(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Its been some time since i last login.... after reading the past postings, the terror actions of my gal is just the same as the others....sometimes me and hubby really cant tahan her.

Her speech is ok. She can call herself by name, daddy mummy and all other relatives. Able to speak in mandarin and english, and speak two words of Malay... tidoe (means sleep, spelling may not be correct) and sini (here). SHe picked up at my aunty's palce where there is an indon maid.
Whenever she watches dvd with scene of minnie sleeping she will say "Mimi tidoe" with her hands putting to her ear to show the action.
Nate, my gal also like to say negative things she will say wo bu yao, when my maid wants to bathe for her, change her diaper or to remove her shoes.

hi totoro,
I think if its possible, you can try 1/2 day programme first. Placing our child in a centre is good cos, they are exposed to other kids. They can learn to socialise and pick up several other skills which make them more independent.

I placed sarah in a CC cos, would like more time to rest ~ that's a main reason. But now, slowly, i see more good points. She learns to eat by herself, play and mix with other kids too. (Previously, she was just scared of other kids and prefer to play alone). She's more lively too. =)

want to know for those mummies who had placed kids in CC, do the CC practise morning assemblies and singing National Anthem and Taking the pledge? hehe, i saw cherie hearts doing this, and saw tat sarah was a bit puzzled (on her first day) to why all the kids and teachers sang and take the pledge while staring at a rectangular red and white pic (our singapore flag lah).

Another funny thing was when i tried to calm her down just now, from her bout of frustration, I resort to singing the National Anthem and she actually stopped crying and kept really still!! Sang 3 rounds of it, then she started crying again...argh...

Long Time No Hear & See!

Hi there mummies! SuperCar is back! Hope you gals remember! Ha ha ha. Would like to check whether or not anyone of you know of any good playgroup in Sembawang area as am contemplating to place Kaylan in one now that he is already 18 month old albeit looking like a 12 month old! :S

Also, do all your darlings know how to talk already? Cos till date Kaylan is not talking yet! At all! Worry Worry Worry.

2263697.jpg

If you have any upcoming home or office parties, do try out <font color="ff0000">My Mummy's Mee Siam is only at jus $3 per portion!!!
We guaranteed you the freshest ingredients and piping hot mee siam delivered to your doorstep on time, and at ur preferred timing!

<font color="ff0000">Check us out at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2261344.html?1237379855</font>

hi supercar,
i think you shouldn't worry abt your boy not being able to talk yet. I have a nephew who only spoke when he was turning 2 and now he is doing pretty well in school! another niece though,...started to speak when she was 1 year plus and and is now struggling abit in the academic world...funny eh?

yep i myself only spoke wheni was 2! everyone thought i may be mute.

my friends son spoke when he was 3, he just got 8 A1s in the last o levels!

Good morning mummies ...

Talking about speech development, Jordan is really slow. He's still not communicating yet. Even calling people ... he's not very spontaneous. He can call lah, but will only do so when he wants to.

Hearing what Justme and atinarin just said, I am more comforted. Heee, come to think of it, think Einstein or one of the famous genius also spoke at only 5 years old right?

blue: the more u hear abt other babies, the moreworried u will get, naturally. but i think jordan is observingnow, he is a smart boy. when he starts talking i think u will be shocked too haha

my girl is also not tlaking yet but its ok, i always tell myself she takes after me, but if after 2 she doesnt talk, then i will worry.

Kids Are Quick

TEACHER: Maria, go to the map and find North Am erica ..
MARIA: Here it is..
TEACHER: Correct. Now class, who discovered America ?
CLASS: Maria.

TEACHER: John, why are you doing your math multiplication on the floor?
JOHN: You told me to do it without using tables.
GLENN: Maybe it is wrong, but you asked me how I spell it.
________________________________ ____________
TEACHER: Donald, what is the chemical formula for water?
DONALD: H I J K L M N O.
TEACHER: What are you talking about?
DONALD: Yesterday you said it's H to O..

TEACHER: Winnie, name one important thing we have today that we didn't have ten years ago.
WINNIE: Me!

TEACHER: Millie, give me a sentence starting with 'I.'
MILLIE: I is..
TEACHER: No, Millie..... Always say, 'I am.'
MILLIE: All right...... 'I am the ninth letter of the alphabet.'
______________ ___________________
TEACHER: George Washington not only chopped down his father's cherry tree, but also admitted it. Now, Louie, do you know why his father didn't punish him?
LOUIS: Because George still had the axe in his hand.

TEACHER: Now, Simon, tell me frankly, do you say prayers before eating?
SIMON: No sir, I don't have to, my Mom is a good cook.

TEACHER: Clyde , your composition on 'My Dog' is exactly the same as your brother's. Did you copy his?
CLYDE : No, sir. It's the same dog.

My girl also not talking yet!!

Justme, I thought I posted a reply to your mail yesterday, guess I didn't manage to send it out from my phone hiaz ....

Anyway, I also am thinking of the socializing part. Oh, and I'll be sending her to cherie hearts as well! they will let me know once the centre open and I can start sending her there. Maybe will start with half day and see how things go!

Blue,
My boy speech development very slow leh.
Compare to my girl.. really very different.

Btw, hv u managed to get a new place?

Magoo: Yah lor, same here. Think cannot compare lah ... most people say gal and boy different pace.
Nope, haven't got our new place yet ... hubby wanna wait for the "best deal" cos he said anyway we are not in a hurry yet ... just look around and only buy when the price is right.

totoro,
what email??? blur blur. Cherie Hearts ah? well, hope that centre is as good as the one here!

atinarin, blue,
your todds are genius in the making ah?? hehehe.

atinarin,
your friend's son has 8 A1s?? IMPRESSIVE.
His parents must be super proud and happy for him! I know its abit inevitable for us parents to want our kids to do well and shine in school. But I hope when the time comes, I will just sit back and relax and hope Sarah can cope well in school. Don't want to pressure her.

I think what's impt is to have great connection with our kids regardless of which age they are in.
Envy those families whose kids have such great rapport with their parents. The kids treat the parents with respect and still can be open with them.

magoo,
yeah i think cannot compare kids' devt. Esp girls vs. boys. I told hubby we must reset our mind and not to expect our lil newborn boy to have same devt rate as Sarah. WIth expectation, comes disappointment. Not good for everyone.

Justme,
I agreed..
U will be surprised with the arrival ur little boy.hee...

I m really very surprised to see many "new development" Ayden showed me till now..haha

Btw, yesterday Ayden finally uttered a name from his mouth clear n loud!!
That is my dog's name , JOJO!!! Faintz..

Voice,
He calls my hubby "dad dad", then he calls me like asking for food. "mum mum"?!! Dunno he is calling me or the food..
But we can hear very clearly when he called JOJO..
when he called us, we would hesitate n think was he calling us??? haha

Hi Florence,
You need to register for a file hosting service like Ripway that I'm using. Then, upload ur file into your file hosting site. Paste the link in your blog...

justme: genius? hehe i dont have einsteins blood, just hoping all is ok with her and she develops normally.

Ya the fella got 8 A1s, i almost fell off the chair when i heard that. Now in JC, and a good boy too.

From what i see, the stricter the parents, the more secrets they keep and the rapport is less.

THink its tough to balance discipline and love.

My gal just love to call me "MA!!" to catch my attention. She will purposely do it when i am sleeping and she wants my attention! If i dun answer her, she will repeat herself, LOUD and CLEAR.

Recently, she finally found some interest in reading books. She will say "BOOK" and flip the books. Previously, she will only bite the books.

Speaking wise, i will say she is still slow. Unlike her motor skill development.

Now I am very worried abt the arrival of my #2. My SIL just gave birth last nite..Premature at 36+ weeks i think but baby was healthy and heavy enuff to go home tomolo. I really dunno how to settle the sleep issue after my confinement lady leaves.

Reason: En En will make noise in the middle of the nite,looking for her pacifier. And if baby cries, everyone will wake up..

Proposal #1: My hubby, myself, En En and #2 will sleep together.

Proposal #2: Hubby will sleep alone. Me, En En and #2 will sleep in the maid's room.

Which is a better solution huh?? Crackin my head now!! Grrr...

Poohwei: What you mean by "sleep together"? In the same room or on the same bed? For us, before Jordan arrives, my elder one will sleep with us on the bed. Couple of months before Jordan arrived, we "trained" her to sleep on the mattress placed beside our bed. Not only for her to "get use to it" after di di arrives, but also cos my tummy quite big by then and it's better she don't sleep with us on the bed then. Initially it was tough ... so we had to make her sleep on our bed first before carrying her down to the mattress when she falls asleep. Middle of night she will still find her way in between us and happily sleep there till morning. Slowly slowly, middle of night she doesn't do that every night liao ... only sometimes. Then when Jordan arrived, we let him sleep in the playpen and she continued sleeping on the mattress ... naturally she doesn't climb onto our bed in the middle of the night anymore.

For now, our 2 kids still sleep with us ... elder one sleeps on the mattress in front of our bed, and Jordan sleeps in the playpen beside our bed. So we are surrounded by the 2 kids.

We are planning to "wean them off our room" after we move house. Let them have a room of their own ... decorate to their taste and have the maid sleep with them. At least by then my elder one would be 5 or 6 years old and Jordan will be 2-3 years old liao should be more ok bah ... if too young I also "bu fang xin" to let them sleep with maid.

for me, i wldn't want my child to zzz w maid. i wld opt for option ALL zzz together?
1 in playpen, the elder one on mattress. hubby the side.

best soln ? i say only lah. when my turn comes, not sure ...

for my SIL 's case, somehow my niece which is now 1.5yr old, will adjust. when bb cries, she wake up to see and auto drift off to zzz. she is ultra light sleeper but somehow to her younger bro's cries, she is immune.

Pillow, my hubby keep asking me when we can have "freedom" cos with 2 kids in our room, very difficult to ... you know what lah. I told him no way am I going to let them sleep with the maid when they are still young ... but I guess my threshold is ... now my gal 5 years old liao should be ok ... but Jordan at this point still small to me ... wait till he's after 2 years old at least and can talk.

So best option is to start letting them sleep in their own room with the maid when we get our new place lor.

poohwei,
Why option 2?? i mean you don't want hubby to be disturbed?? what abt you?? you need the rest 2 right??

For my case, I did wat Blue did for Desiree. Placed sarah on her own bed next to ours after she fell into deeper sleep on our bed. THing is it has been abt a month and she still wakes up around 3 am and then we have to pat her to sleep on our bed. ANOTHER PROBLEM NOW: Sarah is somehow conditioned to be pat to sleep. I mean continuous patting!!!! crazy lei. I dunno how to handle this ~ if i stopped patting she'll stir and cry again! madness...

when baby #2 comes along, hubby said we co-sleep with baby and sarah in her bed. But hei, sarah is still giving me "pat me forever" problem, how to have didi in bed with us??? Intending to exclusive BF #2 too, so co-sleeping would be so easy for me.

blue,
haha, i guess you and hubby have to be creative to have some quality time together. Look at it this way ~ won't it be more exciting to make out secretly knowing you may be discovered by your kids anytime?? hohoho...

but nothing is more embarrasing than having your child ask what you 2 were doing when he/she walks in. =P So be careful!!

atinarin,
that was wat i worry in future. What if my kids treat me like strangers? it would be sad and v diff to get thru to them.

need to check.
Anyone of you suspect your kids having pin worms?? I dunno but sarah's night wakings and scratching her back and butt makes me wonder if she's suffering from pin worms. I tried to get something from GP but he said he wouldn't recommend any medicine for pin worms for kids under 2.

Hi Blue,

I am currently doing what you are doing now. En En sleeps on the mattress that we have placed beside the bed. There is a cot for the baby in our room too. I am just worried that if both of them cries at night, hubby will be disturbed. I am also disagreeable with my gals sleeping with maid at such young age...tho my hubby kept bringing up the idea. Afterall, En En has been sleeping in our room all these while.

Hi Justme,
Yes! I am worried tat hubby will be disturbed as he needs to work. For me, its ok cos i can rest in the day where my maid and mum can take over. Plus En En will be going to "Part-time" childcare..so not so bad.

Just visited my new-born nephew at the hospital just now. Can you imagine..its just my nephew and En En clinged on me for the whole session. If its #2...dunno how En En will react..Keeping my fingers crossed now.

JustMe: Like you, my hubby thinks it's more "exciting" ... but I feel otherwise. Somehow I will be very tensed, fearing that we might be "discovered" any time. Hence, I won't really "enjoy" lor. Heeeee

Poohwei: It's a phase you have to get over lah ... newborn tends to be a little "noisy" but once their sleeping pattern stabilise, your nights should be "peaceful" again ... of cos for the exceptions when they are sick lah ... tends to get cranky at night.

tek koh,
can check out this website on pin worms.
http://www.emedicinehealth.com/pinworms/article_em.htm

poohwei,
same worries we have - i fear baby night cries will wake Sarah, the light sleeper. so i told hubby, he has to see to sarah while i handle baby. Worry too on hubby's inadequate rest then. But what choice do i have? Hope Sarah will learn to turn a deaf ear everytime di di cries in the near future lor...

hi emily,
i have just send you a message in your blog, please chk it out

btw, i need some advise on the cradle cap stuff, any suggestions how to remove it?

thx in advance!

atinarin

Have not visited the threat for so long. How's the diagnosis for your condition?

Justme &amp; atinarin

Thanks alot for the encouragement on bb's slow development in speech. Am worried cos Kaylan's neuro paedi suggested him to have a hearing test and speech therapy as usually tots of this age should be able to mumble some words but Kay is not at all. Decided not to let him go in the end as like what you gals said, some children just prefer to talk later. Am not hoping him to be a genius (though I dont mind!) but do worry if his development is affected.

2272932.jpg

poohwei,
leaving the kids to zzz with the maid is nv an option for me. i somehow feel very insecure even at the thot of it.
if there is no choice, i wud rather crowd together in a room.

it was alot easier for us as darius sleeps in his own room when he was 3 yrs old. however, he does funnie actions like 'migrating' back to our room in the middle of the night when i was preggie with maegan and even after she's born.
i guess he was trying to seek for attention.
the both of them 'disturbs' one another in the night.. but somehow, got immune after some time (same case as pillow's sil).

take it easy, dun be too stressed over this. it may not be as bad as you would think.

justme,
did u chk sarah's stools? u might catch sight of some if its really pinworms. i recalled a colleague of mine mentioning this before. she added that there was a sudden surge in appetite when her gal had pinworms.

yoki: rub some baby oil to soften it and then can slowly remove, alternatively, leaving it will also make it go away gradually.
There are also shampoos for the condition, Check out the pharmacy.

Supercar: Hi! My condition, what to say? My life is just not good right now in every aspect from work to health to...

Anyway yes my friend's son spoke at 3, his first words? NINJA TURTLE!

Haha she was worried and senthim for all sorts of tests as well.

Re : ChildCare

Had placed Chloe in CC since last thurs. Accompanied her on Thurs but Friday she was on her own. Start crying the moment I left her with her teacher. Refused to eat or drink at all in the centre. Nap for 1 hr.
Wants to be carried around by her teachers and didnt tk part in any activities.
On/off crying in the centre.
After she came home, she seems quite normal...but wen night comes, she started sobbing when I was putting her to slp.
She feels so insecure whenever I disappear from her sight. Kept crying the moment I go toilet or anyting at all...haiz.
Also became not her usual self..hesitate to join other kids in playing or being on her own when I brought her to my aunt's plc yesterday. Just stood there n clinged on to me.
Usualli she is veri active = running, dancing, climbing up n down.
Anyone experience this as well?
How long will this period usualli be over?

Justme, ur sarah totalli no crying when u left her alone in the centre?? She's so steady!

Any mummies with children in CC can advise me on above? Many thnks!

atinarin,
my gal still tip toe-ing. she knew its not correct, and will stop when we look at her. she will in return give us cheeky smile.
i guess its a passing phase, mayb she thot tip toe-ing makes her walk faster.... little does she realise that it actually tripped her dwn more often

Hi Yoki! Long time no hear! How's everything? I saw Kayla's dancing video on FB a while ago. She is very adorable and really pretty! Caelen shows zilch interest in music nor rhythm
Looks like he is growing up to be a boring engineer like me hee..

Hi Supercar,
you know, I read about really genius babies who talk in sentences at 10months! But for the rest of us, I think a few months difference in talking is not indicative of intelligence, more of how talkative the mummy is hahaa... genes as well as constant talking to baby ;p

peapod,
hehe, yeah...talkative mummy == talkative child. =P

atinarin,
sarah tip toes once in awhile when she's playing happily by herself.

elaine,
hi! chloe is definitely suffering from separation anxiety. Didn't the childcare encourage you to spend some time with her during the first few days there? I think its too abrupt for her to be away from you and into strangers arms. pretty scary if you try place yourself in her shoes.

Sarah's ok ~ in fact this morning, she waved bye to daddy and allow the staff to lead her into the room. Hope this keeps up.

elaine,
forgot to say that many kids will cry much during CC. The staff said, its good to talk abt school when you are home with your child.
Some kids cry for a few days to a week only, while some can be for months. HOpe chloe will adapt soon to the centre. Must be v heartache to see her wail when you leave her there. But don't worry, the crying will eventually stop.

My niece cried for 2 months or so...now she just disappeared into the centre once her mum let go of her hands. =)