(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

atinarin,
have tried using oil but cant help with the cradle cap. was wondering if there's any recommended products that is effective to help with that

peapod,
thanks for the compliment! We can do match making for Caelen and Kayla...haha..all September babies are handsome and pretty babies until most of them already paired up. So both of us can do the same ^.^

i missed Caelen!How is he doing now? Dont worry if he dont like music, maybe you haven play the right ones. Try techno and hip hop. Kayla love dancing but to certain music only leh. Each bb has different interest or develop differently. Think for Caelen, he prefer to talk thus his speech development progress very fast..Anyway,its good to be an engineer, can earn alot of $$$ leh..

Ya, been quite sometime neber login to SMH, just started recently.. heehee..i love taking videos or photos but abit slack on uploading them. Let my hubby do the job

JustMe,
Your EDD getting nearer right? So excited for you! How you feeling lately? Tired? Everything prepared?

Hi Justme

Sarah is such a steady girl! Clap Clap!

Hmm, in fact my CC didnt realli encourage mi to stay for orientation with her...they did ask mi to bring her in for trial for few days for few hrs..but when actual start, they encourage mi to try to go off..
they say "difficult" to control her with me around. Actualli I do understand wat they r trying to say, cos when i was around, Chloe was a terror..she didnt heed any instructions and she was messing n running around..the teacher n I cannot ctrl her at all. With mummy around, she do what she pleases.
Mummy gone, she became a cry cry bb....heard from teacher she wanted to be carried often, n keep holding on to her teacher's hands..if her teacher disppear from her sight ...she will wail again.
When teacher ask her to sit or lie down, she will follow instructions..
Today is her 3rd day, she still refuse to drink n eat..onli eat the biscuit i brought for her. But her teacher manage to dreamfeed her during her nap.
When I picked her up, I saw her sitting quietly watching tv..looking very stoned..
The moment she saw mi, she stood up n dance! Waving her hands in the air n swaying her hips..with a big smile on her face..
Dunno why, but up till tis point, I actually teared secretly ..cos i realise how much she actually loves me..n knew how tough it's for her to be thrown into a new plc with strangers..
Before departing, she actualli say bye to her teacher n gv her a big kiss.
On my way home , I asked her if she likes to attend sch, surprisingly she nod her head..
I believe tmr she will start her crying again, but I believe things shld get better n better when everything becomes a routine n she knoes wat to expect..
Hopefully she will start eating in sch soon.

elaine,
i think chloe is much better than some kids i saw in sarah's cc. 2 boys abt 20 months or so cried the WHOLE DAY! threw up the milk they had cos, cried so much. You mentioned Chloe was happy upon seeing you ~ i bet she'll get used to the place soon and she seems attached to one of the teachers right? she should be fine. don't fret too much yeah.

As for sarah; its an "out of sight , out of mind" case. When mummy not around, she is fine....but once mummy appears, she's this clingy and fussy tod...tat's y on my 3rd day, the teachers also encouraged me to leave her. of course she cried when i said bye bye then...but stopped when got distracted. I too cried on my way out. Not easy placing our kid in a centre for the first time. BUt look at it this way, our kids will get used to preschool so won't give us headache when starting primary school~! Heard cases whereby p1 kids refuse to even enter school gate and teachers have to drag them in!!!

yoki,
hehe, left 5 weeks or so if di di wants to arrive on 38th week. V big and heavy liao. can't wait to slim down after delivery. i put on a whopping 14 kg so far!! and baby is only app. 2 kg of that wgt...argh...

elaine
I think chloe will do fine. she sounds much better than some kids i see in Pri 1. like justme said, some had to be dragged in to school (literally) by parents and teachers.
if she sees you and is happy, it means that she is still a happily secured child.

Hi Justme

As expected she wail big time this mrg when I handed her over to her teachers..her cries r much louder today...ouch!
She is hving a sorethroat n cough after attending CC, partly also due to her crying.
Actually she on/off cried whole day. Onli thing that got her distracted was TV and Music! The principal told mi that she was crying n suddenly at one point stood up n dance happily after they on the Barney show. They were stunned.
So they r going to let her watch her tv to calm her down until she settles down in CC.
Can I ask u if Sarah's teacher in charge is warm n caring n gentle towards kids?
I find that her form teacher wasn't very gentle with kids. When Chloe was crying and wanted her to carry, she shooed her hands away...she also keep pointing her finger at Chloe's face warning her to quieten down. Is this kind of method appropraite towards kids? I feel rather uncomfy that she treats the tods so fiercely. Furthermore , my gal is crying and perhaps a little reassurance from her teacher will mk her less afraid..but this teacher is veri stern n puts on a black n impatient face when dealing with my crying girl.

Hi Yoki

Oohh... I love your girl
Onzz! I would love to have a baby-in-law like her! When shall we have a match-making coffee session? Just worried that my boy would scare her away hahaa...

Topic: Baby and deception
Caelen is getting quite errm...devious for lack of a better word. Recently he tried to bluff us to get off his back about eating. I was trying to bribe him into eating this piece of papaya by telling him "you eat first, mummy bring you out gai gai". He then held the fruit in his clenched fist, put the fist near his mouth and made a big show of chewing. After that he quickly threw the papaya out the windown and then gestured to the door

All along, he has been pretending to drink water by putting the straw in the mouth and not sucking.

Is this part and parcel of Terrible Twos?

Re: Patting baby to sleep
Hi Justme, I am also patting Caelen to sleep . He used to insist on being carried and rocked to sleep, but now he is able to sleep on the mattress next to my bed...with lots of patting and singing of course. We transferred him out of our bed about the same time as you too! So far he is ok
once in a while he would also cry for us to carry in the night but not very often.
The thing is that we still have to feed him in the middle of the night. So it has become a habit for him - he would start eking and stirring about 3am when he is hungry. I don't want to stop his night feed cos' he is not getting enuff milk in the day time

Yoki
I understand from my mum that after you apply the oil, leave it for a while then when you use a soft comb to gently comb the hair, the cradle cap will come off. I'm not sure whether is this the right method but I have seen that Kelly's problem was resolved almost in a day or 2 when she had that in the past.

Sarah
My girl also will gesture and asked me to pat her to sleep sometimes. I remember I feedback to my mum not to do that often as it has become a habit and I think Kelly heard my comment and stop asking me to do that since then. But occasionally, she will still gesture me to pat her but will not complaint if I stopped.

elaine
it's really not easy to send our precious one to childcare ... Now I am also starting to worry.
Regarding the form teacher you mentioned, I'm not sure how the rest think but I feel that the teacher should be more caring especially during the initial stage when the child just join the class.
"she shooed her hands away...she also keep pointing her finger at Chloe's face warning her to quieten down", personally I don't think I can tolerate this if I see it. Maybe, I'm too protecting and this may not be good but unless the child really did something BAD then I agree maybe a little bit of discipline is required but not when they are crying due to the initial separation anxiety?????

peapod
I'm also waking up in the middle of the night about 3am to feed Kelly. I only get to sleep through once in a blue moon when she is soooo tired that she slept through. Same thing why I din stop it cos I'm afraid that she has not enough milk in the day.
She can don't drink milk for the whole day except for the morning and night feed before she sleep.

hi Elaine
Ha, Caelen hasn't slept thru' once! The best I had was from 12pm last feed to 5am. It seems that he gets hungry easier at night than in the day where it is play play play.

Same about the day feeds - only once at 11am and another time at 11pm. And 6oz-7oz each time. I asked PD and she advised that toddlers should have at least 500ml for enuf calcium and protein. So I have no choice but to persist in feeding him at night
But I intend to stop at 2 yrs old.

cradle cap

I use baby oil last time when natalie had it, i have to apply on her head, leave it for a while then use comb to comb it out. I did this for a few time before natalie was cleared of cradle cap.

Elaine,
I have the same sentiments as totoro, a teacher should have been more caring when the child is crying and afraid. Pointing a finger at Chloe and showed her a black face, isn't the appropriate thing to do to a child. Maybe you should feedback to the Principal. BTW, which child care is this? I might consider not sending natalie there.

hi elaine, totoro,

re: form teachers in cc.
Sarah is very lucky her form teacher, Teacher Suzy is a super caring, warm and patient lady. Wah..i really take my hats off her for her patience! In fact all the teachers there seems to be very nice...like too good to be true sometimes..haha..dunno if its an act. But they are more involved with the kids compared to those I had seen in other cc. Prob cos, small no. of kids and they are all like a family.

On my 2nd day there, i saw one boy pushing one of the crying new boys. I was fast to jump and told the teachers that the boy was pushing the other one. But one of the teachers quickly went to the boys and calm the crying one. She also told me that the "pusher" was just trying to be nice and wants to share the toy he was holding. See, wat i mean? the way they interprete the whole situation. i bet many other teachers would scold the pusher and said words like "naughty".

The teachers used lots of praises and optimistic comments on the kids there. But they also know where to draw the line and tell them if they had done something wrong ~ but still maintain their cheerful, chirpy selves.

elaine,
is this childcare chloe is attending the best you seen so far?? Some mummies resort to changing centres cos, their child can't adapt to the current ones.

in one of my previous post, i mentioned i went for My First Skool trial around my residence. The teacher wasn't so involved in the trial and i felt that me, sarah and hubby were invisible. Felt stupid following them around.

While the teachers in sarah's cc now, even kids on trial session were encouraged to be involved. The teachers will hold their hands and keep on calling their names hoping they will respond to them.

re: patting child to sleep.

Still prefer to latch her to sleep actually. Haha..tat will only take me 10 min or so. if pat...sometimes i have to sing till my voice go coarse! sickening thing is, nowadays, sarah will singalong to my lullaby to...sigh.

peapod, i do hope Caelen will be able to learn to sleep by himself. I really dunno if sarah will EVER do that. find it pretty amazing for those tod who can just sleep by themselves.

sarah too is so used to waking up around 2-3 for her night feed. I am expecting very long nights when my no 2 arrives.

Topic: Head banging
Hi mummies, need advice here. These few days, Caelen started banging his head against the wall or against us when he is frustrated and angry. He doesn't do it too hard so we are not too concerned about the physical damage but initially we did get freaked out abit. Now, we try to bo chup him but i really hope that it would stop. Still very heartpain when he does that. My friend said that it is a passing phase but I am not sure. I am afraid that it is a sign of hyperactivity

Any advice please??

Hi Peapod,

My gal will also throw tantrum by crying and banging her head against the mattress on the floor.(sometimes against the wall..then we have to stop her). However, i realise that if i ignore her, she will just give up and go back to what she was doing initially.

Re: Sleep
En En does not really need me to pat her to sleep. Rather, she just need me to lie on her mattress on the floor and she will come to sleep if she feels tired. She is so active that i have to surround all corners of my bed with mattress so that she will not fall on the floor if she jumps off from my bed.

hi all.. it been a while since i post... ")

Childcare
i sent Ayden to CC since 3 March, till now.. he is still crying
but the good thing is.. he only cries when i leave him there in the morning and around 5ish when other kids starts to leave.. i guess just separation anxiety

patting child to sleep
ayden doesn’t want me to pat him, he will push my hand away and pat himself on the thigh. He will normally sleep after his last milk feed

speech
all babies are so smart, ayden cant even said auntie .. just “ti ti”

poohwei,
so nice En En can sleep by herself without any aid from you. just your presence.

how are you feeling? My tummy always achy these days. Need to take cab just to bring sarah home from cc! can't walk too much. =(

baby piglet,
like peapod said earlier ~ babies or toddlers tend to speak faster if their mummies are the talkative sort...=p - early speech devt doesnt always indicate high intelligence lah. hehe.

sleeping thru
i realised after attending CC, ayden can sleep thru the night... from 9ish to 7ish in the morning...
maybe he got tire out in CC

justMe... i am just envious... when my friends bb called uncle or auntie… so CUTE!!

Ayden favorite words “mai” = NO is hokkien / “mu oi” = NO in Cantonese

hi ladies, any idea when we can gauge whether our babies are actually left hand or right handed? i am a bit confused coz he seems to use both simulataneously. if i let him try self feeding, he would use his left hand. not that i mind, but just that i wld like to figure out so that i can train him accordingly. imagine, if he is left handed, then i keep asking him to use right hand for feeding.

Hi Poohwei, thanks
I will ignore him and observe what he does.

Hi piglet, Caelen doesn't say no as well! Same as Ayden, he would use "Mai!" to express No!

My boy could not say alot of 2 syllabus words too. He have about 70 "words" in his vocab but mostly all monosyllabic. For example, he can identify all the numbers from 1-10 except for 7. Apparently, according to what I read, as long as the baby is able to use the same "word" consistently for the same thing, it is considered speech. So I think all of our babies can say more things than we think

Oh, I also realise that sometimes they don't say certain words cos' they could not pronounce them. So if you teach him another word (something closer to what he can pronounce) as a replacement, it makes it easier for him to express himself. For example, we have been teaching Caelen colours and he could do his red, blue, pur-pur, green etc but he could not say yellow. So one day, I told him "Yellow - Banana colour" and he caught on. So now he is happily naming all the yellow stuff - "Na-na" this, "na-na" that. He calls all yellow city cabs Na-na car hehee... nana is how he says banana

bb_piglet,
I can't help laughing whenever i heard him saying "mai" to you. He's simply so cute..
Recently, jerald surprise us by saying "No" & "bu yao". Me & hb got a shock & laugh.

JustMe,
I guess it depends on the environment our kids are in. As for jerald, he's super active & talkative (though i'm talkative also
)as my bro send his kids to my parents hse too. It's just like a mini CC so he tends to monkey see monkey do. They call me "gu gu" as in aunt & jerald follow them too faintz..

peapod,
Hi 5
Jerald also say "na na" no matter how hard i tried to correct him. U r really very hardworking can teach Caelen so many things. Me just started to teach him alphabets & he only know up to letter E.

Hazel loves to say : "NO WAY" and "Pain Know" to kor kor. She is not really speaking any other lanuage , only english.

Peapod , Irene : power leh you two. Keith is still not good in numbers and alphabets and it's really difficult to teach him now.

Hi Irene

How are you? Jerald is also very advance in his speech so now we know who are the talkative mummies here lor ;p

I remembered Jerald can do the shaking head so early! Mine is still not shaking nor nodding his head. How to teach har?

Hi Florence, I saw your blog, I think your girl is already very smart liao. Can express herself so well!

Once they got the hang of speaking, teaching them is very fast one so I'm sure every baby would catch up very soon
I am not really that disciplined lar. I don't use flash cards and he mainly learns from books and things that he sees around the house. Alphabets he learnt very haphazardly. He only want to learn the first few (A,C, E, F, H, K) and the last few (M, R, S, W, X, Y, Z) but not the middle alphabets. Depends which ones he likes hee... Caelen's favourite letter is W. Whenever he sees M, he would say "M", then he would turn his head upside down and say "W". Very quirky! Numbers he learnt from lift so he only recognise up to 12 cos' that's where we live hahaa...

But the thing that I REALLY want him to say is Mummy but he simply refused to call me

Florence,
How's everything? I read ur blog recently & notice u seems very busy at work.

Ai ya jerald learns a lot of things & rubbish from my nephews lah. It's good & bad lor imagine 3 boys in a house can go crazy one. Btw, he follow me to say out the alphabets thru my lips so not really consider he know wat it means yet hee.. I guess it takes time for them to learn & i'm sure they will know it eventually

Florence,

Clara loves to say "PAIN PAIN"....almost every night before she sleeps she will say pain pain....but we also dunno where got pain....hahah

Hi peapod,
I'm fine. Ya now i know who are the talkative mummies here

I guess it's part of a phase when jerald tint his head one side but no one teach him b4. He just suddenly simply loves to tint non stop then we laugh same as shaking & nodding his head. I believe all our kids are unique in their individual ways. U try to say "Mummy" infront of Caelen i'm sure he'll surprise u one of these days. U can also try to reward him for things he has done then ask him to call u b4 u pass the food/snack to him. Tats wat i did to jerald & now b4 i give him food, he'll auto call us & say he's baobei

irene.. i agreed with you.. hee

ever since attening CC, ayden calls me Marmee all the time.. it drives me nuts. and to get back at him... i will reply "yes baby"

so now.. he does .. "Marmee... (paused) yes baby"

irene,

jerald is really doing very well in his speech development.....Clara is slower...but she wants to learn long words...she is trying to learn words like elephsnt, crocodile etc...

Aiyoh, so envy ... Jordan still doesn't say anything! Even calling us must wait till he's in good mood then he will call.

Can I check ... can your toddlers do shapes' sorting already? And those knob puzzles?

pillow
I think my girl is left handed as she does most of the things using her left hand. Although sometimes she would use her right hand to draw and eat as well. When I brought her to the childcare preview and she pick up the crayon and draw, the teacher immediately commented that she is left handed. As for me, from young I tried not to correct her when she started to use left hand, I guess it will slowly show and they are the best to know which hand is the correct one to use.

Hi Blue, I'm sure Jordon would one day suddenly sprout sentences... now he is absorbing absorbing then when he is ready, he would "yi ming jing ren". I heard of babies who was silent till 2 then once they start, it is in sentences liao.

Hi Irene, I tried to bribe him to no avail. He would just look at me intently, then say "daddy!" (he calls both me and my hubby daddy). De...

Hi Wiselyn, Clara is probably thinking simple words no kick to say so she only want to learn the big big words haha.

Topic: Left-handedness
I read somewhere that babies at this age uses their hands interchangably and only settle when they reach 2-3yrs. But Caelen is consistently using his left hand for scribbling and eating. I think gone case, sure left-handed one. But both our sides of the family are right-handers leh. Dunno how did this gene sneak in.

My parents think that we should correct him but I am not so sure. Do you think we should force him to use his right hand?

sorting blocks
Hi blue, Caelen started to do the sorting blocks recently. But he couldn't do puzzles yet. Those 2 piece puzzle, he knows the pieces that are together but can't join them up. What are knob puzzles??

Blue
My girl also have not really say anything except for ma ma and mum mum ...
For shapes sorting, she did that last month out of a blue moon. I was quite amazed as the sorter was there quite some time and she din really touched it and out of no where, she showed me that she can put them in and clap after she successfully did it. But after that time, I think she stop playing with it again! hiaz
Now her favourite is to draw! yesterday I was at home with her due to MC and she spent most of her time drawing .... or rather scribbling. I let her use the marker pens and she has learnt to open and close the cap on her own. So she can stand or sit there for quite long, changing different colours etc.

Hi Irene,

I remembered that Jerald could say "Red Ball" at a very young age...I was so amazed by his speech development back then..

En En is pretty slow in her speech development..unlike her motor skills..I just managed to teach her to say the magic word "PLEASE" if she wants something. So far, it has worked...it all started off with her wanting to eat potato chips..so i said.."if u want, you must say "PLEASE!"...the greedy girl did it and is doing it still if she wants something..hopefully, she will stop crying for things that she needs.

Another fav word of hers is "DIRTY!" She will pick up SPECK of dirt from the floor and shout "DIRTY!". The dirt is abt the size of a "." and she can say it is dirty..ARH!!!!

Think my gal is more into listening then talking. She can understand simple instructions like "Bring the phone to mummy, Wear your shoes, Get your socks..." But if you want her to say those words, she will give u a smug look. She can also anticipate the next sentence of her fav song by showing us the actions for the songs...Her fav songs are "Twinkle x2 little star, Incy Wincy Spider, LOndon Bridge and This Little Piggy went to market...

Ever since we subscribed to starhub, she has become the greatest fan of Disney Playhouse channel. I guess she is learning a lot from the TV shows and i am quite glad tat i am only exposing her to the educational channels.

Re: Drawing..
I dun have the guts to let my gal draw with markers. I tried once and she was only interested in drawing on the table...playing with the cap and dirtying her clothes. Hence, i prefer to let her use the magnetic boards for drawing. She loves it..and she will always come to her to erase the board for her.

peapod,

not sure how clara feels...maybe she really prefers to say long words...but all the long words are actually animals outside the school on the walls...so maybe when teacher bring her out for walks, will teacher tell her abt the animals..so she is trying to pick up....eg..she try to say elephant but turns up to sounds like alison or enfant

poohwei
I was afraid of that as well initially. But when she first started and get her hands dirty, my father will constantly tell her to clean her hand and do it for her. So now, when she accidentally dirty her hands with markers, she will go to my dad and ask him to clean. We also constantly reminded her to write only on the paper provided. So far so good!! Keeping my finger crossed! hee if not, just have to repaint the wall loh!!

Hi Pillow,
I'm confused too as jerald tends to self feed himself using right hand but when it comes to snacks he will use his left hand or switch in between.

Hi Wise,
Jerald learn from his cousins & his talkative mummy. My hb say i'm like a clown who makes his boy laugh & giggle. Also a mummy who sounds like recorder cos i keep repeating the same word again & again till my baobei learn haha..

Hi Blue,
I guess Jordan will surprise u one of these days

Hi peapod,
Do it again & again.. Like me, repeat & repeat till he learn & give in hee..

Hi Poohwei,
So long liao u still can remember. En En so cute can anticipate some more.

peapod.. ayden also use both hands.. i just leave it.. didnt bother to change :p

poohwei.. envy that En en watch disney channels.. ayden cant do that.. dont watch tv, dont listen to music

writing.. i let ayden play with paint.. and it turns out to the appended
2284980.jpg

hazel used to say daddy and mummy but now lazy ... always say deee , meee ... plane

naughty - ty / stubborn - burn / barney and money is ne ... she can express herself very well,she will touch her tummy and say pain pain.

She will also sing and dace to barney and music.

She know her left and right hands

But she is not good in numbers or alphabets

seems like loads of fun sharing how our kiddos are learning language! all the babies are really picking up so fast!
nate's fave phrases are 'wo bu yao' and 'mei you'. the other words he says not so clear like
please=peas, sorry=sorrow.

RE: toilet training
Nate recently started telling me he poo poo while holding his diaper. end up he will pee in the toilet. does it mean it's time to toilet train? anyone with experience to share?

Oh, talking about body parts, Caelen likes all the 'special' parts, last time was his 'bird bird'. Now, his favourite now is "nei nei"! He would pull up his daddy's shirt and point to the nei nei hahaa... very jialat. He has been chasing after me to do the same but I refused to let him touch me hahaa... now I dunno how to tell him girls cannot ;p

baby_piglet:
You are one garang mummy! I will never imagine myself allowing Jordan to be in that mess! Haha! That's why till now, I have not let him try drawing or self-feeding (other than biscuits) yet!

Peapod:
Knob puzzles are those with a knob attached to the puzzle pieces ... more for babies / toddlers.

RE: Left vs Right Handed
My elder one used to always use left hand when she was small ... then we kept switching her back to right hand. Now that she does proper writing and drawing, she is a right hander ... but she can use her left hand as well cos I caught her using her left hand to do her homework and I asked her why she used her left hand ... she said her right hand "tired".
If she can be so versatile for life, not a bad thing too!

I agree with totoro that if my child had done something bad, it's perfectly ok that the teacher discipline my child or gv her a warning. But not when she has done noting wrong n crying onli due to separation anxiety.
I feedback to the principal tat I actually felt disturbed by how the teacher handled my crying child. She apologise n said she will monitor. She told mi this teacher has worked in their centre for 5yrs already and 3 yrs of experience in handling PG class..tis teacher previously told mi she had a child born in Sep07 as well. Sekali she also lurking in this thread.
If yes, then hope the teacher will 'Shou Xia Liu Qing" towards my child..afterall she's also a mummy of a 18 month old tod. She shld be able to put herself in my shoes. Wat if it's her own child being treated in this manner when crying?

pillow: samuel also prefer to use his left hand to do things vs right hand. For malay culture, use left hand to do things is a taboo, so we ended up correcting him, not that it's something really wrong. I myself use left hand to do most stuff but I write with my right hand.

Sam likes to say 'waah' and seldom call daddy or ma ma. Think he's the slowest in term of speech but he can listen and follow instructions well.

Voice: Sam is not the slowest lah ... heeee ... Jordan loves to say "eh eh eh eh" in a very teh way to ask you to do things for him.

wow u all really good leh keep track of what ur babies can say and all. i dont have time to think of it also.

re LEFT handedness, why change or sto them ah? Thought lefties are genrally smarter, very strong in right brain activities.