(2007/11) November MTBs

S@L:

Before I forget, what's the cost of the items we ordered from the drug store spree? So that I can transfer the $ to you. Thanks

juan,

i oso have the same worries as you.
besides worried abt the d-day, i oso worry abt my confinement, i scared i cannot cope and will have post-natal blues.
i will be going to my mom's place for confinement but i dun tink tats something good as she will be working.
then hubby oso like very difficult to apply leave, always ask him he oso cant gimme a definite answer..

tats y i dun really look forward to that day...

Tinkelbel, sorri....been so busy these days kept forgetting to update on the amt for the spree....will send tomorrow ok? Before everyone disappear to give birth liao..kekkeeke...

Juan, aiyo u more worried than me huh...i so scared i have blues....now feel better...dun worry la....cheer up...ask for help when u need to....anyone looking aft ur kids for u aft tt?

As for movies, dates, ya we missed a great part of it for almost a yr aft my son popped! now life is back to normal for us la....but when my gal pop..i think the cycle begins...but treat it as part and parcel of parenthood bah....u'lll feel better...and enjoying the times with ur children beats going to the movies!

Mummies, pls email ur contact/add to me in case the items for the sprees reach me after you pop! or in case i pop first....now really nvr know who is next!

Anyone has the complete list of contacts again? thanks all for the trouble

juan/zzz: i actually got a lot of worries in my mind as (1) hb may not be able to take leave also during my confinement and even if he were to take leave he say it is not becos of helping me but instead for him to study for his studies
(2) my MIL wants to come over and i worry she will quarrel with my CL (3)my MIL don't want us to bring bb back every nite once i start work.. this one might need to use a lot of firm action and discipline from both me and hb. we have to convince her that we are not tired after a long day and can take care of our gal at nite.

all the above will sure cause post natal blues but i try not to think about it.. just thinking on how cute my gal will be.. haha

ya lor mandy, i oso try not to tink of it...
hopefully when i see bb all my troubles will be gone..i will focus more on him...
hope my motherly instinct kicks in soon..:p

regarding bringing ur bb back everyday, i tink u and hubby shld really persist leh...
i tink its impt to spend time with your bb and not just be weekend parents..
i tink after a hard days work, you will feel happy to go home and play with a cute and innocent bb...

ahhaha grace, I hope my bb will be late to have the same bday as me ah! hahaha but i doubt and yes haha maybe we could be neighbours!
You gimme your number so we can sms and say hello! muahahhaa...

Went for my 35wk checkup today, doc did the Group B bacterial test, roughly how long does it take for results to come? I hope it'll be okay! heheh

I just went for my regular week 36 check up. Again, my baby is underweight... only 1.8kg... but managed to gain 300g compared to 2 weeks ago. My gynae told me my water level is good so he will keep baby in me unless any complications happen then he would need to induce me.

i am told to go for CTG scan to check baby heartbeat next week at Mt A before i visit my gynae next week and i need to go and perform this test every week... sounds very worrying to me...

Mummies, finally i can settle down and tabulate this.

I have sent out the orders for Spree #2 and spree #1 items will reach Vpost USA in a couple of days which means i will receive the items abt 1 week's time or so.

Here's an update for the Spree #2 payment. Pls notify me if there is any mistake..pardon my pea brain

<table border=1><tr><td>Drugstore Spree #2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies</TD><TD>total</TD><TD>paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD> $66.40 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Plim</TD><TD> $27.50 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline chew</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beloved _d</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggypiggy</TD><TD> $26.75 </TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dokie</TD><TD> $32.00 </TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD> $11.90 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinkelbel</TD><TD> $22.50 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

My acc details: POSB savings 172-38260-6. Pls email me once TT incase i miss out the thread. thanks mummies!

Went for my checkup today. Doctor advise no milk or dairy products for now, and cut down on calories also. Baby at 3.6 kg at 37 weeks. He says BB on the big side. should i go for C-section? or try natural birth? Doctor says can try natural but might be difficult. also dun know how.

hi cindy,
when is your birthday and yr edd? i will pm u my mobile number just in case we are neighbours...

catusnah, i hope u have left for home and resting away now..

hi vivian, dont worry so much, its good news that baby is putting on weight. as long as the water bag level is good, baby can grow in you.
take care there...

gemini,
your baby is really on the bigger side. its up to you whether u want to try natural. did doc tell u abt baby's head circumference? think if not wrong 35cm is consider huge already...

My god, my legs are starting to swell and it looks swollen and red. Quite horrible looking. Luckily I am back in Singapore and only working from home now, but really feel comfortable with feet and fingers pain pain...

grace, how to activate ha. hahaha. Okay i pm you instead,

and vivan, i also have to do a CTG test everyweek from yesterday's checkup onwards and what's worse, the checkup is every 5 days instead of every 7 days. So don't worry, I'm with you. ^^ It's because i have glucose intolerance so the doc just wants to make sure the bb is healthy and fine with no complications.

S@L:: Later when i go home I'll interbank you okay! please be patient with the wait for the money. Sorries. Muacks.

Hi Vivian,at least the baby is gaining weight of 300g. Just press on! 300g seems good because your last check up was at 34 weeks , am I right?
You cant possibly put on a lot within 2 weeks.
Target to cross 2kg by 38 weeks which seems realistic because 200g to go...

Ueno Congrats!!! We have't heard from you for ages!! Wow, your contractions started soo suddenly! That will remind all of us to be vigilant and not push ourselves too much.

I don't intend on doing anything streneous for the next week!! Feeling very tender in the V area. Anyone feel the same? It seems anything can happen, now that we have 2 mommies who have 'popped' before their EDD!

Exciting too

Hi anyone here has placed order for tingkat food?
Any recommendation? I have tentatively confirmed with newbaby but chanced upon another confinement food caterer , Melrose Bakery.
I wonder anyone has any feedback?

zzz: we definitely will persevere... i don't want to end up my gal stick to my ILs more than stick to me.... my argument most imptly is that i want to bf her at nite as no one can take over this job.. haha....

so must make sure my BF is successful!! keke

i think we can insist that we want to BF. Afterall, the child is ours not theirs. So we should have the final say! hehe.

dokie: my MIL at the moment quite encouraging on BM... but hor.. i not sure for how long leh.. becos my SIL did not feed BM at all.. so all the while MIL used to FM's convenience liao.. moreover feed bb with BM they go hungry faster.
i even discuss with my friend on how to minimise the steps required to warm up the BM so that she won't be against it. i intend to feed at least for 6 mths

my Mum instead is the one who encourages FM.
kept saying BM not nutritious no gd. once give birth must give FM and BM mixture.. etc etc.. no matter how u argue she also say FM.

i think some MILs may discourage BF as they may feel uncomfortable handling BM, esp if they are going to take care of the baby... its easier for them to open a tin of milk powder and add hot water... so we must not give in yah to their comfort zones. Only Mother Milk's is the Best Milk! ;-p

I was studying the ingredient contents of FM at supermarkets...somehow, they dun look very impressive... its man-made...with a toss of chemicals... who can really verify that FM is really better or just make baby FAT FAT FAT?

Cindy, yes u r right tat we should have the last say when it comes to feeding our baby. But a fact that cant be denied is the support from family/hb...very impt...i didnt get the support i needed and was so lost cos juggling a new born and BF without seeking help when i actually needed.

But if u have prepared urself enough, and have a group of frens or experienced mummies like Dokie who BF her baby successfully, then no worries. I am mentally prepared this time, so will seek whatever help i need when the time comes...

Dokie...u will 'see' alot of me asking u abt BF..hehehee.....

Mandy, same here...sad sad...my own mummy also not encouraging last time....as for MIL, same la..jus that i cant be bothered by her comments and luckily hb also didnt really listen to her hence i still manged to give bb EBM for 6mth although i supplement with FM.

I guess your mum same era as my mum, hence they have gone thru the 'convenience' of FM when it just launched. To them BF in public is a 'shameful' thing.....BM definately is more nutritious than BM, although no doubt we all grew up mainly on FM. But nothing beats the natural milk....i guess the approach u have to take is slowly let ur mum see how ur bb strive on BM to convince her....

I already told my MIL/ mum that i m determined to TBF bb this time...ask them to keep their comments to themselves otherwise dun touch my bb! hahaha..

S@L, transfered $27.50 to you at 9.55am today. Transaction reference is 1400749348. Please check.

Ueno, congrats to you! Your EDD is actually same as mine and you have already delivered! But i'm still feeling so unprepared (compared to when i had my 1st one)... aiyoh... really need to buck up to start packing hospital bag, do pre-administration at hospital and also bring stuff over to my mother's place (as i'll be doing confinement there!)... still a lot of things not done! Anyway, do share your baby's photos when it's available

re: BF
I think it's always a challenge trying to convince the older generation that we want to TBF our babies... as the first few days to a wk is the worst when milk supply is not in/not established yet and we get wailing babies... still able to recall the difficulties i had in trying to TBF my 1st born...
apparently, at that time, my girl din know how to latch (even went to lactation consultant for advise but still din manage to get her to latch), so building my milk supply was very slow... and i also had blocked ducts which perhaps caused the milk not to be able to flow out properly... so this time round, i'm trying to massage my breasts to get rid of any blocked ducts hoping that milk will come earlier and smoothly... praying hard!

yes girls, i wish to ask something, so for that 1 wk or first few days where you don't have milk then what do the bbies feed on? On FM? Or?

Aiyo, really scared i will be stressed and give up. ahha but i must must persevere! my hubby keeps reminding everyday how much we spent on pump and all the BF things. hahaha...

S@L, no problem. I am pro bf. I am really diehard from the start when I delivered my elder child. I receive alot of encouragement from TMC parent meetings (so important we all support one another) and also mrs wong and so I just went on and on.
It may sound silly, my son refused to latch on at 8th months and prefers bottle feed. each time I offered my breast, he bite. I felt so rejected and cried and cried. I didnt give up, I carried my PIS wherever I go. Mummies went in nursing room with babies, I went in with my Medela PIS. :p I only stopped at 13 th months because I need to travel and allow my body to recuperate.

I am really glad I press on because my son immunity is good. He only fell sick at 7th months and 15months when he is less than 2 years old.

To add on , if u want to bf, don compromise or neglect on your supplements. *Because u need nutrients to produce quality milk. Not Every mummy milk is the same, there is good and bad quality. (*my observation, not read or learnt from anyone else)

Cindy, on colostrum and bb dun really need a lot of milk for the initial days. Suckle more to start the BM flowing.right mummies?
Dun repeat the same mistake as me ....TBF means TBF....once u give FM..tats it...bb will stop crying and u will 'think' thats a remedy...hiaz....tats happened to me.

Dokie, really admire ur determination. What abt your family? were they very encouraging too? Cos i really find its veyr impt although we can choose to ignore some comments. but esp during the confinement period...and prob cos it was my 1st time as a mummy...tend to listen to both sides..ended up so confused and also cried alot....

Also my milk didnt come in until the 6th day and amt was pathetic...tats why succumb to FM then. Hope this time i can do better and milk comes in earlier...otherwise how? a wailing/ hungry bb for a week?

hehe... looks like we are a bunch of yummy mummies in waiting for our little ones to arrive to suckle and pucker at our breasts... ;p

heard that some Caucasian women start drizzling with BM even before baby arrives... waiting for that but its not happening... only got crusty bits of dried colostrum. hopefully thats a sign of a good start.

dokie: i admire your perseverance! you TBF for 13 months? your son refuses to latch on from the 8thh month is because he has alraedy been bottlefed using expressed milk? Aiz, that's also one big question mark in my head. hahaha. really a little troublesome to TBF especially when gg back to work.

s@l:: thank you! oh yes talking about colostrum, do you and you girls have things leaking out right now? Sometimes i do see some whitish/yellow stuffs at the nipples.

Prays hard that all of us will be successful in BF!

I delivered on a Tue discharged on Friday. Baby latched on in hosp but when returned home refused to latch on.

I insisted on direct feed on Friday but still couldnt. Again broke down because baby kept on crying and I wanted so much to direct feed as it is more convenient. So Sat early am, my husband and I decided to pump out my milk and bottle feed. Thank God the milk came. So for 3 weeks he was bottle feed until last week, I went to Mrs Wong to guide me and baby how to latch on again. Since then, it was a breeze all the way until 8th months.

then hor , the following week, my son hosp for jaundice for 4 days, i have to go hosp twice a day to deliver my breastmilk. The nurse was shocked to see the quantity of milk I gave her.
I wasnt on special diet really. no tea, no milk, no soup, just determination.

When returned to work, i carried 2 sets of spare parts because I pumped twice at work. U cant imagine the nos.of things I carried .It was super heavy because I also took extra ice pack (*paranoid*). Bomian must press on !

As for family support, my mil not so supportive. My mum listens to me. She spolits me since young so I don have a problem as mum is the one who looks after me during my maternity leave.

By the way, I pump round the clock hor..every 3 hours including night time. (rem my son don latch on for 3 weeks, so to build up my supply, I have to pump)

Drink plenty of fluid too. Before u pump, drink hot fluid eg milo, massage and start to pump.

thank you for sharing dokie!

So even if for first few days milk don't come, we also cannot succumb to FM? Can we switch to BM after the milk has come in?

my MIL kept saying first few days no milk, have to give FM first. i am wondering if it's really true. Hmm.

Right now in Mt A they have a total of 40 beds available for their maternity ward. Out of which,2 are 1 bedder, 9 are 2 bedder, 5 are 4 bedder. Their new wing will be ready 1st week of Nov and most of which are 1 bedder rooms. So those who are delivering then shouldnt have a problem with rooms. I am paying the package for 2 bedder. My neighbour is nice but its just that when visitors come or phone rings then its not so convenient. No privacy.

As for my birth story, i wrote down the timing as my labor progresses,didnt want to miss out the details.
They have free internet connection in the rooms so thats really convenient.Their service here is good, nurses helpful too. Asked for their help to feed baby. He seems so small n soft hehe...I think i am improving cos today i managed to hold him like how the nurses did. So practise make perfect.

Baby stayed in my womb for 36+2 days according to my scan results. But if i go by my last menses date then i am 37 wks. but my gynae told me before i deliver that my baby is of a good size n ready so i was not too worried. And after my baby was delivered,the PD said my baby wasnt really premature,he said he is borderline and he would consider him full term.

Ueno, glad that u are doing well. Should be able to discharge soon right?

Pls come bk and share more with us how ur coping with bb.

I'm back from the checkup. At 34 weeks 3 days, my bb weighs 2.3kg, he gained 300gm since the last checkup 2 wks ago. For me, I only gained another 100gm. Gynae said all is well, seems like baby's grow has slowed down a little, but that's fine cos' he doesn't encourage big baby as it can lead to difficult delivery. He also added that baby is not yet engaged but almost there already, the head is above the pubic bone liao (three-fifths).

S@L,
I will be discharged tmr. So far baby is doing well n suckle well. Hopefully my milk will come in soon. Praying hard.

ueno:: take great care! I can't wait to see leroy's photos. Please do show us when you are home!
Muacks. and yes hehe hope your milk comes in soon! Hugs. So for the past 2 days he's just suckling and feeding on colostrum? Does he cry a lot? And thank you for the info on the rooms in Mt A. and the free internet access! hehee now i got one more tihng to pack in! laptop. hahaha.

poissons: you only gained 100gram? Oh my. Why am i still putting on weight? I put on 1kg since my last checkup 2 wks ago, muahahaha.

cindy,
ur 1kg gain is normal lah, my gynae said 2 kg gain per mth is ok. i also duno how come it's only 100gm gain for me, cos' for the past 2 wks, my appetite was really good and i ate more. I thought i wld have gained 1.5kg but somehow not leh. I'm eating now even facing the PC..haha. Just hope that bb will continue to grow.

poissons: hahaha! but i already have exceeeeded the 16kg mark! sobs.... i better eat a little less. hahaha. i also hope bb will continue to grow. at 33 wks he was only 2kg. Yesterday i went for 35wk checkup but didnt' do the scan. hehe

Next wk ba! hehe

Ueno, congrats! Your baby is considered a good weight at birth even though at 36/37 weeks. A few of my friend delivered at 38 weeks and baby same weight as yours. Glad you and baby both well!

Dokie, thanks for sharing on breastfeeding. I'm also wondering like what the baby feeds on before our milk supply establishes. I heard it takes up to a week. Then if no FM, the poor baby starve for seven days?? Now it makes a bit more sense after what you describe.

So in other words, even if no milk supply yet, we still have to ren and not give FM eh?

and s@l:: hehe have transferred money! sorry you have to wait again. ooops. Muacks!

hi poissons,
good to hear that baby is growing well. 300gram is a good increase. so you are 3/5 already..same score as mine previously. wah u gain only 100gram?? when is your next appt?

hi ueno,
thanks for answering all our questions =) hope that your breastmilk will come soon! take care...