(2007/11) November MTBs

Twiggy, yes the 3-in-1 is smaller and cant fit bigger btls like Bfree/Avent.

As for Ameda pump, u might want to take a look at the Mumsfairy website which they also sell the Pumpin pal / Supershield as a whole package. Good if u haven bought the pump. I just received my Pumpin pal/ SS last week...hope it will be useful for me.

But the btls for Ameda can also fit into Avent steriliser le...why MIM ppl say cannot? From what i know, Tollyjoy new version, Avent and Pigeon steriliser can fit all wide neck btls and breast pumps.

Ueno, welcome! Glad to hear you got proper help now.

Grace, so it's ok to just dump everything in the sterilizer and not use the tray right?

Catherine, I know how you feel. Me too! So uncomfortable. Last nite was quite miserable coz got cramps and backache at the same time. Can't find a single position to sit or lie in that's comfortable. Hang in there... only few more weeks and it'll all be worth it.

Haha! omigawd, I'm such a bimbo. Ok ok, I better leave it to my hubby to figure it out. I'm the kind can blow up microwave kind.

I called Baby Kingdom, they said the sterilizer should be able to fit the Bfree bottles. Confused now.

yah yah tweety supposed to deliver today. hope she and baby are well.

ueno, good news that your CL has arrived and is taking good care of you and bb. in this case you will have your CL till baby full month so you can have CL to help if u intend to have a full month celebration.

twiggy, i suggest u check the steriliser again. hehe Ask your hubby to check the instructions =)

twiggy,

if i rem correctly, the other time the pigeon guy demo to me hor...
for standard neck btls, the "ring" on the tray shld hold the outside of the bottle neck..
for wide neck btls, the "ring" on the tray shld go inside the bottle neck..
u test it out again and let me know hor..hehe

btw, aren't the neck sizes of wide-neck and standard-neck btls standardized?? it varies with different brands??

Hi Twiggy, yups, Kenko has one of the better prices around but it is cos the massage is only for 30 mins. Rustic Nirvana is probably 60 mins, as such double the price? I think 30 mins is just nice cos only massage the back & shoulders and pregnant women should not be physically over stimulated. Do remember to tell them to give you an old hand that is experienced with pregnant women. My back ache is totally gone now compared to last week when i had problem sitting and sleeping. Do not be shy to tell the therapist where is aching cos mine went all the way down to my buttocks which is aching very badly. And after that, was like heaven... hehehe

You reminded me of my Pigeon steriliser and all the milk bottles... Havn't tried using them yet... wonder if it is too early to wash them now... no idea if we need to dry the milk bottles before putting into steriliser or can just put them in immediately to steam after washing? After steaming, do we need to air dry the clean botttles or immediately cap them? Aiyoh, so many qns...

I also had problem with my baby bath tub, didn't know how to position it and suggested for my hubby to buy a stool so that it can sit on it. Then my hubby suddenly took it and fit it across the top of the bath tub to my amazement. Realise this period, we really need our hubbies to be around to sort things out. Think i will also blow up my microwave oven.

Cassie,

Dun worry. I havent done much too. Feel like such a slacker. As I was in Shanghai previously, the 2 times I was back earlier,I just bought all the stuff (steriliser etc) and left it at my MIL's place. Haven't even unwrap yet. Finally just got down to washing my bb clothes last Sunday. Think I will ask my MIL.My SIL bought the same avent stuff, so i think my MIL should know how to use it...

hi Tinkabel, was staring at my big purple Pigeon Steriliser just now... looks like an alien spaceship, wonder how come this thing can kill all the germs in milk bottles... hmmm... wonder if we have to wash the steriliser each time after sterilising the milk bottles so that the sterliser will remain sterile? hehehe... and the milk bottles also look like aliens... from short to tall... with their helmet caps... feel like i am going siao liao...

Haha.. you are funny cassie. Gosh, I never even went for the annetal class, so I think I might not make it when the bb comes. Just depending on my MIL (she's ok, but my FIL more naggy). Really super bochap. Now the next task this coming weekend is to start packing my hospital bag.

Been back in Singapore for 1 week plus and the weather's just too horrible to go out. Rain almost every day. Finally went out for a few hours just now, but felt so tired from the walking, that I was actually sleeping on the way back. My hubby says I look like a panda when I am sitting on the bed. Gosh, so big and clumsy.

Ueno, glad that ur CL is here. For me, i just sent away my CL this morn! The final straw came last nite when i told her to brew some Chinese Medicine for me with instructions repeatedly N times.. She still do the wrong things.

This morn, after discussion with my Mum etc.. Sent her away on the pretext that i m moving to my Mum's place.

My gal is discharged from the hospital liao. My PD told me that if i m worried about her jaundice level, i could send her to the polyclinic for the blood test.

Now, my Mum and an Auntie are helping me out. Tonight, i just got to help out with feeding etcc also!

I m actually expressing my breastmilk rather than latching on coz my gal gave me very bad sore nipples. And expressing my breastmilk frequently also helps to keep the supply there....

My MIL so funny, i purposely made my baby slept on her side.. She insisted that must sleep on the back so that my gal won't have a flat shaped head or what.... But i diam diam... I purposely made my baby slept on her side so that she wont choke if she vomit milk out! This is very impt!

i attended antenatal class but already forgotten more than half the things learnt... sigh... i also tired easily even for short trips... feel like a penguin...

Hi Kaye, you did the right thing to send your CL away before she cause more problems. Did you pay her in full or pro-rate according to no of days she was at your house?

keep it there kaye!
So glad everything is slowly becoming better for you with the troubles gone. HAHAHAHA. ^^ if we only do by the expressing method, is it possible to keep the supply coming in? Or still have to let bb latch on?

Hope you'll recover soon. Muacks. Oh yes, kaye and ueno:: your malay massage how is it? is it useful? hehehe never hear you both mention about it leys. ahahh

i order from the last patch...think early Oct...i think she calling according to location....she called me yesterday and we arrange to deliver tonight...i know the shipment just arrived on sunday...

she is really very efficient hehe...now i keep stepping on the mat and try ahah

Just to share that i bought a pkt of maternity panties from Watsons today (Watsons brand) and it is really terrible material. Only realise after i open it at home to try. It is soooooooo HUGE until can use as a laundry net. And the material is so stiff! So far, think Impressions is still the best. Will get somemore from Taka tomorrow.

Kaye, how much do u have to pay to send the CL away? Does it mean she has no job this month?
Just curious whether need to give any compensation.

Hi cassie,
I got mine from OIO maternity @$9.50 per pack of 5. It is disposable cotton type. Pretty good. Highly recommended by my gfs too. I heard Tom and stephanie oso have tis type but too far from my place.

Today just feel extra tired from normal days. My tummy feels funny. Like cramps but comes and goes. Walking also can feel sharp pain. Wonder what is contraction feels like. I have booked next friday for c section. And I suppose to due 24th nov. So i dun tin that i will get contractions so fast. But whole body feeling so lousy.

Thks yoko for the reccommendation. just wondering, are maternity panties supposed to be worn while pregnant cos they are so big? cos after give birth, won't it be too big to wear maternity panties and normal cotton disposable panties will do?

Cassie,

I actually bought the normal panties from watson's. Didnt open to see, but says free size. Think shd be ok. In fact, I still wore my normal panties during pregnancy. So the few maternity panties I bought, are actually still sitting wasted in my wardrobe.

i tin normal panties oso can. jus worried that it may overflow n stain yr panties. cos u can't touch water so is quite troublesome to wash. i too wore my normal panties during pregnancy except towards the later stage i got to get a size bigger cos those mini size can't fit into my gigantic butt. hehe.

Grace,
I get to keep her for baby's full month celebration and she is such a sweet lady too. Things are turning out better than i had expected.

Kaye,
As for baby vomiting milk, did u try burping yr girl? I am not sure abt bottle feeding but i usually burp my boy halfway through my breast feeding or when he pulls away from my breast before the feed is up. It's a sign that he has wind. After that he doesnt vomit at all.

Cindy,
I started my massage on mon, its effective for me. My tummy went down significantly already. Basically its quite comfortable except for the binding. Not that its tight or comfortable but when it gets loose at night, it is very itchy! They will bind yr tummy with a cloth which you are supposed to keep it on till tmr but as u move ard in the day, it kinda loosen up a little at night. So it starts to itch so i removed the binding. U see, when they bind u its really tight right so they leave these marks on yr body and these marks cause the itch, its like heat rash. So must really bear with it n try not to scratch.

Cindy,
Latching on is the best choice as when the baby suckles it stimulate yr brain n produces oxytocin for milk production. Plus it creates bonding between mother & child. But for any reason, if u are unable to do that then expressing yr milk is the 2nd option. Better to feed EBM than FM. But once you are ready, u should try latching on yr baby again.

thank you ueno! hehe...
so you did the massage for how long? 1 wk? Roughly how much did your package cost? haha i haven't contacted any lady yet but i think i'll do so by this wkend. Is your malay lady nice? hehee. hehee.. ^^ And yes, I'll always try to latch on. thank you so much for your encouragement!

Cindy,
I am paying $480 for 6 sessions, on the last day she will not do any binding for me. I think she's very good n nice. If u want her contact i can PM u.

Ueno,
When's the right time to start the massages? One or two weeks after birth? Need the gynae to give the green light?

Dokie, i paid her a weeks of wages plus a few days more of wages to send her away. My CL also know she cannot make it one lah.. So, no drama mama stuff....

I din go for any malay massage, was thinking of going exercising once my confinement is over.

Cindy, if can latch on the breast. Its good but i do expressing. The milk supply is still there.. As long as u pump it at regular intervals, the supply is there... Sometimes, i bottlefed breastmilk to my gal... My breasts will leak milk and i got to pump them out too..

poissons,
I delivered on wed morning, started massage on mon. So its on the 6th day. Think u gotta ask yr massage lady when she wants to start, they should know better. My gynae said its ok as long as i am comfortable. Maybe mine was natural birth n my wound healed fast too. U may like to consult yr gynae n see what he/she says.

I asked my malay lady. She says for natural delivery, usually can start after 1 week. She also ask me to go buy a stomach binder. So she will binder with her cloth and + the stomach binder. Gosh, think will be quite uncomfortable. She also says my stomach not very big, so probably need only about 5 sessions. Think I am more worried abt my butt and thighs, cos I din put on much weight on my upper body.

hi mtbs,

anyone doing breast massage on your own??
on my last visit to gynae on the 36th week..
gynae asked me to do breast massage to get ready for breastfeeding...
but i still a bit blur, dun quite know how to do...agar agar like tat...
and oledi got colostrum seeping out now...
then was wondering if i keep doing, will i run out of colostrum when my bb is born??

zzz: so nice u got colostrum seeping liao.. i got massage my breast when i bathe but don't see anything coming out.
i just agar agar do circular movements with warm water pouring down from the shower head lor...

any of u gals have problems walking now ha?
the whole of this wk i have been walking with a limp leh.. my left feet cannot bend much.. then left ankle machiam sprain big time... so painful.

mandy99,

my toes and fingers feel so stiff. I usually put my hand under the pillow when I sleep on my side. Now, sometimes, the fingers just turn numb and I have to turn to the other side. Wonder why like dat.

thank you ueno! okokay! hehe pm me!
hahaha.

kaye:: Post more photos of your darling! heheh. So at home you'll still wear the nursing bra + pads? Then what about sleeping at night? Aiyoz, sorry for asking. hehe.

zzz:: I also got some whitish/yellowish stuffs leaking, it's like hardening at the nipples, tried to scrape it off but it's so ticklish. hahaa. and yes i think some massage during bath helps. just do in circles, outwards in. but not to massage the areola region or squeeze nipples okay!

mandy:: yes ah, my legs ache so easily and back aching too!!! sometimes like the legs have a mind on its own, very loose feel like falling or tripping. AHAAHA. and like tinkabel, i also have numb hands and fingers, especially after waking up from night sleep.

Can you girls sleep at night? these days after i get up to pee, i have a hard time falling asleep. Sigh. haha.

tinkabel: water retention lor.
these few days i also have sore knuckles on my hand... painful to even move my fingers.
the pain will go away after sometime. heard best remedy is soak in hot water.

thanks for the encouragement twiggy
i know tat everything is all worthwhile when i see my baby. i just feel like sharing my state with everyone. sorry ladies! JIA YOU everyone!

Cindy,
i also have not booked any massage lady. still abit worried tat i might get unqualified or irresponsible type.

ueno,
can PM me ur massage lady's name & contact?

k@ye,
wow u have leaking milk. meaning u wun have prob BF. i'm so worried i wun have BM
my breasts din grow much leh... so worried & sad... last week i even had a dream abt my BM. i dreamt tat i have BM... so strange

zzz,
i massage whenever i shower. but i started only maybe few weeks back. push upwards along the bottom of the breasts. top part massage in circular motion. both go from armpit area towards centre. i think i read this in a free pigeon booklet.
colostrum will run out?! how does colostrum look like huh? i dun see anything seeping out when i massage leh
but somedays when i bath in the evening i do see some whitish things along the cracks on my nipple... somedays only lor

colustrum and milk leaking:
so good for some of u to be able to see colustrum or milky stuff already...
i do not see any of those leh...

cindy:
u mentioned not to squeeze the nipple, but i hv the tendency to do that if i see some whitist stuff and when i squeeze, the whitist stuff will come out leh... why cannot squeeze ah?

sigh, i also very worried that i dun hv enuff BM, cos it's juz another 2+ wks to my EDD and i don't see any crust/colustrum at the nipples yet, only whitist stuff...

hmmm catherine, u attended mrs wong's class right??
i tink she mentioned the way to do it b4...
i tink same as my gynae...

here it goes:
1) push your breast from the outside towards the centre (nipple), do it on your whole breast...
2) then use your index finger and thumb to squeeze the nipples twice (horizontal and vertical like plus sign)...

i was told to do for 1 min on each side and once every day, the thing is i dunno if i shld squeeze at the end of the 1 min or squeeze each time i finish 1 round of step 1..*sighz*

at the end of it, u may see some clear liquid seeping out, but not always lah for me...this morning i saw 1 drop of whitish liquid on 1 side...

sorry im poor with descriptions, hope u gals know wat im talking abt...hahaha

plim,

i tink the whitish stuff is the colostrum...
the massage shld only be done 1 min once a day..
cos may induce labour...maybe tats the reason y cindy say cannot squeeze...

also if u see your nipples got any dirt/crust, etc..
wipe off with a damp cloth..
the nurse say else might clot the nipple/duct/whatever, dun rem liaoz...:p

hehehe plim:: when i went for the course, the lady said squeezing will cause ducts to clot leys. so i think better not squeeze or touch or press the areola + nipple from now on le. just massage the main skin portion.

zzz, don't worry, we know what you're talking about. ^^

zzz,
oh, so the whitish stuff is the colostrum? hmm, always tot that colostrum shld be clear, yellowish in color and more liquidy... this one is more like thick, whitish... hehe, paiseh, even though this is my 2nd kid, i never knew i had to massage my breasts before i'm due to deliver... which is probably why i had blocked ducts right after my 1st delivery :S
Thanks for the info anyway

re: massage
is it really that massage can only start 1 wk after natural delivery? a friend of mine started the next day after she delivered, in the hospital itself!

Seems that not many pple delivering in GlenE... and it also appears that GlenE doesn't hv these masasge services during your 2 or 3 days stay there right? Anyone knows? Else i would love to hv the massage even during my stay in hospital...

re: water retention
i hv this pain in my right wrist when i twist and turn my wrist clockwise/anti-clockwise... i checked with my gynae and it was then that i realised it's due to water retention... he said nothing much i or him can do about it, except that it will/should go off after delivery *crossing my fingers!*

Plim, no need to paiseh...me also..this being my 2nd bb....i also nvr massage..and also for both preg nvr see 'anything' leaking out....but the hard white crust thingy appeared quote early...nt jus recently...i jus squeeze and clean while i bath everyday lo....

My fren also had leaking breasts 2 mth before her delivery....then she had plenty of milk...maybe tats why i dun have much BM for my 1st born ...*sob sob...

Ladies who ordered the Drugstore spreee #1, I also dunno why it takes so long for the 2nd box to arrive...i cant make payment for the 1st box unless th 2nd box also reach Vpost...so jus bear with it a while...i also very sian sometimes not within my control... I hope it can come at least before i pop otherwise will be chaos!

zzz,
i missed mrs wong's lesson on BF. aiyah now i dunno which is the correct method.
her next lesson is in nov. hopefully i haven pop by then. nowadays i keep talking to my

baby. tell him tat i will see him in a few weeks time. even my HB is doing tat. hahaha...
whitish stuff is colustrum ah? good good... hehehe