(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hello All Mummies *wave wave*

I have MIA for some time, not sure if the mummies here still remembers me. My girl is Andrea...

Angel,
Nice meeting you last sat. Happen to see the post here about Berries Orchard, so, I have some question about Jade's teachers. How do you find Jade's teachers? Does Jade enjoy her class?

My elder boy used to attend N1 there too, but the teachers are now different. There is one teacher who taught my boy N1 last year who is very good, apparently transferred to Bishan brance now.

Btw, what makes you pick Orchard Branch? I have tried Hougang branch last year, dont find the teachers good.

atinarin,
Andrea was attending JG Billigual for 2 terms last year. Hmmm.... I find so so only. If your gal is attending Pre-Nursery on Mon-Fri, JG curriculum is very similar. I have pulled Andrea out from JG and awaiting to join Berries as she is still not ready for unaccompanied classes.

Andrea is on waiting list for Sat morning slot for 10.45am, same class as Jade....

Tiffany,
May I know the teacher surname u said is good but transferred to bishan?
My boy is attending the N1 class at bishan.
His teacher is "kuang lao shi".. Is it the same teacher??

Tiffany,
Thanks. So is different teacher.

So is Andrea attending pre-nursery now??

Hi Magoo,

I have enrolled her, but will be starting from Term 2, ie End March. Dont think she is ready, her behaviour is very babish.. Bet she will cry her lungs out when I put her in. Haiz... I have been asking her every morning since 2 wks ago if she wants to go school, she said No and shake her head.

She is now toilet-trained, but her maturity still not there to go school lei..

Tiffany,
How come Term 2 then can start?
My boy also every time mention go school only, he will say NO..NO!!
He was crying n whining when asked to change into uniform for the 1st week.. But now, think eventually, he gave up liao.. he accepted his fate!! haha..

Hi Tiffany,

Who was ur teacher at JG? Mine is Farhan & Julie. My gal is currently at JG @ Forum and she is enjoying herself. She is pretty much an audio learner who dun really pay attention in class..but surprisingly, she knows what is taught. Personally, i find JG teachers better than GUG and childcare teachers.

Re: Fussy eater
The teachers complained that my gal is eating SOOOOO little in school. Just a few mouthful and she is done..How???

Hazel is in school since oct 2009 , she started from dont like school , cry for a week but becsuse kor kor is in the same school and the teacher will bring her to kor kor's class to reassure her that he is still around.

She slimmed down alot after 1 month in school and teachers say she is very choosy with food.

She begin to slowly like school, slowly gain back her weight. Start singing songs and learning her ABCs ...

Nowadays when she is sick , she will ask if cant she go to school ... and on weekends she will miss her friends. Her list of friends goes on and on .... chloe , caden , bell bell .... hehe

Soon ur kids will be like Hazel!

Tristan still hates going to school (full day childcare) even though he has been attending since July 2009!

Basically coz he prefers to play and play and play...lazy bum!

tmr is the last day of my confinement! CL leaving tmr!

I'm feeling jittery and scared i can't cope alone at home!

I dunno how some of you cope last time with no helper and alone at home with bb...really admired u ladies!

how to pump milk, latch, cook lunch, eat, bathe, take care of bb also ah...
scary....
kao_scared.gif

Magoo,
Good to hear your boy has accepted his fate..
Andrea's church kindy only accepts kids who are toilet-trained. Also, being a Sep baby, I thought sending her in Jan would be too scary/early for her. So, I opt to send her starting from Term 2. Meanwhile, I am trying to talk to her daily about how interesting school is...I want to settle her to Pre-Nursery school then later Berries. Dont want to tramatise her.

Poohwei,
Andrea was from Evans road Sat afternoon class. Her English teacher was Melissa and chinese teacher is Gai lao si. Not that JG is not good, but I thought the learning pace is slow. Andrea enjoyed her classes, just that mummy is so bored with the programme, find it so slow pace and repetitive. Moreover, she will be starting her daily Pre-Nursery soon, so, I withdraw her from JG. I plan to put her in Berries to focus on mandarin. Being a weekend mum, I cant have too many enrichment classes for her. Also, so expensive to send her to too many la..

Florence,
Good to hear Hazel settled in well. I hope Andrea will learn to like school too.

Arisz,
Relax.. Take one step at the time.
U try to get ur mil or helper to prepare ur lunch.
Pump when bb is sleeping..
Last time, I made use of bb sleeping time to do all.. hee..
DON'T WORRY, U CAN DO IT!!

Emily, maid help my mil sent my boy to cc. Then after that she will stayed at my mil's plc.

Hubby gg overseas tmr so left me and bb alone at home!

So scary!

MAg, think i have to prepare my own lunch coz mil n helper leaving hse at 9am then back at 9pm.
I have to settle my own lunch and dinner.

Mag, Florence, guess I juz have to face it when it comes!

hi arisz,
don't worry, and don't underestimate your capability, you'll be able to cope. will be a bit trying at first but you;ll get by. anyway, you have tristan in childcare right? that should be half battle won liao. hehe.

magoo, atinarin,
i have yet to call berries. been busy handling my mum's maid issue..headache. anyway, i intend to send her for trial in bishan on this sat. 11.16 am session. atinarin pm me if you want to be there too yeah. with regards to crying in class, usually sarah like many will be scared and cry too if she sees another wailing kid else, high chance she'll be ok.

Hi Tiffany, nice meeting u too
hope ur néw job goes well, and dont worry I will make sure Rachel takes good care of u! Haha...

Yes Jade is enjoying her berries classes...at home she will sing the songs and she knows all the words that were taught...I am so amazed at how fast she learns things. When I ask jade if she likes berries, she says yes! But when i tell her mummy can't stay with her, she doesn't want to go! But i am sure with more time she will learn to 'accept her fate' too!

Re teachers, I find they are very good! They have so much energy and patience, and can tell they genuinely like to teach. They are very animated...During the class, all the kids are so captivated, adults too haha.

Hi Angel,
Thanks for "looking after" me.. hahha.. Rachel definitely looks like a very pleasant girl and hope we can work well together.

Good to hear Jade is enjoying and she is so clever. She is absorbing well. Agree that the way they conduct their classes are very interesting. Very happy to hear that this time slot has good teachers too. Saw briefly from above post that you will be going to PNG in Apr? Looks like Andrea will not have a chance to see Jade in the same class loh...

Tiffany,
Ya probably going sometime in May..I am not sure if I will continue Berries for another term. If we stop then Andrea got space to come in liao

Arisz,
U can do it one.. dun think so much.

Ayden is cleared from his fever, but now he is having roseola - whole body rashes, even the face.
I applied leaves for him from school till friday.
So, this coming monday will need to start him ALL OVER AGAIN!! HAIZ..

Hi Magoo,
I can understand how u feel. After skipping class for 4 days when we were away for cruise, Edison cried badly at school. That day, I assigned my helper to sit outside the class to make sure Edison is OK. Once they lost the momentum, they have to start all over again.

This week is better for Edison. Today, when my PIL picked him from school, they saw him playing happily with friends. He cried for a while when I left him there this morning. The teacher said he stopped crying when I walked out of the classroom.

For Roseola, PD has some lotion to apply to reduce the itchiness. Did you get the lotion from PD?

Magoo

Did I see correctly??? Are you referring to Dr OH Meng Choo??? Where is her clinic now? My kids used to see her at Bishan Paediatric centre and she left without telling where she went.

Can you tell me where is her clinic now?

Justme
Sarah is not alone. My girl when she see those childcare picture with children, she will say she want to go to school too. She can even tell my mum that her school uniform is yellow!! (cherie hearts)!! But mummy still can't bear to put her in childcare!!

Magoo
Speedy recovery to Ayden, hope he will adjust well next Monday!

Arisz
I'm sure you can do it. For lunch and dinner, why not try those delivery for this short period. I think they normally have trial or if you are accessible to coffeeshop nearby, just ta bao as food is important to give you strength!!

Tiffany,
Yes.. Is Dr Oh Meng Choo.
She opens her own clinic.

Dr Oh Meng Choo
Kids Clinic @ Bishan
Blk 116 Bishan St 12
#01-28 Singapore 570116
Tel: 63568909

Btw, she only opens on morning for tues n thurs n sat n sun.
Mon, Wed n fri, she has night clinic.
The clinic is closed in afternoon for mon to sun.

Hope the info is helpful!!

totoro,
Thank you..

totoro,
kelly goes to cherie hearts?? hehe... we sent sarah there previously, anyway, yeah she still thinks cherie hearts is her school..poor girl. =(

Thanks JustMe, Mag and totoro_bb!

MIL left helper to help me today as my sil is on leave. So I managed to survived! Phew!

Long time nvr clean poo poo for so many freaking times liao. (Tristan only poo once a day now)
Breastfeeding bb really poooooo so many times leh! Aiyoh!

Talking about crying in school, my horrible Tristan still cries almost every morning when he reached school.
(My mil told me as she sent him to sch)

Now I can't be bothered anymore...heh

sigh,...today so drama...i am so tired. had to cook up a story to send my mum's maid home. poor girl. taking care of old people really isn't easy. even i sometimes, get frustrated at my mum ridiculous accusation and paranoia. feel bad firing someone. somemore she is so attached to my kids. with this episode, i am so glad i didn't have a maid... headache. me and hubby are too kind. if got maid, surely we'll be taken advantage of our kindness.

Good Morning everyone and wave wave to Magoo.

Lucas will be 4yrs old in April.

Lucas used to see Dr Oh and I like her alot. We knew she was leaving Thomson Paeditric Ctr, but she dint tell where she was going, so, we lost her. How did you find her?

Hi mummies, Good morning!

Magoo,
Ryan just recovered from Rosella too. He had 3 days of high fever and then broke out in rashes 4 days before his bday party. I was praying so hard that the rashes will subside before his party!! Otherwise he will be a very ugly bday boy! Then lucky all gone within 2 days. This is his 2nd time round getting it. First time when he was 8 mths old. I brought him to PD, she prescribed fever medicine and very confidently said 3 days of fever and then asked me to watch out for rashes. And if no rashes and fever persist then bring back to see her. Rashes are not itchy so actually no need to do anything.

Tiffany,
Wave..Wave..
Oh..
How I find her huh??
Cos her clinic is very near to my sister's plc.
So one fine day when Ayden was not well, I asked my sis to try out the new clinic n that's how I found her!!
To be frank, I dunno abt her b4 hand. N also dunno she was from Thomson pd centre.
Only till one of the mummy told me then i knw she is so popular!!

Angel,
Ayden has the rashes since last sunday. n till today still has lor.. somemore very red at times!!
Hopefully all will be gone by sat!!

Magoo,

I am not sure if she is really popular. When we used to see her at Thomson PD Ctr, she doesnt seemed that popular, usually dont have long waiting time, unless some other popular PD. She seemed to be quite young and started out not many years, so, I guess she is slowly building up her clientele.

I do like her approach and patience. She gives very good advice and very personal and friendly too. I feel comfortable with her.

Magoo,
Yah Ryan when first time kenna also rashes for 5 days then clear. But dun worry, won't have scars, and its not painful or itchy so they're not feeling anything.

mummies with kids in berries

I just went for a trial yesterday with nate. i sat in and felt that 1.5hours is too long. i really dunno what the children learnt. esp for the kids with parents not around, the children are running all over the place and not participative at all. there's 4 kids but i felt the teacher can't really handle them and there's no asst teacher around.
is it the same for others or maybe i just went at the wrong time/place?

nateM (merkon) : We went to the tampines branch . together there are 7 kids and 3 teachers. The crying kids are more difficult kids was accompanied by the teachers. some mummies are still in the room.
I left hazel after 30 mins in the room . when she go home , she can sing and say the words she learnt when prompted.

Hi mummmies,
Need to ask something personal. I want to stop having children for now. Coz if I get preggy in PNG I will be in big trouble! Anyone do contraceptive implants before? I'm wondering whether to do it in the arm or do one down there. Any thoughts to share? Anyone know how much it costs? And recommendation on which gynae to go do it?

nateM,
Ayden's class has 1 teacher n 1 assistant teacher. As what I have observed, the teacher get the children to be involved in the activities. She will sing n then action etc.. the kids in the class will follow.. there are ard 7 kids in Ayden's class.

NateN
I believe it depends on how capable the teacher is handling the kids. I tried Hougang branch and that particular class teacher cannot make it. Then I went to Orchard, my boy loves it so much and he looks forward every week and able to read all his cards.

Angel,
I had this Hormonal IUD inserted. I went to Dr Eunice Chua at Thomson Medical - TLC, think its 3rd floor. The Hormonal IUI is call mirena.
http://www.mirena.com/html/index.html

Had it inserted in Jul last year, so far so good. I havent really get menses, just some light spotting each month or none.. Symptom varies from individual, so, I count myself lucky that I have almost no menses. My gynae recommended this to me, cos I have endometriosis problem, so, no menses will be better for me. Hope info helps.

I paid about $700 plus, including a pap smear test too.

re: berries
I tried the hougang branch too. though there's only 4 kids, i don't think the teacher couldn't get the kids settle down. no asst teacher lei. think maybe i'm at the wrong place ba ... anyway, i asked nate if he wants to go back there. he said 'no need'.

i wont be trying berries either.
for my case, since my girl has not attended any class so far, i dont wanna throw her in the deep end so to speak with a 1.5hr long class (even i cannot pay attention for that long!)
on her own not to mention.