(2007/11) November MTBs

Cindy, I was very hard. I told the nurse. TBF. No FM. So he wasnt on any FM during my stay in hospital. I just let him cried.
this time I am not sure whether I would do the same. Still thinking about it. I am not sure whether is that wise.
My milk came in within 4 days. Tue night delivered Sat am last time. This time, not sure whether so fast even though my breasts seem all ready.

Dokie, how do you know your breasts are 'ready' jus curious. cos i have heard ppl leaking milk at this stage...but nvr happened for both my preg. sometime i really wonder if i really have not much milk for my 1st born or becos the initial stage BM wasnt established well.

dokie,

how many days can bb go w/o milk??
if we do not have BM, and cannot give FM, do we give water or anything??
i very worried leh, wat if my milk supply take a long time to come?? *touchwood*

I have some liquid leaking and breast has grown bigger. Same as previous preganancy.

S@L, recently I went to a seminar . My gynae advise us to moisturise our nipple now. Use the normal nipple cream. eg medela purelan, avent breast soothing cream etc

Also when u are at TMC, order the fish and papaya soup. It is effective to me.It is part of your confinement meals package.

ZZZ,according to Mrs Wong , 4days leh. that is why this time round , I donno whether I should be so hard or not. I am still thinking whether to give FM as my milk wont be in until a few days later.

dokie, i agree with u lor, dunno shld 'ren' if really no breastmilk in first few days... although they say babies can go without milk first few days, but it sometimes just unbearable to hear them keep crying and mouth 'searching' for food...

Don't know if it is advisable to feed FM to bb via syringe or spoon (dun let the syringe or spoon touch their mouth) during that period if bb really cry non-stop?

What my lactation consultant taught me the other time was to mix a little of glucose in water and feed that to bb if bb is really hungry during that time when our b/milk not in yet. Don't know what's the rationale, but will ask her again if she's still at the hospital this time i deliver...

as for giving water, i abstain from giving my bb any water right from the beginning... read that bb on b/milk do not need any water at all and even though if they are on FM, they also dun need to take additional water (FM is already powder mixed with water!)... i also read somewhere that giving bb water when they are young thins their blood or something like that, which is no good... wonder anybody else heard about this also?

HI Ueno

Congrats!! Glad that everything well smoothly for you and baby during your delivery. Do update us more when you have time and put in some pics of your baby

Ladies, do you find your nipples getting more itchy? I have been feeling constant itch everyday for the past week or so...but there is no redness...weird. Wa, some mothers already have colostrum, so lucky? Mine nothing except itchy ...hahaha

HI Ueno

Congrats!! Glad that everything well smoothly for you and baby during your delivery. Do update us more when you have time and put in some pics of your baby

Ladies, do you find your nipples getting more itchy? I have been feeling constant itch everyday for the past week or so...but there is no redness...weird. Wa, some mothers already have colostrum, so lucky? Mine nothing except itchy ...hahaha

Erika! just replied ur email

actually my breasts are itchy, nt exactly the nipples. maybe like what Dokie suggested, can apply some nipple cream to soothe? but my tummy is really getting itchy and worse day by day....have to put the stretch marks cream 3-4 times a day...if nt some soothing powder and some rashes already on tummy

Plim, I also asked nurses to feed my son glucose before..but it doesnt help much until they gave FM.

But i agree tt if bb feed on FM, must give water...otherwise the stools will be so hard. I started supplementing my son with FM since birth but 70% BM and the rest FM, i still try to give some water...cos weather is hot and bb perspired a lot. However bb are smart...they dun drink a lot of water..sometimes its so hard to even make him take a sip. Regrd thinning of blood, nvr neard before....maybe can search google to find out more? Heee

Dokie....tats the problem...i caved in even during the hospital stay cos bb was crying the second day for milk already. although some keep saying bb wont need milk for the few days..but couldnt bear to let bb cry so hard. and his refusal to latch made it worse...i succumb to FM (those in glass btl supplied by hospital) but insisted in spoon feeding. in the end came home milk hasnt come in, again opened up the FM sample and tats it....nvr managed to do TBF. Finally bb slept thru 3 hrs without crying cos he is finally 'FULL'.

Each trying-to-latch-on session was like a fight betwn me and him.

In fact i tried a lot of things, Fenugreek, tea, fish soup even oats which i hated most ,anything tat is proven to improve BM supply...and pumped every 2-3hrs...i was like a mad woman fiddling with pumps, steriliser every few hrs and bb...

Not to scare any new mummies, but my personal experience really made me realised tt nt every BF journey is a breeze.

So Dokie, since u managed to pull thru, why do u have tots of giving FM? Hmm....then what will happen to ppl like me?

Grace,
My next appt will be on 31 Oct, yours is next Mon right? I didn't go "walking" today leh, cos' too lazy, juz woke up from a 2 hrs nap..hehe..

just back from my 34th week check up...and i m such a blur mummy....until now when i do the pre-admission, then i realised my EDD is actually 25th Nov not 29th Nov hahaha..... anyway done with my pre-admission, so when real time come, just need to walk in...

bb is slight lighter than avg...2.1kg but my gyane mention since both my hubby and i are small size type, dont expect bb to be big also...oh but she has a big foot....almost 8cm...i was like WOWOW...lucky never buy any shoe for her hahah...oh but i still gaining weigh haiz....now i have exceeded 15kg liao...so sad...thought i can control and stay below 15kg...

doc also mention bb's head very low already...and told me 3 different symptons before i head to hospital..1) water bag break 2) blood discharge (1 or 2 drop ignore) 3) contraction, he says contraction pain is in the middle of the stomach...not upper (upper part pain is gastric) and not lower (lower is bb's head pressing)....

now my hubby and i quite scare bb come out on my 38th week coz he having exam...so hopefully bb can come out either on 37th week or after 38th week hehehe....

winwin,
hee, so your edd is a day earlier than mine! Dr Chan also said the same thing to me this morning, abt looking out for signs of labor. He also said dun need to call him if we have any of the signs, just admit ourselves directly and the hospital will inform him accordingly..haha..he scared we jam his phoneline.

Btw, do you rem how much is Dr Chan's professional fees? And the PD fees also? I wrote it down somewhere before but lost that slip of paper..

Plim, S@L because after having my elder child, I feel he is so precious. I am enjoying every min of motherhood and I cant bear to let the second one cries for milk...not sure whether ur understand why now I have second thoughts about giving FM when BM not during hosp stay. That is why I describe myself as "HARD" during my 1st delivery.

I spoke to Parentcraft and is true baby can go without milk but if cranky, keep on crying then supplement. Use spoon or syringe. No bottlefeed and don overfeed.Ask Nurse if baby pees to see if baby is dehydrated.

poissons

i cant remember exactly...something like 1k for normal and 2k for c section....pd no idea and i still dont know whos my PD hahahaha....really a bo chap mummy....haiz...everything unsure or remember wrongly hahah...ya he highlighted no need call him hahah...think too many people called for false alarm or he scare we call him middle of night for false alarm hehehe...

so have u done ur pre-admission? or u doing it during next check up?

Hi MTB,

Just went for my 36weeks checkup today.
BB 2.9kg will be schedule for c-section on
2 Nov at 1pm. Any MTB same date as me? Hospital
at Mt A...

Cindy,
So far he is feeding on my breast every 3 hrs, only on colostrum but he is such a good boy never cry, seems contented.

FYI- The moment when i have contractions on tues, i lost 1.5kg compared to the day before and when i checked into the hospital i lost another kg. So thats another sign to look out for.

Winwin,

You will know who is your PD if you refer to your pre-admission docs, mine is Dr Niam. Yeah, I have done my pre-admission after my checkup today, that's why wanna recall how much I need to reserve aside for the hospital bill. Btw, Glen E also doing reno works for the facade of the building, but interior not affected. Dunno why recently hospitals are doing reno..haha..

poissions

just dig out my pre-admission doc...my PD also Dr Ngam (or Dr Niam cant read properly)...

i asked the admission staffs what happen if when we admit no single bedder room...she say then will depends on whats avaliable at that time...no guranteed hmmmm...why all hospital go on renovation??

HI S@L,

Yes, just read your email. Yes, I will get back to you asap on the sling. I don't know if my baby is a boy or girl, so maybe will opt for the black color if I want. Yes, think will look for a nipple cream to buy later then, thanks.

Do any of you ladies know if it is compulsory to do the Strep B test from 35 weeks onwards?

winwin,
my sis actually got a twin bedder room for herself when no single room was available. she said its better wor, cos the room was so much better and my BIL could sleep on the other bed instead of the lodger bed.

Erika, i checked with my gynae who told me she will put me on a course of antibotics before delivery and so don see a need for strep B.
If I want to test, it is also possible.

Ueno, I hope ME has broadbanth. Then can stay online..hee...

I am selling my pigeon manual pump coz upgraded to electric pump already.

condition: 9/10. Bought in late aug 07, and used for 1.5 months.

Do pm me if you are interested.

winwin, poissons

Dr chan told you gals to look out for symptons of labour. He never said anything to me leh. I asked him whether I will last till full term when I was there on Tues. But he said can't really tell at this time. Funny cos my gynae told me the bb's head is low already and I will not last till full term. Now my hubby can't estimate when he needs to come back from SH.

My EDD is also on 25 Nov.Prob see you gals at the hospital. My PD is William Yip.

Erika, oh u choose not to know the gender of ur bb? *Cool....for me i cant tahan the suspense..heee.....when i only knew bb's gender at 5th month, i was already impatient..hahha....in tt case, ya u should get the sling in black...cos can also use for next bb..

Dokie, u also have very itchy tummy? dunno why like tt....hiaz....maybe tummy still stretching alot. my next appt is coming monday...hopefully bb is fine and weight i alright...so weight lose is a 'sign' huh....wonder if i will go into labour earlier than my scheduled c-sect...dunno what to do also if it happens..so scared.

Ueno, so nice..ur bb seems a good boy. Keep up ur good work...my bb fussed alot when latched on...hope this time my gal can suckle better

S@L, yes very leh...always scratched. I also wonder why. I thought by now we shouldnt be expanding so much hor.

To be honest I am very scared of epi. I donno how to go through again. sob sob

S@L don worry, when u face any difficulty in bf at TMC, call parentcraft for help.
If any consultant u are not happy, just change. Don be shy. (get my hint..hee) There may be charges but don care. Just pay. Establish correct bf techniques and stimulate your breast are more important.

If we talk about dollars and sense, if we bf, we can save on FM for infant which is very ex and not as beneficial as BM

Hi Cindy,

With regards to breastfeeding, don't be too worried and too hard on yourself if you don't have enough BM to satisfy your bb.

For my first child, I also did not have milk after I gave birth. I gave birth at around 8pm and was super determined to TBF. Nurse brought bb to me every few hours, even in the middle of the night! I was so tired and plus, nurse said that bb haben pee yet, could be sign of dehydration, so suggested that I supplement her with FM through cup feeding. I am glad I follow her suggestion coz' that gave me more chance to rest well (sleep and rest boost BM) and bb pee immediately after that.

My BM supply also came in quite late, about few days later, initially when I tried to express, it was pathetic..only few drops!

As what the rest of the mummies said, we must persist, but if bb needs food, I don't think it is wise to give him/her water or glucose water only. Milk is the most important food for them.

When you feed FM to bb, at the same time, continue to try latching him/her (but don't latch when bb is hungry, coz' bb might be frustrated when there is little milk) and also express at the same time. This will help to boost the BM.

I tried the above method and also ate fenugreek (which worked wonder for me) and was able to TBF after 2 weeks of delivery. I successfully TBF for 6 mths, stopped after that coz' due to work.

So, my advice is, don't be sad if you can't BF immediately after delivery. Rest and stay happy is more important to your health!

Hi Ueno! Congrats to you!!!

Now you have lesser time to play comp games liao...hhehehe...

enjoy your motherhood and stay happy!!

hi gals:

i went to see my gynae during lunch just now.. bb at 2.929kg now.. keke.. gynae say bb quite down liao and anytime also can deliver.

i told him i got quite a long tightening of my tummy last nite.. did not time how long it was, only know quite long... haha....

i am quite worried my BM won't come leh.. haiz.... if won't come should i ask the nurse to feed FM ha? i also worry she will cry for milk during the first few days leh.

I got a brochure from Wyeth today. On it in bold "Important Statement : Breast milk is the best for babies"...

Refer below website for further info :

http://www.wyethnutrition.com.sg/$$Breast%20milk%20is%20the%20Best.html?menu_id=127&menu_item_id=6

I am very impressed with Wyeth for their complete honesty with promoting their FM...

Click on "Your Child" -> then click on "Breastfeeding"

Here is what it says on the website :

Nature sees to it that baby's growth and health are safeguarded by providing the mother with an abundance of the most complete food for all the baby's biological requirementsher own breast milk. You should consider breastfeeding your babyit is what nature intended.

Because breastfeeding is unquestionably the best method of feeding your baby, you should talk with your doctor early during pregnancy so that you can develop a comfortable attitude toward it and prepare yourself physically for nursing. You may also want to discuss your decision with your partner, who can lend his full emotional support to your efforts.

By nature's design, breastfeeding is the best possible way of meeting your infant's nutritional needs. Breast milk is the ideal food for infants. It contains all the nutrients a normal infant needs to develop and thrive. At the same time, breastfeeding provides a warm, intimate relationship between you and your child, which is quite important for the baby's healthy psychological growth.

It is important that the nursing mother have confidence in herself and her baby and make it a truly rewarding experience for both of them. Nursing your baby offers the best possible start in life for a child...naturally

They even have a section on "How to breast feed"... and many other useful tips for new mums... can't believe they are selling FM...

Can flash this website at anybody who is skeptical of BF and silence them for good...

As for me, i made my hubby invested in my breast pump, so he will definitely have to support me in this venture... muahahahahaha......

thank you ueno and olivetree. I really must must must persevere! will try not to hear his CRIES for milk. hahaha.. Muacks.

And yes to all, my tummy is getting SO SO SO itchy!! hubby is saying the stretch marks are getting longer, getting more, and getting more obvious. So sad when i heard that.

hmmm... it sounds REALLY heart breaking to ignore baby's cries for milk leh... u mean we have to let baby starve and cry... awwwwwwwwwww... i feel like crying already...

Am thinking whether I should switch hospital last min. Am scheduled for delivery at Mount A on 29 Oct... but Ueno mentioned there is only two 1 bedder room. I cant be so heng rite...

Feel a bit sad cos I wanted Mount A but didnt want 2 bedder. How? Should I change hospital?

I should be bring pump to hospital, in case bbay dun latch then I can try expressing. that will'create' the demand rite? Like many of you, MIL dun like idea of BF...thinks it's troublesome and unncessary. But will strive on adn log in here for encouragement :p

Hi I managed to find nice open front pjam at thomson plaza 01-80. It is more than what celine charges but I prefer the designs. I bought a strawberry shortcake design. Very cute. She offered $13.90 but I bargained for $12.
Hee...ready to pack my bag liao...

HI Dokie,

Oh, so you can go on a course of antibiotics w/o knowing the result of Strep B test? Does the antibiotics have any effect on you or baby? I will ask my gynae next week during my visit.

S@L, yah, me and my hubby chose not to know the gender....sometimes feel like giving in, but also quite exciting cos everyone is guessing so lets see...just that things like mittens/booties have to buy baby blue so either gender can still use..can't go buy pink...but most people guessed boy, so lets see if majority is right.

Went to Similac website and this is how they promote FM (fainted...) ---> http://welcomeaddition.com/feedingbaby/makingtherightchoice.aspx

Formula feeding

Bottlefeeding can be a warm, loving experience. And some parents prefer to bottlefeed using an infant formula such as Similac Advance or another formula from Similac. Some breastfeeding mothers also choose to offer a bottle of infant formula occasionally, or switch to formula in a cup or bottle before the baby is 1 year old. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, the only acceptable alternative to breast milk during the first year is an iron-fortified infant formula.

Here are a variety of reasons parents choose to feed formula:

The desire to have dad or other caregivers share feedings in the first months without mom needing to pump breast milk.
A previous bottle-feeding experience that was positive and enjoyable
Maternal illness, breast abnormality or breast surgery that prevents breastfeeding
Adoption
For supplemental feeding or for use after weaning during the first year
So that you can choose whats best for your baby, Similac offers a complete line of formulas, each specially developed to give your baby the balance of vitamins, minerals, proteins, and other essential nutrients that are so vital during the first yea

My hair start to climb after reading the above...

Sigh! And Similac seems to be highlighting a whole long list of negative effects of BF subtly of course under the BF section...

And i also have a gang of Frisco promoters that threathen to deliver my FM as i am "due" soon!... they have been calling and smsing me the past week for a convenient time to come to my house and insist i have to be home to sign off the free bottle of FM... eventho' i thank them and said i dun need one... *fainted*

Hi ALL
S@l, thanks for the info of what to pack.Went to mother care and trying get bit more stuffs. Lots of my friends tell me don't but too many cos bb grows really fast. But I feel tht is not enough. Also realise like alot of things I haven buy.

Dokie n Cindy, my tummy itchiness is over. Put more oil or cream on your tummy. That will solve the problem. Also Pls pls donot scratch. Easily get scars. Now my du qi Belly button is very itchy I tin trying to protrude out. I also got the urge of scratching but must REN.....

Adeline, I also opt for C section on 2nd Nov but at TMC.

Anyone can update for me the list.
Yoko
My EDD date suppose to be 24t Nov but i opt for c section at 2nd Nov @ TMC with Dr Yvonne Chan. Gender BOY.

I try to figure out using hand down breast pump, realise that it is spoil and don't know how to use. Hehe Guess i will get a new set. Any Idea what brand should I buy? Or when should I buy?

Finish my 34 weeks check up BB weight 2.5kg. So doc said when Nov 2nd should be 3kg by then. I am so nervous and scare.
I also worry don't know how to take care of bb. i am also another blur like sotong MUM. Aiyo....

yami, i think it's a little too late to change hospital le. Why don't you call them and demand that in the case when no 1 bedder is available, they MUST let you have the 2 bedder to yourself? I think if you are fierce enough, they'll give way. haha.

and how long do they take to let you know the results of the strep b test? I'm pretty worried too. hehe.

tinkabel:

Dr Chan asked me if i know when to go hospital then i said not very sure so he explain abit to me lor...guess he looked at me like blur blur scare i keep calling him at middle of night for false alarm hehehe

when is your next check up? may be by then will have a clearer pic on when your hubby should come back???

wow 3 of us having such close EDD....guess Dr Chan will be real busy heheheh...we may really see each other in delivery ward hahahah

winwin,

My next appt is on 30 Oct. Hopefully can tell better then. My feet already start to swell this week after I came back. Stiff fingers too. So uncomfortable.

I asked the nurse don't I have to call the doctor immediately. she was like no, just go to the labour ward and the staff will check my condition, then call Dr chan.

tinkabel:

so u did ur pre-admission already? did you go for the hospital tour?

my fingers are swollen too....every morning wake up must massage haiz...

i tried updating Mandy's spreadsheet. But not sure how to post the table here...any mummies can help? Here's the spreadsheet.

mime_msexcel.gif
table
dates-1015629.xls (49.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>