(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Justme
You may want to consider preparing a little gift, something Sarah likes.

When didi comes along & Sarah first set her eyes on didi, give her the little gift & tell her it is a present from didi to her. We did that for Ray & somehow he did receive Yan quite well

we also constantly reassure Ray that despite there is another sibling, he is still our No#1 darling, meimei is no#1 baobei ..hahaa

FLorence, you may also wanna check Borders, some of the books they have on sale are pretty good. I've gotten a good stash of sesame street books from there.

justme,

i haven't let her feed a full meal herself...let her self-feed abit only..think she will take a long long time if i allow her to feed herself the full meal...

I am finally taking a breather after a long week's work in school...Have been working non-stop from Monday till now..and the sitting down has been killing the back of this preggt woman.

Re: Learning Vision CC
Hi ecookie, i am intending to send my gal to Kent Vale branch come July..But there was a wait list of 30 students when i registered in Nov...So dunno whether i will get the space..But i am in no hurry cos i have a maid to assist me.

Re: Self feed
I bought all the self feed bowls and spoons but my gal is only interested in stirring but not scooping. She would rather feed on an empty spoon.

Re: MMR jab
En En caught a high fever a week after the jab. According to my fren, only 5% of the babies will be down with high fever after the jab.

fau,
sarah's on Progress gold. mati lah.
if I stop giving her the FM then what?
i have to go back to giving BM only? she doesn't take other FM well. maybe in the meantime, i should just give her warm fresh milk.
sigh. i knew giving her FM spells big trouble someday.

fau,
d is also a fan of sesame street huh? hehe. cute eh?

ibs,
yup, we will do just tat. we also have some other ways to make sure sarah won't resent di di too much. like placing her picture next to my hospital bed. and welcome her and i will give her much attention and let other relatives awe at new baby. hehe. but hor, over the long term, sibling rivalry will surely set in. dread it man.

hi oink,
me together with several mummies here are preggie with our next child. congrats on your pregnancy.

MMR
Natalie had her MMR on 19 Jan 09, she did not have a fever. Hubby and I were so scared, we did not bring her out for the full 10 days, just in case. (felt like she is being quarantined)

Waking up at 4am or 5am asking for milk
Natalie does this for a week +++, wonder if other babies do the same? She seemed really hungry, then went back to sleep after the milk. how to counter this? She had her 3 meals, plus fruits and yogurt in betweenn, plus 3 milk feed (when she wakes up, before afternoon nap and before she sleep for the night)

Natalie seemed to be scared of poo poo these days.She will say she dun want poo poo. Is it because she had difficulty pooing? I can see that she strained herself sometimes. But I did give her prune puree when she did not poo. Any mummies encounter this?

hi cookie monster,
does natalie drink much water? with so much milk and good solid food intake i think drinking more water would help in easier bowel movement. just my 2 cents worth. =)

ain't it cute looking at our kids' younger pics...

then...

2179616.jpg

hi cookie monster,
i think sarah is undergoing the same things as natalie. she woke up at 5.30 this morning wail like mad till i gave up and hubby gave her FM then she went back to sleep. dunno if this is a growth spurt.

Siti,
yah D's a huge fan! i've even created my own playlist on youtube so the vids i choose plays on loop
she also loves random vids on lions, fishes, birds. very animal plannet
now v hooked on spotting vehicles when we're in the car, her favourite is the double decker bus!

cookie monster,
d's also sometimes waking up at 4-5am, i found it weird coz she started to sleep through the night since she was 1.5mths old.. sometimes we dont make milk for her but we carry her out of her cot and let her fall asleep with us. then put her back in cot.

hi justme

so how does sarah looks like now? i always love to look at her pic. Did u switch to another FM since Progress is being withdraw now?

btw, how did U manage to make sarah brush her teeth? i always have difficulties in asking theo to open his mouth. in his good days he will stick out his tongue. hmmm....wonder how other mummies brush bb teeth????

hi ecookie,
Faith is in learning vision infantcare, she'll be graduating to toddlers in april. Shes been with them since 2 mths old and must say she really enjoys it there.

hi tek_koh,
Usually i add the ikan bilis into a small cloth bag and leave it in the water to boil into soup. Once done, just remove the bag and you can use the ikan bilis stock to cook.

star,
hi long time no see you around here.
nowadays, so diff to get a good pic of her...she'll either look away or down. =(

anyway, sarah no longer is the very compromising tod i know. seems to start already the challenge of handling her as lil boy arrival is approaching. now brushing her teeth is a big feat to accomplish. she'll cry if i put the brush in her mouth. loss appetite and refuse FM. oh yeah, i read abt Lutein the substance used as colouring in the wyeth's FM. following instinct here; i am still giving her (although she refuse much of it) but will transition her to drinking warm fresh milk.

mummyfaith,
how much do you pay the fees for infantcare every month?

Happy Sunday mummies, lousy weekend for me. Just keep feeling tired and depressed.

Anyway I also have trouble brushing my girl's teeth. Bad mummy sometimes just gives in and not brushes cos she keeps fighting me. She also doesnt oblige when i wanna change her diapers.

Regarding waking up at 4-5am, a PD told my colleague that thats when theres a change in air current so kids esp those who are ill with flu will prob wake up. We sleep in an air con room, so windows are closed, my girl still wakes up at that time so i dont know how true that theory is.

As for Promil, Lutein is supposed to be naturally occuring and good for vision so whats the danger, im not sure.

In any case, NTUC is having a 20% off baby fair so Similac is going for $51+ instead of $52.45.

atinarin,
yeah Lutein even exist in breastmilk. dunnolah, probably cos, this substance not fully approved in FM and singapore, being sg, is being over precautious ~ better to be safe then sorry. Or probably the composition is too strong for baby? watever it is, sarah still takes it well.

Re: depression.
i am falling into prenatal depression. haha. is there such a thing?? as you know, i tried to refuse night nursing sarah but she is putting a big fight. i cried this morning, and hubby who was v v tired too, brought hungry and tired sarah out to buy breakfast. i caught up with the much needed sleep. we now wish our sarah will grow up faster...

hey Justme, i think its perfectly normal to befeeling what you are...take heart that at least you are only having one baby, imagine if they were twins!

Hi Justme,

Dun think you are having pre-natal depression. I guess we cried because we are simply too stressed and tired looking after out toddler and being preggy at the same time. No worries. I cried on a few occassions recently because i was so stressed too. Hubby had no choice but to coax my gal to sleep, bring her to the playground or get her to watch her fav DVD/ disney channel. So glad that i subscribed to starhub recently. Cant wait for May to come...But then again...with a HYPERACTIVE En En and a baby...dunno what will happen.

Hi Pooh Wei,
I can imagine the stress level too... This is what I discussed with my hubby last night... He doesn't seem to understand why 2nd pregnancy is much more stressful than the first...

Anyway, I think your HB can manage En En well... So, dun worry too much... your helper is good too!

Btw, is Disney channel really works? Edison doesn't like to watch TV... He can't sit still for even 10 mins... He prefers to move around.. It's quite tiring to look after him sometimes...

mummyfaith+ poohwei: thanks for the advice on learning vision. i like their curriculum so thinking of enrolling yz to one when he turns 18m this may.

justme: its common to feel an onslaught of emotions when preggy. one moment u r happy, one moment u r sad. just remember its normal cos of the hormones. ask ur hb to help out w taking care of sarah when u need some me-time to calm urself down. i always told my hb that if we have #2, he has to be more hands on with helping to take care of yz liao.

poohwei: i also think ur hb is good at managing en en. so just try to relax more when he takes over. good for the baby too!

any mummies know if there is any discount on Gain IQ anywhere?

<font color="ff6000">JustMe</font>,
Hang in there!! Ur Neighbour downstair is here for u!!! If u wan, u can bring Sarah down to Level 2 or my pl n Play With Cornelia.

thanks all for the concern.
really hope i can pull thru this beginning stage. if i can't get thru this, dunno how to handle the rest of the journey.

haha, kian. i hardly go out these days. would be nice to see sarah have a playmate nearby. but kids our girls age, tends to prefer playing alone, don't you think? still warped up in their own world. dunno how to learn to share and love to grab other kids' toys.

justme, poohwei... after reading ur posts.... kind of glad tt i am not alone...hv been ill n sooooooooo tired... feeling v guilty towards #1 cos simply no energy to play w her... even had a big fight w hb last night for we were just too physically n mentally exhausted... me gg to give birth in less than 20 days le.. looking forward cos this is not an easy pregnancy for me... jia you k.. we can make it...

I have just enrolled my gal in Learning Vision Kent Vale. She will start school in April. Received a call from the childcare in the afternoon and rushed down to check out the environment and did up the registration. Wanted to enrol En En there only when #2 arrives...which is in June. But the lady said that i would have to wait till Dec if i gave up the slot now. Haiz..so no choice, from now till i give birth, my gal will attend childcare 3 times a week, from 7 to 1pm. My maid will wait there for her and hubby will send them back after 1pm during his lunch time... Quite sad to send her there...but no choice...want her to learn something in school...best thing abt this childcare...CHEAP!! hahahaha..cos my hubby enjoys corporate rate + i have working mum subsidy...all in all $193 a mth onli...cheaper than playgroup i think...

Hi jme..
Jia You!!! I can understand how u feel...this feeling makes me want to send #1 to childcare even more...

hi jme,
wow, in 20 days or less! congrats in advanced in case you poppped and won't have time to log in here.

the only person i have fights these days is sarah. always testing my patience. =P

poohwei,
we have also decided on Cherie Hearts Discovery Ark at Kim Keat here. will start on Monday and opt for half day prog. hubby was lamenting how sad he is feeling letting sarah go to childcare even when we had intended to send her to any playgroup only after she can at least speak.

$193?? wow, tat's really cheap!! I still have to pay $480 for the halfday prog!!!! super ex.

florence
the classes at blk 110
9am to 11am
11.15am to 1.15pm
can pop in to see if u interested at those timings.

totoro
yup, it's not accompanied.
not sure about trial class but u can bring your gal in to see during class time.

Prenursery classes
i know that some kindergartens offer prenursery classes. what do u mummies think of it? how is it different from playgroup?

Good morning mummies ... long time no chat!

NateM: Pre-nursery classes usually start the year the child turns 3 years old. Should range from 2-3 hours, depending on kindergartens or centres. I feel it's good cos it gives the child a headstart on how school is like ... and starts the child on social skills etc. Anyway the curriculum for pre-nursery is not the heavy heavy kind ... mostly should be songs, story telling, art &amp; craft, simple writing maybe? Magoo and I have already signed up for Ayden and Jordan for Marymount Kindergarten's Pre-nursery next year since our elder ones are there now.

NateM: If I'm not wrong, playgroup usually starts from 18 months onwards. Should be about the same as pre-nursery bah ... but I guess it's more "play" for playgroup since they have younger children from 18 months.

Hi Justme,

My hubby enjoys corporate rate at the centre while i have working mum subsidy. Hence, the low fees. It was the fees that made me want to send my gal there at an earlier timing!! Cheapo mummy right? My fear now is that En En does not know how to eat the food that is served at the centre (cos she is still on porridge), plus she does not know how to self-feed (They expect the toddlers to learn the art of self-feed in 3 WEEKS!!! arh...plus she dunno how to take afternoon nap on her own without patting/ pacifier.)

Btw, how much does playgroup or pre-nursery charge nowadays for a half day programme? I can truely understand the need to register our kids earlier at these popular centres cos i waited for ard 4 mths for confirmation...The lady at the centre told me that i was really very lucky cos the average wait time is ard 6 to 12 mths...

poohwei,

En en so smart, sure can learn how to self-feed soon enough..and i am sure the teachers will pat her to sleep at least in the begining, so dun worry so much...

Hi Pooh Wei,
I have the same problem as you too... The worst thing is Edison doesn't eat porridge, and he is very fussy with food too.... My MIL cooks oatmeal for him, she changes the menu everyday - fish, chicken, pork and vegie - so that he won't get bored with the food...

He is enjoying himself at my PIL's house.... My maid is there to feed him, play with him and pat him to sleep...

I simply can't imagine sending him to childcare, cos he will definitely "suffer" there... No more pampering like home...

hi poohwei &amp; emily

why dont you gals get the menu from the centre, u will be surprised.. the food they provide are quite interesting and has a lot of variety.

re : self feed

why dont you gals start self-feeding now.. it fun and when they feed you.. you feel so love... haha

i normally place newspapers under the high chair.. just in case he was messy :p

Hi baby piglet,

We have been trying daily. She is only interested in stirring the porridge? or feed on an empty spoon leh. I saw the menu for the centre..Got Chicken Rice,brown rice bee hoon in soup...etc. Very nice.

Baby Piglet: Sometimes the menu at the childcare centre is only for "show". I know cos a few times when I happen to be at the centre during lunch / dinner times, I saw what my gal was eating. Looks so unappealing ... sometimes not even what was stated. From the menu, they usually looks kinda good and nutritional lor.

poohwei/piglet,

can tell u once they are interested in feeding themselves, they don't give u the spoon...that is what is happening to clara now..

hehe, i called My First Skool by NTUC, nearer to my place than cherie hearts. see lah, more or less confirm on Cherie hearts but still fickle minded. I suddenly worry i can't fetch sarah during the confinement month. hubby said, he will take time off from lunch time just to fetch her. so ridiculous.

anyway, i am going for trial session tomo and fri. we'll see how sarah adapts to environment. She likes it at CH ~ didn't cry at all. so we have to assess her reaction tomo at NTUC.

-----

poohwei,
Learning Vision is a good CC i heard and you are only paying tat little! vv lucky you.
don't worry abt all the skills which En En has yet to acquire. you'd be amazed how fast she'll learn. human nature mah, babies are designed tat way, they'll observe and learn.

re: menu at centre.
cheh! so its all a show. i really was impressed by the menu. coming to think of it, i remember seeing the todds being served, some yellow noodles with soup and bits of chicken in a small bowl. then again, what can I expect, right? some cordon bleu dish?
but at least make the dish more appealing lah for the kids. its already so bad the kids are fussy eaters.

Justme,

but clara's principal was telling me hor..the child in the centre some one them prefers the food in sch then at home....so should not be too concern over the food they serve lar...tasty or not we do not know...but it is for sure more healthy...

RE: Food at Childcare Centre
Wise is right ... I suppose the food there are healthier cos they use minimal flavourings etc. But it certainly looks unappealing and tastes blend. My gal doesn't like the meals at childcare last time ... sometimes can take like almost 2 hours to finish. There was once I went to fetch her and she still hasn't finished her dinner. So I helped the teacher to feed her ... when I saw the food, I was thinking the food really look not nice ... so I tasted it when the teacher wasn't looking ... and no wonder she doesn't like it. Haha.

Just to share ... at home when I cook their meals, I always uses natural flavourings like carrots, pumpkin, mushrooms, meat etc. Occasionally I will add in little bit of chicken stock (those without MSG kind) to make the porridge etc. nicer.

blue,
sarah is v fussy now....she will taste the smallest bits of vege and spit out the food...sickening for this preggie mummy
wondeer how to encourage her to eat vege...she even pushed away carrot.

blue,
even if i blend, there's still tiny fragments which her tongue can somehow detect~ so very frustrating. losing heart here. i resort to giving her supplements to make up for all the lost vitamins and iron she refuses in the food.

all the talks on preschool, tomorrow i going to visit jurong christan church kindergarten, if all is well...will sign up on the spot for samuel for next jan 2010, preschool/playgroup. Not very near my place, must take sch bus, sounds daunting right...2yrs+ take sch bus...haahaaa!