(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

ah na, atinarin,
me aso will be SAHM this month leh. hee. looking forward to it. me funny hor? i think this is a phase ah na. sure will pass de. zac so adorable. =D at least when u smack zac, no one will be there to 'scold/shield' him. when i smack ben (yes i have smacked him before already), his ah-ma will say all sorts of things and carry him away from me. HMPH!

me still staying with MIL this month so I think I will be grumbling more on the forum this month. pls bear with me hor...=D

His dad just came back and took over. I really cannot tahan. Smacked him again just now. I think his thighs are very red now. And I am exhausted emotionally.

Btmum,
I always peifu mummies who stay wif MIL. Not easy no matter how nice MIL is. My mum and dad also sometimes shield zac from my discipline. If I'm angry enough, they too will get it from me.

atinarin, ah na,
me staying with MIL cos of the maid. she has to be stationed at 1 place. IL insists on following the law to the letter T. so like that lor. holidays stay here then no need cook at my place. LOL. my MIL logic. but good la to a certain extent. 1 more person to share stress of looking after a kid. =D

ah na, envy u leh. can just pass to hb like dat. sighs. my hb will only say, "i will drench ben. if u ok, ben will be wet lo.." my hb perspires A LOT! and very easily....sighs

bean, pass the baby to the dad and take ur well deserved break :D

sounds like all our babies read the same 'how to drive ur parents nuts' manual.. my monster (whose real name is marcus) wails when he doesnt get wat he wants; fusses at every diaper change until we've learnt to put pampers on in every imaginable position; plays possum at bedtime and puts everything he can get his hands on into his mouth... hopefully when they get older and can be reasoned with, they can be more easily disciplined. one can only hope..

bean: i trans to her liao, can help me let her know

To Account DBS Savings Plus
003-5-051946 JennysspAquaDoodle
Amount S$8.55
Transaction Reference 1725039083

thank u thank u ah na!

go take a warm shower to rid rself from little man zac's terror attack on u today.

ya ur hb good, mine will come home and plonk on the bed!

Thank you monster's mom,
Frankly, I thought I have seen nice babies who are gentle, mild and obedient. Or at least less demanding. I'm sure there are some on this thread. But it's not mine
Because my son refuse to sit down, I bathe him while is is standing up, dry him standing him, apply diaper cream with him standing up, put on his diaper with him standing up and dress him standing up. All done with one hand alone, as the other hand gotta support him or he'll topple and knock his head somewhere. If I dun support him, he'll climb on me and stand up. He uses his toes to dig into my already or-cair thighs.. Sometime I ask myself. Is it my fault that he turns out this way. My genes? The way I bring him up?

ah na, dun blame urself. pls dun. i think we have all done all we can to ensure bb behave. i guess cos i am a teacher, discipline shd be better? NAH! depends a lot of bb's character aso. i dun think character is passed down thro genes leh. ben still misbehaves. just that we all prefer to share bb's good and obedient moments. afterall, these are the nice memories...worth remembering...=D

Bean,
dun be upset you are not the only one...i spanked angel today too...shes really notti instead of sitting on her child car seat she wants to stand or wants my mum to carry but oso in the standing position...i would not tahan liao beside scolding her (i'm driving) i told my mum off too..really pissed off.In my mum's place, she keep putting the used baby wipes in her mouth no matter how many times i hit her hands she still do it till both her hands red liao her din even cry...real stubborn...no choice i have to put her in a corner of the sofa with cushions surround her..this makes her really scared as she cried till so pitiful....when i carry her (after abt 1-2 min) she rest her head on my shoulder look real ke lian.... i hpoe she will learn her lesson or else i will put her in the notti corner again....real heart pain to do it but no choice lor...

Corrine,
I can understand your frustration. Zac also has his fair share of car seat struggles. And that's what my heart is feeling now - pain. I let him cry for 1 hr till he vomit. I just was so angry I refused to consol or carry him. When I finally did, he wasn't as sweet as your angel. He did stop crying for a min, then pushed me away so that he can go pursue his next conquest.-back to his naughty self within 1 min after 1 hr of non-stop crying.

ah na.... all of us oso face the same problem on bb being naughty now. i too encounter similiar situation like U when changing diaper or changing clothes for him. everytime got to find new thing to distract him or make him lie down - remote controller, bottle, diaper cream, diaper etc... anything as long as we can change his diaper / clothes smoothly. Changing a diaper alone can drain us out. He will oso wail if he dun get his ways N he screams very LOUD. my neighbour may thk we torture the bb, haha

hope U r hv a good rest tonite ; p

Ah na,
dun be upset. Ryann also very fierce one. I guess at this stage they are like that. Cos they start to be curious over everything and anything. REcently Ryann dun like to sit potty also, keep wanting to stand up and when he do that, means he will straighten his legs really all the way and refuse to bend and sit no matter what you do also dun wan. That day even resorted to poo while standing. Then when i wan to wash his buttocks and i need him to stand, he will want to sit and this time round he like neng ka (wobbly legs) like that. No bones kind all the way in relaz mode wanting to sit down. End up i also cannot tahan also scream at him then feel guilty for screaming at him. Haiz.. paronoid mummy also. How to discipline ??

Oh.. Today so busy in office... only able to browse through the posts..

Bean, Corrine
dun be so angry... can understand your frustration.. Hubby beat Ayden on his thigh yesterday too.. very hard.. got red patch!!(I so heartache.. but cannot say anything.. haiz).
Think bbs at this stage is "testing water".. trying their luck to get wat they want..n once they can't get wat they want.. bbs will just cry out loud and angrily to show their "unhappiness".. haha..

ah na, scarly, i SAHM for a month i have more grumbles than u. dunno what pattern ben will chut this month. now a bit fearful...have a good nite rest.

I alo guilty of beating Jordan hard on his diapered bum twice when he refused to drink milk early morning when I was sooooo tired feeding him and he refused to drink! Kept wriggling and screaming ...

Star,
Your post somehow makes me feel better. It's like I see your theo so kwai but actually he also knows how to chut pattern..somehow, though I shouldn't be, I feel abit consoled.

Ah bu,
I also dunno how to discipline. Ask those second time mummies - maybe they will know. My niece was a very good girl so my sis never had any problems in discipline. Ya I know Ryann also like Zac. But hor, for me I get it alot cuz I face Zac 24x7. At least you get a breather at work lor.

Blue,
Was Desiree notti at 8 months? You know I was so angry I threw the pillow right in Zac's face so hard he fell and hit the back of his head on the mattress. Can u imagine the anger? It is accumulated. I think I need anger management therapy.

blue,
could u be feeding Jordan too much solids? There was a time zac ate alot of solids and refuse to drink milk. I asked my PD yesterday and she said one ikea bowl of porridge is already considered alot for babies at 8+ months.

Bean,
I think u need to take a break for yourself.. Maybe u hv been taking care of Zac for too long le...So u actually built-up the frustration..
Be careful when u throw stuff at Zac..
Why dun u let ur mum to help u take care for some hours and u go out to hv a walk or shopping.. maybe it's help..

Bean: Desiree was notti right from birth whereas Jordan was such an angel from birth till later on then he become notti ... got difference one. His drinking habits also changed from 3th month onwards. He drank quite alot during 1st 2 months ... still remembered he can gobble up 170ml EBM when he was about 2 months? Don't know why suddenly after 3rd month he lost interest in milk. Now that he started on solids, he likes solids more to milk. I told my maid liao ... cannot give him too much solids ... 2 bowls too much ... now cut down to 1.5 bowl.

I do get breaks, Mag. But not everyday. I go to my mum's plc twice a week. But even with that and my hubby's help ocassionally at nite, it's really very taxing. My mum is totally scared of being left alone with Zac as she feels that she can't handle him. Just following him around the house while he crawls is already breaking her old bones.

I guess I really lost it today.

Bean: At least Zac is a boy so notti'ness is sorta expected. Aiyoh I tell you hor, D behaves like a boy hor! And hor, whenever bigger boys fight with her, she always win one ... end up the bigger boys crying.

I think D is very cute. Or rather - intelligent. I can tell when I talk to her. Maybe that's why she always wins. At least you are assured that she won't get bullied. But there is a risk that she bullies though. I get bullied by zac.

aiyo ah na... hold yr anger leh. I read the pillow part, got scared by U BUT i totally understand yr frustration cos U handle zac alone rite? me chg theo diaper alone oso got angry, dun talk abt U fac zac whole day. Hv some liang teh to cool down ; )

theo always behave very well when he is outside N when he sees new faces. when he is at hme, he is mummy little monster

could it be that cos our bbs are learning to stand thats why they refuse to lie down? hopefully just a phase? jsut like when they could flip, refuse to lie on back. when they could sit, refuse to lie down..

now wanna stand, refuse to sit or lie down...

next in their reign of terror will be refusing to stand still when they learn how to walk...

Bena,

I oso tink u shld get a break too...mayb juz go for a breather like shopping while ur mum look after him....I tink all BBs at tis stage is test water stage n curious...sometimes juz take a deep breath while ur rage is building up...I can understand how u feel.... I oso fustrated facing Summer all day when she is notti... I will shout at her n saying U CAN CRY ALL U WAN! NO MEANS NO!

Sometimes I juz keep quiet n let her cry all she wan...Keep out of her sight(keep a lookout in between)... Do my own things, treat it as singsong. After they finish crying then tell them off by saying "Juz nw r notti hor", after telling them off, then sayang them loh...

Bean,
It should be just a transition period..

For my case, my Ayden also notti.. or else his papa will not slapped his thigh so hard..
my hubby will get angry when Ayden tries to be "funny" n dun take instruction..
But for me, I will either do the same actions as him n go infront of him to block his next action.. then he will find it very funny n then he will try another thing.. so in a way, i distract his "concentration" for his "aimed" destination.. hee... Silly hor me..
hubby said i look stupid when i "act cute"!!! BTH!!

bean: am shocked when i read that you threw pillow at Zac. My church organisation anger mgmt course now, you want to enrol?
Don't throw pillow at Zac lah, he is still a baby ..don't know how to utter words to express his needs and wants, that's why cry. Next time he will needs inner healing if you inflict anger on him, be careful ok.

Bena,

Or u juz call others whenever u feel fustrated facing Zac....I often do tat....after tat I will cooled down liao...either my mum or my hubby...Heeheehee...

bena,
like you, me also face Sarah 24x7 ~ alone.
And like all human beings, i also run out of patience now and then. that's when my hubby comes in.
But I think I managed to tahan quite a while cos, i always try to see everything like the way sarah sees.
Like if she wants to crawl and bite the edge of the carpet, i know tat curiosity is getting the best of her, cos, i always stopped her from doing tat. And if she wails when i tried to put on diapers, cos, i think she hates lying down cos, she's been doing tat for so many months earlier and now tat she's able to commando crawl and see things the right way up, she insist in doing tat.
And if she keeps on trying to put all those forbidden things in her mouth, cos, she wants to learn more about them by tasting those items. And like the past few nights, she was waking up now and then, i think she's uncomfortable or something. *my dark rings have never been this prominent*

If you tell yourself to understand the way your bb sees things and why they do certain things, you'd tend to be more patient and you won't let your anger fly easily.

I think zac is a growing smart boy. He wants to learn to walk fast and grow up fast and learn everything in the house fast. That's y he refused to be "caged".

Bbs do get frustrated with us esp when they can't get their message across to us adults. that's when the crazy wailing starts. I don't blame sarah if this happens. cos, if my hubby doesn't get what i mean and WE speak the same language, I GET FRUSTRATED TOO!. so can you imagine how the bb feel ~ they can't even speak our language yet?? its like you are living in this world and NO ONE UNDERSTANDS YOU!... crazy right???

Voice,
I also feel sad that things like dat happen. When a mother hits a child, the physical pain is on the child but the mother feels the pain in her heart.

Bean: Don't be too stressed ... find other SAHMs to chat, go out or spend some time out ... now you know why I cannot be SAHM? I think I will be even more stressed than you!!!

Aiyo, Bena, u r nt a lousy mum lah.... if u r a lousy mum, u wldn't go thru all the trouble trying to conceive, 9 mths pregnant, full latch on breast feeding n take care of him full time liao.... Like tat is lousy! Then I am a more lousy mum than u loh....

Dun tink too much...all these r juz a phase n it will pass.... Hav a gd nite sleep n rest.

bean,

you are definately not a lousy mum... i see and feel your love for Zac each time i meet up with both of u. your eyes gleamed with delight when u looked at Zac... so ever proud of him.
not forgetting, the time u hv spent on home/classes with him... the care u hv showered on him when he's not feeling well... there's still so much more...

i still rem wat u said to me when u learnt abt me leaving darius behind for outstation stint despite him being so young.... 'hw cud you?' was tat exact remark.. but i wasnt unhappy with you. in fact, you showed me the attachment/bonding you have with Zac.
i stopped questioning why i did that becos i absolutely regretted tat decision. so am trying to make up for darius.. i cant make up lost time we had.. but i'm trying to be a good mummy by always be there for the both of them.

so hor, 2nd tm mummy not necessary be experienced n good lor. look at me, i oso lose my cool at times...and constantly trying to be a good mummy

Re : discipline

I can understand where u are coming from...and feel for u especially the part which u hv mentioned 'throwing pillow'
i'm a 2nd time mum... throwing pillow is no 'new trick' to me. I hv done it with darius when he's younger.. i cudnt contain my anger too. at moment of spur, tats hw i vent my frustration...
i'm not saying it is right but it is often a result of 'bo pian' cos we are too overwhelmed with anger... this will be esp so when u are facing him 24/7. FTWM like me get break from our kids at work.. no matter hw demanding work is, but it is not as emotionally draining as working.

darius dun really wailed when he was younger.. not becos he is guai guai. but becos PIL gives in to almost everythg of his nonsence. disciplining becomes very difficult too becos of my PIL.. they always shield him w/o fail.
now, darius (even at the age of 3+) screamed when he dun get his way... hubby n i are trying to discipline him with difficulties (becos of PIl). its getting beta now after 'take away' some time from MIL... by sending his to school for half a day.

maegan on the contrary, is a 'chilli padi'. she oso tries to get her way... smtimes we spanked her too. i'm less 'chong dong' nwadays. i feel its a passing phase. discipline and letting them noe wat is rite n wrong shld still stay.. hwever, anger management requires to be present.
or mayb becos she gets little attention from PIL esp my mil.. she ignored her cries, n dun even bother to care. smtimes when she wailed.. mil will add 'tsk tsk.. why always cry, so notti, must discipline'. so smtimes i find maegan ke lian....

sorry so lor soh...

Re : aquaducks
very interested but timing not right.. enrolled for shichida class for that timing too. hmmm

Bena:

U've been a great mummy =) Dont doubt urself k ! ^^ Just over stress dealing with zac tats all and need a break. I totally understand tat feeling coz ive been thru it last week. Maybe leave zac with his papa someday and come out to take a short break ! =D Im free ! ^^ Jus give me a call anytime.

nowadays J also refuse to sit n wear clothes or wear diapers. So i will use my leg to pin him down for a short while and he'll cry. He will scream like nobody's business when i wipe dry his hair! So annoying as though im bullying him lo! And when he cant get things he wants he'll cry too -.- This little monster gets on my nerves at times too

ah na,
u good mummy leh. most of us are mummies for the first time. so most are 'feeling' our way around our kids. we all learn along the way. no one manual for motherhood or fatherhood right? all is just in time training. i have yet to reach the point where u are now. but i believe, with my temperament, i wont be able to tong as long as u did with zac. i would have snapped 2 months ago when ben first started to sit up. =D u are doing a great job ah na! take a break if u need. come to bedok and see ben! =D he v guai when outside, just like theo. but at home, sighs. another little monster who wants his way. and MIL gives in to him! GOSH! how to discipline?

Bean,
*Hug*
Don’t feel sad.
My baby did the same. I bought the LG pumper mat too, he also don’t want to play there with all the toys. He not only wanted to crawl to into the rooms, the kitchen, he also very interested with the toilet.

Last time, when we put him into the baby swing, swing he for a while he will still, but now, he can perform stunt in the swing, turn his body, cried out very loud. ….

Everything he also wants to touch …. same lah….