(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Good morning mummies ... it's TGIF!

Just now brought Jordan to the playgroup for recee. Was surprised he seemed pretty comfortable when he stepped in there (was expecting him to cry cos he usually cry when he enters somewhere unfamiliar). He was busy walking around the classroom and bringing books for me.

Initially wanted to start him in May ... but since the playgroup also follows the school holidays, I thought it's better to start in July cos can save 1 month's school fee (Jun holiday also must pay school fee if enrol in May). Also, am thinking that it's not a good idea to "rest" for 1 month after adapting to the new place ... which means July I might have to start the adaptation cycle all over again with Jordan.

Those who have your kids in playgroup, does your schools practise collecting the school fees for Dec upfront? This school's deposit is for Dec fees. It is non-refundable even if you are withdrawing before that, regardless of any reason.

Blue, When I enrolled Sam for Jan2010 playgroup, i paid 1 month deposit to be deductable in dec2010(sch fee). Most sch if follow MOE sch term practice that i think.

the school didn't ask me to pay upfront for the dec school fee but I do have a deposit of 1 mth school fee which is refundable with 8 wks written notice given to the school.

rxsti: Initially I thought it should be done your way ... a deposit that is refundable if notice in writing received within a certain time. But no leh ... this one you have to pay Dec school fees upfront. Even if you decide not to continue after 1 month, the Dec fees also forfeited. That's why I thought it doesn't make sense to me ... so I am asking the rest of you lor.

blue, every sch has their own policy and T&C. If you don't feel it's fair, then you look for other school that is more flexi lor.

atinarin, thanks I am staying in the north west where are you ??? as for fax hmmm i will need to ask my hb 1st
thanks a lot you can also email me at [email protected]

Hi Mummies , Me having headache looking for a childcare for hazel. almost giving up le.
mayb will delay till she turn two. planning to let her learn phonics once a week first.

headache ! headcache!

TiNy VoIcE (voice_0229) : kor kor is in PCF now and they don't take in 2007 babies yet.
MMI Raffles is not a option for me now!
gingerbread house(montessori) is full till 2010!

Voice: Not many choices near my house leh ... this is a better one I should say ... so will probably place him there. Anyway it's just gonna be till end of the year cos he will be in Marymount Kindergarten next year liao.

florence: then why not u waitlist for CC and then meanwhile look for those playgroup near ur hse?

Blue: then u treat it as paying for Dec fee and place him in 1 yr lor, since he going to transit to Marymount next yr.

I am so happy. En En managed to self feed on some of her porridge after 3 weeks in childcare. We were very surprised when her teacher told us that yesterday, so we decided to try out today. True enough, she managed to self-feed about 5 big scoops of porridge. The remainders were fed by my helper. Good start!! Hope that she will eat more types of food from now onwards also. Seems that they really learn more at childcare. More independent.

She is also less insistent on me carrying her for now. I told her that mummy cannot carry you. Mummy can only hug u or hold ur hands. Hence, she has been holding my hands whenever she needs me to bring her ard. Very very sweet.

Good morning mummies...

Angel,
So qiao to see u & ur family last friday. Jade is so sweet when she say bye bye to us & Ryan is so cute.

BTMum,
We can Hi 5 liao as i wake up at 6am too but i dun go out so early lah hee... It's gd to have ur own transport so tat u no need to squeeze with ppl in mrt or bus.

Voice,
Angel moved back to Strathmore

Poohwei,
Congrats tat En En can self feed herself well done!

Can mummies pls tell me which cough syrup is good?
My girl started coughing very badly today. The terbutalin and rhinatoil or something the doctor prescribed is not doing any good.

atinarin,

Did you considering bringing her to consult different doctor?

U staying at AMK rit??
Recently, I came across a PD at Bishan not bad leh. Her medicine works on my boy.
Her charges is not very expensive too..

Magoo: Yah, she was Jordan's PD since his birth ... originally she was located at a clinic near my place but after she was transferred to the Sembawang branch, I didn't go to her due to the travelling. So glad now she opened her own clinic in Bishan ... I always bring Jordan to see her now instead of going to the PD near my place where she used to be liao (except for jabs no choice cos my package is there). She is indeed a grade A PD ... she happens to be from my church too!

Blue,

Oic... so QIAO...
We have many in COMMON leh.. haha...
Actually I like her cos she does not behave as a PD seeing patients.. She sees her patients all thr the "eye of a mummy".. u knw wat I meant??
Somemore she has such policy tat if u go back n see her within 3 days, she doesn't charge any consultation.. she charges on medicine only!! VERY REASONABLE... hee

Yah ... she is not the "money face" kind of doctor. That time when she asked us to send Jordan immediately to KK when he had low platelets, she was very caring ... she will call to ask how Jordan was etc. How many doctors will do that?

Blue,
I like the way she treats her "little patients"..
She made mummy like me feel very secure n comfortable.. hee..
Her charges for vaccination is not expensive at all..

Refresh!

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon on 1 May 2009. (PUBLIC HOLIDAY)
Wang Cafe/Coffee Bean at Level 2
=========================================
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
8. Justme + hb + Sarah (if haven't pop)
9. Low family+HB+Charlene+Charlotte
10.yoki+hb+kayla
11. clement+clara+wiselyn
12. nancy + benedict
13. Florence + Keith + hazel + helper

Any1? Nxt wk last calling liao!

Yah ... and the best thing is, she shares my same belief ... that is, avoid medication whenever possible. She only prescribes medicine if she deems it necessary. Unlike some PDs out there who like to prescribe alot of medicine ... of cos lah ... cos they get to earn mah!!!

Received quite a no. of PMs requesting for contact. Here you go:

Dr Oh Meng Choo
Kids Clinic @ Bishan
Blk 116 Bishan St 12
#01-28 Singapore 570116
Tel: 63568909

Think her clinic is only opened in the morning and night ... no afternoon clinic.

Thanks !

I tried to post here last nightbut some board maintenance going on.

Im on MC for 2 days now cos i also caught the flu bug.

Blue,

We can request commission from Dr Oh liao.. haha..

<u>Additional info to Blue's post:</u>
The clinic is opens from
9am to 1pm and 7pm to 9pm on weekdays
9am to 1pm on Saturdays

Dr OH is on leave from 1st to 3rd May

Blue,

Wow.... really impressed!!
Must tell Dr Oh when I see her the next time..
Bringing Ayden for his booster..

Good morning mummies.
It's TGIF!!! All FTWM wait for this day very long liao hee... Hope everyone have a great weekend ahead.

atinarin,
Hope u are feeling better. I caught the flu bug too from my boy some more. Brought him to see pd &amp; he say there's a strong virus going on so be careful..

Blue,
I guess everyone busy with work ba so no one post

Blue,
All of us try to rush everything so tat we can cheong home on the dot to be with our child mah. Not like our preggy days lei whereby we can post &amp; chat non stop
Our time are burn when we are home &amp; i really wish i could have more time on my own

JustMe,
Time really flies... soon u'll be cuddling your boy in your arms. Jia You!!!

Yar, the thread is quieter... I do come in almost daily but dunno what to write leh. Maybe we need THEMETIC discussions hehee... like what to teach our babies at this age! Everyday I come home always dunno what to do with him. Just bring him out and walk walk or read to him. Feel that it's a waste of his learning capacities ;p

Topic: What activities to do with your babies, short of shopping, reading and rolling on beds

Here're the ideas I come up with last weekend. I bought playdoh and some cookie cutters in the shapes he likes eg. star, aeroplanes. So I am teaching him to roll and press the doh and then cut out the shapes. So far Caelen likes it
And he would take the aeroplane-shaped doh and imitate aeroplane flying complete with movement (waving above his head) and sound effect (wooo-wooo). I think it's good for stimulating his imagination too

I also bought some spinning 'plates' from ToysRUs. But he broke it after a few tries

JustMe: So fast hor ... it seems like just yesterday when you were expecting. Soon, little Diego will be out!

Irene: Yah I understand ... I used to be working and wanna go home fast fast to see my kids also.

RE: What activities to do with your babies, short of shopping, reading and rolling on beds

For me, there is a limit to what I can do cos Jordan is still in the phase of putting everything into his mouth. Brought him to beach and you will soon find him wanting to put sand into his mouth. Tried exploring paints but also, he tried putting his hand with paint into his mouth ... lucky I stopped him in time. Even board books he also wanna put into his mouth and some of the board books already kenna "bite" until "koh-yak" liao!!! I give up!!! So, play-doh is definitely out too.

Hi Justme,
I am also playing the waiting game. Luckily En En is at the childcare centre and i get a lot more rest.

Re: Activities
My gal is only home after 5.30pm. By the time she finishes her dinner, it will be our dinner time. Usually, we will let her do some colouring, sing some songs with actions or watch cartoons with her. We will try to help her recall what she has learnt in school. She has stopped putting things into her mouth already after going to childcare. In the past, she will play with the crayon. Now, she knows that crayon is meant for colouring. Going to childcare has changed her quite a bit. She seemed to have gotten use to childcare. This morning, when she saw her form teacher, she even asked her teacher to carry her! According to my maid, she knows what to do to in order to wash her hands. She can self feed pretty well and most importantly, she knows that mummy cannot carry her and hence will resort to holding mummy's hand onli. She now sleeps earlier than b4 at 9am and hence we cant do much with her.

My son's activities
-to make the jigsaw puzzle(7-10 pcs)after 1 wks teaching/practise,he can complete them by himself.
-watch DVD-barney/thomas d train.
-likes to hop

Wow radiance, your son not bad leh ... can do puzzles!!! I tried introducing simple knob puzzles but he's only interested in taking them out. Shape sorter he also got no patience ... walk away after a few attempts. He only likes to watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse ... can watch for hours. Sigh.

Hi Blue,
Regarding Dr. Oh: I intend to bring Edison to see her tonight... Do we need to make appointment or can just walk in? Do you have any idea if the clinic is crowded on weekdays night?

Re: Activities

Natalie like to read books and play at her Kitchen. Always ask me to "cook Something". She likes to ask me or HB to "juggle the balls". She plays a bit of everything, toys, etc. She likes to watch "The Wheels on the Bus" after dinner. She also likes to play with colour pencils, not in colouring, but in putting and taking them out of the plastic pack.

Hvn't try jiggle saw puzzles, maybe i should try.

Emily: No need to book appointment but if you wish, you may call up the clinic to check if it's crowded before heading down. Anyway if crowded, you can bring Edison upstairs on 2nd floor of their clinic ... they have a nice playroom upstairs.