(2007/11) November MTBs

grace,
you so lucky, got MIL to buy stuff for you! mine till now never even buy a single thing for her first grandson except 6 white towels which her family doesn't want to use. Haha..

Can i check with you ladies how many sets of booties and mittens did you get ready? I think I only have abt 6 sets..

Piggy, the Gerber milk storage bags is USD7.43, not USD5.99. i will send you the total amt (excld shipping) when nearer the min amt.

Poissons, 6sets ,might nt be enough cos change 2-3sets per day...unless u wash and dry immediately. I have abt 10sets on hand, but mittens only...booties i replace by socks...more useful

ah yah, mine is the opposite way girls! my parents did not buy anything, they went to collect old stuff for me, some of which is really yucky. so its all fair and square lah.

poissons, 6 pairs not enough one.. think better buy more. i also have more socks like S@L..

Grace, haha...well..maybe GOD is really fair...

Mummies, anymore orders for Drugstore spree #2...haha....response overwhelming! we are halfway to USD200 already!

1st come 1st serve!

Hehe... At first i also find it funny to go panty less and like cannot sleep... but after a while used to it liao... Can sleep... i still prefer to sleep with underwear... Sometimes, go panty less is no choice coz my thigh abrasion is very bad.. Wear panty makes it very painful...

Grace, even though ur MIL buy things off std for you... At least got buy, my MIL ... i dun want to say liao... Dun buy things nvm, gave unconstructive comments etcc...

That day, she has the cheek to comment that my Mum still got time to make the glutinous rice wine. Last nite, she saw the ginger my Mum bought for me.. She was speechless..... coz my Mum made the effort to travel at least 6-7 hours of bus ride to Msia and buy it for me! Anyway, when it comes to MIL and your Mum... U know who is the best!

K@ye, ya agree totally! my family helped me alot during my confinement and when early yrs when my son was born cos we were in a kind of financial crisis then...hiaz...MIL didnt really help much..

worse part is aft my confinement a big pack of ginger and a btl of sesame oil was 'still' sitting on the kitchen top...and she ask hb why i nvr used it! FYI, she nvr told me / hb its for me, how she expect me to know. and aft confinement then she ask....

Hi S@L is this item back in stock
I saw in stock. need your help to confirm as i didnt manage to buy in the 1st spree.
If yes, I will need two bottles. Thanks so much

-California Baby Super Sensitive Everyday Lotion, No Fragrance 6.5 fl oz (195 ml).

Dokie, ok i will order 2 btls for u. But cos i wont be sending out spree #2 so soon, i hope it stays in stock till then. any updates by then will inform u. K?

kittybride, i bought the spray from NTUC pharamcy as mentioned by Catherine. Brand is Batiste. Bought at $10.15

Alicia , congrats!! first 'Nov' mummy !! :p happy to hear that everything is well :p take care and keep us updated on how's ur child's doing... :p

kaye , ur mum is realli good for u. lucky girl!! ignore ur MIL..
all the way to msia to buy...

i dun like dry shampoo leh... i really want to wash my hair. I think the super fast drying towel that juan mentioned is available at this BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1009997.html?1191897567

Hi S@L, i've tt the money to yr account this afternoon. Also sent u an email this afternoon, pls let me know if u din receive it, ya. Thanks alot for coordinating.

Alicia:
Gong xi gong xi. Glad bb is well & healthy. Hope yr bb will gain weight well and follow u home soon. Jia you and share yr motherhood tips when free. Take gd care of yrself too.

Tinkabel:
U take gd care of yrself. Bring along a sweet in yr bag and eat it when the giddy spell kicks in. U supposed to be bk in spore this wk? Yr HB will be joining u later right? So u be taking the plane alone? Do be extra careful and consult yr doc if u still dun feel well.

Had dinner at Mum's place!

My mum told me that even at the hospital also cannot bath or shower!

She says only can wash our privates and used towel to wipe clean our body... The hair cannot wash also... I was like, "HAR!" Then she says, for ur own good leh... True also but i hope i can tahan! Definitely, i think the face can be washed bah....

this question is abit off topic...

anyone has gone to a LV boutique to verify authencity of bag. can the staff at the boutique really confirm if the bag is real? and which boutique should i go??

pls advise.

Grace, i think u can go to any LV boutique to verify the authencity of the bag. I guess the staff should be trained to do thta.. If not, they will send the bag to somewhere to confirm the status of the bag.

Grace,

Actually i don't think you can go to the LV boutique to verify authenticity if it was not bought at another LV boutique.

I was at Prada once and someone came in to ask for verification of authenticity and the staff declined to do it, as it is not their policy to entertain such request, esp when the customer has purchased the bag elsewhere...

Maybe you also want to surf the internet for ways to verify the LV bag? I once sold my LV bag to someone in Belgium and had to show verification with a number code which was imprinted on the leather of the bag - before the buyer was convinced it was an original.

Grace: Why not try calling them? Else, if u happen to drop by town, bring it along and go into the boutique and ask. If they do it, then gd, else ask them for advise as to where u can go. Tell them u wouldnt wanna carry a counterfeit product if it's not the real thing, think they shld be happy to hear that.

Grace/S@L,
Hmm..ok, thanks for your advices, I will go and stock up more on the mittens and buy socks. May I know where to get socks? I bought some infant size ones (0-3 mths) during the fox sales, and they look real tiny, forsee that the bb will outgrow them very soon..what size did you ladies buy?

kaye, catusnah, botanist,

i am going to meet the seller this sat to verify the bag before buying. i have not bought it lah. the bag is puchased in europe. ah yoh...

poissons,
for socks, i got some from mothercare and some from zara..think can wear up to 6 - 8 months cos socks are stretchable mah.

plim,

thx for the info, will go chk it out when i passby Guardian.

Mandy,
i thk most of us will go braless at home nowadays - more comfy. i also dare not try to go panty-less... even wearing undies with big t-shirt my HB will sometimes comment oredi; coz we occasionally will leave the main door open - more windy lor. But 1 thg is true lor, nite time less discharge leh.

RE: mittens & booties
I just washed 8 pairs each - socks pending, need to see if BB is big or small size.
Poissons, agree wif u lor, i see the socks like super tiny leh, scared dun know how to wear it for BB, end up causing her more pain, bootie seems more comfy hor. *actually mommy very "lun zhun" type...

Grace,
fwah,you so branded leh, socks also from mothercare and zara..Haha..ok, thanks, I will go check it out.

Kittybride,
Yah lor, I see the socks so tiny, like can only fit 2-3 of my fingers in, dunno if I can squeeze the bb's feet inside or not..hee. Now that I have finished washing all the clothes, start to do "inventory check" and see whether enough or not..can still buy since got time

kittybride: normally if the itch becomes too much i will go panty less in the day.. then every time go pee, i will wash.. haha... at nite cannot go pantyless lah.. becos i hug bolster one n wear nite dress.. just imagine the discharge on the bolster.. EEEE!!!!

k@ye: i intend to try to tolerate not washing hair in the hospital. but i think before i discharge i may wash first... because my MIL might be with me the whole of 1st day when i back. keke. may wash 1st thing in the morning before i discharge.. haha....

with regards to mum and MIL, haiz.. mine is the opposite. my mum don't really chap. she got cook those black chicken with cordycep and bird nest for me. but comes to buying bb's stuff, hv yet to receive anything from her.
for my MIL, she very kan cheong. cook black chicken with cordyceps also.. bought some cute hankies. she very worried my CL will short changed me and intend to come over every morning during my confinement.

whereas my mum say she will not come over.. if i need anything just call her to let her know and she will get my dad to bring over.. then i was asking her if she intend to come over during my confinement, she ask me what for... ????

then few wks back, they tell me that they will be travelling in the 2nd wk of my ML... i was like ... ok lor...

give up

kittybride: i cannot go braless leh as the nipple v sore when rub with my nite dress. but i wear cotton bras at home now lor

poissons,

washing all done liao ah? hats off to you lah... i'll do the cloth nappy this weekend, hope for bright & sunny day!

how many receiving/hooded blanket do you ladies get for bb ah? i only have 1; not sure if i should buy more leh? also got a thermal blanket for BB during the JL BB fair (ongoing now).

oh ya, I got the Braun thermometer from JL (RP: $131.70) aft 20% disc @ $105.36. I recall some1 bot it below $100 leh, dun know how come price diff leh. mine is only 1 memory type... hmm...

Mandy, mabbe ur Mum thinks that ur MIL is there to take care of you liao.. So, she dun bother too much... scared later conflict of interest and later u might be the one who is sandwiched in between!

Seems that the LV bag that Poissons mentioned b4 is the IN bag now... I see alot of ladies carrying them... And i pointed to my hubby to get the bag for me! Hehe, my hubby act blur... but the truth is he knows i dun like LV bags.

Good morning mummies!!

did you all get thermometers yet? hehe I haven't. I tihnk maybe this wkend will go buy. kittybride, is the braun one good? is it the ear or forehead type?

I usually go braless at home. Now are you all wearing the so called support bras? I only wear the wireless cotton type bras. hahaha. quite shioks.

Kittybride,
Hehe..cos' I bought those clothes and stuff over a span of 3 months, so lost track the quantity. So quickly get them washed and count, if not enough still can buy. Actually still got 1 lot, but those are bigger size clothes, intend to wash them later cos' no space to keep liao.

I only bought 1 receiving blanket, that's to wrap the bb when we discharged from the hospital. Other occasions, we can actually use cloth nappies right? Blanket I have 2 pcs, one thin and one thicker one.

I never buy the Braun thermometer, so expensive..my sis gonna help me get one from Japan, which is cheap and good. Btw, pampers in Japan is really cheap too. They sell the newborn size in pack of 90pcs, after calculating, 1 pc only cost 20 cents!

Hi Alicia,
Congrats! Good to know you and baby are well. Don't worry, babies put on weight very easily one. He'll be fat and chubby in no time!

Mandy,
My mum is bochap like yours too. At least yours cook herbal soup for you. My mum so blur, she didnt even know I can't eat cockles. And not bought me a single thing either. Not even a single bottle of chicken essence or birdnest. My MIL is overseas and she told my hubby she tries not to intrude so much because usually the mother's mother is the one who does more. My hubby told her, don't worry, because my mum is not doing anything anyway.

Anyone having a lot of trouble sleeping because of backache? I really dunno what to do. Everynight I wake up and have to sleep sitting up for an hour or so before I try to sleep lieing down again. No matter how tired i am I just can't sleep because the back hurts.
How?

poissons, no lah, i not branded on socks. my mil got me the mothercare ones. then that time zara sale, the socks were going $4.90 for 3 pairs.. so i bought quite a few lah.

yr baby so lucky, your sis can help u buy cheap and good diapers from japan hehehe.. i wonder how she is going to carry back.. diapers quite heavy.

k@ye: ya.. that is what i trying to convince myself lor... it is true lah.. i also cannot imagine my mum, MIL and CL at my house.. i think i sure go crazy.

for thermometer, got the braun one... $131 lor.. with memory function.

grace,
Yah, my sis complaint that they are heavy..haha..she will usually bring a bigger luggage with her + she has a special bag for her uniform, so can "smuggle" the diapers back..haha.

RE: JL sale
kittybride,
is the JL sale still on? wow then i should go get later, hubby on course near my workplace. just nice. hope to finish buying all the smaller items for baby

RE: backaches
<font size="-2">i think i'm one of those lucky few who dun suffer from backaches</font> SSssshhhh .... so my hubby seldom massage for me, i maasage more for him! hahaha ... but i do feel tat my bum is suan if i sit on a hard chair for a v long time. guess it's due to the extra weight of 10kg tat i have put on since preggie.

RE: mothers & MIL
MIL is not ard (she passed away long time ago) so the only elderly person tat supposed to take care of me is my ma. she never once cooked tonics for me or buy any items for baby or me. but i'm still grateful tat she's ard to cook my fav dishes when i go her house for dinner on weekend and most imptly, she is ard to share my joy when i b/c a first-time mother (she herself is a first-time grandma) my hubby always remind me not to take my parents for granted coz his own parents are not ard anymore

Kittybride:

It's me. I bought the Braun thermometer for less than $100.But mine is the other one w/o the memory, UP $121, after 20% discount & 5% robinsons card rebate is abt $92. If u've Robinsons card, yrs shld be abt $100 if u calculate bk. Not much diff la.

Cat: Totally agree with u. Whenever i read comments abt MIL/Mum not cooking for them, buy things for them or even if the mum takes special care of them, etc. I'm at a lost of word and dunno what to write, coz my mum is no longer around and to be honest, i wouldnt have mind if she din even buy me a single thing for me/baby coz her presence will be more than impt than anything else. Many a times during my pregnancy, i'll think and tell my HB how nice would it be if my mum was around. I still have my MIL though and i'm appreciative of whatever she cooks and does for me/bb, even if she doesnt, i dun think i wanna expect much. Above are just my thots, hope u gals will appreciate yr mums.

Cindy,

i got the same thermometer (ear scan) as cat. ya, amt shd be below $100 after discount & rebate. For the memory one, heard it is good for when BB start teething since can record previous few temp.

Cat,
JL members' sale over liao, last Sun was last day. But they still have BB fair on going (not sure till when) - 20% storewide and 15% for diapers (but i thk their prices is more expensive)

Was told by the sales person JL always got 20% sales so if i can't get wat i want dis time round, wait for the next sales. aiyoh, next sale maybe i oredi in confinement lor...

how many packs of diapers have you all stock up? i got 1 pack Pampers NB (X36) and Drypers Size S (X64). To be used at nite only, day time wear cloth nappies. not sure sufficient or not leh...

Mandy, when my Mum is in confinement for the birth of my bro. My 2 aunties came to our place to help my Mum do the confinement. My Mum was driven nuts by my 2 aunties instead of stressing over my brother....

So, i guess it helps when there are not too many helpers around.

I agree with Cactus that no matter what... Our Mums presence is the most impt! Even if my Mum dun buy stuff for me or whatever, i still appreciate her!

Grace, care to share which LV bag u getting from the seller? Hmm....maybe can point out to you the 'signs' to look out for. How much is the retail and how much u paying for tt? I dare not say i m expert in this la, but LV happen to be my fav brand of bags, hence did quite a bit of research before.

From what i gather, LV boutique salesperson might not be willing to help, but maybe u can try those 2nd hand store. They will sure scrutinise the bag if u 'pretend' u wan to sell. Then they will tell u real of fake.

Thanks S@L, I think I will go Mothercare to get the socks..got my hubby to redeem some vouchers from his credit card points to use since he just realised over the wkend that he's got sooo many points and they are expiring soon.

Cactus / Catherine, it' true what you said about appreciating our mums. I guess I should be thankful mine is still around. I guess it's ok even if she doesnt do anything at all, but when you hear other MILs so kancheong, you wonder why your own mother so bochap. Bochap never mind, stress me more by saying insensitive things and making unconstructive criticism. My sis even suggested maybe I don't see her till I deliver, otherwise, I'll be subject to more stress.

Cindy, good idea.
But my hubby's massage is very ticklish. Wondering if pregnancy pillow helps. Did anyone of you get a pregnancy pillow?