(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

gee...all this talk abt MMR, gets me worried. I just got the jab for sarah on Monday. Just hope nothing bad falls upon my darling.

I didn't place sarah for other optional jabs; just those compulsory ones.

re baby talking:

=) I treat sarah like a child who understands short sentences. hehe, the cute thing is, she tends to respond like she actually understood! haha! like when i told her to get me something out of my reach or in another room *you ladies know i am already heavy - halfway thru my pregnancy* and she actually gets the items for me!

words she uses on things/pple correctly:
daddy, mak (although i refer to myself as mummy!), Tok (my FIL), book, cat, dog, flower, ball, shoes, car.
she babbles ALOT, and i try my best to respond to those gibberish with proper sentences.

wat to do, i have to make do with "talking" to sarah since no one is around to entertain me whole day long. =P

HI justme,

How did you manage to care for sarah when you are preggie? esp first trimester when you would have felt nauseous all the time and tired. Wow!

I am also alone with natalie at home. She did manage to say daddy, mummy, ah gong, ah ma, gor gor, jie jie, button, take, book, nice nice, glove, scar (she is referring to star), ball, kick, hug, nose, etc. she is my soulmate. Nobody talks to me in the day time. So we will "talk" to each other. It is really interesting to see her learning about everything.

Now she favourite activity is to carry her "shopping bag" around the house and put lots of toys inside. :D

Hi everyone! Good morning!

I am enjoying my new job but it means lesser time on the computer and my "private" time as it's work days on even numbers of the month and activities with the kids on odd numbers. wahaha

Hazel seems to understand whatever we say but she refuse to talk much !
She is starting to pick up the animals I say to her correctly from a bunch of flash cards. like cat , dog, tiger , elephant and bear... hehe

Went bowling at Downtown east yty. very children friendly . They have size 1 shoes and x-small and light No 4 balls . Bumpers also can be up so ur child doesnt get disappointed when he hits non of the pins.
My little bean enjoyed himself.

hi justme!
Nice to see you here..how's everything? Thats so sweet of Sarah to help mummy..I bet she will be a good little helper when her sibling arrives! haha

1947919.jpg

The toy sales is back. It is good if you intend to buy toys for ur own kids since the packaging may be old. Bring along a screwdriver to test out the toy or buy toys that can play sound without even assembling them...

Phew...MIA for a long time. Finally finished the work in school. Can finally rest at home with my gal. My gal can only say words like PaPa, Mama, Ye Ye(Grandpa), Apple, Water. She will just call for her PaPa everywhere she goes.

This week, i shall prepare for her trip to HK. We are leaving for HK next sat. We bought the safety vest from one of the BPs http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1892361.html?1228180469 and its seems good as a baby chair in the event if we cant find one. Will test it out in a restaurant. So far, we could strap her onto a chair for around 10 min.

ibs,
difficult to post lah. you know this girl. she'll give me this mischievous smile when i touch the laptop. so far she managed to peel out the "esc" button. =P now me wrestling with her as i type away!

yeah, i really hope she'll be my little helper, although she's v young to actually help.

cookie monster,
i have no choice mah. i didn't do well in 1st trim, esp this pregnancy. in fact, i still feel nauseas when i didn't eat for 3 hours or more. many a times, i had to push the ever-curious sarah to one side of the toilet when i retched over the bowl. not easy definitely, but seriously, i have to get by. I think the challenge will definitely be when sarah's didi/meimei comes along. My hubby is planning to take one month's unpaid leave. I know it is sweet and will be really helpful during my confinement BUT i fear the rolling loan repayment/bills that might occur then. eeeks!

justme
I can imagine..Yan also likes to tap on my keyboards..hehe

well, you will be surprise on how much help you may get from Sarah!

you not planning to engage a confinement lady? That could be quite tough even with your hb helping arnd...

hi all... remember me??/ missing for so long
been so busy at work.. now sneaking in.. really had enough of work!

congrats to all mummies who are pregnant! hugz

are your babies a terror?? mine is.. i dunno how to teach him... example.. he will touch the fan buttons.. 1st touch - i said no and explain... 2nd touch - i hit him on his hand 3rd time .. he still does it and gave me his hand to hit!!!

Re : baby talking
Ayden can said papa, daddy, ma ma. mah mah (grandma) ye ye (granddad), ah ma (my mum), jie jie, jiu jiu, yi yi, ball, toe, bear, pig, shoe, car, duck, star, ple (apple), no more & no no (with his finger doing the no sign) i think cos i always do that.. haha

thats all i remembered now/.. haha

Hi piglet,

Think babies learn best from their peers. The other day, when my gal saw Jerald playing with the fan, she picked up the skills immediately..and she has been playing with the fan since them...Haiz..she saw Hazel drink milk on her own too..How come she never learn..hahaha

eileen,

he might think that u are playing with him, that's y he still give you his hands to beat...maybe u not firm enough with him...

bb_piglet,

Ur Ayden so cute..haha..
Mine is a terror... He will "test water"..
I thik cos my sis sayang him alot, so when he does wrong thing, my sis just "lightly" hit his hand, then later sayang back, so now, he "bo chap" my sis..
When i m around, he will see see n look look..
looking for the "right" time to do "funny" things!!
I also BTH liao..

poohwei, magoo, bb-piglet,
talking abt disciplining kids, It's always easier to be said than done. I used to say my niece/nephew is naughty and my sis should take them in hand. But now having my own child, I am stumped; not easy to take a child in hand. THey say spare the rod and spoil the child. but been reading this will have adverse effect on child in the long run. susah man.

anyway, can just check how many naps are your toddlers taking everyday?

Justme,
For your info,
I use cane on Ayden.. but not very hard one.
I dun allow hubby to use CANE.. haha

My boy has 2 naps each day.. one ard 11-12 to 1 to 2pm, another abt 5-6pm to 7pm..

magoo,
i understand where you are coming from. man is relatively strong and their so-called "gentle" caning would be too harsh for little one to handle.
i don't have any cane in the house. dunno if i should when the time comes. =(

re: naps
sarah is slowly transitioning to 1 sleep per day (early afternoon ard 1 pm). i realise that she falls asleep easily at night around 10 pm, if she misses her 2nd nap (around 4 pm). however, i know more naps are good for their well-being.

cane ? hmmm i have canes at home, to frighten my dogs. actually, i don't even remember raising my voice at shawn before. maybe i am too soft...

moreover, all i need to do is to sternly look at shawn and say a "No" ,he would cry buckets like i have smacked him big time. he's a crybaby. if i use the word "naughty", he would cry till want to vomit type. very quah zhang

Re:Discipline
My Hb & I are not believer in caning, no matter how notti our little boy used to get (he still does at times!) Well, sometimes, I am really tempted to cane him when he is really driving me nuts but I have to constantly remind myself to take a deep breathe & cool down (is TOUGH!). Personally, I feel it is quite dangerous as I tend to believe in the fit of a rage, we may easily lose control on how much force we used..

A lot of time, we will take a step back & try to understand why he did what he did. This really needs heaps of patience. Our stand is we want our children to learn by understanding why his behaviour is wrong & not acceptable. We do not want to resort to caning to get him feared being caned to get things right. but of course, we did beat his hands or butt with our hands at times but cane is certainly a no-no for us..

Hmm..we dun use cane. We will just carry her away from "that place" and she will cry. So we normally just let her cry and that's it. However, the cycle repeats after some time..

She is not afraid when we hit her hands..The more we hit, the happier she is!! She feels that we are playing with her..

Poohwei
Yan also not scare when we beat her hands..she will tend to think it is a game & giggles..*faint*

RE : Cane

I do use the cane on keith but not hazel as i think she is still too young to understand. hehe (give chance for her age)

Poohwei : naughty things are easier to be picked up by kids. wahaha!
hazel plays with the switch even thou how much i tell her not to!

Pillow,
The cane at my place actually is meant for my dog too.. haha..
but just nice can use to "frighten" Ayden..
Anyway, I realised even though i use cane on his hand, he also not afraid of me.. everytime after punishment, he will in return find chance to hit my hand back!! Very naughty boy.. Once he did that, he will give me the "innocent" smile!!!

my boy has this queer habit. without rhyme or reason, he likes to crawl up to me, and pinch my thighs. while he pinch, he would be looking at my expression and smile. strange. and he only does it to me, no one else.

our little ones are really growin up fast!

justme: take care and rest more now that u r preggy though i kno it must be hard with active sarah heh. so u know the gender of the little one yet?

naps: yz now takes ard 2 naps. 10+am to 12 noon and 3+pm to 5pm normally.
and sleeping time is 930pm everynight after last milk feed.

devt: yz still hasnt learn to walk yet! at 13mths old liao. heh still very happy with his cruising n crawling.
as for talking, he can babble quite a bit of words nowadays namely, mama, papa, por por (grandma), ball, star, duck, mo (for elmo), da da (beat beat in chinese), kor kor, jie jie etc and he can say giraffe, flower, but not very accurate for these 2 syllabus words. like flower becomes wow-wer. heh.

i find that he understand me more nowadays. but i still have to see from his gestures to find out wat he want ha. he can understand simple instructions now like asking him to bring me stuff etc.

re discipline: normally i raise my voice n said no! he'll run away from watever notti things he;s doing. but after awhile will attempt again. so i will carry him away. he is not afraid of me beating so sometimes when im really angry i'll tell him mummy dun want u already which he ll get upset and come over to carry me. but i think this emotional blackmail like not v good hor? hmm.

hey mummies, sale at Taka also...some kids fair, more for toddlers though...

was at a and Ethis morning, hb fell, sprained knee, now 2 bbs to look after...when it rains it pours man...

must say my girl is not so fast, still cannot talk yet, just babbling...not surprising when her mummy only spoke at 2 yrs old, maybe she takes after me

looks like all of us has a lot to learn to discipline our little ones.
Our generation is too soft on our kids, unlike our parents. I am also against using the cane, been a victim of that and I think it has a psychological effect on me..

natalie also likes to do things that we ask her not to, such as, touch the oven, climb on the sofa and stand up, touch all the electrical appliances, etc.

There was once she stood up on a chair, my hubby wanted to "tell" her that it is not allowed and hit her feet REAL hard. She cried and kept waving her hands and said "no no". The next day, she did that again and my hubby just walked over to her and said "NO!", she cry liao... (then my hubby felt sorry to have scared her). The 3rd day, she did that again, this time round, she is not scared of daddy liao. So how to discipline her? How to show her that what she is doing is actually dangerous.

I read super nanny's book, she said she will not use smacking. What she did was to use the voice of authority, talk to the child with a firm tone, go down to his level so that you have eye contact. The next method she used was the naughty step/ corner. Whenever they are naughty, bring the child to the naughty corner and tell him, what he is doing is wrong, he will stay there for 2min (young toddler ~ 2min is a long time) and think what he has done is not acceptable. If he runs away, keeps bringing him to the corner until he comes back to say sorry.

Well, maybe we can try this method.

Naps,

Natalie also has two naps, at least I try to make her sleep.
- 11 to 12++pm and 4 to 5++ pm. She has to sleep, if not she will fall asleep at lunch time or dinner time. Or becomes cranky.

re discipline
i do smack ben (with my hands) when he is noti. still have yet to use the cane yet (no cane in the house). But i realise he does not feel pain leh. Think it could be true that they think we are playing with them. I also tell him firmly 'NO-NO' and it works (sometimes - like no going into the kitchen and toilet). Now have resorted to smacking his sole of his feet especially when he screams the house down but it does not work thought. Have to think of other ways liao, like distracting? LOL

I do want to try this time out method. Must go and get a chair for the time out. Let me try to see if it works. =D

re: naps
Ben has 2 naps. 9/10+am to 12nn and 3+pm to 4+pm. At night, ben sleeps between 8pm to 9pm till next morning 6am to 7am. I still give him 1 last feed at 11pm though. Anyone still doing this?

arrghhh

I cannot take adv of the discount.... =(

Hi phoebe,
Ryann is drinking nan 3? or still on TBF? Natalie is taking Gain IQ but Norway does not import this milk powder. The only milk powder they have is Nan 3. how is nan 3? so far so good for ryann?

This is the more elaborate guide on how to use the naughty step/corner, if any mummies are interested:

1. The warning: go to your child, come down to his level and look at him straight in the eye. use the voice of authority to give him a verbal warning. Say, "That behaviour is unacceptable. we don't push people. It's wrong. Pls don't do it again. The warning is a KEY stage in this technique.

2. The Ultimatum. Five min later, your child does the same thing again. This time, using the same low, firm tone and confident body language, you issue an Ultimatum. Say, "I told you not to push your sister. That was very naughty. The next time you do it, you are going to the naughty step.

3. The naughty step: As soon as the bad behaviour is repeated, take your child straight to the step. Sit him down and tell him to stay there. a couple of minutes is long enough for a two-and-a half year old.

4. The explanation: like the warning, thi is another KEY stage. before u leave your child, explain why he's been put on the step. Say, "we don't push people. it's unacceptable behaviour. People will get hurt. You're going to sit here for 5 min and think about about what u have done . when 5 min is over, I will come and get u & i want u to apologise, please. Now stay there."

5. The apology: if he leaves the step, bring him back and repeat the explanation. Don't leave him there any longer than 5 min. at the end of that time, tell him you want him to apologise. He must say what he is sorry for. "Sorry" is a step towards the right direction, but "Sorry for pushing my sister" is much better.

hope this helps. Let's work together!

Florence
YOU ARE VERY PRETTY LEH!!! aiyo, i should have gone up & ask if the pretty lady (aka you) but I thought I may be mistaken ...lol

Re: Notti corner
Doesnt work with my boy at home but surprisingly it works at school! (I have yet to try on Yan)

re: noti corner
seems it is effective if bb can talk to say they are sorry. but for our little ones who cant express themselves how? =D

lbs, at home i think can work also but needs a lot of firmness on our part. cannot 1 time do, the next time nevermind. kids are v clever. they know if u relent one time, u will relent again. lol.

BtMum
We tried that on ah boy for nearly a year liao..lol

After many trial & error, the most effective method is we will reason with him why his behaviour is unacceptable etc etc, ask him if he feels good if others do what he did on him & we expect him to aplogise - not only say sorry but must tell us what he has done wrong. If he continues to throw tantrums, we told him we will ignore him until he 'settle down'.. lol

For Yan, what we have done so far is be consistent..we dont expect her to say sorry but she does understand certains things are not acceptable now hehe...

RE: Discipline
Caelen is not scared of anyone except his daddy and sometimes me. My MIL and FIL who are the main caregivers are putty in his hands lor. Sometimes when my FIL shouted at him, Caelen would cry and run to MIL for comfort. He would then refused to let FIL touch him at all. In the end, my FIL would give in and sayang him instead. I am very worried that he would grow up to be a terror since we are not home to discipline him most of the times.

But it is also hard for us FTWM because I want him to enjoy the limited time with his parents and not dread it.

haven't got time to browse thru' the threads, have been a bz week as am maid-less now. As she has misconduct herself, we decided to send her back, sam is currently under the care of my cell leader. Next sunday we will be flying off to Canada for 3wks, good thing that this temporary arrangement is short and it happens to be sch holiday, else my cell leader cannot even help me out as she herself has 3 kids! Thank God for her kindness and willing to avail her support. No maid for me now, when we return for vacation trip, sam will be under the care of babysitter. So amazing that within 1 day, we can find a temp help and also find a babysitter for samuel when we return in January, really a miracle. God is good all the time!

Talking abt discipline, we believe spare the rod, spoil the child, we have a 'spanking spoon' for Samuel, it's a wooden ladle, we will spank his hands if he is really notti and will be bringing along for our trip, hee hee.

Actually my cell leader's kids are very obedient, she uses the method if the kid is notti, she will pull the kid into a room and discipline them, never discipline kids in public but have to discipline asap so that they will remember what mistake they have made earlier.

i guess if you spank a child, as a deterrent for him not to repeat his bad behavior,its fine. but if we spank a child out of frustration and impatience or anger, then its not ok.

Pillow
well, but sometimes when the child bad behaviour frustrates/irrates the adult...a lot of time, we could easily lost our temper.

Hi hi, went to the Mattel Sale just now ... bumped into poohwei and emily!

Review: Alot of Elmo, Barney, Dora, Barbie and Hot Wheels. Fisher Price mostly baby toys for 6M+ ... this time, the packaging are not as bad as the previous sales I been to. Still look quite presentable to me lah.

I didn't buy alot this time ... maybe cos I already have alot of toys at home to begin with. Haha. My total damage was only $75 for 6 toys.

Ibs : aiyo : not pretty lar. haha ... can reflash me how u look like? hehe mayb I can remember.

jme : nothing much wor. i only bought 2 pants for hazel. little bean had nothing!
and 2 jeans for my helper ( for CNY) and 3 jeans for myself. cannot try so unless u are sure ur size for fox then can buy.