(2007/11) November MTBs

Cassie, ya la...understand...but if mummies want to take good intentions as tt...then its bad luck.

K@ye, ur princess is so sweet...how i wish to hold my little princess in my arms now too....BTW,she's quite chubby as a new born. How's ur BF coming along?

S@L, i think it will be bad luck for you if anything happens to them leh... cos pills cannot play play... they are not in original form... you duuno for sure what is added to the pill. Unless you buy raw fenugreek seeds and cook it yourself. Everheard of "allergy"?

Hallo ladies,

Been an emotional weekend for me, I cried like dunno how many times liao...

My little gal is hospitalised for jaundice and be discharged on Wednesday. It really pains me when i admitted her into the hospital this noon...

My confinement lady is driving me nuts with her kaypoh probing and she din take good care of my gal. Claire is having diaper rashes and skin rashes and the PD told me that her privates are not cleaned properly.

So now, my Mum will help me out with taking care of her when she is discharged from hospital.

As for breastfeeding, i will let her latch on when possible and supplement her with formula milk at night. Currently, i m pumping out my breastmilk to prevent engorgement and keeping the supply there for my gal for as long as possible!

K@ye,

Your little princess look so sweet and peaceful. And the hair, I like bb with lots of hair. And both my hubby and I are born with lots of hair too. hopefully my bb boy will be like us...

i think taka having some roadshow for fridge to go. i won a taka voucher from my company dinner... just in time to get this fridge to go for free... hehe......

According to the website link from yami, it also dare not confidently say fenugreek is safe leh...

"Per Hale [Hale 2002], "The transfer of fenugreek into milk is unknown, but untoward effects have not been reported." Hale classifies it in Lactation Risk Category L3 (moderately safe)."
And there is a whole section on the "Possible side effects and cautions"...which u may like to read...

beloved daughter,
yap, dr fong going to be away on conference from 8-10 nov. did he not mention to you? otherwise it must be he thinks you will deliver before then. mandy was told that she should deliver before he go and her edd is 5 nov. mine, he told me there is a replacement in case cos my edd is 15 nov. i suggest u better check with him again on your next appt. werent u in the mount a antel natal class too that just ended?

K@ye, *hugs* no worries..its a stage for 1st time mummy..i also cried buckets during my confinement cos old folks tried to 'help' by giving all kinds of suggestion and some visitors also give 'tips' and what-nots....also drove me crazy.

Do ur best to give her the BM or fluids she needs to flush out and bring down the jaundice level. So what are u going to do with the CL now?

K@ye, hang in there... at least u have ur doting mum to help you out. Be firm with what u want the confinement lady to do or maybe ask ur mum to supervise her. Mostly importantly, must keep ur spirits up... Jia you.

CAssie, yes i understand ur concern. thanks for pointing out. So mummies whom i have 'recommended' somehow or another products to u....pls do your own research as well cos what worked for me might nt work for everyone hor...

tinkabel, there was household fair at TAKA earlier this yr and FTG had a booth there. i saw the FTG-1200 going at abt 10-15% discount. but only for selected range. Maybe this time will be the same.

Wow K@ye, ur girl looks so sweet!

Aiyoh, ur CL didn't clean her privates properly... how can?... heart pain... tat reminds me to closely supervise my CL for the first few days... heard that CL cannot be trusted on their own... have to watch them for a few days and if they are not up to standard e.g. hygiene, better to sack them than argue with them, esle they make things difficult during confinement period... sigh... another headache...

K@ye,

hugs, hugs. Keep your spirits up. Things will start getting better. Must definitely monitor yur CL going forward. And terminate her if necessary.

K@ye,
Beautiful photo of claire. She looks fine. Don't worry too much about jaundice. Both my sons had it and the doctors just told me to let my kids have more sun!! I think doctors in Singapore tend to play things on the safe side and make sure that everything is fine before they allow your bb home. You are experiencing post natal blues, so natural to cry.

I'm shocked to hear your CL is not very good!! Thats the thing, we hire these CL without seeing any credentials or even an interview. Just word of mouth if we are lucky. Then you allow this person into your home for 28days. I will be leaving my CL in charge of my boys while I'm in hospital. I hope she is trustworthy. But you just never know. I'll be meeting my CL tomorrow when she arrives. I need to get to know her first before I go into hosiptal, so I asked her to come early.

I went to see my gynea today, and she says I'm already 3cm dilated. The pain and tenderness in my V area she tells me is caused by the Strep B

However, she thinks I should be able to hold out til thursday. So we are proceeding as planned.
My Braxton hicks are getting stronger and stronger. I'm monitoring it because gynea said that if contractions come every 15mins in 2hrs you have to go to hospital.
So far I'm getting it 'almost' every hour!!!

Tweety, i agree with you about the problem of hiring CL. No proper credidentials. Tat's why i decide to go thru Confinement Agency so that i can hold them accountable should anything happen. Esle, if i employ CL directly, i can't verfiy her background and she may just "disappear" after doing something wrong. Anyway, these CLs very smart, they know that they are only in your house for 28 days, free lodging and free food... and they may take advantage of poor mother and baby whilst hubby is at work... sigh... after saying so much, really regretted hiring CL... but already paid deposit...xian...

Any MTBs started their ML already? Me back in Singapore for 1 week already, but still working remotely prob for 1/2 the time. But weather in Singapore been so bad, can't even go out to town to do some last min shopping.

beloved daughter, last person rearch class ah. if my memory never fail me,i can rem 3 last ladies. 1 that looks like indian/malay, another that has hairband and one that sat rite in front in the middle row. in front of the projector.
i cant rem the sequence... which is u?

Tinkerbelle
trying to post this afternoon but dunno why post not upload. I bought clarins around 50+ also. Thinking of getting more for confinement massage. I still got some stretchmarks but i suppose not so bad. I started since 3rdmth still got bit of stretch marks. Also the armpit becomes darker and around the neck lines. EEEKKKK..

Wow some of u only put on like 9kg to 10+ that very gd. I put on 20kg liao
. Due next week and hopefully now my weight i can control and only give it to my baby.

Be mother very big sacrifrice. Figure change skin change and become so clumsy. That why alo of husband go astray after seeing this type of figure. Hiaz....

Ytd i heard something very gd from class 95dj. telling all father to be stay at home with young mothers (those who baby less than 2 yrs old) cos young mothers can be very lonely. That very true.

Grace regards the breast pump, i really not sure single or double not stated . I bought the Avent handheld electric pump. I thought that i will bring to hospital cos i dunno how to use. Hehe. I also dunno if it is rite to buy now cos maybe i dun have milk wouldn't be waste of $$$. But anyway i hope have milk. My breast expand from 32C to 38C. So better be.

Kaye,
Do take care n stay relax! If it makes u feel any better maybe i can share my story with u.

Things didnt go as i had planned. I called the CL when i was in the delivery suite to inform her so she can get ready to come to sin when i am discharged. She told me she had a fall couple of days ago n she cant walk properly now so most likely she can only come to sin on sun night as she is doing some treatment, even that is not confirmed. She would to see how her progress is before she can come out, maybe it will take longer. Need to call her to reconfirm on sat. We are shocked! Can u imagine there i was having really strong contractions n there she is breaking this news to me. For a moment, it took away the pain! Ha.. I wasnt really given a choice, its too late to get someone else to be CL n i am not really in the right frame of mind to think plus my hubby was there asking me how?? Pressure and stress man! So i told her i will stick with her n i will call her on sat to confirm that she's better. Come sat, she told me that she's better but cant bend her leg so she cant squat. Asked if i am ok with that, so i said ok cos i think if she can walk that she can cook and do simple things, at least she's of some help.

My parents are not in sin n my PIL are in their 80's so basically i am really on my own with my hubby. Guess what happened next? she called me 3 hrs later saying that she had diffculty getting a ticket to sin as the tickets are all sold out, the earliest she can get is on tues, meaning she arrive on wed! Ha...I didnt know how to react then. Finally, i decided to still stick with her so i am expecting her tmr. If u are wondering how i survived these few days, we ordered the confinement food for a week which will be able to tide me till she comes and my hubby took leave till wed to help out. I think he's more tired than me cos he's my 24/7 maid now. PIL and hubby do not want me to move around too much, want me to rest as much as possible.

My baby feeds on a routine, 8-10 times a day, pee n poo 8 times a day, bath once in the morning. And i am in charge of all that.
I am a 1st time mummy, have zero experience in taking care of baby but i am doing my best. I tell myself i need to be relax n remember to stay calm at all times. I am so proud of myself! I truly appreciate what me and my baby has shared this past week, it will never happened again. If i had the CL here since day 1 then i would never have experienced all these things. So I encouraged u and all the ladies out there to be strong, stay strong and feel strong for our babies. Lets embrace motherhood with a huge smile!

Good Luck!

For those who are looking for storage bottles for their EBM, u can ask the hospital for free glass bottles. I took 30 pcs from Mt A when i was discharged, they are of a good size 60ml, u will need to go down to the pharmacy to buy the plastic caps for the bottles. i paid $22 for 30 caps.

I asked my doc about fenugreek and he said if i want something to boast milk production, usually they will give Motilium. Its safe for breast feeding. But he said its better to let it happen naturally but if all things fail he prefers Motilium to feugreek as it is much more effective.

Actually any pills u are taking a risk! Be it from doctor or we buy off the shelf.
who said from doctors's prescription would be safe? Does doc know all our allergy? Are doctors good nutritionist? Ponder!

The most importance thing is that they are many consumers eating it. This will narrow down the risk of getting any unknown side effects.

Whatever we recommend over the forum, it is with good intention, we give our views, no one should fault us if after consuming it, there is any side effects.

I am a person who is free from giving my opinion. I wont hesitate be it pills , supplements or food items if I find it useful and good for consumption. All of us should be mature enough to understand this...:p

I have not read anything about fenugreek yet. So I am commenting generally. But I dare to try because there are many people drinking it.
If feel unsafe, take it once and wait for any side effects over the next 3 days, if nothing happens, continue to consume.

Actually gone are the days whereby natural food are also safe. Farmers put so much pesticides etc in their growing process...sigh!

Ueno, thanks for sharing with us. I feel encouraged. Despite the turmoil at home and stress, u remain positive and optimistic. Thumb Up!

You're doing good Kaye!! I love claire. she looks soo peaceful and sweet!

Take care ladies! Really excited now. ahaha..

oh yes kaye:: which pump did you get? is it easy to use? I got the electrical isis uno avent pump but am afraid when it comes, hahaha i don't know how to use! muahahaha. So when you pump out, you feed claire through bottles? ^^ Can't wait to see my little boy! hehe.

grace:: i think the last person that came is was the indian/malay one lah, the one that sat in the first row, anyone later than that? I can't remember, muahahhaa.

ueno:: I will keep in mind your positiveness. it really did help me gain more confidence in BF especially when you mentioned your milk came in on the third day! Keep it there, hang on, only better days to come. muacks.

K@ye, congrats again! I am feeling more excited now. Hoping to hold my baby in my hand like you soon. Lovely gal! Her hair is so neat.
By the way, does she look like you or hubby?

k@ye: Claire looks so sweet!!!

you take care... my colleague also had a CL who was very v hygenic. end up she did all the cleaning of the bb herself. Hang on there and things will get better.

Ueno: you are really very encouraging.... reading your posting I think make most of us positive with the additional responsibilities that we will be undertaking soon.. ;)

post more pictures when u are free.

k@ye, congrats, your princess is lovely
and i agree with S@L, that your gal is chubby as a new born :D

Re: Childcare Leave
There was previously some discussion on childcare leave before. I picked this up from MOM website "The leave year for childcare leave will be any 12-month period as agreed by both employer and employee. If there is no agreement, the leave year will be the calendar year by default".
This goes to say that one can either consume the 2 days per year of CC leave based on calendar year or from the bday of the baby to the next (12-month period). Of course, this depends on the policy of your company, check and see if they allow that... otherwise, i think no lugi also lah, cos you'll still be entitled to take 2 days when your child is 7-yo, just that you only have up till Oct/Nov for that last year to consume that 2 last day...

ueno, i think you're doing great... there's really so much to learn as a new mummy and i'm so happy that you're doing so well, it really encourages the rest of the new mummies! Keep it up!

morning ladies

congrats k@ye, glad tat u had a smooth delivery! pls stay positive. u can always come here to share ur feelings

ueno, ur baby looks so peaceful & contented. no wonder u have no prob BF. u are so strong! we really need to learn from u!

RE: Childcare Leave
my company allowed me to take 2 days childcare leave this year. oh ya, i also arranged to have my payslip sent to my house during ML

RE: stretchmarks
eh i got a stupid qn: if i dun have stretchmarks while preggie, will stretchmarks appear when my stomach is trying to return to it's pre-preggie state?

Catherine,

Stretchmarks will usually come out during your pregnancy. So I guess if you have have stretchmarks now, u should be ok. You are really lucky...Although I have been applying the stretchmark oil / cream, I still have some stretchmarks. Now, just need to apply more, to make no more come out. Haiz...

k@ye,

claire is really beautiful..
im so envious..and really u gotta be more positive...jaundice is very common, do not worry..
i guess u r going thru the post-natal blues period tats y...
i guess i will prob be like u when the time comes...be happy okie...

ueno,
ur words r indeed very motivational..
and i tink u really ought to be proud of yourself for doing such a fantastic job...

K@ye: what a lovely pic of claire
don't worry too much about jaundice..it is v common.. my girl also had to undergo phototherapy in hospital the last time..your CL is horrid! agree with the rest.. might as well sack her..jia you with the breastfeeding

ueno,
u are very brave and i am sure all the sarcrifices are worth it. I hope your CL will come tomorrow and relieve you of your much needed help. when she is here, rest more and sleep more.
do talk to us here if you need any help...

yoko, i think the pump you bought is a single one.

beloved daughter, so now we know which one is you. i thought i overheard you speaking chinese. but u indeed look malay/indian (no pun intended).
i am sitting behind your role and is in yellow with classes. cindy and vivian sitting close to the door entrance =)

cindy, your memory better than mine.. haha. i cannot rem the sequence of who came in last heheh..

ueno, ur story will motivate all of us! good to hear that u have a supportive hubby to tide u over. Can I ask whether you buy the caps for glass bottles from the normal pharmacy (as in Guardian Pharmacy) or the hospital pharmacy? My cousin told me should get glass bottles from the hospital but she not too sure where to get caps.

hi, im a first-time mum and a new member in this forum. im expecting our baby girl this 3rd wk november
i was hoping you could help me find the address of a baby clothes wholesaler somewhere in Queen Street. I still need to buy more clothes for my baby. I have no idea where I can buy cheap but good baby things. Hope you could help me. Thanks!!!

welcome to this thread rachel

other places where u can get baby stuff:
Baby Hypermart - 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park
Baby Kingdom - 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 #01-00 Shun Li Industrial park
Tom & Stefanie - #02-39, Tiong Bahru Plaza
Toa Payoh Central (near This Fashion, opp Bengawan Solo) Baby clothing $2 & Mother's Front-button Sleepwear
Cheong Choon Store 65323855 Mon-Sat 130-830pm Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #03-132 People Park Centre

Hallo ladies!

Thanks for all the encouragement esp from Ueno, made me felt better!

I wont be sacking my confinement lady even though the urge is strong. My Mum told me to take this as a lesson learnt and at least, my CL helps to do the housework and cooking with my Mum supervising. Only, i have to take full time care of my gal!

The PD told me that her jaundice is coming down and she is one hungry baby!

Cindy, I m using the Medela PIS advanced pump. It is much more better than using the manual pump. YUp, do ask for glass bottles from the hospital. They will give it to you and like Ueno, i also got the caps from the pharamcy.

Dokie, my gal resembles more like my hubby. She is born with a lot of baby hair. Quoting the elders' words, "A very fierce gal."

Ueno, i opted for 4-bedder and yup, i m just next to you in the delivery suite. I heard ur baby cried!

Hi Ueno, i have heard similar encounters of CL not turining up etc. It is great that you are able to keep your spirits up and have the support of your hubby & PILs during this period. I am sure this will make your family bond stronger and treasure this moment... Jia You!!!

Hi Dokie, no offense intended but your comments about doctors quite extreme. I mean after all doctors are professionals. Why see a doctor if you don't trust them? or rather you believe the masses. For info, most pple who took Slim 10 suffered no ill effects except Andrea De Cruz and this other Indian lady... so is it right to follow the masses for medical advice just becos everyone is doing so?? I suppose its your life and up to the individual... at the end of the day, if anything happens, you will be hard pressed... we shouldn't be so naive to say that "if everyone is taking it, so it is ok"...

Rachel, you can also try online shopping, I tried the below site and was satisfied with their products: http://babycloset.blogspot.com/

I bought the carters rompers set. And they sometimes offer discounts on top of the listed price.

or you can try John Little when there is a sale (not sure whether the 20% nursery sale still on going)

Cassie, not offended lah because I know my perspective and stand and where I am coming at. It is really a personal judgement call.
Perhaps u are not awared, Generally speaking, Doctors are trained in drugs(ie chemicals) and never good in advising us on diet or nutrition.

Seeing doctors for illness and hearing their advices on nutrition are totally different.
They are good in prescribing drugs but I am doubtful about diets,supplements or pills.

I never follow andrea de cruz case. Slim 10 is off the shelf. Like i say, be it from doctors or off the shelf drugs or supplements carries the same risk. if that is the case, of cos, we choose the one whereby more people are consuming it. No one including doctors for sure know whether any harm to our bodies.
It is really personal risk to take.