(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Good morning mummies ...

RE: Discipline & PIL
I fully agree that discipline becomes difficult with the intervening of PILs. Sigh ... I can't stand it when my FIL just let D bully him and never instil the respect she ought to have for her grandpa. He lets her kick, ride on etc. w/o reprimanding her. When I see, I will scold her. But I can't possibly be there to "catch her in her notti acts" each time right? Sigh ...

RE: Baby's Notti'ness
Like all said, this is a phase lah. Of cos, don't expect your babies to suddenly turn "guai" overnight lor ... when they are bigger, their notti'ness will become another type of notti'ness. Like at D's age now (coming to 4), sometimes I'm at my wits' ends when scolding and beating just didn't seem to correct her. I even get replies like "Not pain" and "You cane me I also not scared" ... you see I chum bo? Somemore usually boys are supposedly naughtier ... I just pray that Jordan won't be like this next time.

Motherhood 2008

Public - Free Admission
Hall 5A
05 - 08 June 2008

05 - 07 June 2008
12:00pm - 10:00pm

08 June 2008
11:00am - 10:00pm

Look forward to four days of exclusive exhibition special buys, with discounts of up to 80 per cent on strollers, playpen, milk, diapers – take your pick from more than 75 exhibitors, with big names such as Pampers, Nestle, Huggies, Friesland, Cordlife, Wyeth, HPB (Health Promotion Board) and many more.

Some of you might have known I already tendered my resignation last week. My boss asked me yesterday if I could extend my stay and at the same time, consider taking this job on a part-time or assignment basis. They are working out with HR to see how this goes ... well, seems like I won't be joining the SAHM Club so soon liao. See how.

wah, blue, your D very Garang man. I scared lei..haha.

Bena,
I was afraid you took it the wrong way from my post last night. If you tot you are a "lousy" mum after reading my post, thousand apologies ~ tat wasn't my intention. I just want to generally inform all that bb also have their own mindset.

In fact, i wasn't able to sleep last night as i was thinking of you. *touching or not? haha* I remembered all the trouble and hell you went thru during your pregnancy and had to be admitted to hospital due to some complications.

And why did you think you are less than great mummy?? The episode which took place with zac was just a minor setback. there will be several setback as they grow too. This is nothing compared to wat is yet to come. NEVER, NEVER DOUBT YOURSELF.

I think you are a great mummy cos of the following point:

1) You went thru a v v difficult pregnancy and still held on. YOU WERE EVEN SCARED OF YOUR YET TO BE BORNE BB rather than thinking of your own health.

2) You went thru labour and tat itself is a great selfless act.

3) You gave up your job and career to take care of bb *no puns intended for FTWMs - cos you all are great mummies in one way or another*

4) You gave up your social circle to stay in the house most of the day to be with Zac.

5) You are worried of his well-being and tat's y you keep on posting in this forum for advice.

With all these points laid out to you, need i say more??
BENA, YOU ARE THE BEST MUM, ZACCHEUS CAN EVER ASK FOR!!!

CHEER UP and rest whenever you can.

Hopefully today is a better day for you Ah na *hugs* Let's go for hi-tea next week. I'm a PTSAHM next week as I'm on afternoon leave all 5 days.

Yah lor Bean, I also think you are a very WEI DA mummy leh ... sometimes when I think of you, I think I am the lousy mummy cos I am often guilty of leaving the care of my kids mostly to my MIL, mum or even maid! Sigh ...

morning all,

u know how ppl say that our kids are a payback for all the angst and anxiety we caused our parents when we were kids? hahaha.. if that's true, i can see a lifetime of being tortured by marcus. hahaha

bean, dont stress abt anger management classes lah. i think it's only frustration cos zac was having a particularly difficult day.. u'd have to be a saint not to lose ur patience with them once in a while. remember it's not abt how good a mom u are, it's abt ur baby experimenting with how bratty he can be... so just tahan and it should pass. :D

when marcus is being a total brat (or when i am having a zero tolerance day), i'd palm him to his father.. when the father buay tahan (inevitably in abt 20 min max) and starts losing his patience, i'd take him back n the cycle repeats itself until monster is asleep - that's why we also call him 'boomerang' ; no matter how hard u throw, it'll always come back to u. hahaha

having said tat, i absolutely salute those of you(s) who are sahm -i'd go nuts if i tried.

wah lau, blue, see, see, this is wat i am scared of - I scared i hurt other mummies unintentionally..hmmmph!!

sigh... time to make peace with FTWMs...so tiring..

FTWMs- read the following.
You ladies are wei da mummies too!... Its usually due to great financial commitment tat's y you have to stick to working. Its not easy being FTWMs lei...

1) you have to leave your precious ones in the care of others (you have to go thru separation anxiety, fear, paranoia, worries and lots more just to do this, OK!!)

2) You have to still fit in some time to spend time with kids even after a looooong day at work - which comes with work stress, facing unreasonable clients, and some have to work during ungodly hours too!!

3) You have to oversee kids' well-being after juggling all the stress and physical exhaustion of work.

aiyah... lots more lah which i dunno of.
SO please hor, you all here are in one way or another WONDERFUL mummies to your kids. Just tat our discipline methods differ. I don't really favour the harsh way and prefer not to call any bb notti. =P

monster mum,
i think we SAHM also wonder if we can be good FTWM. I don't think i can make it. haha.
good lah, we all have a new found respect for all the mummies here.

JustMe: I know why you prefer not to call any bb notti ... cos you haven't seen what really is notti yet. Haha. I see your Sarah so guai ... envy envy!

Bean, am reading the book, Five love languages of children. great book ! you can try to relieve stress with some reading? i guess being a SAHM has an overwhelming of stress being piled on . just chill, stay cool

Siti, interview was ok lor. Waiting for THE call. But dont wanna jinx it lol.

Ah na, please don't ever ever think you're a lousy mom, because you're not ok. If you're a lousy mom I don't know what to call myself then. These are trying times, but you will see the fruits of your labour and love and losing of patience now when he's a good grown up boy. I've yet to start hitting D, I hope I dont need to coz I remember growing up and always kena rotan, in the end I became even more rebellious. -_-

justme,
i fully agree with you! as a FTWM, i hold SAHM with high respect. I dont think I can make it to SAHM... dun hv to courage to do it.
we visited this topic before i deliver maegan... however, i dun hv the courage to accept hubby's 'offer'... so, here am I, still a FTWM.

blue,
hehe, watever you say lor. Sarah doesn't usually show true colours to acquantances hor. muahahahah.. only for her parents. =P If she is really guai as you claimed then, good for me lah!

but you'll never know ok! my niece who was like the "most well-behaved bb I had ever seen" grew up to be an "angel"! haha. she now RIDES her barely one year old ti ti when he is on his tummmy! poor boy boy was breathless, can't even shout for help! She also grabs things from elder sister whenever sister is holding anything. and while doing all these, she always have this angelic smile on her. omg...her father beat her also no use. and she's only 2.

Ah Na,
You still remember how much i was complaining to you during the 2 weeks i was a PT-SAHM? 2 weeks i already go crazy liao. You have gone thru more then 8 months leh!! I agree with darmae, i also cant make it to SAHM, so i hold SAHM with high respect too. Jia You ok.

JustMe: Haha, you reminded me that there was once my D attempted to ride on J too! Good thing we saw and quickly pulled her away! She also likes to place her head for her di di to pull her hair then she will come "complain" to me that her di di is notti cos he pulls her hair. Maybe cos we keep saying she's notti that's why she wants to prove that her di di also notti.

this subject aside,
I went with my mum and eldest sis to Royal on Scotts Carousel's Hi-tea, yesterday.
IT WAS much better than Goodwood's lei...
THe food aplenty. Good quality and i eat salmon sashimi like no other's business.

FUnny thing is, we went to visit my other sister whose children i mentioned abt earlier. She is a FTWM and has 3 kids. Her hubby's working and her maid made a trip home to INdo. So sis took 2 weeks leave to be SAHM. It was disastrous, i tell you.
When we reached her punggol flat around 6 pm, we found my sis crying. All her kids were hungry and the house was messy. Madness. She keeps on lamenting tat she only had bread the whole day and the kids just had biscuits. her eldest girl, 5, was holding tummy cos, she's too hungry. OMG, i quickly feed the kids rice and sweet soya sauce. Yeah, we malays usually feed kids these esp. when nothing is avail in hand. 1 hour later, the kids were full, playing happily and my sis had her dinner. COnclusion: she can't be a SAHM. haha.

bena: dont ever think that way. deep down, i know you care n love for zac more than anyone else in the world.
they can get so notti as they grow up but mainly bcos as what justme said, they are learning new things everyday and damn curious to explore just about anything (too bad they always want to do/eat the forbidden). think it this way, curious babies are smart babies cos they want to learn.

soemtimes at night when YZ refused to sleep, i'll piak his arm and most of the times he bo chup until 1 night, think i piak too hard n he cried till v pitiful & that moment i regretted so much and so overwhelmed by my guilt. but its really hard to contain my frustration at times. imagine u ve to face zac 24x7, i think u manage it better than me. if im to become a SAHM, i will be a bad mummy cos i always have prob managing my anger (even with my hubby).

we are 1st time mummies so still learning. so dun be too hard on urselves.

you know the funny thing? 10 years down the road, zac n u wont remember all these liao but plaugued with other probs. imagine a pri 4 kid with smelly socks n head come running home from school and just want to play games n refuse to do schoolwork.. haha

bean: date me out next week lah! im free for whole week! we can meet fau too!
maybe ask someone take care of zac for you, we go have high tea or i can bring YZ to ur hse!! im very free n accomodating one leh!

wow i mia for 2 days only leh..so may posts..

bean, dun be like that..must be happy. nynke is turning monstress liao...scream and cried like pple torture her when i dun give her the stuff she wants..super bad attitude man! see, this is her 'born nature'..no one to teach her and she like that. she also can 'whine ' alot when she's unhappy. i thot of going back to work earlier since MIL and helper are coping well at home..but then decided that i better stay at home and supervise this monstress myself.

re-slip disc..phebe, u quite right leh..mine is L4, L5 and S1..getting better now, at elast can stand straight for few hours..

re-kindermusik
blue and gang, how was the trial? shiok? its last sun right?? or this sun?? oppss... bean, who is zac's teacher? doreen??

re= shanghai shopping
row, hb said mostly china-brand stuff and he not keen lor..so browse only 2 hrs and out he goes..only buy 1 set PJ for nynke and 1 dress for sieske..oh and i told him to buy panties and he bought lots of those..hmm...he's biggest purchase, not panties but dvds for the kids. the einstein ones, chinese music, science stuff in chinese, tang poems etc etc...any 4 HK tv series for me..haha...dun know when i can have the leisure to watch though.

we planning for a trip, wanted just 2 of us but hb said cannot, must bring all..including mil. shd really reward mil for helping me all these times, though there were the down periods..but still, she had done a lot for us. thought of macau and bangkok..hmm..hb prefer bkk cos can have mileage claims and we will have enough for a few tkts to japan next yr.

amy,
can you fully recover from slipped disc? rest well yeah.

i laughed at you decribing hubby's purchase on panties.

and regarding going out as a whole family ~ as quoted by my sis, now got package. Buy 2 (father mother) get children free...=P

amy: ur back feeling better?

justme: thats my night mare too leh.. i wanted a baby girl initially cos i cant stand smelly boys since last time when i was in pri school! hiaks.
imagine my 2nd one also a boy! wah lau. i told my hubby if thats the case, all the smelly socks in the household he in charge lor.

next week free cos i quitted and yet to start new job. never plan with fau.

fau: why half day leave for next week?

corrine: just read archive and think the notti corner is a good move. my SIL got a notti corner too and now my 3yo nephew very guai as in can reason with him..but think depend on individual babies, think maybe my YZ will just bo chup notti corner. maybe next time can try if he really v notti.

ecookie, my parents going pilgrimage for 10 days so no one to look after d. i take turns with hb, he takes care in the morning, 12noon i cheong home so he can go work. so i'm free all 5 afternoons.

shall we plan a meetup next week?

wah... so many FTWM changing jobs...

ecookie,
same lah, girls when they are in school also tend to be smelly...they perspire whole day and run around so much.

amy,
glad to hear that u r getting beta
kindermusik trial.. its this sunday. hee...

ecookie,
u r so totally rite.. hee actually dun ned 10years dwn the road... the kids are so ever innocent, they dun be-grudge... juz 10mins only they will forget. take my son for example... he was reprimanded by daddy last weekend. reason being he pushed and shoved his younger cousin away for a toy. hubby tried to talk and get him to apologise but he refused... so he had a time out session in the room. when hubby went in 5 mins later.. he was heard saying.. i dont like you daddy... i'm angry with you. tat got hubby angry lor, so he spanked him. shortly after.. they came out of the room... my son apologised to his cousin... they contd playing. 10mins later... he went to his daddy, gave him a big hug, saying... i luv my daddy.

justme,
u make me laugh at your buy 2 get children free. hahaha.

fau,
on leave ah.. can go jalan jalan, GSS sales hor.. keke

hmm, wud luv to join u gals next week.. see if i can take half day.. hohoho *grins

meetup next week?
count me in! me free too! =D

ecookie, wow...u aso 2nd kid le? salute u. =D

ah-na, how's today?

darmae, so moral of the story: bu da bu cheng qi! spare the rod and spoil the child. lol...so cannot spare the rod...poor kids...lol

BTMum: no lah, now only got baby YZ. just thinking if next time my 2nd one also boy will faint when they grow up.. smelly boys! eeks.

yeah meet up next week! you guys decide a day n venue? im fine with anywhere/time!

lihah,
sorry, i don't use pump. so no idea where in the first place. Maybe other mummies here can help. =)

Fau,
bring d out also lah. =) where got fun, when only i lug sarah everywhere i go!?
Can go to any shopping areas... cold and air-conditioned. muahahaha.... can't stand the weather these days.

Date: Sun 8 Jun 2008 (Subject to Blueskye's gp not signing up for the subsequent lessons.)
Time: 4 pm - 4.45 pm (45 mins)
Venue: Kindermusik @ Tanglin Mall
Trial Fee: $23.80 + 7% GST = $25.47 (need 12 babies!!)

Confirmed Participants:
1. Poohwei and En En Organiser
2. Corrine and Angelynn
3. Star and Theo

Hi Bena,
Dun be upset lah! Last week, when my part time maid came, my gal refused to eat her porridge, so i left her in her playyard and she cried n cried n cried until my part time maid came out and asked why so pitiful. Nowadays, i also spank her cos she LOVES to dig her nose!!!Worst, the more i spank her, the more she will laugh n do it!

RE: High Tea
I can make it on some afternoons next week. We meet up next Monday for high tea? Royal on Scotts Carousel's Hi-tea?

morning,

Bean, hope you're feeling better, give Zac a big hug today.

Amy, sorry to hear about your slip disc.

all mommies,
take care, no matter if you're a SAHM or a FTWM, sometimes when the going gets tough, remember to take a break, find some time for yourself to look at the clouds or smell the grass or read a page or two, even for 5 mins, just do something out of the ordinary, that will really break the norm routine, then look forward to going back to the daily grind. it can get tough at times.

lihah,

i have the contact for the medela service center but its at home, perhaps you can call the shop you bought it from and ask them to give you the service center phone number. i did send my medela pump for repair a couple of weeks ago, but wasted my time cos i went there and they told me its working perfectly. SO IRRITATING!! cos i went all the way there....

haha, now sarah's watching channel newsasia so intensely. CHina's business documentary on the top entreprenuer of the year. IN mandarin, haha. like she understands it.

i wanna join in but i have never met anyone here so dunno if it's appropriate for me to join in...but do let me know of the details...

aiyoh, lihah, we all here barely noe each other lah.. yak ajer everyday. when we meet we also a bit like strangers. but we break the ice quite easily cos got common grounds - bbs. just join lah.