(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Ashton: "Hi, Aunties and Uncles!!!"

1687972.jpg

blue mummy,

hope this answers your question to justme, regards to muslims and birth control:

"There is nothing in Islam that prohibits it so long as it is done consensually for valid reasons such as the following: putting off pregnancy until such time when the spouses are in a better position to shoulder the responsibilities of parenting, to allow for space between pregnancies, in order to provide proper nurturing and care to existing children, et cetera."

there are many related issues to this subject that i can add on top of this simple answer, but i do not find this forum is the suitable place to further discuss. cheers.

Hi madlynette, long time no see!

Don't know leh ... I always hear people saying Catholics and Muslims cannot practise birth control. So that's why I was quite surprised when JustMe asked about contraception.

hi blueskye aka blue mommy,

been very busy....so only have time for Oct thread now! hehe. but i still lurk here to see how myra bigger sisters and brothers are doing.

hi blueskye,

i have a catholic friend, just last week we both had a talk on birth control. its very cool hearing from her. sorry won't be repeating what she said to me. hehe!

hi atinarin,

haha! ;) not as thin as when i was pre pregnant lah. but love my new curves. haven't update as much as i used to also? been too busy.

Madlynette: Anyway just wanna clarify I do not have anything against birth control for Muslims and Catholics ... just surprised cos the impression I gathered from my friends is different. Hee, better clarify before I get misunderstood.

lucky devil la u can take some of my unwanted 'curves' or not...cant believe im so heavy now...must exercise more...housework not enough already...

ya seldom see u update

atinarin,
i think chasing my girl around also cause me to lose weight on top of already being the skinny sort. so there. go for walk at botanic gardens lah! keke!

hi blue, Madlynette!
haha, didn't manage to check forum until now.

Thanks lina for explaining to blue. Hehe, actually I am not really an expert in issue such as prohibition of birth control in Islam. But I think it is more cruel to have a baby unplanned and have no means to care for it in this big (and bl**dy expensive) world. That's why I think its better to be safe than sorry.

pillow, you are too kind with your comments on sarah. She said thanks! haha.

hi bebeng,
i still remember you! and your ashton is so adorable! welcome back to this v quiet forum.

re: baby sleeping thru out the night.

I am so burnt out. I really need to sit down with hubby to think of ways to help sarah sleep longer than her 1-2 hours nightly routine. she wakes up too often..(more than 5 times) per night to want to latch. I think she's already conditioned to have me latching her on everytime she stirred. I'd die if this continues. Bf babies supposed to only wake up like twice per night in normal conditions. and up till now, I have no such blissful nights. waaaaa....

justme: good point. i know someone with 4 sons, now preggers again. they are a single income family, on financial assistance.

yet another, has 4 daughters, youngest is 5mths old, she is now 4 months preggers again. also single income, financial assistance.

ITs great to have blessings in the form of children but i think some need to get their priorities straight.

Having said that though, i am quite wary of birth control pills, cos i think there may be long term effects.

My colleague who is getting a divorce after her first bb is back on the pill though...but her reason is cos it normalises her skin! Funny girl.

atinarin,
hehe, actually to have a clearer complexion is a great pulling factor for me. My face is super pimply these days!

I read in another thread on BCP and some said side-effects are weight gain or terrible migraine or mood swings. Some ladies don't have them though. And plus points are lighter and shorter menses, no more menses cramps and i read somewhere that long-term use can even help to reduce the chance of uterine cancer, cos of reduced number of menses or something like that.

justme: ironically, my neuro surgeon asked if i was on the pill or on fertility treatments cos apparently more pple in my age grp r getting this thing i have and those he has seen were on such pills.
i was not. just my 'luck'

RE: Switcing of FM

I already switch my gal from similac to Gain IQ two weeks ago. Shes taking it well, and i find that the milk powder dissolves easily unlike similac, always has clumps.

Hope all babies get well!

JustMe: Why not ask your hubby use condoms? For me, I think I rather use something external than internal ... pills for example, is taken internally ... so you never know what effects your body will go through. My personal views lah ...

JustMe what is BCP? hee..hee.. sorry me blur...

I have in mind to use IUCD for birth control after i close my factory... but yet to find out more..
Blue cannot trust guys with condoms cos most of them don't like le haha

Low: You are very wrong! My hubby is the one who always insists on CONDOMS! Tell you something which you probably won't believe ... we've been married for coming to 6 years liao ... so far only tried w/o condom for 2-3 times I think, when trying for Jordan.

He is very cautious ... he's not one who will take risk. You may say condoms will also got that 0.01% chance that it will fail ... well, if that really happens, then it means God really want us to have #3 lor. And we will have to accept it. But won't be so "heng" lah!

blue,...
haha, i don't like condoms...*blush*..gee such an open subject! haha.

have any of you heard of billing method?

low,
BCP == Birth Control Pills. =)

JustMe: You make me very "gian" to try w/o condoms leh. Though not say never try before lah ... like I said, got 2-3 times, but I can't really tell the difference. Haha. Opps! Our discussion is getting very private ...

Think very hard lah ... there was once hubby realised no more condom in the box liao ... he rather not do it. So hor, it's quite unlikely we get #3 due to "accident" ...

oooh... juz sneak in to check out forum.
the topic makes me flushed boy....

blue,
your hubby really 'play safe' hor

btw, i replied ur mail liao

bebeng,
its been a long time since u last posted. Ashton is a big boy now... a very handsome one too!

blue,
given your financial situation, i bet you can afford no. 3 bah.

lina,
are you mad?? hahaha... there's no way, i can afford no. 2 now. and think is, my period supposed to be due by 1st sept...hmm..now still no sign. scarey man!!! peed on a stick abt a week back. negative. could it be positive now?? omg, the tot just made me shudder.

justme,

either you pregs or you stress about being pregs, thats why its late. i tell you, dunt buy anymore sticks they are expensive, go straight to GP, cheaper. how much is a stick? some more you buy second stick thats 2x cost. if your period is due sept 1, how come you pee on a stick last week?
got the symptons already arr?

how much is a stick? nvr buy before leh, but someone told me is $30 or more and they also bought 2x cos they didnt believe the first stick. that time i went GP think its normal price $25 and how can i disbelief the doctor, but if go to polyclinic even cheaper.

lina,
i don't buy the expensive ones for first trial. anyway, i tested last week cos, didn't know i had food poisoning and vomitted. Tummy ache shortly, followed by body ache. almost similar to when i conceived sarah. hehe.

anyway,
just to clear the air. if any mummies here thinks i am a horrible person who doesn't want to get preggie, then you are wrong. hehe, if my subsequent child/ren is as adorable and loving as sarah, i don't mind having more. Just that, financially, i am not able to cope. Its a sad decision to make to just decide on having just one child (sarah will just have to learn to be independent ~ no siblings to count on). But if its fated i have another one, i will willingly accept him/her without feeling begrudged, in fact will feel blessed. =)