(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

brushing teeth:

hi mummies! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

I like to ask if you start brushing your darlings' teeth? I did twice a day. Did you ask your baby to gurgle water? I didn't, think she will drink the tap water instead. Did you put toothpaste? I didn't, when wiill be a good time to introduce toothpaste?

I brush natalie's teeth before her last milk feed. I think i might be doing it wrongly. Should the bedtime routine be, drink milk first, then brush teeth?

Hi peapod,

natalie can recognise the animals in photo and in cartoon card form. She knows what sound they make and will imitate them, such as the cow moo, cat meow, pig oink, dog woof. =)

Cookie Monster: I've not started brushing Jordan's 8 teeth yet. Heeee

peapod (peapod) : Hazel didnt really enjoy the slides as she doesnt like water splashing on her face.
but she enjoyed the lazy pool and the water playground.
Keith enjoyed the slides and the family ride. ( but the height limit for the ride was 100cm as hazel cant try that.
overall we had fun.

Topic: Recognising persons in photos
Hazel can recognise people in photos and animals and fruits now. but she cant say them in words just point the right ones for animals and fruits. people she can name them.

cookie monster (cookie_monster) : my helper helps hazel to brush her teeth using her finger brush daily. keith learnt to gurgle in childcare.

Mummies : Are you little ones toilet trained yet?

magoo: nothing liao.

florence: how to toilet train eh? i also dunno when is the right time to start, heard is 2 yrs old.

Sam is growing fast in motor skill and physical development but not fast in his teething process and speech leh. Issit something wrong eh? He still can't talk a single proper word, still babbling. He only has 6 teeth and 2 more popping out. Molars not out too.

BabyCare Festival 2009
Admission: Public - Free admission
Venue: Hall 6B
Time:
27 & 28 Feb 09: 11am to 9pm
1 Mar 09: 11am to 8pm

Blessed CNY! Long Time never log in already.

Voice,
Ryann also same.. only 6 teeth and cant talk...the only word that is clear and accurate is 'mum mum' Btw, when can i meet you? long time bo see u leh... u still got things with me wor...

Florence,
Ryann is only half toilet trained. Every time when he wake up, or certain time of the day, my maid will bring him to the toilet to make him urine in the toilet. He still poo poo on potty but also in toilet.

hi phoebe,
it sure has been a long time. Hope all is well with you and family.

Florence,
Sarah's not toilet-trained yet. But she seems to like peeing when she has no diapers on. She'll run around the house naked the moment she's towel-dried after a shower and before we know it, she had emptied her bladder...

I am always alone with her and being heavily pregnant, i don't seem to be able to muster up much energy to toilet train her yet...maybe after my confinement days or later.

=P

cookie monster,
I have been using First Toothpaste and the finger toothbrush on Sarah, since her first tooth appeared. I use the toothbrush to massage her sore gums too.

I am actually particular of the plaque which forms on her teeth so i brush her teeth in the morning after her first milk feed and whenever i shower her. SOmetimes after she had some sweet stuff too, like fruit yoghurt or chocolate.

and she doesn't know how to gargle yet or spit out the water. I just rinse the toothbrush under running water and continue brushing her teeth.

TiNy VoIcE (voice_0229): I am asking my maid to let hazel wear pull ups and bring her to the toilet now and then to train her to pee there. I dont really have idea how to toilet train as keith just came back from school one day and say no pampers for him anymore.

Phoebe Low (phoebelow) : hehe that's very good. A good start!

JustMe (highvolt) : When is ur due date? hehe. should be rather difficult to cope sarah with ur heavy pregnancy now.

hi florence,
my due date is 7 May. ANd yup, very diff and now contemplating to stay with my mum during my last weeks and during confinement. The thing is, I still prefer to stay home, where we are most comfortable at and my mum's place is not that healthy the environment...TV is switched on almost all the time and its pretty small the place.

and can you believe it,...i have so far put on like 12 kg...3 more months..more damage to my weight ...waaaaa....and always always hungry..=(

Hi blue,
I wanted to sms you last Saturday, but I can't find your number in my HP.. Wanted to let you know that the Linking Memory set is $15.00, comes with 150 picture cards and a CD with 3 different speed..

There are two versions, Version A for 3 y/o and Version C for 4 y/o...

Let me know if you want any of these...

Hi JustMe,
Don't worry about the weight gain.. the best thing about being preggie is to be able to eat, eat and eat without worry...

halo mummies!
How is everyone? we just came back from our week long holiday back in Malaysia..

Justme!
wah time flies, 3 more months you popping soon..

Hi Justme!

Just managed to catch my breath! School has been so busy and CNY made it worst.

I am also feeling very heavy now. Cant run after En En much but she insists that i need to carry her since she is sick. Plus she is so cranky at nite becos of her illness now. Hoping that she will recover.

I should count myself lucky that i put on only 6+kg till date. I hope it will not exceed 12kg like the previous preg. Going for my 24weeks visit on Wed.

I am amazed by how SAHM like you can actually handle toddlers. I am simply too tired...

Re: Roseola
En En has been diagnosed with Roseola. Luckily, it is the final stage of the illness now. Recovering from the rashes and she should be fine! Luckily, her fever has subsided. She has lost so much appetite during this period of time.

Hey <font color="0000ff">JustMe</font>!!!!
Now then i realised ure my neighbour la!!! when u posted @ May09 thread i thought ure some other mummy sarah!! LOL!!! untill poohwei tells me. LOL!

How r u now? seldom see u come down.
*sorry for intruding mummies* lol..

lbs,
hehe, i am actually counting down the months...dunno if life will be easier with a big bump or another child to handle...

Poohwei,
nope, no easy feat. I think my hubby has to tolerate my continuous ranting the moment he stepped into the house. And sleeping while preggy is v v challenging when sarah wants to latch on once in awhile during the wee hours of the morning...plus the leg cramps...argh...i am complaining again.

Mummy Kian,
haha, i guessed i did confuse you. should have said Sarah's mummy. =P

<font color="0000ff">justme</font>,
hmm ure still latching sarah? will it cos u to have mild contraction when she is latched? i cant tahan. i managed to wean off when cornelia is 10+mths.

hi justme,
amazing u are! still latching sarah now
so u haf not weaned sarah off the breast? it must be difficult to latch with your growing bump isn't it?

i am putting no 2 on hold partly also bcos faith is not weaned off yet. she needs latching constantly whenever i'm around and thru the night. i dunno if its possible to go thru 2nd pregnancy and breastfeed faith still.

Emily: Thanks for helping me check. The Linking Memory Set comes with CD? Wow, $15 is reasonable. Do they have for 5 years old as well? If not, then can help me get the one for 4 years old pls? Thanks.

p.s. Btw we can't just go there and buy one hor? Must be student right?

hi justme, poohwei
my edd is end of mar but already scheduled for c sect on 12 mar... dont really know how to describe my feeling now cos looking for it yet worry tt will not be able to cope.. really not easy to look after a toddler whilst heavily preggy.. me always use my big tumtum for support while carrying my girl.. guess u guys must b doing the same

blue
am just wondering which sch is ur girl studying at? cos tot u mentioned b4 u wanna send the kid to henry park..

jme: My gal is now in kindergarten ... will be sending her to Henry Park cos my hubby is from its alumni so saves me the headache of Pri 1 enrollment.

Hi to all mummies!

Justme: So fast u gonna pop!

jme: u areeven sooner! So exciting right u guys canfinally see if no 2 looks like no 1

Hi Blue,
There are 2 sets: first for 3 y/o and the 2nd for 4 y/o and above. No 5 y/o.. So I guess you can take the 4 y/o set. I bought this for Florence too.

Anyway, they will ask for the child's name when you make order. So, I think they only sell to their students. But again, they never verify the identity. So, people can just walk in and buy, and give the name of their friend's children who is studying there....

If you want to go there, I can sms you Edison's full name and class details. Then you can buy yourself. There are lots of other stuff there. It's good to go and take a look too....

If not, I can always help you to buy...

me long time no drop by.

justme: so exciting, u ready to pop in 3 mths+ time! must be exciting preparing for the arrival of a new family memeber. n im sure lil' baby will be as cute as sarah!

peapod: baby yz are able to point out accurately for those pple close to him in photos. he ll say those he know how to pronounce like mama, papa, gong gong, por por, jiu jiu (uncle) etc.

nowadays trying to get yz to say mar-mee. he ll say when i prompt but when he calls me of his own accord, its still mama...

toilet-training: think will start only when he's older. hopefully the poo poo part before he goes childcare when he turns 18m.

ecookie,
preparation isn't as exciting as the first time. I think its only natural. And furthermore, to have another one to care for, don't really have much energy and time to be excited over. =P

atinarin,
for other pple, it seems fast,...but time seems to crawl for me...esp these last few months...

jme,
you are a sahm too?? well, as you all know, i don't have much help so i do take care of sarah myself...and yup me still carry her around the house if she gets clingy.

mummyfaith,
yup, not easy bf when preggy. I had issues too with this like concern over the growing tummy and nutrition for the growing feotus. But i read so many articles online saying it is ok and safe to bf while preggy. the contraction encountered during bf is so mild,...similiar to the contractions while having sex...hehe. so no harm done to baby in me.

my gynae is pro-natural and didn't disapprove of my continuing bf. read somewhere that colostrum will build up for new baby - in fact, now i see clear liquid coming out instead of milk.

I tot, sarah would wean off herself but she finds comfort in latching on and i still love holding her and caressing her so close to me..esp now when she's so active and mobile. its a rare treat for mummy too!

blue.. oic... was wondering why so happening for u n magoo to zoom in n out of sch..

atinarin.. me agree w justme

justme.. me consider wahm.. had no choice so got myself a maid recently to help otherwise cant cope w the work, housechores n bb.. however the inexperience maid is giving me a bigger headache than of a help...most horrible incident tt she did was having menses w/out knowing n stained all over the floor n my girl was sitting beside her playing w her toys.. faintz..thinking of getting rid of her after my confinement.. (sorry cant help but to complain a little here.. think preggy mummies need to vent their frustration more often la.. heehee) but i must salute to u w rgd to looking ur girl all by urself cos it is really hard to look/run after a toddler all day long plus the neverending housechores.. hang in there k

Hi jme,

I also got a maid to help out in my household chores recently. Cant really cope with being preggy and a FTWM. She bathes, feeds, change and play with my gal in the daytime under the supervision of my mum. However, she is alone with my gal from 630 to ard 0900 while we are out for work. So far, after 4 months of training, she is quite alright. Takes initiatives. Keeping my fingers crossed that she will stay good and obedient...

Re: venting of anger by preggies.
I vent my frustrations on my hubby a lot these few days too. I get so irritated when he is slow is doing things...i.e: Collect the milk, bring me baby's stuff. Also, when he does things that causes my #1 to cry..i will get even more irritated cos that means i have to carry my #1...Arrh!!!

Hi Florence,
Ya but i have to say my maid is the one doing it most of the time. My work load for 2009 is more overloaded then before. super overworked until i start work at 9am reach home at 10 sometimes 11pm. So thank God for my maid lor.

Can you all share with me how you teach your kids about body parts and recognizing pictures? Ryann is very slow in learning so doc is concern about it. I need to buck up already. I felt so quilty cos maybe is becos i cant spent enuff time with him....
Help!!

Phoebe Low (phoebelow) : flash cards and keep talking to him will help.
Mayb ca ask ur maid to speak to him more and flash cards to him.

phoebe,

I personally think it is not wise to leave the child with the maid for a whole day. First of all the maid need to complete the housework, and caring for Ryann. playing and teaching him things may not be on her priority list. Her pronounciation might be wrong too.

Did you consider sending Ryann to Childcare where there are trained teachers to teach Ryann? Full time working mums has subsidies. Can consider. =)

Hi cookie monster,

ryann is at my mum's place with my maid thus still not so bad. My nephew will be there in the evening after childcare too. Ryann is gg to playgroup next month already. I couldn't get Ryann into the childcare i wanted all fully booked..

Hi florence,
We have been flashing and talking to him leh but he is just not showing yet. Sometimes i dunno if he knows but just dun wan to show. Haiz...
When he see the tiger beer advertisment, he will say 'ger' bth....

Phoebe Low (phoebelow) : continue flashing ba. I think he knows but boys are slower in speech than gals I heard. They know what is it just dun know how to say it yet. if u ask he where is his eyes , will he point?

jme,

looking for primary school is not "happening".. is agony!! haha..
I m having Big headache now.. cos my girl is attending primary one next year!!

Hi Pooh Wei,
Not only you la... I'm also constantly venting my frustrations on my HB (although me not preggy!)... Cos they are the easiest and most available people for us to reach out whenever we r happy or unhappy..

Well, that's the role of the husband... PACIFY their wives at all means!

Hi Blue,
You want to pick up from my place OR meet me at Toa Payoh on Saturday? I seldom go to Bishan nowadays...

Hi magoo,
I have 2 colleagues with children attending P1 this year... It seems that it's quite stressful.. not for the children, but the mothers... they have to wake up at 5 plus, make breakfast for the kids and make sure that they boarded the school bus.... Wow! I can't imagine waking up at 5 plus everyday!

Emily,
To be frank, I can feel the stress now..
not the making breakfast part, but the school we want to enrol her in!!
Really stress.. i realised the mothers now very kiasu.. plan everything far far away!!

Magoo: You registering Mayvis for Ai Tong? Heard the "competition" is tough ... actually hor, now I am having 2nd thoughts of putting my kids at Henry Park. No doubt it is a highly sought after Pri Sch, but many of my friends who have older kids told me their advice is to have the kids study in a Pri Sch with an affiliated Sec Sch. Cos the competition for Sec Sch is even tougher! They mentioned they got a few friends' kids who got aggregate scores 240+ can't get in any of the better schools around cos most of the places occupied by the Pri Sch students. Ended up they go neighbourhood schools.

Continuing the Pri Sch talk ... I shared the same views (in case kids' results not so good), they can still fall back on the Sec Sch) but come to think of it, I too survived from a neighbourhood Pri Sch and got to enter a good Sec Sch on my own merit ... so I should expect my kids to do the same right?
If their results cannot get them into a good school, it may also be very stressful for them to "force" them to be in the sec sch and most of those sec sch very practical one ... they will kick out those whose results poor so as not to pull down the standards. Also heard a certain sch asked a handful of students to register as private candidates (so their result will not affect the school standard) ... these students didn't do very well in PSLE but got into the school cos of ECA. So sad right?

phoebe: don't worry lah, sam also dunno how to recognise alot of things yet, so am thinking i shld start in DIY the flashcards myself. You still got any to spare?

Any mummies still got spare A5 size flash cards to spare? Or anyone want to share with me to purchase?

Blue,
U think so far liao huh?
I now trying to think for 2nd option in case Mayvis really cannot get into A.T.
Actually, Mayvis expressed her interest in Marymount convent. but becos is a girls' sch, thus, i eliminate it from my list..
I m searching for mixed sch.. cos will be easier for Ayden next time.. hee..
Bishan pri schs very limited. haiz..

Re: Ai Tong"Competition"
I checked alrdy. Last year the enrollment only till within 1 km cat. that's all..
Tat's y I must prepare 2nd choice now..

Magoo: Around this area, if you are talking about good mixed schools, really not many to choose from. Another option is Toa Payoh Pei Chun Public School (both my sis's kids are there now). But again, it is also a popular school so might not get in too. You may wanna try doing volunteer work or go join RC ... higher chance to get in. Actually join RC not bad ... my sis said got free parking within Bishan/Toa Payoh and involvement not so much also ... maybe like once a month go kaypoh kaypoh only.

Magoo: Actually since you will be staying at Clover, Mayvis can go Marymount Convent and Ayden can go Catholic High mah ... Catholic High should be quite high chance for you since it's definitely within 1 km.

Blue,
No la.. Catholic cannot la..
I dun want to stress myself leh.. haha..
Very "fan" leh, come to choosing primary schools..
my colleague just emailed me the statistic for last year primary school..