(2007/11) November MTBs

Pig.. oh.. that is fast wor~.. my bb manage to sleep at the direction i place her until she decided to flip over on her tummy sometimes, with one of her hands under her body -_-"..

my colleague used mamy poko and claimed that he changed her nappy half day once.. which means 6hrs O_O.. you might want to try mamy poko?

my bb also pull her pacifier out but not yet zuen zuen to put it back, also will hear 'tsud tsud' sound when she place her thumb inside her mouth while sucking her pacifier.. haha.. i knw very tiring keep waking up to put it back, i am in this situation too.. sometimes she don even want the pacifier.

Pig, Claire also sama sama like Kiros. No matter which direction i turn her to sleep, she will always go back to her preferred position!

Plim, Claire has progressed to pull out her pacificer a bit and stuff her 2nd finger into the mouth & suck! Sometimes when she is all quiet, i will go check on her and saw her doing that!

k@ye, yeah, although i dun like her to suck her thumb, i still find it very cute when they try to suck thumb and pacifier at the same time! kekeke...

Long time no post. Busy working..

re: hair lost
Sigh.. I am still losing hair. But I feel it down drops slightly little compare to 2 weeks ago. How long will the dropping stop? Really very messy. Keep clogging the drainer.

re: pacifier picking in the middle of the night
Me too. My baby still wakes up in the middle of the night. The fastest way to make him to go back to sleep is to stuff the pacifier and pat pat him a while. When will he sleep through.. its really very tiring,

re: ice cube try:
I got mine at Mothercare. Its not in the tray form but a tiny individual box. They call it Freezer Pots. 8 in a packet selling for $8. The pots are stackable.

Weee its finally FRIDAY!

mummies..wana meet up for brunch??
brunch @ parkway next week.
10.30am 7thApr, Mon,The Caffe Bar(opp Top Shop)

1. plumsource
2. ueno
3. weishy
4. elyn
5. raquel
6. dreamer@hk

ueno,
me still suffering from cough and sore throat...if i dun recover by sunday, i think i will give the meet up a miss....so as not to "infect" other mummies/babies....

so sorry

yesterday thought i was getting better liao...but todae like worsen

Pig07,
I'm wondering too whether I need to get im to use level 3 now. How to tell when we should be upgrading their teat size huh?

K@ye,
I'm using Huggies and so far very happy with it. Plus it's really a lot cheaper than Pampers.

Hi Twiggy,

The last time i advanced from teat 1 to 2 was when i realised that Kiros was taking extremely long to finish his milk. and he will drink till he fell asleep. With teat 1, he will use 20minutes to finish his milk.. and i think sometimes too tired from suckling that he ended up not finishing his milk.. Now using teat 2, he has been maintaining the pace of 10-15minutes..

Twiggy, okie.. Will get huggies to try.. This Claire has expensive butt one... Last time use Nepia, kena alot of rashes even with diaper cream. After using G.oon & Pampers, her butt butt okie.

Hi K@ye!

Jaydyn is also using Huggies. No problem with leakage. Last time when she was using Mamy Poko, tend to leak.

Hi Dreamer@hk, take good care of yrself k. I also fell sick last mth together with Jaydyn. wasnt easy. I also put on face mask to avoid coughing accidentally at her. Even if not direct, sometimes the vapour gets to her.

thanks jay & ueno.

jay - yeah i also use a face mask at home. good thing hubbie on leave these few weeks...so he's around to take of her most of time...i try to avoid contact with her.
quite sad.

ueno - yep, will sms u on mon! tks

i feel very frustrated being sick cos i honestly don't remember falling ill in the last 4 years that i have been away from home...then come home a few weeks immediately fall sick liao....so sianzzz...

I am also a Nov mummy. My gal was born on 24 Nov at Mt A. Would like to join your happening thread.

Need your help. Can someone give me the contact of the shop at Chinatown (near OG) which sells lots of baby stuff? Thanks:)

o okie, found out the Daiso store locations liao.... internet is very good these days...heehee

Plaza Sing, VIvo and IMM rite?

can someone advise me how to make BM bath for babies? i'm going to be medication for cough & cold for the next 3-4 days. The doc told me not to BF. so sad...
is 3.2L of BM enuff for BM bath? need to add water? Thanks in advance!

catherine, i dun think there is any hard n fast rules bah....jus put whtever u hv if nt enough add water....

i also hv some BM for bath, but hv to got down to bath Mischa with them...super lazy cos aft tt still hv to rinse n soap again.

yea i heard of the chinatown baby store. what do u buy from there anyway? as in what's cheaper there compare to outside stores? everything? just curious...

hehe BM bath... that's amazing. I am very fast in wiping my son clean after breastfeeding him due to the rashes he may get. BM is very high in fats. So like wat S@L said, you really need to rinse your baby thoroughly after that.

Catherine, what i did with Claire is that i pour the BM (from Gloomybear) into those water container and use a sponge to wash her and followed by clean water to rinse her lor.

It seems to work a bit for her eczema coz her skin is terrible except for her face.

Dreamer,

Thanks for the contact. That was fast!

Meow,

BM is antiseptic so even if you don't wipe it off from your bb's cheeks it's alright. When my bb had rashes, my pd told me to apply bm on them and within 1-2 days they disappeared!

just to check who's babies using NUK teats? Rayden has been using NUK since birth and for a very long time he is using Level 2 Medium Hole for thick liquids and milk. But still I find him very slow in finishing. If he is very very hungry he can finish in 15min. Otherwise usually can drag to 30min to 45 min. My hands so tired.....I've bought Level 2 Large Hole for him (so far that's the largest hole for NUK) but seems to big cos the milk will leak from the side of this mouth. Want to know what type of teats ,for those babies using NUK..are using currently. Headache!

Today brought rayden for his 4th mth jab, he's oni weighing 6.965kg at 4 mths 2 weeks..thot he would hit 7kg but sadly didnt. His milk intake still very little..sigh. today he drinks once 170ml, but and the rest 130ml 3-4hrly.

bunny, my 5 months old girl is using nuk level one, the medium hole for milk. she takes abt 15 mins to finish her milk. will prob 'upgrade' the teats to level 2 once when she is abt 6 months

Updating travis's weight:

1)plumsource- baby Luis - 6.55kg on BM (4mths)
2) grace - baby Ash - 7.2 kg on BM(4 mth 5 days)
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.98kg on FM (4 mths 10 days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.9 on FM (4 mths 1 wk)
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 7.2kg on FM (5mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8.85kg on BM (3 months 3 wks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.385kg on BM (3 mths and 3 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 7.6kg on BM (3mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 6.8kg on BM (3mths)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 7.65kg on BM (4 months 9 days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 7.2kg on FM and BM (5months)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.9kg on FM (12 wks 2 days)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7.85kg on BM (3mths)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.8kg on FM ( 4mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 8.06kg on BM & FM (4 mth 1 week)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 7.85kg on FM (4 mths 3 wks)
34) Gloomybear - baby Arielle - 5.2kg on BM (3 mths 5 days
35) annietoh1981 - baby Leroy - 10kg on FM & BM (4 mths 2wks)
36) koh gillian - name? - 7.7kg (4mths 4 days)
37) jay - baby jaydyn - 4.8kg on BM (4mths)
38) kittybride - baby chloe - 6.2kg on FM (4mths 2 days)
39) dreamer@hk - baby kaira - 7.1 kg on FM (4 mths 4 days)
40) petitegurl - baby Jarrell - 7.3kg on FM(4mths 1wk)
41) Yvonne - baby Chloe aka Shuen - 5.8kg on BM (3 mths 28 days)
42)weishy-baby hayley-6.4kg on FM (4mths 1wk)

bunny:: don't worry, when travis was 4months and 2 wks he just hit 7kg. Now he 5months liao only 7.2KG!! sighs. nevermind, i think they're coming to a stage where weight gain stabilises? Esp when they're gg to teeth soon?

my Eliza's using size 3 avent teats for quite a while..abt a mth? cos she was drinking too slowly with the size 2 ones and by then she won't want to finish her milk.

i like using Pampers too! bought at least 5 packs then when it was having sale..quite wuhua...per piece abt 23cents. i think abt 9.90 per pack. Goon ones are comparatively more ex leh. i tried the trial ones and felt it was quite good. but it's more than 30cents per piece leh.

re: sleeping thru the night
I also wish one day Eliza can sleep thru the night so far she has only done it twice! other times she'll wake up and i have to put pacifier to sleep, pat her, try swaddling her or turning her on her tummy. quite frustrating at times when the whole process takes as bad as 1 1/2hr. but i'm reading Sears sleeping book which writes that in a way that's the way baby sleeps, they have shorter REM sleep, and also will wake up for various reasons, ie. too warm, too cold, needing mummy's presence, hungry. and that it's important that while they are young now to create positive sleeptimes for babies & toddlers, after all they're only this young once. one fine day they'll sleep better
i hope hope.

Adding Baby Conrad into the list of Nov babes.

1) plumsource- baby Luis - 6.55kg on BM (4mths)
42) weishy-baby hayley-6.4kg on FM (4mths 1wk)
43) waileng - baby Conrad - 7.3kg on BM (4mths 3wks)

42)weishy-baby hayley-6.75kg on FM (4mths 2wk)

hayley's weight update,went for her 2nd 5-in-1 jab...super cranky after coming home till today maybe kept going out so no time for her to really rest...too tired ba

Brought Conrad for his vaccinations yesterday (3rd dose of 6-in-1, 2nd dose of Prevenar and Rotavirus).

Poor boy had fever last night and this afternoon. Very irritable today, kept clinging on to me. Luckily he's ok now.

Skye skye - like Eliza, Conrad's not sleeping through the night regularly yet - only did it a few times. He generally wakes up once at about 2.30am to feed. I am ok with it for now, especially when his last feed is pretty early, at about 8pm.

Hi Skye Skye,

That time when i bought Pampers at promotion i calculated that per peice is like 30cents plus. It never got to 20cents plus lei. You referring to Pampers Active right?

I have upgraded Kiros to Goo'n L size today. See if it will leak or noT. else i will switch back to Pampers and Pet Pet. Pet Pet is like 20cents per piece and absorbent not bad. Except that the tape is plastic type.

Hi Langlao,
Kiros does sleep faced to the side. Initially we worried that he will have difficulty breathing. But realised that he will turn his body back to facing upwards when he is sound asleep. Plus the yao lan cloth that we using is the type with holes. We also ensure that we got the type with zip at the feet area and also the type with broad head area. My nephew kicked so much once in the night and fell out from the cradle as it wasnt zipped. We had to rush him to KKH A&E.

As for facing down, i havent across Kiros doing so. But if the baby know to flip back soon i guess is ok bah?! provided the yao lan cloth has ventilation?!

bunny, my gal's using NUK teat... she's using the 0-6 months one, the one for milk (i think shld be medium hole)... so far she's ok, takes abt 10 mins to finish 130ml... are u using the silicon or the latex one? my gal is using the clear transparent one (shld be silicone)... i tried to let her use the latex (yellow opaque one) one but it seems that it's so soft that the teat keep collapsing and cause her to take a long time to finish her milk! since then i swap back to the silicone one... you might want to see if that's the same reason for your baby taking long time to drink...

pig07,
oh i guess it's cos i buy the Pampers BabyDry instead of the Active Baby one. $11.90 for 42 pieces for M size. it was on sale few weeks ago, $9.90 for one pack. the Active baby ones ex tho!!

With regards to sleeping, before Jaydyn can flip over to her tummy, ever since she was 2mths old, i put her to sleep on her sides and put the bean sprout pillow across her tummy. Sometimes, she would jus open out her hands and turn her head to the other side. Sometimes, while she was light sleeping, she would keep turning her head fm left to right. Seemed so scary!

Then when she is able to flip to her tummy, I hv been letting her sleep on her tummy. And most recently, somehow after her 9+ or 10+pm feed, she is able to sleep thru e night till ard 7-8am! So happy! Yesterday cos we brought her out for the entire early afternoon till evening, she knocked out after the 7pm feed. So she woke up ard 3+am for her feed and couldnt get to sleep! Faint! Managed to put her to sleep ard 5am and she woke up again at 7am.

And she's quite strange leh. As the weather is very warm lately, there were a few days where we turned on e aircon but she would wake up abt twice during e night! And when we jus dress her in her rompers to sleep with jus the fan, she sleeps thru! Wonder why. haha!

I think as our babies grow, esp at tis stage, very cute leh. Jaydyn also loves to smile a lot and will also chuckle and sometimes makes e loud shrieking sounds as some of u have mentioned. hehe! loves to look at herself in e mirror, loves to stand and kick kick. Cant imagine when she reaches the stage where she learns to walk. Aiyoh! Will need many more eyes! haha!

Hi Bunny, I've been using the NUK teats since my boy had trouble feeding from the bottle at 2 months. He has been using the latex teat (0-6 months, medium flow) ever since and has no problems drinking milk. Agree that sometimes the teat might collapse when baby sucks too hard on it but just take it out and put it back again.

My boy fastest timing for a feed is under 2 minutes for 150mls. haha. That was when he was REALLY hungry!

Guess it also depends on the baby. Ethan hates silicon and only drinks from latex. I wasted all my money on avent bottles initially. sigh...

pig,
The yaolan cloth that i am using is wif holes but no zip leh. Whr to get the one wif zip. The cloth i m using is getting too small and tis morn i saw ashlee's feet dangling out and then she kicked and half her body came out. Luckily i was thr else she wld hv fell.

diapers:
ashlee cant use pampers baby dry M size anymore cos it was getting too tight at her thighs. now she uses nepia M size but i foresee i hv to upgrade to L diapers soon. Mummies using L size diapes, which brand is good & reasonably price? I saw NTUC having promotion on Mammy Poko issit good? Not sure if L is too big leh.

Hi Pig07,
Joseph takes about 10-15 mins to finish his milk w level 2 teats, so guess no need to upgrade yet ya? Thanks for the info.

Need to vent my frustration about my mum, sorry. I'm planning to go back to work in MAy and I'm just finalizing my job offer now. Though I have a maid who's good with baby, the plan was for my mum to quit her job to supervise at my house during the weekdays. Then yesteraday, while discussing this, she expressed reluctance to do so becuase I mentioned that when baby turns 1 or 2, I may want to send him to daycare. She's afraid that when he goes to daycare, she may not be needed around anymore and then have to look for job again. My sister tried to tell her not to worry so much and at her age, she should be retiring and spending more time with family, not worrying so much about money. After all, she is really financial secure for retirement already. I'm very pissed off with her because I can't believe that her priority is still money rather than family. I feel like just telling her, forget it, keep her stupid job, which she hates anyways, and I'll look after Joseph myself or send him to infantcare. So now I'm not sure what to do. Sigh.....just when I'm about to sign my job offer. I'm really having second thoughts now about going back to work. Maybe it's not worth it. But then again, financial it's very stupid for me not to go back to work just so my mum can continue working because she earns less than 20% of what I earn. So from purely numbers point of few, it's really stupid. But money is not everything and maybe me staying home makes more sense.

Sorry, to add to the story, my hubby is not chinese and thinks its ridiculous that we need to "pay" my mum to look after her grandson. And I know even if Joseph goes to daycare, it will be good to have my mum around to pick him up and drop him off at daycare while we work etc. But I know the problem will arise later when my husband will not want to fork out money for daycare and still pay my mum. He's expressed reluctance now even as I sound him out on that. So I'm quite stuck. Should I just bite the bullet, let my mum quit her job to take care of Joseph and worry about other things later, or should I just not bother to go back to work.

Twiggy, like u said you income is a lot more than your mum's. It definately makes more sense for u to work than staying at home. My point is if your family can survive on single income without having to add too much stress on your hubby, then the best solution is for you to be a SAHM. But u have to ask yourself if you are one person who can face baby 24/7?

I guess the next best option is to send your baby to a nanny or daycare as i really dun think a maid can cope and in the long run will have problems cos maid cannot manage housechores properly and cannot teach your baby things as he grows older e.g. reading, playing, stimulation etc. at least in daycare, there are teachers playing, singing with them.

of course the best bet would be your mum, and for tt part maybe u might wan to give ur mum a token for taking care of your baby on top of the monthly allowance you give? I am not sure what your hubby's perception is, but even if parents are not helping us to take care of our kids still must give some allowance right? jus my 2cents.

Update on my bb weight...
My gal grow 2 teeths on her lower part. no wonder her milk intake oso decrease..

23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 8kg on FM ( 5mths )
42)weishy-baby hayley-6.75kg on FM (4mths 2wk)

Hi Plim & Yami,
That's weird..my piggy Rayden already using Level 2 from 6mths onwards Medium hole for quite sometime, think after 2mths if I'm not wrong. But still he is very slow. Slow until always fall asleep halfway. He's using silicone. I even tried using the fork to make the whole slightly bigger. True, the latex one always collapse. We stopped using the latex type before he even turned full mth. One thing i like abt him falling asleep while drinking is becos that's usually the oni way for him to finish all, if not majority of the milk. If he's awake, he will usually either drink 1/2 or 3/4 of it and waste the rest. But sumx it's so pekchek cos he's too tired until his mouth doesnt move!
Find rayden bit diff to take care as compared to my elder son last time. sumx feel like having 3rd one but the thot of going the process again aso v sian. But one thing we really like abt Rayden is he always smile and smile ...at anybody! hee..my mom always bring him to market and tell me that he already knows alot of aunties there cos he always "fa dian" to them..haha