(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

re: primary school enrolment

I used to work in the administration side in a popular primary school and handled the "Parent Volunteers". Trust me, some even tried to register themselves when their child is still in their womb. Its ok to be kiasu, cos, the others are doing so. You relax, you'll lose. Survival of the fittest or should i say most kiasu..hahaha.

also agree with some who said choosing some schools with affiliated sec school sounds smart. My niece did badly in her psle. and yet, managed to get into her aff. sec school. The cutoff point was way higher than her score!! seriously, i don't quite like this affiliated method. seems unfair for those who deserves more based on merit.

Emily: Got it this time ... thanks!

JustMe: Unfair as it may seem, but no choice leh ... that's how the system works lor. You know hor, my friend got 250+ for PSLE and she can't even get into CHIJ Toa Payoh! On the other hand, another friend of mine who was from CHIJ Toa Payoh Pri and only scored 230+ got into the Sec Sch.

Blue,
Catholic cannot becos I dun want to stress Ayden and also myself.
Plus, my friend's kid is in catholic, he said very stressful for his son..

Really not easy to be a parent...

stressful topic indeed esp for those with older kids....

mag,
what is the statistic all about? can email me?
pm-ed u my email addy

phoebe,
your persistence and patience will pay off. Just continue to teach ryann and bear in mind that its bonding time and fun to do so for both mummy and ryann. If you keep on having the pressure on your mind, you are giving yourself unnecessary stress.

Gong XI Gong Xi!

still remember me? haven been reading this thread.. no time.

I agreed it stress to be mothers.. sigh... and finding childcare is so difficult!

florence.. stupid question from me...you gals draw on them?

ayden.. very naughty... sigh.. really BTH.. but yet so funny sometimes... eg. he made you angry and he knows it his fault... he starts to play "peek a boo" with you.. but he only managed to cover his eyes & say "boo"

hi justme,
i hope to be able to enjoy my bfing days with faith for as long as she wants too
its really a very special bond btwn us which has made my hubby jealous. then theres my mum & MIL who are commenting tat faith is getting too old to be still bfing. they are always asking me when i am going to wean her off. dunno why it seems like a bad thing to them...do u get tat kind of questioning from your relatives too?

darmae,
Is the statistic of the schools records..
eg like how many seats were left for ph 2c etc..

I emailed u le..

baby piglet,

i am totally ok with it too just the older folks don't seem to think its a good thing loh. they view it like some kind of bad addiction tat must be kicked.

i haf also heard many mummies bf their child till 3-4 yrs.

RE: Recognising real objects from pictures
Found this: A child will pick up a picture from a group of 4 other pictures that matches the real object eg. an real apple. A child will achieve this skill about 19 to 27 months old

Seems like we have alot of clever little babies

Hi phoebe:

Also, found this:
Tips for recognising body parts
1) start with the parts he sees or uses more often; also, start with the parts that are more distinct e.g head or hand etc
2) Make use of natually occuring situations to enhance learning eg. touch and name parts when you are dressing him
3) Use mirrors to allow child to identify body parts together with you.

For me, I have a mirror wall so I found tip 3 very useful

The book also says this ability will develop between 15 months and 19 months so Ryan is not slow.

bb piglet: i thot am the only one ignorance abt DIY flashcards.. ^5! Not draw lah, find pictures and print out and paste on the blank flash cards.

florence: I WANT! I WANT! 320 pcs for me pls, let me know the logistics details to get it, thanks!!

peapod: tks for sharing the info, console me alittle, am slack in reading/teaching samuel. By the time am back home, it's 7+ or 8pm, then he sleeps at 9:30pm, not much time to bond with him, sometimes i let him watch dvd, go downstairs for walk, read story books to him...time flies.

mummyfaith,

dun think so much...my relative also asking me when i am going to wean Clara off, but i dun care lar...i always joking tell them....i save a lot of money bf her...then they diam diam already...we continue to work towards bf our girl till they are two..

Hi Voice,
You can search sgparenting.com forum. There are people selling blank flash cards there.

I really see the benefits of practising flash cards with Edison... He can recognise a lot of objects now..

About 2 months ago, I bought a kitchen set for him.. There are lots of plastic food toys in the set.. He is able to pick up these objects correctly - orange, apple, banana, lemon, carrot, ice-cream, bread, pear, egg etc... I was amazed!

I didn't actually show him the real objects, I was wondering why he can recognise them... And then I realised that he actually learn from flash cards....

Those wanting blank flashcards, you may wish to get them at Popular ... brand is Bestform and I got it at only $1.95 for a pack of 50 cards ... cheap right? They are about the size of A5 (slighter shorter).

Samples of my DIY Photographic Memory flashcards:

2131310.jpg
2131311.jpg

Hi blue,
Wow! your stuff are great!

Tell u something funny... I've been practising photographic memory with Edison for a while now... These days, he tries to 'teach' me... he takes the card, flash it in front of me few times (just like the way I did it to him)... very funny! I can't stop laughing everytime I see him doing it...

Now my headache is linking memory... it has been really bad, he simply lack of interest...

mummyfaith,
you are doing VERY well in BF. JIAYOU!!! dont be affected by what the older generation say.
i wish i cud contd as long as i cud. travel commitment for work, cant.

blue, emily,
both of u are great in DIY-ing the flashcards.
i didn't make any...still using those i bought from shichida method 3-4 years ago.
i'm thking of making more to expand the variant.

and yes...linking memory is a killer. i always wonder if the silly story is not interesting enough. darius only listen when the teacher does it... but not me. he run away. haha
with maegan, she is not interested in linking memory at all. once she "sees" them, she attempt to get off her chair without fail.

Hi darmae,
Cos now, I only have one kid, so still can spare sometime to DIY the cards... when # 2 comes in future, I doubt I still have time for it...

So, I'm making use of the time now to make as many as I can... cos these materials can be passed down to # 2 also... hahaha!

D loves Linking Memory! I just managed to do 4 sets of 15 cards based on her favourite cartoon characters and man, I had to really squeeze my creative juices to think of interesting stories revolving around the characters. Thank God I managed to ... in fact, I am "recycling" the 60 cards ... just managed to use the past half an hour or so to think of another 4 sets of stories using the same cards.

Have to make new cards again so that I have more variation to the stories.

Actually I am not doing alot of flashcards for Jordan yet ... though I've completed the Photographic Memory ones quite some time back, I haven't tried with Jordan yet ... heeeee.

Hi Blue,
Yes, got print out.... I mean, your printing quality is good, the colors are so vivid and fit perfectly into the cards.... My color printer is not so good....

Hi Blue

The pictures are so cute! I love them.

Hi Voice, I understand. I also come home only at about 8 and after I feed him dinner, there is not much time to spend playing with him

I also feel abit guilty about not doing flashcards with Caelen. He doesn't seem very interested and to be honest, I am not very good at it either ;p But what I find useful is the books. They take the place of flashcards for Caelen's learning. He learnt his ABCs and 123s from them. I also love to point things out to him when we bring him out. He learnt very fast this way. For example, we taught him the concept of up and down with the construction 'diggers' hehee... now he says "UP!" when he stands up or walk up the stairs

goodness i am like a super tired mummy all the time so i have not done any flash cards or story telling at alll..in fact i dont understand what are linking memory flashcards (?)

i get back close to 8pm, shower, dinner and then my little one clings to me till bed time but i am already half aasleep by then...

i am ready to Zzzzz now too

Actually I am doing more for my elder one cos can see result more instantly ... for Jordan, I hardly read to him cos he will usually wanna flip the pages himself even before I finish reading that page. I also seldom flash cards to him cos he just stare at them and lose interest after a while. Also cannot "test" him whether he knows what I am flashing or not so kinda didn't have the patience to do it.

Come to think of it, think Jordan spends most of his time watching his favourite Mickey Mouse Clubhouse ... and he learns from watching too! Haha. Like when the sheep "maaa", he also "maaa". When Daisy blows a kiss to Donald, he also does the same with the same sound. When Pete pats baby Goofy, singing the "top top, bottom bottom, middle middle middle" song, he also does that but w/o the singing. And he never fail to laugh at certain parts ... we noticed he's consistent in his laughing ... sometimes we don't think it's funny but he always laughs when it comes to those parts.

atinarin,
i am also clueless abt linking memory flashcard! i also tend to just fool around and play with faith after dinner and before long its bedtime. i try to read her stories once in awhile but shes more interested to flip pages and will snatch book away from me. feel so tired after work, really wish can have more than 24 hrs a day.

blue,
i tried to use those readymade flashcards on numbers & alphabets but faith also simply bochap. she will snatch the card and end up tearing them
so also no motivation to flash to her now.

wise,
yah i will ignore my mum & mil. i got hubby's full support so definitely going to continue bf. hubby even said shd aim for longer, till 4 yr old! faintz!

mummyfaith,

my hubby and ur hubby same same lor....tell me maybe next time can bf both togather...one child on each side of the breast....but then not planning for second one yet lar...till then will see how far i can go...

Mummyfaith: Yah lor ... Jordan also more interested to snatch the cards and "damage" them either by biting or crushing ... so I've stopped flashing cards to him liao. Only occasionally take out and try but if he starts snatching, I will stop and keep the cards before they get damaged.

Btw were you in service last Sun? Which service?

Hi atinarin, at least your gal clings to you. I have to spend watever time I have in the evenings chasing after Caelen. I try to read to him before his bedtime to calm him down but I don't manage to do that all the time too.

Oh, another fantastic way to teach babies to recognise numbers - the lift! I read out the numbers on the panel as the lift moves and Caelen would pay apt attention as the numbers changes.

mummyfaith,
So far my immediate family kept mum abt me weaning her. However some "concern" aunties asked my MIL whether I still have milk to give sarah esp now when I am preggy. haiyah...these comments will eventually died down. Just ignore. Like wiselyn said, helps save money wat...i told my hubby my sis spends like 300 per month on her 3 month old boy's FM, he was so so thankful I persist on to BF his girl. =P

babypiglet,
its really up to individual parent on how to educate/discipline their child/ren. Don't feel bad if you are not doing what others are doing.

Re: Breastfeeding
Those mummies who are still breastfeeding... continue please... You know my milk powder supply is getting more and more expensive lor!

Peapod, thanks, hopefully he can la... I blame it on my lack of time for him la...
When it comes to dressing him up, Ryann will lift up his leg when wearing his pants and also his hands when wearing the tees. Once i asked him where is your nose, he point to his nose but that was once and never again. Thus i really dunno if he dunno or dun wan to show.
Haiz... so frusting... felt so bad as his mummy.