(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Florence u qian xu le say u earn peanuts hee..hee..
No la we just want to give the best to our kids ...

Me also earn peanuts le, I want to send my charlene to MMI also must think twice le call them and my gosh so expensive le hee..hee..

Pillow my chidcare leave is pro rated when charlene is born last year ok.. so in the end last year after pro rate.. my childcare leave only 0.50 days!!

no one want to fight over 2 days. but now going to be 6 days, i guess different story....

she is not disallowing us to take child care leave. but just asking us to CLEAR all our leave then take child care

pillow: wah ur boss is v mean leh. childcare leave cant carry forward should be used 1st mah.

low family: tot childcare leave not pro-rated one? cos for my last job n my new job, its 2 days per calendar year regardless when u join leh

pillow,
initially when i read ur post.. my thot was hw can HE be so mean. now i saw its a lady boss... she dun hv a family?
leave and child care leave are meant to be used for different basis.

its time to get your rights... cant let her have her way.

Pillow : still think it's unfair lor. hehe.

Low : I gave birth to hazel in sept , maternity 3 months, back in jan , so childcare leave started in 2008 lor. 0.5 also dun have ah.

pillow,

Does she allow u all to carry forward ur childcare leaves if u d not use it in the year??
If she doesn't, then is so unfair leh!!!

ecookie yalor my company count charlene born in sept ma so pro rate lor say unless born in jan then full 2 days haha

florence ur maternity leave ends in Jan mei?? Me go back in dec le 10th dec so in time to claim the pathetic 0.50 days haha

hot topic now on extended ML & childcare leave... haha i was clapping when PM announced it! although not goin to try for no 2 immediately lah, but think all of us welcome more leave anytime

its a very sad thing to hear employers discriminating against working mums n makes it so diff to claim the childcare leave. this unfriendliness is a huge barrier for singaporean women to have higher tfr. i m glad tat my org is pro family n my boss being a working mum is very understanding. but smetimes still feel pressure when i haf to take leave or time off for my girl as the rest in my dept r singles.

i know how unfair it sounds. and how angry one can be when its so unreasonable.

but only 2 days. so to fight blue black over 2 days, the consequences not so worth. moreover in my coy, only a few eligble as most of the other kids all grown up.

as for the 6 days, i intend to fight it.

pillow forget to add u work in bank right?? me too and my company says cannot bring forward any leaves all leaves would be forfeited if not clear so I die die also must take all leaves lor.. somemore we have to clear the compliance leave of 10 days that leaves me not many leaves to play with sign

if we start our complaints, no end. haha

discrimination? yes i do feel. but its contained and manageable.

1. after my maternity leave, my boss enquired abt my commitment towards work, now that i have a young child. this is a hint hint already
2. for 2008, i only took MC 2 times. the last time MC, she asked if i am pregnant again.

oh well.

pillow: wah ur boss not nice to work with. n think banks not so pro family...
the 6 days u must fight for it! govt granted how can u let ur boss has her way!

low family: oic. i just tot childcare never pro-rated one. cos 1st half this year i was at my ex firm and i claimed the 2 days childcare.
then i changed job n now i still have 2 days childcare yet to claimed for this year..

Low: The childcare leave shouldn't be prorated leh ... you should report them to MOM! Pls find below abstracted from MCYS website:

The childcare leave entitlement is 2 days per year if the employee has worked for at least 3 months with the employer. There is no prorating of childcare leave entitlement.

URL: http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/home_main.asp

Pillow: And hor, your company shouldn't specify that childcare leave can only be taken after all annual leave has been exhausted. But this part here is grey ... cos no specific guidelines from MOM that this can't be done. So I guess it still boils down to the "mean'ness" of your boss lor.

Btw hor, that time I took total 4 days childcare leave cos I took 2 days with my previous employer, another 2 days with my next employer.

Sigh.... the so call "Employment Act" does not cover managerial, executive or confidential staff, employers are strongly encouraged to extend them the same childcare leave benefits. So those nt veri lowly paid n nt highly paid stuffs(the ai c buay ci level) Shld take note.... The VERI CHIAM SANDWICH LEVEL....

blue, yes it's grey. but if we read MOM guidelines as a whole, childcare leave should come with no conditions / retrictions attached.
aarrgggh plus my boss is smart. the key grey issue is "whether are we covered under the Employment Act". when comes to such things, we are considered in "mangerial and executive position" hence cannot avail ourselves to Employment Act.

pillow yes we are NOT allow to bring fwd any leave...

Blue complain also no use lor me small fry let it be lor what to do haha

I tink no matter how gd the benfits r, it is of no use as long as there r discriminations.... No laws to protect us women....and the sandwich level...We wan to shout out loud but we got no voice! Sigh...

the sad thing is it's a zero sum game. knowing my boss, she will give me the child care leave if i fight it, then deduct from our year end variable bonus. that simple.

but i can't complain more, coz the hours are quite ok and i like working with my colleagues.

funny,
totally agree...as long as there is discriminations, it dun matter if the benefits are gd anymore.
i cant swallow when there's injustice like tat. well, perhaps tats why some bosses fm other dept dun quite like me lor... as the cases i fought does benefit some of their staff.

pillow,
zero game sum... tat is so true.
tis is usu hw some bosses get back
so sad...

bb piglet,
jiayou!!

bb piglet,

me too panicking... trying to finalize Carlson & Carissa his jiejie 1week apart nia bday party cum House warming ... aiyo headache man i got lots of ppl i think more den 100 paxs of guests pengz

darmae, chiam..now that you mention, i can't find it too. Wondering is that a scam, i must go home check if i have bookmark that thread anot.

Hi Voice and darmae,

Saw the following on Oct thread.

RE: Stroller BP Thread,
Lioele replied my email. She say moderator remove due copyright (I think it's the pictures) so she will email us today or tomorrow and update us instead.

hi all, i was also looking for the stroller thread. gotta buy a lighter one, hb dont support this one, he says we already have one but i cannot manage carrying into the boot of taxis la.

pls update me too.

juz saw email from lioele. yup, she said moderator removed the thread due to copyright issue with the local agent. said her frens in indonesia now... will be back on thurs so she will update on friday.

CM:

You are handling all arrangement on your own? Very shiong right cos your hubby is overseas rite? You jia you too!

bb_piglet:

Dont need to stress, you are very well-prep already! I have not even started and imagine I am planning to throw Kay a party on 31st!

The choc cake is nice but cannot find it on website.

RE: BB Bonus

Sigh. Though the 16 weeks & 6 days sound attractive, cannot help but feel that we women are now even more expensive to hire as with our leave entitlement, we are practically out of action for half a year should we deliver!

RE: Stroller

Would love to know more about it!

dear mummies,
hope someone can remember me
as i have not post in this thread for quite some time..

anyway, i would like to share this with sep mummies. Anyone interested to buy Laneige and Faceshop pdts directly from Korea? I can help you all to buy at cost price if interested.But need to let me know what products by tonight!

Dear Mummies

I just attended a talk on employment contract, and yes the Employment Act does not cover the exe, mgr & above level. But for the childcare leave and maternity leave its not from the act but from the MCYS, so company who is pro-govt should follow, if not employee can write in to the press forum to complain, then it will be a bad reflection to the company.
Another note is that Maternity leave (for exe level & above) is mandatory ie. the company can choose not to pay her 2 months ML, but still must grant the leave and the next 2 months ML is paid by govt.

Fyi, regarding writing to the press forum to complain. There is 1 case tat 1 mum who did juz tat received a lawyer letter fr her coy wanting to sue her...In the end, the mum step back n drop the case....So no matter how, we, mummies r always in the losing end if the Law doesn't protect us... Sigh...how to hav more children w/o sacrificing our job...My coy dun even spare mi the 2 days childcare leave, lets alone 6 days....day dreaming...coz under law, we r nt protected at all. My company hav their rights...So call "fake exe level & above"(who earn peanuts) juz slightly more than low income employee n much much less than "real exe level" suffer in slience loh....

funny76,
do agree with you that even govt implement such benefits, women are still in the losing end. Women are now at a higher risk of not getting employed by medium sized companies especially those local ones.

juz saw this in our new company guidelines

Employees on Approved Leaves of Absence in excess of 60 working days in a performance year will be subjected to a pro-rated payment for incentives based on actual performance.

haiz... so openly or discreetly, we still at losing end. govt pro-child bearing scheme... but not agreeable by companies (esp pte segment).

mag,
han lor... well i guess the 3mths maternity sets them 'working hard' to crack their brain on this lor. since the 3mths maternity leave announced in yr Aug 2004.... we do see a rise in 'productivity' in child bearing across different dept. probably some bosses pressed the panic button liao.... juz in time to counteract this new 16weeks thingy

darmae: wah ur coy very fast to respond. then like that u take the fuill 4mths , u get discounted in ur bonus. isnt it like paying for the 4th mth leave when in fact the govt pays for it leh. so irritating!

ecookie,
i guess they are responding to the 12 weeks maternity... the announcement came in juz in time for this 16weeks.
before, the suspicion is there liao as few colleagues mentioned their bonus werent as good although the appraisal seems ok.
now, this juz confirm it.
sian rite.... some colleagues who dun get to 'enjoy' the extended maternity wud say cos we ought to be getting lesser since others have to stand in for us during our absence.
its juz too difficult to debate at times....