(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

JustMe,
I really admire mummies like u, can stay home n take care of the kids.. I very much wanted to be like u,but somehow I think I can only be PART TIME SAHM rather than Full Time.. heee

3187443.jpg
3187444.jpg

wat a lazy afternoon at the beacch!

Keith is into roller skates as cousin megan has one , so mummy bought him one yty. now i am wondering where to get someone to teach him to skates. wahaha

aiyo...dunno why many FTWM admire SAHM...and some SAHM....AT TIMES...wishes they are FTWM....the grass is ALWAYS greener on the other side.

justme, i guess most of us who are ftwm yearn for time with children. however, sahm yearns for some time alone?? LOL. true....grass is alway greener on the other side.

how's sarah and johan (hope i got his name right)? sarah is a good sister to him?

i am glad i have the holidays to be a sahm. looking forward to the holidays. but have to share the holidays looking after ben with PIL. LOL. MIL tried to propose a mon-wed-fri she look after and tue-wed-thu-weekends i look after. LOL. should i accept?

JustMe, we admired you cause it is really not easy to be a SAHM with 2 children. I know I can't...even if I can, it will only be for a short while.

nancy,
i tot nowadays teachers still have to return back to school for whathaveyou activities???

anyway, maybe you can try out the MIL arrangement. sounds great to me... cos, trust me...you'll want a break from a 2 year old toddler within a week...

yup you got the name right - johan.
sarah is a wonderful sister to johan. will play and read to him (she pretends to know how to read, fyi - don't be alarmed) i can count on her to entertain the brother. they both are very attached to one another. Sarah will wake up every morning and first thing she'll ask is "where is adik?" adik is little bro/sis in malay.

johan can giggle so loudly when sarah is around him jumping about. I have to work so hard to make him laugh. but it was effortless for sarah.
=) so, so far having them both is good.

nicole dear, its a matter of no choice. haha. ok lah got choice, just place them in centre or get maid but i always like to walk the course less-trodden lah. mad right?

Hi mummies, just want to share a bit on feeding. But of coz this is just uniquely Shawn's case.
He has always been fussy with his food. We tried so many stuff from porridge , to mee sua, rice, etc and introducing all sorts of variety. Some days he feeds well, some days he eats little. I thought it's just this phase where some kids get fussy abt food,etc.

I complained to his PD abt his fussy eating. She checked and realised he has big tonsils. And she suspects the big tonsils is causing acid reflux (don't ask me how this medical thingy works) which makes him a poor eater. He shows no other symptons, he is well , super active and happy. So he is on medication for 8 wks to see how it goes with the acid reflux.

I guess, this taught me never to assume a child's condition and automatically attribute it to behavorial issue?

Pillow: does it means the acid reflux will cause whatever yummy food to taste horrible, resulting him in rejecting even the nicest food? Something new leh...thanks for sharing this finding.

tiny voice, apparently the acid reflux makes him uncomfy to want to take in more food. it doesnt make yummy food taste horrible, of coz .

its like if you have a bloat, no matter how yummy you also don't feel like?

Don't like food, only like milk ah. Hmmm. That sounds like my niece, Katriel . haha

Wiselyn (wiselyn) : can plan to meet up soon. will be maidless for 2 weeks , current maid leaving on sat and new maid will only come in end of the month!
Miss ur dearie clara too.

Pillow (pillow) : really? hehe i think mayb they lazy to chew.

TiNy VoIcE (voice_0229) : dun think so , hehe , she was in school!

Hey which cny clothings was it that u wan? shall we meet on monday for lunch? "khbabistuffs.blogspot.com" thanks

Hey pillow

Thanks for the sharing. Shawn is not alone here. I will check Caelen out too. He is still a super fussy eater, only like plain tasteless stuff like white rice and white bread. Give him chocolates and ice cream he will spit out. And up to now I am still sleep-feeding him! But used to it liao... at night will automatically wake up to check and feed him.

hi, shawn didn't lose weight. but he hasn't gain much . always hovering like 12 kg. honestly, if not for the PD, really can't guess that he might be having acid reflux.

peapod, u might want to consider introducing Pediasure? i have also been dreamfeeding Shawn since baby till now with Similac. but as shawn really likes chocolote milk, i give him pediasure chocolate flavor in the day. with that he gladly finish his milk. with similac, he usually only drink 1/2. apparently, Pediasure helps to boost appetite too (as per PD).

I have also been giving Shawn kid's multi vit since his eating is so erratic.

Hi Pillow,
Thanks for sharing the information about acid reflux. Edison is also another poor eater. His weight is also around 12kg only. I have been blaming his poor eating habit due to his behaviour and terrible two symptoms until I read about your post yesterday.

Last night, my helper struggled to feed him again. He cried badly and refused to sit on his high chair. I called the PD, wanted to confirm if it's due to acid reflux too. But unfortunately, I can't get hold of the PD, I think the clinic was not open last night.

My helper and MIL tried all means to feed him. At the end, they put him on the kitchen worktop and let him play with the spoons and forks. Then, with the distraction, he finished all his dinner!

Again, my MIL assured me that Edison is not sick. He is fussy with food. Everyday, they try all means to feed him. Besides the kitchen worktop, they also feed him in the car and in the garden.

Over the weekend, he usually don't take proper meals cos I don't have the patience to coax him like what my MIL and helper did.. haiz..

Hi pillow and emily, Caelen just made it cross 11.5 kg. But recently got sick so dropped back to 11kg. Sigh.

I am giving him Pediasure (vanilla) and isomail (soy) mix cos' scared that Pediasure too heaty. I have been trying to sneak milk into milo but he drinks only a little then dun want.

I bought vitamins too. But my PILs refused to give him *urgghhh!* cos' the elderly somehow believes that vitamins are heaty ;o

At home, we feed him around the house too. But because our dinner time and his differs quite abit, we can't sit him together with us. Anyway, he won't sit still for more than 15mins on his high chair. Outside, the portable DVD works wonders. I feel guilty about it but it really allows us to feed him and eat in peace. He can then last for almost an hour in chair.

Hi Peapod,
Vitamins also heaty? Kekeke.. First time I heard of it.. I bought multi-vitamins at GNC for Edison - syrup form. But he doesnt quite like it. Next time, I'm going to try the chewable type. Since these kids are picky eaters, it's good to supplement with these multi-vitamins.

Don't have to feel guilty about using the portable DVD. If it works for Edison, I will surely use it too. Perhaps, I should try using the portable DVD next week when the kitchen worktop doesn't work anymore. Thanks for your brilliant idea!

Btw, when I saw Caelen at Vivo last time, he seems to be bigger in size than Edison wor... He doesn't look like 11.5kg at all..

Hi Pillow,
My En En has the same condition as ur shawn. On wed, she developed hives and the Childcare called us to bring her back to see doc. At the PD's clinic, the PD checked her and realised that her tonsils were enlarged too. He asked me why and i told him i don't know. He did not mention anything abt acid reflux although he knows that she is a fussy eater. He prescribed some medication "Bonnisan" for her which she has been taking for 2 odd months liaoz. Nowadays, she is only interested in ice-cream and rice with some fish. Super fussy in her eating habits even in school. Luckily, she loves milk!! That explains why i am still so hardworking..pumping 4 times daily to meet the needs of both En En and her 5+ month old sister.

Weight wise, she is still hovering 10.6kg!! Her 5+ month old sister is hitting 7kg liaoz..Grr..

Wow..after hearing from all of you about kiddos eating habits, i must admit that Samuel eats well thus far and sometimes i should just go easier on him if he don't finish his food. I get very upset if he only eat like half bowl and will tell him, 'don't eat throw away!'..and i really do it. This week he has unusually good appetite, polish off all milk and solid food given to him. He can eat 1 bowl of mee sua and asked for bread too! He don't like ice cream but loves yogurt, mebbie ice cream too cold for him? Well i am also guilty of letting him watch too much dvd, always easier way out to coax him to eat or occupy him if i want to do my own things. Think Sam is around 12.5-13kg now.

before everyone get excited, i truly think it's also THE phase that toddlers are distracted and less interested in food....not to be too paranoid abt it. every kid's condition is different

1. Multi vit liquid - shawn likes it. so everyday 1 spoonful. no constipation issue. the myth on multi vit being heaty somehow i feel comes from iron content in certain multi vit which causes some adults constipation. the same goes for formula milk, it's the iron content.

2. enlarged tonsils , acid reflux - i am not too sure how the 2 link (or don't link) but somehow, that's what shawn has

3. eating everywhere in the house - that we truly avoid. 90% of the time will be on high chair. that i am quite sticky abt, otherwise wkends will be tough on us parents

4. healthy food, junk food, sweet food - PD told us to give him ANYTHING which he likes in moderation, so long he eats them. this is to spur their interest to eat

5. TV - PD advised us 20 mins max per day on TV. that i can't really control since he is under the care of my inlaws. but i have tol them....

6. HEREDITARY - PD says it plays a big part (?!) asked my hb whether he is like this when young, difficult eater, upset tummy,etc. the answer is YES. my inlaws always go, Shawn is exactly like daddy, exasperating when comes to eating. my hb is all skins and bones when young

Hi Voice,
You are a lucky mother, let's give Sam a big big hug! Haha!

Edison also doesn't like ice-cream, I guess too cold.. he loves chocolates and yogurt..

Emily..but he is not bah bah type leh...see my blog and you will know. I want to hug baby piglet's Ayden..that one is super cute and nice to cuddle!!

mummies how do your 2 year old go to sleep at night? still cradle to sleep or just tuck him in bed then let him sleep himself?

Justme
My both kids sleep in their room. I will lie down with Yan on her lower bunk while Ray on his upper bunk, do some chit chatting or story telling. Usually the kids will sleep after like 15-30mins.

lbs! wah...long time no see...how are you?

wow...sounds so blissful..wonder when my 2 kids can be like yours...now i still sleep with johan and daddy in sarah's room...sigh...

Hi Emily, Caelen looks big because he has a BIG head hahaa... even when he is in my tummy, his head is already 90% percentile, while his body is 50% ;p

Hi justme, caelen sleeps on a mattress just below my bed. I will read books to him and pat him to sleep about 10pm. He typically fall asleep in about 20mins.

But he is a restless sleeper and would often call out for me in the middle of the night. If I ignore him, he would climb up my bed. So I will usually move down to pat him back to sleep and accompany him there for a while. But many times I ended up sleeping on the mattress with him till morning!

hi magoo, why suddenly u ask abt ROW eh? Seldom chat with her these days as she also seldom online, think bz lah. I also lately very bz with office move and other work. Now in new office, sit just outside boss room and also surrounded by HODs, can't go into forum so frequently, haahaa. I can use MSN openly though, hee hee. (sort of offical mode for communication to cut cost!)

justme,
both my kids sleep in their room. they hv a bunker bed like lbs' kids. a typical night involves reading and some rolling/playing in our room.. then they will go back to their room between 9 - 930pm. usu asleep in 15mins time.
saturday will be a "bonus" night, they get to sleep in our room on a sofa bed.

justme
yea..busy loh..typical answer when one goes MIA! haha

Now i not good ah, both kids are down with HFMD!

peapod,
i have the same experience as you

have tried letting kayla sleep in her bed but in the middle of night, she will half awake and cry. If i ignore her, she will climb out from her bed to sleep with us. nowadays, we just placed her to sleep in between us so that she wont have to climb out. But we still get wake up by her kickings and turnings...sleepless night still..

kayla is a super fussy eater! she love to eat junk food like choc, ice cream, biscuit, anything that is sweet but all in very small portion..Proper meals only take plain rice. Anything in the rice such as veg, she will filter out. All this has to depend on her mood, if she's happy then she will take abit of meat..otherwise, only drinks milk.

Wondering if she has the acid hyflux oso

Hi yoki, we are in the same boat - haven't had a good sleep in 2 years haha!

We gave up sleeping with him between us liao. There is simply not enough space in our queen bed AND Caelen gets upset when we "obstruct" his turning around in bed. My hubby used to exclaim "Hey! it's OUR bed ok!" So in the end, we banished Caelen to the floor. Once, I made hubby sleep on the floor and put caelen in the bed with me. I gave him lots of room liao but in the middle of the night, he still rolled down. Luckily we put lots of pillows on the floor to cushion his fall.

magoo
cannot take leave..and hb is away to attend 2 funerals back in his hometown..so imagine the chaotic scenario at home now !! ahahaa...am going mad liao

aiyoh siti, after seeing what you feel about sarah and johan i aso feel like having another one now. but... something major happened last week. still waiting for more information to see how everything will go in future. sighs. first ben now hubby. sighs.

lucky for me, my school is rather protective of school holidays. other than major CCAs practising in June & Dec and p5 and p6 extra lessons in June holls, the rest of teachers are able to enjoy at least 3 weeks of holls in dec. =D so i believe u are meeting me and blue if we are arranging play group?

re: eating
same as voice, am aso very blessed where ben's food is concerned. he doesnt fuss much but eats almost everything we put into his mouth. but there are rare days where he filters fish or bigger pieces of food. then MIL would "hide" the fish under other stuff to feed him. LOL. works everytime.

re: sleep
for almost half a year, i have been lying next to ben when he sleeps (at around 8-9 pm). he would fall asleep within 10-20 minutes. sometimes he would ask for some patting or singing. sometimes he would ask me not to pat or sing. mood swings i guess. then it's MY time to do what i want for the rest of the night. Hee!!

siti, now johan still young, still need to separate from jie jie. wait till johan is as big as jie jie now, u can be just like lbs and darmae, enjoying bedtime!!! =D

lbs, give an extra hug from auntie nancy to your ray and yan k? give an extra pat on your shoulder too!!!!! =D kam pa tei!!!

yoki, peapod...haha...tat was wat happen before my #2 came along. now sarah abit "kwai". only at times she'll cry in middle of night..prob nightmare...that, hubby will have to handle.

speaking of sleep...i can't remember the last time i have a good night rest without being awaken for nightfeed...

Jade is sick with cough and flu and stomach pain...she throws up everything that goes in her tummy almost instantly (usually after coughing then followed by merlion), including her medication and antibiotics. Any idea how to keep her from throwing up? Pls help!

Angel, feed the medicine before her meals....tats what I did when tristan was like tat. But do check with the doc whether is it ok to do that. Some medicine can but some cannot.