise pump, bottles all in office pantry (assuming there is a microwave in ur office)

Yami,

Din know that. Gosh, then end up buy a lot of stuff. I already have the steriliser, now need to get the microwave one. Isnt there any other choice?

the microwave one is actually very cheap... I saw in Metro before...abt $10 or slightly more. Juts a plastic container. that's the method my cousin recomended..

not sure what other mummies does...maybe they sterilise at home and use it straightaway in office?

Yami,

So you are not referring to the microwave steriliser by Avent? This one is what brand? Just put the breast pump inside and put everythg in microwave? Gosh i feel so mountain tortoise.

Gals i went for my 37th check up and CTG yesterday, baby's heartbeat is normal and water level is good and my cervix not dilated yet. so.. i guess i should deliver on time next month on my edd date.

Now feel abit sad.. i starting to get some stretch marks at my lower tummy!!! sob sob sob... any chance to get rid of it after birth?

S@L,

ok, will try not to scratch,but at night when you feel sleepy, u tend to forget, but think must make a conscious effort not to.

So far I dont have any stretchmarks, but I have the pigmentation and marks which was a result of the 2 casese of bad rashes I had...looks worse than stretchmarks to me...its lightening, but very very very slowly...I also ask my hubby if its not attractive anymore, sigh, of cos say no also, but like u ladies mention, it comes with the price of pregnancy, just have to live with it.

re: packing bags
I hope to be able to 'finish' packing my hospital bag when i start to work from home next wk! Jia-you to all mummies who have not started packing :p

Re: sterilising pump
yami, can you share which is the brand of the microwavable sterilizer for breast pump? so cheap only? same like tinkabel, i only saw the Avent one which i think costs ard $100 right?

for sterilising of pump, i tot items that are sterilized will not maintain in sterilized state for long, especially once it's exposed to air... hence, if you bring the pump to hospital, even if you sterilize before that, by the time you use it, hv to sterilize again...

if bringing pump to work, 2 ways to sterilize, 1 is to use microwavable sterilizer, another is to use tablets... besides the pump, u need to sterilize the bottles for containing the b/milk as well...

my HB's fren's wife just delivered at MEH. any reco for contacts or websites where i can order new baby gifts to be delivered there?

plim/tinkabel, I saw it at Metro Tamp (before it closed down) baby section. I didnt notice the brand, it just says microwave steriliser. Maybe you can try to ask around at Metro or JL nursery section? Like I mentioned, it is just a simple two layers of plastic container with cover.

Cindy,
I started wearing breast pads the day my milk came in so u may like to bring a couple to the hospital. I changed them everyday and yes i using nursing bras at home too.

FYI- Bath time for my baby is all done by me, told the CL that i prefer to do it personally. My boy does not cry when he is in the bath. He actually enjoys the bath. My method is that i will talk to him n tell him we are gona shower now, i will tell him what i am gona do 1st. Like washing his hair, putting him into the bathtub, massaging him, i learnt this from the antenatal class. I think it is useful. Another thing is that i will nurse him before his bath time so that he is more settled. In that way, he is not fidgety so its easier for me to handle him.

cindy, catherine,
i've PM u.

tinkabel,
i bought the pigeon steam sterilizer (the big purple one) and i used it b4 to sterilize my avent bottles & avent manual pump. my SIL advised me to buy this coz it's v spacious, can fit in alot of things

yup, agree with Catherine...
i hv both the Avent one and Pigeon (purple one)...
Avent is slightly shorter and has fixed bottle holes to position i think 6 bottles at a time and a tray on top to put the other accessories... of course with this it's quite neat...
But for Pigeon one, it jus has 2 trays and it's up to u to position the bottles and allows all sorts of different sizes of bottles to be put in there.

Wah, this thread moving super fast!

Zzz, I checked already about the Pigeon sterilizer. It does fit the Bfree bottles. Phew! But if you put the taller bottle, you can't sterilize accessories like the teats at the same time coz the accessories tray doesnt fit. The Bfree 12oz bottles are too tall. But for the 8oz bottle no problem. I think.....

Thanks for the tip on massaging breasts only after 36 weeks. I was wondering too because heard that massage can cause premature contractions.

<font color="ff0000">Bulk Purchase for Maternity portraits by Foto-U</font>
Hi, just to share that I am helping Foto-U to coordinate the BP for Maternity Portraits Photo-shoot. I've signed up too.

Maternity Portraits Package Details
- All original images return in CD
- 2 hours studio session
- Including husband and older child(ren)
- Make up for MTB
- 3 x 8R

Three photographers offering maternity portraits in Foto-U Studio, so MTBs can select any of the photographer for her maternity portraits session. There will be a 10% discount on Maternity Portraits Package, if we able to have 20 or more MTBs sign up and make a deposit for this bulk purchase.

The BP price for:
David is $232.00 (Usual price $258.00)
Wai Peng is $214 (Usual price $238.00)
Benjamin is $214 (Usual price $238.00)

Please PM me with your email address so that I can email your the necessary information required by Foto-U in order to secure the BP price.
You can also view Foto-U business thread. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=450761&post=3743265#POST3743265

Any questions, please feel free to PM me (as I will not be access this thread). Thanks,
mei

hello ueno!
I don't know how to check pms man! hahaha can you email me ? muahahhaa so sorry for the trouble.

And so one day you change one breastpad? the disposable or the washable ones? hehes.

these days really feeling very tired and pant very easily. difficulty breathing. do you girls feel it? i can't wait to download my baby!

cindy: keke.. now i also get very tired easily.. every nite when i lay down on my bed.. i will have problems breathing and also my nose will get stuck.. a few times hb tot i crying away. haha.

Twiggy,

I'm glad to hear that.
Ya i thought it is impt to warn everyone first, cos the nurse showed me how to do it on 35th week but told me to start only on the 36th week..

aiya i haben even tried my steriliser and have brought down to my mom's place oledi where I'll be doing my confinement..
do we need to sterilise anything b4 we deliver??

Hehe, at home i m totally braless and i stick the breast pad on my top. I wore sarong at home.

Ueno, my gal dun like to be touched by ppl. When my Mum tried to bath her, she screamed but after a while, she likes it and enjoys it totally.

I managed to find a replacement CL. She will be arriving tomorrow, keeping my fingers crossed that she will be ok.

Went to JL sale just now... very crowded... up to 90%+20% sale... dunno what it means -->110%???

anyway, the normal nursery items are at 20% off whilst some baby clothes got quite good discount... bought some more nappies cos my MIL requested for more...? dunno why? she say i need more... but i told her i already ordered 6 pkts of newborn pampers... anyway, just buy and keep cos can use for many purpose...

Cassie: U bght so many packs of the Newborn diapers? The newborn diapers can only be used for babies up to 5kg of weight right?

I've got 2 packs for newborn only coz will use cloth nappy in day time. Will need to get some S size diapers though. Is the price at JL aft the 20% cheaper? Thanks.

K@ye: Wow, u can still manage to get a replacement CL last min? Thot yr mum and aunt will be helping u thru.Anyway, hope the new CL wil be gd and try to learn more things from her during these period. Pay not only for her service but for their knowledge on caring for the bb. Rest well and have a gd confinement.

Cactus - the nursery items are at 20% sale but i think this sale is only for Robinson and JL card members so the public can't enjoy this discount... i ordered my newborn pampers from my confinement agency, can change the size anytime if my baby outgrows the newborn ones... they do free delivery service. I heard from my colleagues that newborn babies use diapers very fast especially if you BF... mabbe Kaye/Ueno can advise how many diaper changes do we need a day?