(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

siti, sarah is so cute!!! =D can tie hair somemore! LOL. whenever ben takes my hair clip, i would always want to put it on him and he will say 'BU YAO!' (no). sighs. girls can make pretty pretty. =D

poohwei, ben aso the same. have to grab hold of him, hands and legs all, to feed him medicine. But if he realises the medicine is sweet and nice to eat, he does not struggle as much leh. =P the worse medicine i think so far for him is smecta (for diarrhoea). some kind of kaolin i think.

hehe..teachers logging in early in the morning. After flag raising eh?

Nancy, if girl is cooperative and allow hair to be groomed will be nicer to doll her up...but girl like sarah...so diff to sit still and once she notice something's on her head, she'll pull it out. TO the extent of pulling some strands off her scalp as well. SO left with no choice, i cut her hair 2 days back. now she is spotting a short bob hairstyle. =P The pic above was taken abt 2 weeks back..hoho.

Good morning mummies.

cookie monster & JustMe,
Thanks for the info

justme,
sarah is so sweet looking!! i so luv her hair. whenever i attempt to tie maegan's hair (though thin but i still wanna tie), she will pull away my hair and screamed 'NO NO'.

wud luv to see sarah's new look!! show us when u get some time.

irene,
justme is right. for #2, we get the 'extra perk' of dollar-dollar matching. For every dollar we bank into CDA (children development account), gov will co-save $1 up to max. $6k.
#1 and #2 can share the usage of the a/c. but not much lar, run out very fast!

btmum,
attempt to put clip on ah ben? smart boy, noe hw to say 'bu yao'

blue,
dun worry, some kids just prefer to stay as an observer. if he is overall healthy, can understand you, babble and can communicate with points and noises, he is on the right track. He will start to talk when he is ready..

Darmae: Yah, he can understand us but he's "selective" ... he choose what he wanna follow. Certain times when we ask him to do things, he will do ... other times when we ask him to do the same things, he will "pretend" he never hear ... continue doing what he's doing. So, we are pretty sure he knows what's going on ... just whether or not he wanna do as told.

These days, he likes "songs & movements" cos when I sit him and D down and we sing songs, he will do the actions together with us.

When I sing "Row Row Row Your Boat" with the hands and legs action, he will stretch his legs front and forth too. Then before the song is finished, he will put his hand on his head cos he wanna sing the "Head Shoulders Knees & Toes" song liao.

mag,
i was looking at that a minute ago. i think its so cute!!! Beeped hb, he asked why do we ned that for? hahaha

for darius, we used to place a step stool in front of the toilet bowl as it was too high for him. as he grows, we ditched the step stool liao.

blue,
jordan's progress is great. he even knows how to pretend not to hear. hahaha.
they all 'bloom' and developed in their very own special way.

dArmAe,
I find it useful as can train Ayden for toilet training. But the price not cheap hor..

Dare not ask hubby.. later kena said "waste money" again..haha

Darmae: Whatever it is, I think health is the most important. I don't mind having him speak later but as long as little boy is healthy, I am happy.

Hi mag,
I saw the BP, yes, super ex!

I think nonit lor... cos they may not want to urinate there wor..

Buy a potty at Kiddy Palace better... $10+ only..

Emily,
I placed order le..

Shhh... cannot let hubby knows...
later kena said..
Hope Ayden will use it, or else hubby sure said another "white elephant"!!

Darmae,
U no need to buy. if u hv no. 3 n is a boy, i pass mine to u.. (if u dun mind).. haha..

blue,
hahahahaha... opps. is tat y u cheong to read my blog. hee. paisey

mag,
that was fast!!! ok, we'll bring up for discussion when i really hv #3. kekeke

darmae,
Thanks for explaining to me
I guess govt $ run out super fast & doesn't help much also haha... Everything is so ex over here.
Jia you on #3

siti, hee. yeah. flag raising over le. just nice got free period. =D

darmae on #3? wow! all the best! =D think all those who wan #3 are very brave. hb take 1, mummy takes 2! gosh!

blue, we all wan kids to be healthy and good kids. evetually all kids will talk. think talk later better. when he starts talking.....(nonstop!) u will want him to stop talking....LOL

BTMum: You are absolutely right! Healthy and good children. I always tell my hubby ... to me, it doesn't matter that much if our children is smart or not (cos to hubby, he wants his children to be smart like him) ... when they grow up, it matters to me more if they are filial or not. Real life examples ... I rather have a so-so performance child but grows up to look after me in old age, than to have an outstanding child who excels in school and career, but end up don't care about the parents.

Anyone watched the news last night?

It seems that our kids need not take exams in Pri 1 and 2 next time. Sometimes I wonder if this is a good thing or not ...

blue
I think hor, there is good & bad, depends how one manage.

To me, I would rather facing one BIG exam & pia for that period, relax for the rest of the time than having to work through tests, assignments etc throughout..

Justme
Dont think kids falling sick frequent has to do with TBF or FM.

When the child starts CC, will be more prone to fall sick, a phase which have to go through.

I hope I am able to let Yan keeps long hair but this gal tends to get rashes very easily..haiz

I think the PERI thingy on news yesterday has pros and c ons.

As a teacher, i wonder if it will be a bit too heavy for kids to suddenly face exams only in P3.

Then again my P1s this yr have no mid yr exam either, pnly end of yr and already we are worried tht they wont be able to handle a full paper.

Dont w orry, if im still around and still a teacher, i cansupply practice papers for all our babies or by then, all our p1 babies hahah

Re; No exams in P1 and P2

I think the frequent mini tests and projects will pose more stress to the kids. They will need to be constantly studying and preparing for projects. And for lower primary kids, Projects= Parental involvement!! So it will be endless work for parents.

I am currently on 2 days MC...Saw my gynae yesterday and she says i have 3 small contractions in abt 1 hour. Plus my cervix is starting to open slightly. So no household chores and carrying of En En. Baby is only 2kg now at 34 weeks...Hoping that i can delay her arrival as much as i could.

Atinarin: Haha, then can I get practice papers from you in now kekeke cos my gal now in P1 liao oops ...

Poohwei rest well and try to eat more so that bb can grow more

Anything wrong with boys watching Dora the Explorer huh? I noticed Jordan seems quite interested in Dora ... so far other than Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, he has never set his eyes on any other programme for more than 1 min. He just watched one entire Dora episode!!!

blue,
don't worry lah. I think its due to the fact that DOra is more fun than Diego. =P

atinarin,
I dunno abt current education system. But the past decade, there has been so much changes every year. SO volatile the system. 1 year this change...next year another change. I think the old system back in the 80s still works the best. Now, textbooks always change every year. The publishing is not tat good too..having missing pages, duplicate pages..and all sorts of nonsense. Sometimes, i wonder if i should just homeschool my kids. again, easier to be said than done.

blue

my gal goes to playgroup and the school term is the same as the mainstream but we can still bring the kid to school for holiday programme if we want to.... though their form teacher may not be around during the holiday.

I finally moved house and finished unpacking and tidying up the house. Its really tough to do anything with 2 kids around, especially Jade who's constantly needing attention. She's been sick too...flu virus really going around coz I had to wait 2 hours to see the doc!

Thanks for sharing re Childcare admission requirements. I spoke to the principle of the cc after getting nowhere with the supervisor, and told her I've asked around and every other cc don't require the medical letter, so I told her that I will not go see another doc to write the letter so either they let Jade join the cc or I'll just have to find another one. Then she said ok she'll make this an exception for me lor. She said it as if she was violating such an impt rule! Dunno what's with this cc...wanna make sure they don't get blamed for anything that happens and expect doctors to do it.

Re sterilizing bottles,
I also had a habit of sterilizing Jade's bottles, especially since I have to sterilise for her didi as well. But I stopped after reading somewhere that our well-meaning habit can actually doing more harm to them than good. Coz its good to be exposed to some bacteria and germs so that they build up a natural resistance. Even cleaning toys shouldn't be done daily so that they are used to 'normal' environment.

Blue,
My 3 nephews are all in love with Dora! I also thought it was quite sissy for boys haha. But I think its ok for young kids lah, should let them indulge in their likes and dislikes. When they are older then we should worry!

irene, usually up at 6am to leave the house by 6.30am. have to send hb to school first then go school myself. (hb cant drive. LOL so car belongs to me! HEE)

in my school, we still have mid-year and end of year exams. been doing that for quite some time. no other tests in between but the children do 3 projects a year. i think ok la. cos the children still do worksheets and papers and stuff.