(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

atinarin, i think textured but soft food would be fine. Like banana puree thats not completely mashed. I given my ger grinded rice porridge which has texture if compared to baby rice cereal and my ger could already spot a difference.

Wow, the mummies here very happening! But looks like a lot of you here are FTWM.

Me too trying to find my baby's taste style too. She HATES porridge, but can't take too chunky food, will choke, yet too mashed, she gets bored eating... -_-"

blue,
I didn't change my post lah...aiyah i dunno what you are talking...discuss tmr!

<font color="ff0000">atinarin</font>
Ya NTUC sure have, it is written as flour vermeceilli. but rem to soak in water first to drain of the salt. like what madlynette said, banana is one you can try too, cos got natural sweetness but i think certain banana baby cannot eat. I am not sure how to choose also cos i took them from my mum's place. Think some mummies here can advice. Sometimes Ryann also will reject his favourite cereal. Then i realize that i cannot put too much milk in the cereal, when it became too watery, he dun really like it. Just try different methods different food. Need alot of patience but you can do it, Jia you.

<font color="ff0000">Coolmama, </font>
SAME. Ryann HATE porridge too. How huh? any method you trying?

Elaine:
Got your fund transfer via OCBC. Thanks.

Angel:
Hope this is clearer to you:
JWT-Kids Trial on 14 Jun - No more slot
JWT-Kids Mega Party on 16 Aug - You have a slot! So pls hand $5 to me tomorrow for the deposit.

UPDATES ON MEGA PARTY @ JWT-KIDS
Date: Sat 16 Aug 2008
Time: 4.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Left with 2 last slots!!!
Anyone wanna join us? If not we will just stick to 28 pax.

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:

21. rxsti + Ariel (pending funds from UOB)
23. star + theo + HB
26. Voice + Sam
27. miraclecraz + zorian
28. angelbaby + jade

p.s. Pls remember to transfer $5 deposit to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 latest by Sun!

hey ah bu..

long time never 'see' u in msn liao leh... miss u hor...
btw. i oso gave faith mee sua and she loves it too!!! she ate 1.5 bowls the first time she tried it
hee hee

as for bananas, my pils say give the small kind, dun give those big big wan
the small wans are those kind tat are use to make the goreng pisang.. hope tat helps

Vone: I'm not sure how much leh ... cos I didn't sign up.

BTMum: Maybe it's because already 12 of us were at the Kindermusik Trial Class just now ... that's why so quiet.

Star: Will check later and update status.

All mummies who went for the Kindermusik class just now ... how you all find? I personally think today's class wasn't as good as the one I brought my gal last time leh. Though the lesson structure is sama sama, the instructor last time was an ang moh lady who was super enthusiastic and lively ... today's one though that lady was nice too, but feel that still not as good leh.

What you all think?

oooo....no wonder. today the kindermusik trial class har....how was it? fun meeting all 11 other bb? =D

pinkyj, i aso think bananas cause the hard stools in my boi leh. so scary. he eat less than half a banana leh. gave him both the pang jio and the ang ba jio...are both the same? must feed which one?

Some pics taken at Kindermusik Trial Class just now ...

Jordan: Hey Maegan, can I sayang you a while?
Maegan: Ok, just a while nia hor ... wait my bf jealous!

1459257.jpg

Jordan: Ok, quick quick ... sayang sayang.

1459258.jpg

After sayang'ing Maegan, Jordan's mummy made Jordan sit beside his "supposedly gf" Yan ... here's an innocent pic of the "couple". No "hugging" or "kissing" though.

1459259.jpg

p.s. lbs, seems like Jordan and Yan "bu lai dian" leh ... tested twice liao! Haha.

Anyway, here's a pic of some of the babies ... too difficult to put all together for a group photo liao! Not like last time so easy ... just lie all the babies down. Now our babies are getting more and more mobile!

1459260.jpg

How did you all find the kindermusik trial class? Pls share with me your verdict

For me, think both Gymboree and Kindermusik classes were quite similar...same play play play sing sing sing...even the parachute and bubbles were same! Only difference is that Kindermusik got musical instruments and Gymboree got the slides/planks/obstacle course/tyres.

I find that the Gymboree class had more activities - each activity was shorter and the change between activities was quick, so Jade's short attention span was not used up. Whereas the Kindermusik one abit slow paced, activities were longer and the change between activities was slow coz only one staff doing everything. Jade got bored doing certain activities after a while.

Another plus point for Gymboree is that their location is much bigger so got more space for both parents to participate whereas Kindermusik only allow one parent inside so my hubby was quite disappointed he had to sit outside and wait. And in Gymboree we moved about alot whereas Kindermusik we just sat the same place the whole time -which I think contributed to Jade's boredom.

I also find the carpet at Kindermusik not very clean...coz carpet tends to trap dust and dirt and the soapy bubbles blown go onto the carpet somemore...become breeding ground for dust mites, bacteria, mould, etc. My girl kept picking up pieces of things on the carpet and trying to eat them. Wonder how often they do carpet shampooing. The gymboree class padded mats were better.

Then what really surprised me was that part of the Kindermusik session included a water break and quiet time! I was like HUH? We can have a break after the session mah...why include it in the session? Somemore it was at the last 5 mins of the session just before singing the goodbye song.

My verdict - Gymboree class better in all aspects!!
I'm probably going to sign Jade up for the one in HarbourFront...will call them tmr to ask how much is the price now coz I heard they just increased price in June. Anyone wanna join Jade? We can set up a new class and get group discount if we have minimum 6 babies joining.
Let me know if you're interested k.

Phoebe,
Have you tried giving Ryan other stuff besides porridge? Is he ok with them? Maybe you wanna try cooking the porridge with less water and till its abit harder? Or it might be the other way around..he dun like the texture then maybe you have to puree his porridge to a thin consistency? Just keep experimenting with different foods, see what he likes and dislikes, at this age should be introducing lots of different foods with different colours and textures.

Jade also don't really like porridge and purees now unless she's really hungry she will eat, but after awhile she will lose interest. She loves things she can chew and feel in her mouth like bread, rice, macaroni, pasta, spaghetti, and small pieces of vegetables, fish and meat cooked until soft.

Blue,
Hehe cute pics!
Jordan's cheeks so red red like those Japanese babies! Was he flushed from the site of too many girls or what? Notice he's the only boy there!

Btw, I find the lady who ran the session at 3pm also not very good leh. Dunno if its the same person as the one in your class.

Angel, most people say Jordan looks like China baby! Haha! You are the first one to say Jap baby leh ... heeeee.

Don't think he's the only boy lah ... got Hao Dong, Ian and Prinzton mah ...

I guess trainer plays an important role lor. I do agree that today's one is abit of a letdown. I also find abit slow pace ...

Angel
I have tried porridge and mee sua lor. Porridge with different things inside, all he will reject and make that kind of want to vomit face and sound. My mum will blend the porridge, he also dun like. sometimes have to try to pian him will feeding water then mee sua. But he like to eat Bao and bread. but he still bo gay leh so cant give him food that doesnt melt or soften in his mouth. I already dunno wat and how to feed him.

phoebe, is it coz the porridge's stock not cooked well enough ? maybe Ryan is one baby food critic that will not accept bland / lousy cooking ? :p kekeke

<table><tr><td></TD><TD>Gymboree (Harbourfront)</TD><TD>Kindermusik (Tanglin Mall) </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>classroom environment</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>PLUS - Colorful and vibrant!</TD><TD>MINUS - Room not 'attractive' enough. No bright colors. </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>trainer</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>PLUS - 2 trainers with properly projected and very catchy and animated voice</TD><TD>MINUS - 1 trainer, voice slightly monotone and soft, not animated at all </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>classroom cleanliness (major negative point, for me at least)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>PLUS - colorful gym mats</TD><TD>MINUS - full carpet (my no. 1 enemy!). Dahlia loves picking up hair, and their carpet was like a pasarmalam hair fiesta for her! </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>nursery rhyme lyrics</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>MINUS - forgetful parents have to ransack their brains again for the lyrics of some nursery rhymes hehe!</TD><TD>PLUS - has posters of nursery rhyme lyrics up on walls for parent to refer to</td></tr></table>

morning mummies

re: kindermusik trial class
the above comparisons are based on what i personally feel. and especially since we were at gymboree for only the last 15minutes of the session, i could see that D enjoyed gymboree more. we have one more trial class to go (JWT) and we'll see how that is! thanks blueskye for organising yesterday's trial!!

re: gathering @ poohwei's today!
girls, i can't bring brownies coz i havent gotten time to bake hehe! can i bring something else?? *paisey*

re: constipation
d had her first bout of constipation last saturday! she 'ngekkkkk' until her eyes and nose turned red! and her poo looked(felt?) like plasticine and OMG it smells like err, shit. heh!

since my parents are away, my hb and dahlia are at my ILs every morning for the whole week.. and i'll be rushing to my ILs everyday at 12noon. this morning was the first time i left her (and hb) at my ILs and sigh, i was bawling my eyes out in the cab on the way to work!! i wanna go home to my baby!!!

Gd morning!

Wow seems like Kindermusik's verdict not as good as Gymboree. Hm...theres another JWT Kids trial upcoming right? Hehehe...shall wait for mummies review again before deciding whether to sign up faith for any of these classes.

Mummies gathering at Poohwei's house later, have fun! I'm on leave today also and was really tempted to join you ladies n babies but have a movie date with hubby! Yippee! Been ages since we go pak tor liao

blue/Fau/angel
wau, u gals are fast on the comments!

Fau/angel
Agree, I hate carpet &amp; I dont think carpeted environment is suitable for our babies. I was like "Huh" when the trainer ask us to put our babies lying down on the carpet..

Also, I do find the room is really small &amp; the waiting area is really crampy for the other parent outside loh..

Trainer whilst, agree she is not that fantastics but ok lah, cos I think Yan look at her Mama enough liao..hahaha

Re:Gymboree
Never been to before so no comparison but my boy was with MyGym woodlands branch &amp; we really like the environment/trainers there. We will explore the possibility to sign up Yan when she is older...but lets see how JWT's trial turn out..

Sorry to disturb.

Anyone interested to work for 3 months doing data entry work in a hospital environment. That person will work in a office. Don't need to type very fast but must pay attention to details. And must be able to commit to 3 months of work.

For more details please contact Veron at 91729703

Phoebe,
Jade also doesn't have any teeth yet.
Dunno whether we lucky or sway! Ppl say we lucky coz they don't bite us so soon.
Its perfectly ok to give babies small soft diced up food even before they have teeth as long as they are able to swallow. If Ryan can eat bao and bread liao he definetely knows how to swallow liao. Actually most babies can swallow from the time they start to sit up ard 6 mths. So just make sure the food is soft and in small pieces can liao.

Nice meeting babies and mummies for the first time !!
I'm tired and frustrated after the class as my girl just cannot lie still or sit still !!! so most of the time, she is not doing what she is supposed to do! The teacher obviously cannot catch her attention.
I also agree that gym is better.

pillow,
I don't think is the cooking because my mum is the one who cooked for him. If i cook then i am sure he wont eat. Whahaha. I only know how to cook for adults not for babies. So many things to take care of.

Angel,
you think i can give fish in small pcs for Ryann? at least let him taste the fish and next time i try fish porridge again, maybe he will be ok?

Hi lbs,
Eh do you stay near woodlands? I want to try the MyGym class leh...heard its comparable to Gymboree. Was it worth going? What was the activities like? You also go try the Gymboree class lah...then can make comparison

gymboree:

Woah after seeing the reviews by so many mummies. I held back the idea of signing J up with kindermusik. @_@ Any one has any idea how much issit for classes at gymboree?

Phoebe,
Yes fish is great for babies - PD say ok to give from 7 months onwards. Treadfin and cod fish is best for starters coz its soft and breaks up into small pieces. Can steam the fish then break up into small pieces. My sil will steam the fish inside the rice cooker when she's cooking rice for the rest of the family. I've also tried salmon and prompfret.

angel
I stay in Pasir Ris but going to Woodlands quite near, hehe.

My ah boy time, we actually formed a group of 6 kids &amp; we have like 2-3 trainers every session. The trainers are young &amp; energetic which I really like &amp; both parents are encouraged to join in the activities.

But personally I think I will only sign Yan up when she is older (or at least walking already) so she can enjoy more of the activities..hehe
aiya, that time I also wan to go Gymboree but then not free loh

Vone,
The gymboree classes was going at $348 for 12 classes + $50 for membership the last time I asked in May. They were having a promotion in May and can waive off $40 and the $50 memebership if more than 6 mummies sign up. So we would have to pay only $308.

But the lady mentioned going to increase price in June from $348 to $400+ but can't remember exactly how much and dunno whether still have the promotion waiving off the $40 now. Will call them to check later. Hope it won't be too much more.

Phoebe
Yan use to hate fish porridge but recently, I cook chicken &amp; fish porridge mixed with greenpeas/pumpkin/sweetpotato/carrot/corn etc. She loves the taste leh..I think the fishy smell is covered by the chicken?

Lbs, Angel,
WOODLANDS!! Very near my place!! If u gals going there for trial.. Remember to "call" me hor!!

But my colleague sent her gal to my gym before.
Colleague's feedback is OK..

Bluesky,

I'm so sorry. Can I still join for the MEGA Party in Aug? I dun log on during weekends. If ok, I'll transfer $5 to you tonight when I reach home. Can? <hopeful>

Angel,

I went for the Tumbletots trial at Kechil liao. Personally felt a bit waste of time at this point to enrol them. Not too sure but what we did was:
1) Sing song and baby massage
2) Obstacle course
3) Sing song to say goodbye
Me and hubby was thinking.. even though training their motor skills is important but he's already quite active at home. The only good thing is actually interaction between friends. ya? keke. What do you think?

Corrine,

Thousands of apologies. I'll send you the email for my order from B Day Direct now. Was trying to go through my guest list last weekend to decide qty of things to buy. Oh... do you know if we buy those walkers, any shops in Singapore's able to pump it up with helium for us?

Angel:

u keen to sign jade up? hehe was thinking of signing j up and let him go play but not sure which to sign him up at the moment. Anyone organising trials for gymbo ? hehe

blueskye,
is there any more slot left for the JWT mega party? hope i can still make it.

funny76,
thanks for informing me the JWT party but was too busy to logon to post
..initially thought i can but held up. i should have ask a favor from you
..anyway, hope got slot, if cant joined, then i go there and peek lor
kao_smile2.gif

Btw, the JWT trial class is on 14th June hors?

Phoebe,
Dunno leh...the Nans2 tine states 6-10mths, so presume got to change to Nan3 after 10mths. Pls hor...DON'T stock up unless you sure Ryann enjoys the taste.

Atinarin,
Oh dear...you have tried so many, your girl still can't 'appreciate' huh. For me, I have not given any pureee ALONE. Find that pumpkin, sweet potatoes, bananas are too sweet. Will mix with oats, cereals to dilute the sweetness.

As for veg...I dislike the taste when mix with cereal alone. If I find that the taste is horrible (spiniach can be bitter), I think Isaac will feel the same. So will add somethg sweet like pumpkin into it.

Have not tried CANs puree...so can't comment on brands.

Don't worry, think your girl will outgrow this phase...most important is she's active and happy

Phoebe,
Dunno leh...the Nans2 tine states 6-10mths, so presume got to change to Nan3 after 10mths. Pls hor...DON'T stock up unless you sure Ryann enjoys the taste.

Atinarin,
Oh dear...you have tried so many, your girl still can't 'appreciate' huh. For me, I have not given any pureee ALONE. Find that pumpkin, sweet potatoes, bananas are too sweet. Will mix with oats, cereals to dilute the sweetness.

As for veg...I dislike the taste when mix with cereal alone. If I find that the taste is horrible (spiniach can be bitter), I think Isaac will feel the same. So will add somethg sweet like pumpkin into it.

Have not tried CANs puree...so can't comment on brands.

Don't worry, think your girl will outgrow this phase...most important is she's active and happy .