(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

JustMe: There was a time when I had to do that too ... Jordan always wakes up in the middle of the night to cry and I had to carry him to sleep on our bed. But thank God that's only a phase and he doesn't do that now ...

same here, shawn will wake up to cry in the middle of the night. i passed the pacifier then, he's alright. these days, he can pretty much zzz thru the night although sometimes in the morning, to our surprise, he is on our bed sound asleep.

Poohwei,

Yes they do teach the children in cc (playgroup), morning is english and afternoon is for chinese...plus some music and dances session and art and craft sessions

Btw I just called up EduFarm's Star Tots Playgroup again to check on their daily programme:

DAILY PROGRAMME:

9.30 am: Social Interaction & Settling Down – Toys, Fun & Games
10.10 am: Good Morning Song & Circle Time & Attendance
10.15 am: Introduce the Lesson* & Hands On Activities
10.55 am: Water Break / Toilet
11.05 am: Reading Time/Playgroup Games/Rhymes with Fingerplays Sing-a-long/Music & Movement
11.30 am: Home Sweet Home

*Mon - Letterland Phonics
Tues - Thematic English
Wed - Math
Thurs - Partial Montessori Programme
Fri – Playgroup Games/Art & Craft/ Nursery Rhymes/Science

They don't offer any exposure to Chinese leh ... for those who have your toddlers in 2 hrs playgroups, got Chinese?

Haiz...i had a super eventful morning.

At 10am, i received a phone call from my mum telling me that a loanshark has abducted my hubby and my hubby is badly beaten up by the loanshark cos he was the guarantor..I told my mum it was not possible. True enough, it was a scam when my parents tried to report them to the police.

Then...at 12noon, the childcare teacher called. I thought that en en was in trouble. End up, it was my maid!!! She kept peeping at my gal. When my gal saw her, she insisted that my maid had to carry her. She cried and cried and refused to let the teacher carry her. I had to tell my maid off in order for the teacher to do her job.

Since it is half day for teachers on Friday (once in a blue blue moon only..), i am now sitting in a cafe in NUS with my maid!!!

Re: Childcare
En En tends to fall asleep from 0900 to 1000 when the rest of the kids are having activities. How can i play around with her sleep time? She has to wake up at 0630 to go to school with us...

Poohwei,

what time does en en sleep at night??? Maybe can play with her sleeping time if she actually sleeps late....another alt is to get ur maid to bring her to sch so she can wake up slightly later....

crocs: i bought 1 pair for yz and being kiasu i bought 2 sizes bigger. think he can only wear when he 2yo bah.
. and my mum disapproved of it saying that let him wear when he s more stable in walking/running..

poohwei: i still havent make the trip to learning vision for trial and placing deposit! having 2nd tots of placing yz in cc so fast now. maybe wait till he s 20m? but i think still must quick go make deposit bah..

blue: how u research for good schools? im keen to search out good kindergarden for yz in the east now since we should be moving out to that area soon.

angel: i wanted to delay MMR not let yz skip it. it was stated in the health booklet that they need to take by 2yo will do..
any babies not yet taken MMR?

Hi Wiselyn,

En En sleeps around 2230-2300. Very late hoh!! Tried to make her sleep earlier but failed...=(

Not quite possible for my maid to bring her to the childcare cos it is not near my hse. The childcare is chosen becos it is near to my hubby's workplace...max 1 km away??

I was quite amazed when the teacher mentioned that she could finish 1 bowl of bee hoon soup just now....She has never done that b4. Also, she did not need a high chair for her meals!! Wow. Peer pressure really makes a difference.

Poohwei,

looks like all the en en same same one....my en en (clara) also sleeps around 10 plus...but she wakes up abt 7 plus...i think have to try a few more times lor....anyway...ask teacher to distraught her so that she dun sleep at 9 plus then she can get involve with the activities and then sleep earlier at night....

Clara eats two bowls of rice/bee hoon etc for lunch....she is a big eater, but dun like fruits except for apples

poohwei: waah, such scam stories i also heard of, be careful.

Re: Sleep
Samuel sleeps around 10pm every night unless we're out for cell group on Fridays, then he will sleep later, ie. 11pm+. I think you need to train En En to sleep earlier lor, find ways and means, then at least morning she can tahan don't zzzz. Sam past 1 week have not had his morning nap, only 1 nap in the afternoon ranging from 2-3hrs. I think he knows going sch next yr so must adjust, haahaa!

I was showing Pillow the pix of the rice bowl that my son eats, half bowl of rice, 1 slice of fish, abit veg and some soup...eat so much!!! Think he reached 12 kg now!!!

Hi Poohwei N wise,

Hee, just realise all our daughters are EN EN..Chloe also another "En"..
But unlike ur daughters, she is not a big eater.

Poohwei, u mean ur maid loiter outside the sch everyday 2 wait for her to dismiss?

Hi mummies, terrible day at work, enuf to make me wanna quit teaching but anyway,

Re Sleeping
My girl wins already, she can stay up to 12am + and shestill will wake up in the middle of the night crying i dont know why like shes very uneasy.

Ecookie
think i mentioned before that i talked to a school nurse and she said its ok to postpone till the child is 4 also actually but for ur case if baby yz is going to chilcare they need the letter certifying that he has gone for it. Its not actually an age thing, just that schools and child care centres require it.
Of course mumps not so serious, measles can get pretty bad but rubella is very dangerous if it affects a pregnant lady, can cause harm to foetus.

Re : sleep

Hazel sleeps at 9 plus but wakes up at 630am.
Keith sleeps at 10 plus and wakes up at 9 plus.

Re : Crocs

Hazel has 2 pairs. one cayman and one mary jane. keith has 1 cayman but doesnt like it. he prefers sports shoes.

oh re crocs:

my girl has one pair of mary janes but i find that she trips and falls very often in it so i dont let her wear anymore.

i wear crocs too pretty comfy

re: sleeping time
sarah used to sleep around 10.30-11 pm but ever since school starts, she herself adapts to the sleeping early at 9-9.30 pm and wakes up at 7-7.30 am. Also, she would get fussy when i fetch her only to realise she wants to nap. so now only nap after reaching home from 1 to about 4 pm daily.

re: hi-fever
sarah had high fever just now. reached 40.4 degrees. was at my wit's end cos, alone and hubby in reservist. funny thing is hubby managed to come home in evening and her fever subsided quickly! she always have episodes of high fever when hubby needs to report for reservist. sigh. daddy's girl?? not really...always stick to mummy. so so tired.

Hi Chloe,

My maid loiters there because it was the first 3 days of the childcare. Next week onwards, she will go home.

Re: Chilcare
En En can be called "Sleeping Beauty" liaoz..She slept so much at the childcare yesterday!! When i went to pick her up at 4pm yesterday, she was still sleeping while the rest of the kids have woke up, finished their snacks and were playing already! When i tried to wake her up, she cried so hard and refused to let me go...She refused to play with her frens too. At "Happy Times", i was surprised that she managed to finish the biscuits that i brought for her cos she has been spitting out biscuits.

This morning, she actually finished 1/4 slice of bread. She never liked bread and had never finished a mouthful of bread before. Peer pressure at the centre really works.

hi everyone! been so busy with my BIG project which finally ended the friday past. =D also, ben just had a most 'eventful' week - gastroenteritis earlier in the week and now, phelgm and runny nose! argh! could not sleep better earlier in the week as he had fever at night. have to sponge sponge. =(

hope all mummies and babies are fine. =D took me a long time to read the forum. woot! lots of exchanges! =D

re: childcare
doubt i will place ben in childcare for the time being as IL are really head-over-heels protective of him. maybe another half a year or a year later. will want to get him to socialise with toddlers his age more. whenever i take ben for friends' gathering and there are children there, ben doesnt play with the other kids. he just takes the toys and play by himself. LOL.

re: sleep
really depends on whether he gets 1 / 2 naps in the day.
if he took 2 naps in the day, then sleep at 8.30pm-9pm, up at 6-7am
if he took 1 nap in the day, then sleep at 7.30pm-8pm, up at 6-7am. =P

re: T3 gathering
am keen in it. but now ben wakes up at 12 or after 12 for his lunch. will most probably be late. =P

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon on 1 May 2009. (PUBLIC HOLIDAY)
Wang Cafe/Coffee Bean at Level 2
=========================================
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
8. Justme + hb + Sarah (if haven't pop)
9. Low family+HB+Charlene+Charlotte
10.yoki+hb+kayla
11. clement+clara+wiselyn
12. nancy + benedict

oh yes! congrats to low_family! and the others who are about to pop? =P really envious leh. =)

haha poohwei, looks like ur little en en goes to CC to zzzz..so noisy she also can slp..good hor. My daughter is a light-sleeper.
Chloe auto adjust her slping time after going CC. Bedtime used to be 9plus, wake up 8plus-9plus..now insist to slp at 7.30-8pm..wake up 7-8am. Too stimulated with the activities in CC, and nap time is shortened.

Re : Peer Pressure
Sure, it seems to work on Chloe as well. Chloe used to only eat her meals on high chair (she will run ard if not restrained)..in CC, she'll follow the other kids to sit down n complete the meal.

Hi to all BTB,

sorry to interrupt your thread. I have got a 2nd hand Brandt front load washing machine to let go @ $350 (negotiable). Details of the machine as follows:

Model: Brandt WFF0812A
Max Load: 6kg
Max Speed: 800rmp
Unit Price: $800+

Please kindly PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

Haiz...

En En cried so much at the childcare today...When i picked her up at 5.30pm, a teacher was carrying her and she was still crying badly..But at least, she learnt a new word is school today "Cher"...Chinese word for car. I was so surprised when she said it!

hi mummies...me mia so long from here liao..wow, reading back at the posts, amazing how our kids have grown up hor..

Poohwei, en en is really doing well at childcare. My elder one took about 2-3 mths to settle down. She cried so badly after the 3 days of orientation with mummy/daddy. I still remember those days when hubby and I had to be 'stone hearted' and placed her with her teacher. She would cry so badly..and the mummy and daddy started crying in the car. NOw, she loves going to school so much and when she's sick at home, she will tell me that it's so boring to be at home and she misses her frens.

I've also started looking around for pre-school for nynke. MMI sengkand is out cos they increase the fee to $1100(b4 subsidy) for full day..haiz..I'm looking at sheikinah montessori at Punggol plaza. It's enrichmnet centre so can only place her there for 2-3 hrs.

Blue,
Wah Jordan is really tall! When Jade stands up in the playpen, she can only put her chin up on the bar hehehe!

Hi ecookie,
Read that some mums split the MMR to 3 individual jabs as seems the combined jab is more risky. And only one of the MMR is required by schools to be vacinated, can't remember which one (think measles)...then they delay the other 2 jabs to much later when the kid is older.

Mummies who have kids in childcare,
Is it norm that childcares require a letter from doc to say that the child is medically fit to enrol in cc? The cc that I want to enrol Jade asked for it before I can admit her. When I asked Jade's PD to write the letter, she simply refused and told me she cannot do such thing because there may be an illness that Jade is suffering from that she doesn't know of or maybe she hasn't developed symptoms yet. Makes sense...so I called the cc and told the supervisor what my doc said, and the cc say she cannot admit Jade without the letter. Grrr...

Hi Angel,
No la, they only need a copy of the Health Booklet... I never heard about this requirement to produce the letter from doctor...

angel: i didnt know that we can split the MMR into 3 jabs in Singapore. Do u have more info on this?
BTW mummies, at 18mth which jab are bbs due for apart from MMR?

angel: i also never heard of need letter from PD to certify clean bill of health leh. Change CC lah..so weird. Only need health book or the certificate to indicate that she has completed all the required jabs.

Hi atinarin, i didn't know that MMR can be split either. Caelen just took his MMR two Sats ago. He had slight fever one and off for the last week. But his appetite dropped quite badly
Had alot of trouble feeding him this week.

I think our babies are due for the HepB booster jab at 18months. I will be giving him this jab next month to avoid being too close to the MMR.

Briefly glance thru nia...Sorry if I miss out miss any post.
Any1?

1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
10.yoki+hb+kayla
12. nancy + benedict

1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
10.yoki+hb+kayla
12. nancy + benedict
13. Florence + Keith + hazel + helper

Hi Emily,

I think En En cried becos she was tired. I am still trying to adjust her routine. Thank goodness, she only cried in the morning today when my maid and mum tried to leave the centre. She also took shorter naps as compared to before cos i told the teacher to remove her pacifier once she dozes off. Hope that tomolo will be a better day.

Hi Amy,

Thanks for ur assurance. My colleagues all said that it is normal for kids to cry during the first few days. Keeping my fingers crossed.

some of you had recommended some agencies. can you kindly pm me again the agencies? Rushing now. probably settling for transfer maids...

Hi Blue, I stop sterilising Caelen's bottles at 1 yr old ;p So far he is ok.

Topic: Bilingual
Are your babies exposured to a bilingual environment? Do they pick up both languages?

My PILs speak to Caelen in chinese while me and hubby speak to him in English. But he mainly pick up english words, and he can only speak TWO words of chinese. I am very puzzled by that... especially since my PILs spend more time with him. Is English easier to learn?? I don't want him to be a gan dang (potato) next time!

Should we switch to Chinese too? MM Lee then was also saying about kids would naturally learn english in school and we should concentrate on chinese at home...

vaccinations
nate just took his 18 months DPT booster last week. the next one will be when he's primary one according to the doctor. but dr says can consider giving hep A if we interested at 2 years old.
RE: splitting the MMR. means the child had to get shot 3 times instead once? is there a rationale for splitting the jabs? sounds so pain leh ...

blue
heard that when the kids are 1 year old, can stop sterilising. but me still doing it lah .. like a habit ...

Hi Blue,

I have stopped sterilising when En En turned 1. In the past, i would still rinse with hot water. Now, i just give it to her...

Re: Bilingual
My gal also picks up English more easily than Chinese. I think she only can say 2 chinese words, "Xie Xie aka Thank You and Cher aka car". Now that she is attending childcare, i can see that she is starting to speak more. At least, she is starting to express herself instead of crying for things that she wants. According to my maid, when she was brought to the breakfast area, she knows it is time to "EAT". So she told my maid :"EAT". But...of course, she did not eat..hehehe...My hubby kept complaining that we should speak to her in mandrain..so i have been speaking to her in mandrain as much as i can recently.

angel,

don't talk to the supervisor....try to talk to the principal directly...i dun think you need a certificate to certify she is medically fit lor...if not then just talk to pd and also pd to write a letter to state that Jade is medically fit with no know illness as of current....protect the pd and at the same time can produce letter to the cc....

By the way, Clara's cc also never ask for any letter...

Oh ... I know usually can stop sterilising after 1 year old but somehow I still feel it's better to sterilise till 2 years old leh ... heeee. That's why when my steriliser spoilt last week, I went to buy a new one.

On language ... Jordan is exposed to only English but now he has JG Billingual Playclub ... however, I suppose he doesn't understand cos no one speaks Mandarin to him, not even my mum or MIL.

Hi Blue,
Me too still sterilising the bottles though i wanna stop when jerald turns 1 yr old. It has actually become a routine &amp; habit liao.

Blue,
Normally Ayden will not chew the food.
Cos most of the time we give him soft food, like porridge, cereal etc..
But recently we introduced rice in soup for him, and also veggie, small piece of fishball etc..
Thus, b4 we feed him, we will tell him "bite bite huh"!!
then he will do it..

Blue, aiyah..i should have sell you mine, i got a brand new avent sterilizer, last time bought 2 cos' initially plan to bring my son to my mum's plc. Sam will chew his food according to texture, if soft will swallow, bigger chunks he will chew.

Hi Blue,

En En also never chew until she went to childcare. She just swallow the fish and porridge. Nowadays, because of the type of lunch she takes at childcare i.e: bee hoon soup, spaggetties.. she is forced to chew again. So she is starting to eat bread and biscuits again. Can see the chewing action when she takes porridge also.

Hi all mummies!

Long time no post
I have been busy dealing with a sick toddler the last 2 weeks. Faith caught a very bad flu virus and had fever for days. Brought her to PD and did blood test to make sure it wasn't dengue...after spending over a 100 bucks, she finally recovered a few days ago.

Re: Childcare
Now that Faith is 18mths, shes been transferred to the toddler class. Oh my, this poor girl cannot adapt well even though its still the same centre! She will cry when we leave her and also cry when she sees us in the evening. It has gotten so bad that she has developed a phobia of going to school! Every morning, once she wakes up she'll cling onto me for fear of us sending her off to school. Once we reach the building where her school is, she'll start pleading with us by saying "no,no,no". So heartache loh... so mummies who are just starting to send your tods to childcare, this is a phase they all go through as they learn to adapt to the new environment. Even Faith whos been sent to infantcare since 2mths old has probs adjusting. Just have to pray that she will grow to like her new teachers over time and start loving school again.

mummyfaith,

give Faith sometime i am sure she will adapt well again.....Clara is ok with her toddler class, is mummy not ok...cos mummy dun like her teachers...

Hi Mummyfaith,

En En seems to be able to identify the route to school too. According to the daddy, when he tried to drive into the carpark for the childcare centre today, En En started to cry. It took her a while to calm down to start to play. In the morning, she will cling on to me. Haiz..this preggy mummy is getting very stressed..

Voice: How much will you sell your Avent steriliser? I don't wanna spend too much cos I'll probably be just using it for another 6 months or so. Posted in forum to check if anyone selling but no response ... so in the end I got a Tollijoy one at Robinson at $59.90.

RE: Chewing
Even for hard texture stuff, he don't usually chew so a few times, he got "choked".