(2007/11) November MTBs

dokie, doctors are trained in nutrition and diet as well. In fact, this is a lower level of medical science. Otherwise, your gynae won't be able to advice you on what to eat and what to avoid during your pregnancy lah.

Regarding supplements and pills, you may wish to see a documentary on how they are made to understand better about them. Depending on type of pill, if it is drug type, it's chemical composition is to perform its function e.g. antibiotics. ...

But if it is nutrition type, very often, this is when the general public got fooled. How can a pill be nutritious???

Docs dispense mainly drugs and not nutrition pills cos the latter is mostly bogus.

Personally, gynae advises what to eat and what not to eat are very subjective. To me it varies from gynae to gynae.

Pills, supplements are a good nutrients substitute of non organic food. Unless it is organic source if not natural food is never a good source of nutrients.
Cooked food, processed foods are DEAD FOOD. (heat destroyed vits, min etc)
Very little nutrients. To make it worst, With today farming method and the pesticides they put in, I wonder how much nutrients we can receive after we consume it.

Do u know that when one has chronic sickness such as cancer, they have to change their diets to organics, change water system feed on supplements to keep their life?
It is not chemo drugs that save them.

Ok let not discuss this issue. We will rock the rest to bed..hee...

It is my personal opinion. I am a firm believer of eating right with organic food and supplements and hence tend to be make extreme statement. My apology if I have offended u. : )

hahaha... yah, will rock the rest to bed indeed :p the weather is sooooo good today... windy and cooling...

Remembered that you are seeing MS WBB... actually you can ask her for her opinion on organic food, supplements and etc... she can give you very good advice. :)

Cassie, who is MS WBB?
Do u mean Mrs Wong ? If yes, ha ha ha...she always tell me let your child eat mcdonald, eat fries, let him enjoy his life. why so rigid etc?
She is definitely not a firm believer of organic food etc.
I only consult her for her expertise in bf and nothing else...

Ueno,

I'm an Oct mummy n just happened to read your post regarding your CL. I've just given birth and am on confinement now. I got my CL from Confinement Care Agency and I'm really lucky to have this CL who's very responsible, caring and hardworking. She dun give unnecessary advices which I dun like.

I'm not advertising for that agency but know tat u can easily get a CL from agency within 1 day. So, my advice is dun stick to your original CL, better get one from an agency. I can't guarantee u'll get a good one like me but u can change one from the agency or hold them accountable should anything happen. This is why I decided to sign up with agency.

K@ye, your princess is really cute! And so chubbeeeee!!!

Cassie, can't remember if it was you who mentioned going to Kenko for back massage. How much did you pay for it? Thinking of going because I can't sleep at night due to back pain.

Sanbebe,
Maybe you can give us your Confinement agency contact so that we can keep it for emergency cases? Thanks in advance! They are locals or Malaysians?

dokie, cancer is mainly due to genetics and not what you consume... it happens becos one of the cells forgot its identity and become confused and change to something esle... so dun worry too much about what you consume cos it has shown to be inconclusive of causing cancer... nowadays, it is also proven that cancer is caused by bacteria infection... as such, we can only do what we can by eating healthily, other than tat, its fate.

For info, organic food is not 100% chemical free, depends on how it is grown.

Also, eating organic food and supplements will not help to cure cancer. It can only help to minimise any further "pollutants" that we take into body, so that the body can focus on overiding the cancerous cells.

Hi Twiggy, you can go to their website www.kenko.com.sg to see which branch is most convenient for you. Suggest to call and make a booking and inform them that you are pregnant so that they can arrange for a suitably qualified therapist to be available. I go to see Terence at the DFS branch but he has gone on leave and won't be back till mid-Nov. I paid $39 only for 30 mins back massage. The therapist will use different massage method for pregnant woman.

Personally, my experience after the massage is that the "chi" will flow better... and help to relax the lower back muscles and ease baby's descend into pelvic brim... if you are lucky to get a good therapist... swimming helps too to allleviate the back pain and help baby to turn...

cassie, it is more than Genetics :p diet, stress, weak immunity etc
actually everyone has cancer cells, it is only when u are weak then it will manifest and take control of your bodies.

yes on organic because there are different grades of organic certification.

erm...eating organic food and supplements does help. May be you are blessed not to see or witness any live cases of people having cancers around u and hence not awared.:p

The body can only override when your cells are enriched and properly fed. How your cells strengthen depend on the nutrients u feed them. Only with strong immunity then we can overcome it.

I am not worried. I am simply living on informed decision.

K@ye, but i like her hair. very neat and tidy...:p
U made me recalled when my child was hospitalised for jaundice at TMC, I broke down when I gave him to the nurse to put under light for 4 days. I couldnt control it. My heart ached like mad. But his jaundice carried on for almost 3 months because bm leeched on to the yellow pigments (cant spell) rather than execrete out from his body.
Subsequently, I went to church and all the bf babies are alike...yellow yellow..hee.

erm..it depends on what source u read. Your decision or facts would be influenced by it. What u hold as truth is very dependent on the source u came into contact or read about.

My reference point is definitely not from a single source :p and it also covered live testimonies,living examples, extensive research etc
Not an appropriate forum to share over the challenge of health issues. very bleak topic! Let discuss some other times. :p

Is it true that BF will cause/lead to jaundice? Hahaha I heard ppl saying that wors.

And beloved daughter:: Hello! hahaha now we all know who you are but I guess you can't match us to our faces.

grace:: haha i notice her cause she's special lah! hahah in fact, she's one of those that gave me a lasting memory other than the other mommy who is super tall and slim. -.-"""

Cindy , from what i know yes. U can double confirmed with lactation consultant. But as long as after 10days, the baby passes the liver function test, PD will ask you don worry as it is caused by BM.

For info, Cancer Research UK is the world's leading independent organisation on cancer research in the world and they have more than 4,250 scientists. So i trust what i read from there :p

thank you dokie! But if it's not serious, don't have to admit right? When will they usually develop jaundice?

Yami,
I bought the caps from the pharmacy at Mt A. I am not sure abt other hospitals. There are different brands n sizes of bottles given to u but there is only 1 type of cap, its from Tollyjoy, it fits all types of bottles.

Sanbebe,
Thanks for the info! But i think if my CL does not show up tmr, i will take it from there myself. Afterall, i managed 1 wk without her, dont see any reason why i cant do it for another 3 wks. Hehe...

cindy, cassie, I am not sure either because it applied to me. That is what PD from Singapore baby and child clinic dr ong explained to me using a pamphlet 2.5 years ago. I couldnt rememeber whether did Mrs Wong confirmed or not. I think I still have the article. Let me go and search for it.

But several of my church friends (not all) also have the same understanding. their babies also suffered from jaundice for 2-3 months. One component of the bm leeched on to the yellow pigment which supposed to be execreted out by the liver.

Perhaps check with your lactation consultants or PD to confirm.

Cindy, if not serious don have to. My son is level 24 pretty high so bomian lor..have to admit. So PD asked me to stop bm for a day and see whether does it reduce the level. Indeed it did. Second day resume back to bm as he is under light.

K@ye, your Medela PIS advanced pump is it new model? I wonder what is the performance like?

My SIL uses Medela Swing. Also pretty good according to her.

thank you dokie!
will check out with PD i guess. hehehe..

beloveddaughter:: no la! It's because you're pretty lah. we're all short, fat and stumpy right now. ^^

beloved daughter, u not short and fat lah.. u very petite only. u OBVIOUSLY never see me hahah..

so funny, finish class liao then we guessing who is who =p

Beloved daughter i was also in the class... i also tot u not chinese leh.. i admire your dress everytime haha... your dress all so sweet.

eh eh... i got ask want to meet or not from first class, nobody reply me. sob sob...
only met vivian at 5th class and cindy at last class..

hehe, no picture for you to see =p

dun wan la i so fat now too shy to let u see my face.

grace, i tot u all arrange for meet up before class during 1st lesson. so all din meet up eventually ar?

vivian, yah loh, u rem i say arrange to meet up. nobody reply me loh. so i guess i better not force mah hehe... so all din meet at all until now. =)

beloved daughter,
actually first class nothing much lah. only on nutrition and mostly stuff we know already. first class was super crowded cos it combines the thurs, fri and sat class. i was late too cos kena stuck at the cashier at mt a trying to pay the fees.

hehe, i never take photo lah cos look so different from last time. my gf ask me to take photo when in the delivery suite hehe. anyway, maybe someone will organise gathering after everyone pop..cannot imagine if all the bbs cry together =) surely we will have chance to meet.

this thread was missing the entire morning...
couldnt find this thread till after lunch.

ueno, thanks, I will be delivering at mount A too, so will get it from there. Another 'things to do' to add to my list (or rather my hubby's list)

Hi poissons,

This agency has a website but I'm unable to post it here. You may contact Gilbert at 9111-4418.

Ueno,

Hopefully your CL arrives today. Well, it's not easy to do confinement by yourself and I admire your courage. Do rest more if you can.

Hi Cassie,
Thanks for the Kenko contact. $39 is not too bad. Rustic Nirvana was $98. Heartache to pay so much so I didnt go.

Ueno, just called my confinement nanny yesterday and she's currently helping someone till next week. Then after that it's my, on 22 Nov. If you really need help, I could check with her if she wouldn't mind helping you in between? She's charging me $1700. Of course I dont know how good she is coz I never met her but she's Malaysian, recommended by a friend of mine. Let me know.

Anyone using Bfree bottles? I just unpacked my stuff today and realized my Bfree bottles don't fit into my Pigeon sterilizer.
Wondering what sterilizer pple use for Bfree bottles?

twiggy, i tried my pigeon sterilier for the pump to bring to hospital and avent bottles. it works perfectly. did u buy the one that has 2 layers inside and its purple in colour. i cannot rem now if the layer can be separated...

Twiggy: I(or rather my bb)will be using BFree bottle, that's why bought the Avent sterilizer, which pigeon one did u buy, not the big one? Else shld be able to fit in right?

S@L / Grace / Cactus,
Yikes, mine cannot fit. I bought the 3-in-1 one that can be used as food warmer also. It seems to fit only narrow neck bottles, not the wide neck ones. Will have to call Baby Kingdom and ask if they're willing to let me change, if not, I'll have to sell one or the other.

I got another complexity : I think I'll be buying the Ameda Lactaline pump. Does it fit any bottle or only certain bottles? If not, how? Pump into one bottle, then transfer to another bottle for feeding? Alamak! Why can't they just make everything universal size!

twiggy:: haha i think best is to stick to one brand and use everything from that brand. hehehes

beloved daughter:: no photo for you to see too! but don't worry. we'll certainly have chances to meet hahaha.

grace:: i really didn't see your post to say meet before the class ley. the thread sometimes moves so quickly i miss out some stuffs. ^^ but so glad got to know you and vivian in the end. Our EDDs are so close, we really might be neighbours! and my boy can say hello to your girl and we give each other support.

Been a busy morning today! loads of work to clear off man. -.-

twiggy,

pigeon shld be able to fit wide-neck btls as well right since they also have wide-neck bottles mah..
really cannot fit??
wat do u mean when u say cannot fit huh??
i oso got the same steriliser as u leh...

twiggy, oh u got the 3 in 1 pigeon steraliser. me got the steam one only and it can fit alot of things.very huge space inside. u should go back to the store and ask them to open up the avent one and this one to see the space. i got this cos its supposed to be the biggest one and can dump anything in. my avent bottle also wide neck btw. Hope they allow u to change.

Cindy, yah i know the thread moves very fast.. i am kidding lah. glad we get to know each other. and yes we may meet in the wards since edd is close...

S@L:

I finally saw the pigeon FTG today at the kiddy palace in Marina Square. Hmm, I think this is a better shape as compared to the FTG 1200, as the latter is like square shape, hard to put in diaper bag. I thought the Pigeon FTG was a gd size. But think I will wait for the next sale. I heard it was going at 20% at the JL sale earlier. But went to JL at the old OG and MS, din see it. If anyone sees this with a discount, please let me know where. Thanks.

ZZZ and Grace,
Eeerh... maybe it's me being blur here. I saw the demo picture and you're suppose to fit the neck of the bottles into this tray thing. But the Bfree wideneck bottles don't fit in the tray, but can still fit into the sterilizer because it's quite big. That means can use or cannot use huh? Aiyoh! I'm so sotong.
Zzz, don't panic yet until I find out properly first. :p

I called the seller for Moms in Mind to ask about the Ameda Lactaline. Apparently, their bottles can fit into any sterilizer except Avent. So I guess easiest is to stick to my sterilzer and try to give away my Bfree bottles if they really don't fit lor.

Cindy, I wanted to stick to one brand, but the Avent breast pumps are so ex. And the Pigeon 3-in-1 sterilzer was very tempting coz so many features. Then I read that Bfree bottles prevent colic, so ended up buying all different brands. Headache. Somemore pregnant women not very smart because of all the hormones...

Twiggy,
Thanks for the info, really kind of u. Thank God, she arrived today! Am happy with her so far. She seems very experienced n is very caring towards my baby. Will be well taken care of from now.

twiggy, i just put the bottles on the tray. but mine is the small 125ml avent bottle. and it works..i go home and see again. btw, i am using pigeon steriliser, avent bottles and will buy avent pump. got the pigeon steriliser cos its cheapest big and everything can go in.

ladies, i feel so big, heavy, tired & uncomfortable nowadays
today lunchtime i felt breathless after walking for 5 min to foodcourt .. came back office also breathless

when i sit down, the bottom part of my bump sticks to my thighs, quite uncomfortable. i also cant really bend forward to take my food coz bump obstructing. sit nearer to table also cant coz of bump. *sigh* i feel like an elephant!!!