(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Emily & Low,

Dun fret too much liao! Hav a happy family can liao....dun be too affected by "other ppl"

I tink among u 2 I lagi worst leh....I can't accept my husband immediate family characters but ren ming as I can't do or change anything.

My "SIL" make my hubby own bank almost 20K becoz of her. Until nw we still haven't finish paying off our debts. My FIL boh chap the family, he only care abt $$$$ n nothing else(Nvr work since his younger days, only know how to ask for $)....He nvr support his family. He nvr even c my Summer b4 leh.... As for my MIL, she is kind hearted n soft hearted. Always kanna bully by her own daughter n hubby... As a result of her soft hearted n my hubby soft hearted, we suffered nw loh....... She oso no $ kind, no CPF, no saving.....anything happen to her, we hav no choice but to take care of her. Her daughter dun take care of her 1 lah....cheat my MIL of her $ n make her take care of her 2 children....My "SIL" & "FIL" create chaotic among my hubby family relative side.... Make mi n my hubby feel ashame of them nia...

my dd is going to be 9mths bec she is a end sept bb, can i join here?
realised that many bb here attending enrichment lessons, wah! i m a sahm, so wondering if anyone can share what i can do with my bb at home? think i need to be more disciplined in teaching her but sometimes just dun have the energy lor.

mind if someone can share with me what is a typical day?

thanks a million.

mag hee..hee.. let ur hubby decide since u tell him how u think lor

Emily.. my dad also don't help my mum with housework le.. hee..hee.. u know my dad sometimes quite notti he can say human beings cannot be too ge kian ( hokkein word for thought u know how to do almost everything! ) hee..hee.. cos if u do.. lots of time u would end up doing the stuffs for ever, hee..hee...

funny,
sorry to learnt abt ur situation too.
hv the same thots as mag.. hw come she so buay paiseh... make ur hubby pay loan?

Welcome eva2004! Can't help u much cos I juz play wif my daughter n hug hug her....

Magoo & darmae,

BECOZ SHE WAN TO OWN A STUPID CAR N SHE IS SELF EMPLOYED N PLAIN SELFISH.....KEEP PESTERING MY HUBBY TO BE THE CAR OWNER N USED HER MUM TO PRESSURISE MY HUBBY INTO SIGNING THE LOAN....

At tat time I gong gong, didn't know tat being the car owner oso mean sign car bank loan....If I know tat I wld stop him liao....

Emily:
Haha, yah lor ... in fact if let's not talk about his height, he was the man who's the "most ideal" type. He also shared my same interests, i.e. karaoke (which my hubby doesn't like). Sigh ... if only he's taller then perfect liao!
Anyway hor, months after we sorta "broke up" after that 1 day, I met my hubby ... I knew my hubby online and he knew I was going to meet him. On that night, he was very sad and went drinking with his friends. He kept calling me and asking why I'm still not home (cos I went out with my hubby till quite late on our first date). Then his friend even called me saying he's very drunk and wanted me to go and see him. I had to harden my heart not to ... cos I didn't wanna give him any more false hope. Quite sad hor?

thanks funny 76,
how old is your daughter?

even if its play, also not easy leh, gotta keep them entertained. what/ how do u play with her haha

Hi Funny..
So sorry to hear abt your story. My HB doesnt have a sister. Even if he is in your HB's situation, I don't care whether he want to help his sister. Cos its his family's affair, I don't want to get involved. But I definitely WILL NOT help to pay off her debt with my hard-earned &&&. Not my own sister, why shd I bother? If she know how to spend, she shd noe how to earn back the $$$.

Hi Low..
I agree with your dad. If you started doing the stuff from day 1, you will be forever doing it... its so true la..

Hi darmae..
My MIL never say anything abt the Shichida.. heng ah! But dunno whether she is biased or not, cos she doesnt have any daughter... her younger son is still single, so I'm her only DIL....

Hi Voice..
Its ok, we can meet at another gathering...

Hi blue..
Maybe plump guys are more emotional? I was dating him for abt a month or two, but I have decided to stop seeing him cos I dun 'feel' anything for him and I dun want to waste time... He also sms-ed me many times after I told him that we shd stop seeing each other... his messages were all very sad one, and I feel that he want to make me feel 'guilty'... but luckily I was not affected by his messages....

funny,
Then ur hubby why dun ask her to pay the loan? After all the car she is the one using???

I should consider myself lucky after hearing SIL stories.. I hv 2 SILs.. but I closer to the youngest one.. the eldest one abit Hao lian type.. but towards me, she is ok.. I hv neutral relationship with them..

hee..hee. yalor seems plump guys more emotional le next time ask my gal look for plump good guys hee..hee.. joking only!

Well let us hope all of us don't have sil, mil, fil problems!!! They are all stupid problems that create hell to our life only.. sickening when think of them!
I envy those with nice in laws.. but envy only lor cos I would never have any...

Emily:
Wah ... looks like you are even more "stone-hearted" than me ... I do feel sad and guilty towards him but then I thought it's better to let him be sad now and life still goes on well for him, rather than drag and when his feelings for me has grown even deeper, then it will be even more painful for him.

magoo if funny sil insist don't pay the finance company would go for funny hubby le cos he is the owner is like no choice situation lor.. that is why don't be a guarantor to anyone even ur closest kin .. really very hard to say one this type of thing.. sign...

Eva, play wif her toy wif her loh..read to her, dance wif her, tickle her. Same loh...all sept mum here....She is born beginning of sept.

Em,

The problem nw is in black n white, my hubby is the one who own the bank $. Coz nw she divorce her hubby n either 1 of them wan the car liao...they juz wan to throw the car back to my hubby... mi n my hubby can't afford to own a car n at tat time, I juz got pregnant.... N the car nt even 5 yrs, scape the car got to pay the balance loan loh.... So in the end we bear the shit. She n her hubby walk away freely...who ask my hubby so stupid n soft hearted....She even make my hubby relatives loss a lot of $$$ due to her stupid ideas n scheme....

funny,
its her own car.. hw can she 'trick' own brother into taking the loan. faintz...

Em,
heng u dun hv sil.. hee. but mayb if u do hv, she cud be a nice one.

my fil much beta.. only mil will chun pattern. esp when sil whisper things in her ears.. create havoc lor. used to it liao. best to filter off.. else life very miserable... nw i see wat they do n say as a joke.. bo chap lor.

re: plump guys more emotional..
hee.. i tend to agree on tis statement too!

eva2004,
welcome!!

morning mummies, long time no post

eva2004, welcome to the thread!

<rant>

re: ILs, the neverending battle with.
my one and only BIL always insists on asking me to feed D this and that. most times i will swallow, smile sweetly and say a curt no. two weeks ago i realised i've been swallowing too much until no space liao to swallow, i retorted with a "It's a simple rule. Would you top up your beloved car that you guard with your life CHEAP engine oil? How about that?"

i love the knowledge we mummies share here, coz sometimes we simply do not have time to read up. i learnt that egg white has more allergens than the yolk, and was happy to say out in spite of his 'egg yolk is bad, egg white is better' banter. after clarifying i gave him the 'I'm the one who mothered my child so buzz off, mate' look.

re: culture shock
i'm still adjusting to my hb's family's antics. my own family is very quiet, my parents leave us to our own antics and don't snoop or keep tabs on us. in some ways we like the independence we have. but when i married my hb omg every saturday at 8am i will receive a call from my ILs asking what our plans was for the weekend and if we're coming over to their place.

like hello?!!! i wake up early from mon-fri.... i SO dont need a wake up call on the weekends kthnxbye.

and now with the baby, they dont wait for the weekends to call. they'll call anyday they like and ask whether we're coming for dinner. sometimes i get angry at hb for being able to make time to go to his parents' place for dinner or meet his own forum friends yet no time to date me out heh heh.

</rant>

agree with low, never ever be the guarantor for anybody at all. it's simply not worth it to risk and forsake your relationship with your family member/friend if they fail to make payment.

darmae, plump guys more emotional? i think so too, wahahahha coz my hb cried bucketloads while watching The Notebook and Lake House wahahahahaha

Hi blue..
In the first place, I never commit anything for him.. why shd I feel sad and guilty leh? kekeke... *evil me*... but maybe retribution now.. my HB is so damn stingy! haiz...

magoo if funny sil insist don't pay the finance company would go for funny hubby le cos he is the owner is like no choice situation lor.. that is why don't be a guarantor to anyone even ur closest kin .. really very hard to say one this type of thing.. sign...

darmae,

She is always full of tricks n scheming n selfish...sweet talking n talk big is her best asset! Nvr hold a decent job.... Sigh.... SHE MEI REN XIN...

blue, his forum friends are his car forum friends lor. tonight he got meetup.. then i say, your meetup till 1am.. 2am. not fair. my forum friends meet in the day leh. unless one day can make 'sept07 retreat'. we all go spa@batam over the weekend and hbs babysit babies, how bout?

funny i agree with what u say lor.. actually i think sil are worse than bil esp so cos most mils of course listen to their own daughters la like what darmae said...

blue guys got forum friends one le don't underestimate them my hubby also have honda stream forum friends and lots of them ok hee..hee

fau i know what u mean.. my hubby also fri meet up just that now my mil sick he never go.. i always grumble too but he would come up with excuse he goes when charlene sleeping what what is wrong!!

haven't post for the longest time too..
fau!
muahaha, you are good eh? ranting non-stop here on a Friday morning abt your ILs. phew! lucky, i have no B/SILs ~ heard lots of unpleasant stories abt them sometimes.
And your hubby super sensitive lah!! I think i didn't even shed a tear in Lakehouse.haha. salute Mr. Bear. (jangan marah eh)

Low, yeah! SIL veri impt n influenial...gd 1 will be gd loh....My SIL so evil, my MIL still do things for her n listen to her...n take care of her 2 kids with her own $$$...

low, exactly the same as what my hb says. he uses the 'but i only go out when dahlia is already asleep' and sometimes uses the 'i only meeting them at YD (yishun dam) what.. 5mins away only' o m g can die.

siti, he's mr cengeng beruang lah wahaha

fau,
when you mentioned abt letting hubby babysit, i remembered a talk with hubby 2 nites ago. He was wondering if I can care off sarah to someone else for the weekend while he brings me to a short getaway, to re-connect. I love the idea of going away with him, alone. BUT to leave sarah??.. not in a million years!! see lah, I am now toooo attached to sarah, see wat Attachment parenting had done to me..sigh..

IL probs
i would like to share my IL prob too (it's not as serious as some of yours but it's weighing on me v long and dont dare to share with others...

when i was preggy, my MIL told me to leave bb with her when born. say she will look after. told me i only need to come over weekends to see my bb enough already.
i said No cos i feel that bb still needs mummy. she cannot take no for answer and then went to tell my husb abt her plans to take over my bb's care. i don't understand why she like that lor ... i went home and cried and cried ....
think 1st time mummies would understand right? i cant imagine being seperated from my bb lor... some more not even born yet and she already made plans. she went on and tell all her relatives that the bb will be cared by her without asking me or my husb first. can u imagine?
maybe i am ungrateful lah but i really cannot tahan someone else making all the plans for my child without first consulting me.
cut the long story short, after bb born, i asked my mum help me look after bb and that's that.
more things happened during confinement ... maybe share another time ...

Hi Merkon..
Oh, sounds like your MIL wants to dominate your son... how can she do that? Luckily your mum can help to take care of your baby, else u will definitely have hard time with MIL...

funny,
wow, your IL side of story sounds really like CHinese Serial Drama. I guess dramas are based on reality.
I am sorry your hubby and you are going thru such misfortune. Do be careful abt signing of contracts and read those fine lines before you commit ok?? Hope the repayment of the loan will be over soon.
I think every family has their story bah,...like mine, hubby pay off loans like mad every month!... can't wait to finish off them all!! hahahaha.
ooh... I miss <font color="aa00aa">Summer</font>...suddenly can see her cute face.

siti, i'm not doing attachment parenting also i dont have the heart to leave baby leh. sometimes i come home late from work and d's already asleep i purposely make noise so she will accidentally wake up. heh. i always tell myself anyone can take anything away from me, but not my daughter.

my ILs always say oh when D is bigger wanna bring her here and there, makan this and that. i always say in my heart, heh heh. better lemme sign excursion form first leh don't anyhow bring my daughter out, hrmph!

merkon, i'd be devastated with that ruling of only seeing baby over the weekends. who is she to say? will she be happy if you dont allow your hb to meet her, except on public holidays maybe? as a mother she should know how a mother (and a new one at that) feels to be separated unwillingly from their baby.

fau,
i cant help but chuckled when i read ur post on ur hubby. i was juz choked with emotions when i watched the movies... hee
my hubby? no signs of any emotions... when i asked, he always say tearing inside. wahahaha

funny,
mayb ur SIL can shake hands with my tat particular SIL... sweet talking, selfishness, scheming.. everythg u name it, she can do lor.

my mil oso spend her own money to take care of sil's kid. everythg to milk pwd, diaper etc.

once, my new (inexperienced) maid tell my MIL tat we are running out of diaper for my elder son (when he was still a bb). my MIl's reply.. tell ur sir and mdm. so different treatment hor.

JustMe:
Oh dear, you just made me feel so "guilty" for having to leave the kids with my MIL and mum for 11 days while hubby and I will be holidaying at States week after next. But well ... to "console" myself, we husband and wife do need some time of our own lah ... cannot always have our lives revolve around with kids right?

Justme,

My hubby family really like drama series....tis is wat ppl had been saying oso...Hahaha...I myself feel tat way...my own family oso piss off....my mum n sis veri angry saying y in tis world hav such person....We oredi live fr mouth to mouth liao...no saving n I juz got pregnant...I was veri depress at tat time..worrying how to make ends meet....

I oso miss Sarah... she so sweet! Anyway I put almost all sept mums BBs pics on my screen saver...so sweet n cute! Hahaha....

On holidays ... we intend to bring both of them on holiday next year, before Jordan turns 2 (airfare cheaper ... haha). Now he's still too small to know or enjoy anything. Think after 18 mths will be a good time. Cos that time when we brought our gal on her first holiday to Perth (when she was about 20 mths), till now she can still remember. At least never waste $$$.

Next year probably going either Japan (again???), Melborne or New Zealand.

blue,
relax, diff pple have diff perspective of everything right? and TRUE, i am actually concern abt me "neglecting" hubby. THat's why i always make effort to at least cook everyday to satisfy his tummy. hahaha. Then after the meal, he will say sweet nothings to me...hahaha.

eh, how's you being SAHM?? been a week liao. Also Growing Up Gifted looks interesting... But i bet its expensive. right??

Hi Fau..
I agree with u leh... Nobody shd bring our kids out without our permission... PIL shd have some respect for us, when they intend to bring our kids out, they shd consult us first....

Maybe you can start drafting out the excursion form now.. kekeke...

merkon,
dun be sad... u made the rite choice. i wud leave my kids with my mum if i hv the choice. my mum oredi taking care of my niece.. dun wan to overload her.
my MIL hv very bz schedule.. from karaoke, picker balls, jackpot etc. she's rarely at home unless her daughter wants her to bb sit her kid.

mostly, my FIL will be home to 'help watch' my kids and maid. lucky me tat there's still some1 nice at home.

Darmae,

At least ur SIL nt so evil 2 cheat her own family members $$$...imagine own mother $ oso cheat....really no heart! Her heart is eaten up by devil liao! Sigh....

<font color="0000ff">funny</font>,
so cute!! a screensaver with all lovely pics of our bbs!!! sure to cheer you up everytime you see it!

JustMe:
SAHM ah ... so far ok lah ... not into "full swing mode" yet. Haha.
So far things that I attempt to do with Jordan are:

1. Mat Time (at least half hour each in morning and afternoon): Sing songs to him, play toys with him (at the same time tell him what they are), read simple books to him (e.g. Dog, Cow, Lamb, Chicken, Turtle etc.) and let him practise standing w/o support

2. Prepare his "home-cooked" lunch: Now I let him have his usual porridge only for dinner ... lunch I will prepare different stuff for him but will be carbo based. Have tried potato, beef, spinach and carrots (he loves it) and today trying potato, spinach and chicken. Will let him rest from potato tomorrow ... will replace it with pumpkin as the base.

I can see most of us hv problems with PILs. For me, my fil passed away many years liao so imagine i only has a mil already give me headache though she's a nice lady but i still BTH her "especially during my confinement". Heng.. she dun stay with us but i believe sooner or later she'll still move in with us since she's alone on her own which my hb quite worried. Hope i dun pull my hair or tear down my hse when she arrives...

funny,
Hope ur hb settle the loan fast fast... Dun worry be happy. Just be more careful &amp; open EYES BIG BIG next time. Be careful of ur "evil" SIL.

OK... let's put all these PILs issue aside since it's TGIF today!!! All FTWM can't wait to cheong home to spend time with our bbs. Hope everyone enjoy the weekends...

ok, sidetrack,
any mummies here tot of placing their child in which primary school liao??? muahaha...I dunno if I should place sarah in those hi-demand school cos, i don't want to pressure the kiddo. also, there isn't any "good" schools as such in my neighbourhood. If i want to get a place, need to do Parent Volunteering. SOme mummies do PV even before child born lei!!! so now I am just looking around..

Btw for lunch, he eats 1 whole potato ... is it considered too much or is it ok huh? He can finish lah ... but I scared I overfeed him.