(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Florence: Try Cooking Mama and Rayman.

RE: Feeding

I feed Caelen somen (some kind of jap noodles), and udon too! Fried rice and fried noodles also.

Hi Justme, oh dear, you must be very worried. Hope sarah's fever has gone down by tonight.

Hi mummies, thanks for your suggestions, shall give some thoughts and trials.

Macaroni sounds good, what do you add in the macaroni soup, mummyfaith? Other than meat/veg, what others you add to sweeten the taste naturally?

Florence

my mum brought nate to the playgroup by talentplus at block 110. nate seems to like it. planning to start him in april. the teacher there suggest signing up for the 11.15 slot cos there's lesser kids there so more suitable for starters. hazel can make it?

peapod,
nope - sarah still feeling bad; her fever is still hovering at 39 deg. So tired and so worried. I went down to my trusted GP in marine parade last night cos, super disappointed with A&E treatment provided at KKH. seriously, shouldn't spend the 80 bucks on simple procedures like that which I can do in the comfort of my own home!!

GP gave stronger medicines and sarah managed to sleep thru the night. Temp went down to 38 then up again this morning.

I woke up often at night and hubby slept thru. Still he grumbles when i told him to help shower sarah. argh! really testing my relationship with him.

He is supposed to be on reservist this week and taking charge of 2 groups/squads. Guess, i am always bothering him to take time off cos, really needed his help - thus his lousy moood?? dunno lah.

nateM,
I am also considering talentplus playgroup for sarah, at the community centre in whampoa near my place. but they strictly will accept 2 years old i heard. so must wait till sept.

Hi JustMe, i also live in the East. Which GP do u go to in Marine parade? Must be frightful to have such high fever.

Shawn had high fever too , sometime in November. above 39degrees, i was given (i think Brufen is the name) to insert into his anus.

In case of emergency (if u need another doc), there is also a good one at Cresendo Building, in Siglap area, Health Partners. It's quite known to be popular for toddlers. Price very reasonable too.

Justme.

what medication did your GP give?? Did he prescribe Ibuprofen (aka Nurofen). If yes what u can do is to give alt panadol syrup and Ibuprofen 3 hrly till Sarah fever full subside...i.e first take panadl syrup, 3 hrs later take nurofen, then next time round around panadol....this works very well for Clara when she is down with fever...and sponge or bath Sarah when her fever is too high....it will help to bring temp done...

re : talentplus playgroup

hi nate n justme, i've also registered chloe for talentplus, now #3 on waiting list. u gals no nid to wait? have slot at ur branch?
The teacher also suggested 11.15am slot cos the 9am slot is full.
Chloe was climbing up the chairs n tables and cannot sit still when I was filling up the form thus wondering is she suitable to attend such classes yet. The teacher did comment tt 18mths is actualli still very small.
If there r 6 ppl on waiting list, they will start another class. So keeping my fingers crossed.

justme: how about giving her some barley drink?

Trust me alot of hubbies are like yours. Mine can come home from work and relax on his recliner, watching TV.

Even though I'm tired, i still take care of baby but his tiredness seems to be 'alot' more than mine.

Sigh what to do...

Hi JustMe,

The men are generally more "bo chap" or "dun care"... just a small population of them are hands-on and good helper..

My hubby also doesn't help much... last time, without a maid, I often yell at him when I need help... Now, with a maid, he can totally free-up himself...

This explains why little Edison is more clingy to me, than my hubby...

hi justme,
take care, try not to strain yourself too much. get hubby to help more as its important u get some rest too. men sometimes just need to be pushed.

hi voice,
we usually just use the meat like chicken or pork plus vege like carrot to boil the soup. ikan bilis is good too. we make the meat n vege in chunks so tat faith can feed herself from a fork. this way it makes eating more interesting too.

justme

my mum visited the centre and said that the teacher there said that 18months is ok and my son can start in March. check out the website
www.talentplusgroup.net
you call your area's manager and they will let you know if the centre near you have vacancies.

elaine
yours got waiting list ah?
i thought i can register later, looks like i have to chope a place earlier to play safe. do you pay a deposit first or something?

hello wise,
yes, long time no post indeed. Thanks for asking. Chloe is fine, she just had a bout of rashes 2 days bk, now recovering.

Hello nate,
yup mine at pasir ris got waiting list. no nid to pay yet. hope to receive their call soon so that i can have a 2hr break when Chloe attends classes..she is very clingy to mi nowadays and I can hardly breathe. Can't even go toilet..very tiring esp her nap time is onli 1 - 1.5hr per day.
How long does ur kid naps?

nateM, y dun u go register first and i tink u can indicate ur preferred commencement date de. Just secure a place for Nate first, can start when Nate hits 18 mths.
Ur nate will guai guai sit down n listen to teacher anot? Chloe seems the sort who will run around n climb up n down..

Wise, ur clara also very active right? How does she behave in infant care?

elaine
nate is attending GUG once a week and has improved in terms of sitting down listening to teacher. but sometimes still walk around touch this and that also lah.
his nap is usually once in the morning (around 1 to 1.5 hours)and once in the afternoon (around 1 hour).
nate used to cry when i go toilet too. now much better. i started making it a point to assure him mummy is going toilet/kitchen and after he acknowledges what i told him i will leave the room. i think this makes him more secure and he doesn't fuss as much now.

it has been long long time since I last post. Hope everyone is doing well.

Saw the feedback on talentplusgroup, anyone have any feedback on the Hougang or Serangoon branch? Is this consider flexible childcare by the govt? how much is the fee? Sorry, so many questions but got to ask as I was and still too busy with work and not much time to post nowadays!!! hiaz

Blue,
hv u received your application form?
I received mine and I realised the admin staff STRIPED-OFF morning session time slot on my application form!! I dun understand why??
Going to call them n ask... Haiz..
We need to attached the health book vaccination for reference.
But I hv not brought Ayden for MMR leh, how?

Magoo: I just submitted my form today. Mine is morning session leh ... that day they called you you didn't state which session you want? For me, I submitted all documents except for the immunization records ... included a note to say that Jordan will be going for MMR next week so will submit after that.

I just called Marymount ... told them about the MMR ... they said no problem ... can submit that next week or after his MMR jab. Just attach a note to say immunisation record will be submitted after MMR jab.

Initially thought wanna bring him this week but cos hubby and I will be away for a short holiday on Sun ... scared if he got fever then we won't enjoy in peace ... that's why play safe bring next week.

thanks for the concern, mummies!

Sarah's fever had subsided thank goodness, last reading this morning was 37.1. But bad news for mummy, though. I am down with influenza and was totally flat yesterday. It has been a long time since I fell sick - forgotten how miserable it felt!!!

Thank god hubby took time off yesterday and today to care for sarah and housework. Weird right? he is sometimes so nice, at other times i feel like kicking him in the butt!

Pillow,
I used to live in Marine Drive and saw Dr. Maninder Singh of 81 Family Clinic. Many from far come to see him cos, he is v congenial and his prescription usually works like magic - to both young and old.

Wiselyn,
Sarah was given Neurofen, paracetamol, strong antibiotic, and expectorant for her chesty cough. Also a syrup to help with any inflammed throat. The first dose was taken on Monday night and her fever showed signs of recovering. Yup, we took neurofen if her temp reaches 38.5.

hi natem, elaine,
very undecided this mummy. If i send her to talentgroup, its just a mere 2 hours. wat can i do within that short period?? also must take into acc sending and fetching sarah. I am open to halfday childcare now, and will register sarah at the nearest centre here - not the best place, but v v convenient; just across the road. pity this girl, so lonely and bugs me everytime i try to rest. can't imagine how to handle sarah, when baby comes along and i am trying to recuperate. At least at the centre, she'll have playmates.

Blue,
Tat day when the lady called me, she d not asked me abt the session slot!!
I think she take assumption..
I will give them a call..
I will be submitting tml..

elaine,

Clara is not very acive...she is super active...but so far no complains from the teachers yet...so i think shd be okay bah...but they learn "wrestling" in school..doing it better then the wrestlers...that's what clement commented..."poke" eyes...."pull" the chin etc etc...wahahah

atinarin
my girl just had hers 2 days ago. Went to PD for consultation and she realized that she has not taken the jab yet so suggested that we should do it as there will be another jab at 18mths.

atinarin,

ME!! I hv not sent my boy for MMR..
Actually planned to do so this fri.
BUT, he is having high fever now..
PD advised to do it one week later after he recovers..

Fau : MMR is 1-2yrs old anytime.
at 18 mths its : DPT/DT – 1st booster
Oral Sabin – 1st booster

I checked and its ok to put off MMR till as late as 4 yrs old.

Oh andFau, read your blog and i so lurve the Big Bang Theory too! Have you watched the episode where Sheldon learns Mandarin? Hilarious!

mummyfaith
can i enquire how to add in ikan bilis? powder form in the porridge? or its just to boil with soup stock? i hve read before can add ikan bilis for toddlers but not sure how .. plse enlighten? thanks!!

totoro
talentplus is $135 per month but it's not child care. it's a 2 hour playgroup. not sure where to get feedback leh ... can go and look see look see i guess?

justme
it's prob gonna be tough when no.2 comes along. but if u plan to send sara to childcare, must do it b4 no. 2 comes so that she don't feel that she is 'sent away' bcos there's another baby taking her place. great that your gal is getting better! u take care too!

hi natem,
yup, i know abt all the adverse effect when new baby comes along. been reading much on it and actually worried abt it.
We prob send her to centre by 1st march. At least, i can still be around during first few days with her. half day prog. then we'll see if things are ok, we may opt for full day prog during my confinement month. have to play by ear.

wiselyn,
saw the video on clara self feeding. Congrats! another milestone achieved.

Hi nateM
Thanks for the info. So this 2 hrs will be without parents right? Any idea whether they have trial class? hmm.. maybe I will check it out in March as now still very busy at work!

atinarin: thanks for the info
yup i love big bang theory! the geek in me wins heh.

any babies on promise gold? heard the formula is recalled.

Anyone knows where to get cheap story books and activity books? Any book stores to intro? me looking to set up a small library for keith and hazel and buy books suitable for their age.