(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Darmae: Haha ... for Jordan, I need to give him his "du du" to settle down abit before he starts throwing his "du du" and fuss again.

long time no drop by here...

mummies who sent ur child to childcare, have they taken the MMR jab? i wish to delay this jab but cos im sending yz to cc in 2 mths time, not sure if this is a good idea?

justme: weather turning hotter, can imagine how hot that will be for you. really not easy esp have to "chase" after a toddler. but thumbs up to sarah for transiting well to cc!

cookie monster: need to have patience when come to the little one. im trying my best to control my temper when it comes to yz too. sometimes abit fast in scolding and even hitting his hand when he crosses the line. my mum has been saying he still young wont understand right from wrong and she prefers to use the distraction method. but i was thinking, if now dun teach the right thing now, when is the right time to?

yz is kinda entering the terrible twos stage. now will whine and cry when he doesnt get his way. normally i will distract him or talk to him sternly. good thing is he is scared of me so when i talk to him in a serious low tone, he'll listen some of the time. but bad thing is most of the time i still need to resort to scolding and saying alot of no! very tiring and also guilty of doing so too often.

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon on 1 May 2009. (PUBLIC HOLIDAY)
Wang Cafe/Coffee Bean at Level 2
=========================================
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
8. Justme + hb + Sarah (if haven't pop)
9. Low family+HB+Charlene+Charlotte
10. yoki+hb+kayla

jus like to share this info for those who are taking Friso 3..ntuc is selling Friso 3 at $33 for 1.8kg and promo ends on 1st apr 09.

Thanks mummies for sharing.

I gathered: A lot of patience is required, control temper, avoid shouting, firm voice, actions, distractions.

just want to share a bit more: sometimes i will hit natalie on the hand when she does something wrong, but she will look at me with those "willful" eyes, she is not sorry at all. At other times, she will ignore me and not look at me when i told her what she done wrong.

Perseverance...!!!

hi Ecookie, i agree with you that if we dont teach our child what is wrong now, then when? I believe that we have to teach them from young, now, so that as time goes by, they will learn (from repeated reminders..).

Cookie: Haha, I don't think they understand what is "remorseful" yet. When I scold or hit Jordan on his hand, he will hit my face hard if I am close enough ... otherwise, he will hit the table or floor to vent his anger. Sigh!

Hi cookie monster,
I'm also guilty of always saying no to my girl...and sometimes slap her hand too...especially when she hits her didi repeatedly. I will give warning the first few times but when she continues to try to hit him...then my auto reflex is to slap her hand lor. I know its bad but it seems like she dun listen otherwise. Must try to control myself.

Blue,
Haha I agree...they dun feel sorry one. When I slap Jade's hand, she will give me her other hand to slap! *faintz*

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon on 1 May 2009. (PUBLIC HOLIDAY)
Wang Cafe/Coffee Bean at Level 2
=========================================
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
8. Justme + hb + Sarah (if haven't pop)
9. Low family+HB+Charlene+Charlotte
10.yoki+hb+kayla
11. clement+clara+wiselyn

Ask you all ... are you all still using playpen? Jordan fell from playpen once ... then just now he almost fell again ... heng I grabbed hold of him when I saw his whole body on the railing of the playpen, ready to "come out".

Hi Blue,
Edison is still sleeping in his playpen.. I've adjusted to the lowest level, so he is not able to climb out yet... or maybe he still not tall enough...

He likes to climb on sofa, coffee table, chairs and gate!

hi blue,
my gal also sleeps in playpen and at the lowest level too..if possible, place your playpen beside your bed so that when jordan climb out of playpen, he climb onto the bed.

My gal already climb out of her playpen but usually fall onto our bed

Blue,
His leg can reach the top liao?? Must be very tall! Think you must migrate Jordan to a bed or cot liao if he can climb out on his own. My colleague's son climbed out and fell, hit his head on the wheel of the playpen and his forehead got super big baluku lor...had to send him to hospital for scans but lucky no brain damage or anything.

The playpen only has 2 levels right? Bassinet and playpen level only right? Mine's also at playpen level liao.

Angel: Yah, Jordan is considered tall for his age cos his height belongs to 90th percentile. He was around 86cm last month. He once fell from his playpen also and had a huge balugu ... that was in Jan. Now the playpen railing is somewhere slightly below his chest level.

Blue,
Ayden did the same as Jordan too..
He can climb out from his playpen n reach my sister's bed!
But at our home, he dare not try to climb, cos i scolded him when i saw him at the "get ready" position!!!

Magoo: At least he's scared of you when you scold him. Jordan not scared even if I beat his leg that's on the railing of the playpen.

Talking about cheeky, Jordan is also very cheeky. He has adopted the "cheeky look" from his jie jie and now whenever we ask him to show us "cheeky face", he will grin his eyes until very small and smile with "bugs bunny teeth". So funny!

I just discovered this new brand of shoes call Polliwalks
I like it very much cos' it's really funnie and cute on little feets. It's similar material to Crocs but cuter! Bought a pair of frogs shoes for Caelen.. but big hole in pocket - $48! Check it out.. I think it is also available at Kiddy Palace

http://www.polliwalks.com/polliwalks_products.html

Hi Blue, my goodness, Jordon is really a big strapping boy! Caelen is still very small-sized at only about 80cm, and 10.2kg. Takes after our small frame i guess

Peapod,

The shoes are cute..
Why no recommend earlier??
I just ordered 3 pairs of crocs for my girl, my boy n myself!! haha
A big hole in my pocket le..

hi peapod,
oh..this shoes look abit like crocs except gt the croc designs...very cute

been in the market for quite some time but not many shops selling thus no1 will notice them bazzz.

Talking about Crocs, I also just ordered 2 pairs - for hubby and myself. We feel that Crocs is too ex for kids ... afterall their feet grow very fast ... don't wanna waste that kinda $$$ ... so we usually buy cheap Crocs less than $10 for the kids.

p.s. Have usually bought it from BP but this time, I managed to get it at 50% off cos my bro-in-law got lobang (his friend is a staff of Crocs). If only I order more since it's 50% ... but too bad last Sun was the last day liao.

Re: Childcare

En En just attended childcare for the first time today. We reached the centre at 7am cos daddy chai had to go to work by 7.30am (no choice..school teacher mah). There were only 2-3 kids at the centre and all of them were accompanied by parents. Seeing that, i talked to the teacher on duty and she assured me that she will be looking after En En during that period of time. At 8 plus, it was breakfast time..I tried to give En En some bun from the school and she refused. Later on, she went to the assembly area to play with the rest of the kids until her form teacher brought them to their class. One new gal was crying badly in the class becos the mummy simply left her there. En En was pretty alright in the class. For once, she did not watch TV programme for the morning cos she was too engrossed in play.

Bath time was supposed to be smooth sailing..but when she saw another gal cry, she decided to stick to me again.

Lunch time was bad. Think she took only 1/4 bowl of the rice only.

When it was nap time, she refused to sleep. While the rest were lying on the bed, she walked in between them..Faintz!! Since it was meant to be half day session for day 1, we took her back. In the car, she dozed off after a 10 min right for 2 hours..Think she konked out already after a no-rest session from 6.30am to 1pm.

Hope tomolo will be a better day. But it will be my maid who will accompany her.

Blue,

Alamak.. u no "jio" me??
I ordered from BP leh..
Spent almost $200 for all..

Actually, I also like u, felt tat Crocs is too exp for the kids.
But when I see Ayden wearing the crocs my SIL bought for him, he is very comfy with the shoes..
and everytime we ask him to take his shoes, he sure to choose the crocs!!
Can see that he really likes it.. Thus, I ordered for him one more pair, to be fair, jie jie must hv one too.. then mummy aso lor!! :p

Magoo: Aiyoh, when my bro-in-law asked us wanna order or not, it's already the last day. We didn't even had time to visit a Crocs shop to see what we want ... so we simply ordered what we are currently wearing ... cos the soles worn out liao.

Jordan also very comfy with his cheap Crocs that cost only $5.90.

Was talking about playpen just now ... just took a pic of Jordan in his playpen. See the height of the playpen railing ... it's slightly lower than his chest level lor ... actually quite dangerous but that's the only way to "confine" him at a place while we do our stuff.

2308322.jpg

Magoo: If you are reading this ... just fyi that it's confirmed that the Right Brain class will be shifted to a unit at CPF Building (beside Bishan Library). So it's still near Blk 197.
They said some time middle of next term they will start to have classes there liao.

RE: Crocs
Yep yep, crocs very ex! Me opposite, I only se de buy for baby. Me and hubby wear $4 slippers haha... I thought Crocs look much cuter on baby feet than adult feet hehee... I got 3 pairs for Caelen so far, each lasted about 3 months.

Same as Ayden, Caelen only loves his Crocs. I bought a pair of Clarks for him too but he would ask for his "brown shoes" which are his Crocs. My MIL also prefers cos' they are so easy to put on and off.

Hi Magoo, I only saw the shoes yesterday mah
But like Yoki said, it's probably around for a while but not so common. I bought the Polliwalks Frog design in bright green. He loves them and would ask to "wear frog shoes!" But they are abit too big so he fell down twice in them
Will let him wear it next month I think.

Just to share ... I went to recee 2 playgroups near my place. Anyone heard of Edufarm's Star Tots Playgroup? http://www.edufarm.com.sg/playgroup.htm

Am contemplating whether to withdraw Jordan from JG Billingual Playclub and switch him to a daily playgroup instead. Let him experience some routine ... if not go JG once a week and he's always so restless, like not benefitting leh ... waste $$$.

On cost also better ... this playgroup is $160 per month. JG per month is about $227. But difference is ... per month JG only got 4 lessons of 2 hours each, whereas for the playgroup, per month got 20 lessons of 2 hours each!!!

What you mummies think?

Btw bought Jordan for his DPT booster jab just now ... he's 87.5 cm tall and weighed 12 kg at the clinic (he is supposed to be 12.6 kg at home leh ... strange). He also received his Certificate of Vacinnation today though he still need to go back for his Hep A jab next month.

Blue,
Your info so fast abt right brain network?
My sis was still telling me they hv not finalised on the location yesterday..

Peapod,
I was just kidding with you..
No worries..

Magoo: You mentioned you might be putting Ayden in a playgroup till he goes Marymount next year right? Have your sis sourced for one already? I think her area there got more.

Hi Blue,

Having a daily routine is definitely better than weekly routine. As such, the teachers at Learning Vision has advised us to placed En En there for full day sessions, for at least 4 days a week so that they will adjust better.

Re: Childcare
Yesterday, i was so amazed by how a 24mth kid is able to self-feed and even return the bowl and cup to the returned tray corner after meal without assistance!! It was amazing!! Dunno when my dear gal will do it.

This morning..she was crying badly when i tried to change her cos she wanted to sleep. Then when i bid her bye bye after my hubby dropped her off at my work place, she cried again, but stopped after a while. Now..while i m working..my whole mind is thinking abt how she is adapting...Haiz..n i have late day today until 6 plus!! Grr...

Poohwei: That's what I thought too ... daily he can still afford to "lose concentration" for a while cos at least he has 10 hours per week to catch up ... whereas weekly one only 2 hours per week ... miss liao means miss liao!

Poohwei,

I am sure ur en en will learn fast...Clara current can self-feed very well..and i think she is also learning how to return her bowls back to the return area....cos after her meals..she will pass the bowl to us...and if we happened to give her two bowls that day...she will stack them up and pass to us

This is crazy ... I just called Nanyang Kindergarten to check the latest queue no. for Jordan. He's currently queued at 380!!!

For St. James Church Kindergarten, he's queued at 86 for Pre-Nursery and 84 for Nursery. Mad!!!

Pillow: Yah, they are "hot". Jordan will be in Marymount Kindergarten next year but becos I will be shifting out of this area to the west, I have also registered him in those 2 kindergartens I mentioned. He can start Nursery in 2011 if there is a slot ... otherwise, hopefully in K1.

I couldnt find the thread yesterday, what happened? Luckily Wise posted the link to sept mummy.

Gosh Blue,

HB and I are thinking of nanyang kindergarten also, jordan is 380th!!?? You Q him for the nursery class or kindergarten? I havent even register natalie, so no chance liao?

About teaching our kids, I realise that the soft approach works on natalie better. She listens better and stop her naughty acts if we talk nicely to her. Hiaz...

Hi Angel!!
Congrats on the birth of Ryan. SO nice to see you on the forum again. =)

Cookie Monster: I queued him for Nursery ... they said it's the same queue. Those who cannot go for Nursery will be transferred to Kindergarten queue.

angel: sam behaves the same as jade, spank him on 1 hand, he will offer the other to me as well. *faint*...sometimes i find it so farnie. When i try to cut his fingernails, he likes to offer me his feets instead. Trying to tell me, don't cut fingernails, cut the toenails instead.

Hi Wiselyn

En En really can adapt well in childcare. For her second day in childcare, she actually fell asleep twice!! Once around 9am where many of the kidz were wailing away when parents tried to leave,and another round after her lunch. The teacher told me that she could finish 1 bowl of porridge today (cannot self feed tho..) and i was quite amazed. My maid peeped at her while she was bathing and she said that my gal was very happy. She was also very busy "chatting" with all the aunties and students. When it was time to go back, she looked quite sad..cos it was end of play time. Hope that her subsequent days at the centre will be a good one.

Btw, does Clara's childcare offer lessons for the students? or it is mainly routine and care? In any case, if En En can learn to be more independent, i would be very happly already.

Re: Spanking.
Hi Voice, you mentioned that Sam will offer the other hand?? En En will offer to beat her own hands when i say "Beat Beat!" I dun even need to beat her...hahahaha

Re : Child Care

poohwei,

ur en en can adapt so fast! tts so good.
This is Chloe's 2nd week in centre. She is much better compared to last week.
She will cry for like 10mins after I left her and then stop after teacher brought them out for outdoor play.
She was crying abt whole day for the first 3 days, half a day for the 4th n 5th days..
She has also started eating the centre's food. The whole of last week, she refuses food n drink.
Ya, like u, I'm also very much amazed by the independence of those tods in CC. They can slp on their own without pacifier or patting..even though alot of distractions in the rm. They also can self feed pretty well and return the bowls to the bin provided once done.
Best of all, majority of them are so disciplined n tk instructions veri well. If Chloe can become like them one of these days, I'll also be so thankful le.

elaine, poohwei,
glad to hear your girls are adapting well in respective CC.

Blue,
jordan sleeps in playpen. I stopped that cos, it killed my back. I have to make sure sarah's asleep then i place her inside the pen...1 hour later she cried i carried her out...wah can die man...then again, i think my girl have sleeping problem...even until now.

Last night i lost temper cos need to pat her continuously from 1 am till 2.30 am...shouted at her. Hubby disapproved my behaviour and brought the wailing sarah out of the room. I fell asleep after that. =P Woke up at 5.30 am to see hubby and sarah sleeping in living room on a mattress. Hubby still patting sarah!!! aiyoh..and he needs to leave the house by 6 am cos, this week he has reservist. He smsed me in afternoon, saying tat, I scared sarah. cos, in between her sobs, she said "mummy...scared". sigh.

re: crocs
me lucky to have my sis pass down her girl's mary jane crocs to sarah. look sweet and nice but we stop using it on sarah cos, she trip and grazed her chin pretty badly while wearing the crocs. Think the rubbery material is not too safe for clumsy feet like sarah's.

ecookie...
yeah super duper hot these days...bathed at least 4 times daily. Taking cabs just to fetch sarah at 12 noon. Too hot to even go out.

peapod,
me and hubby like the penguin model of polliwalks! hehe...we like to see toddlers in raincoats and boots...cute!

childcare

wow.. your gals care fast!!!! Ayden still crying when i drop him, and around 5ish when other kids start to leave
but luckily he doesnt cry during the day

crocs
i am guilty.. ayden has 2 pairs.. and i just bought again .. hee... cos it so cute :p

T3
looking forward to see all you