(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Low,
You are most welcome

So far, i oni feed bb with potato and carrot..nothing more..very lousy mum

Anybody bought the brown rice powder from 'Yu Ren Sheng' and fed your bb? Is cereal too sweet such that babies are rejecting milk? My mum's helping me look after my boy and being traditional, she says its wrong to introduce cereal cos they're too sweet. and told me to hold off introducing porridge. just the brown rice powder and milk. Even wants me to put the brown rice powder into milk after cooking & let bb suck which I refused. any advise? I'm desperate... help!

haha!! my mum commented tat bbs nowadays are so different from our generation! she said: mus be all the chemicalised food & polluted air we take in, & also soooo many stimulating toys out there in the mkt! she said i never flip & never attempt to crawl my time & am very guai, will lie still on the thin straw mattress! talking abt development, haha! i'm still turning out ok & likes to joke & talk nonsense! heehee~ :p jus joking hah...

re- cb calendula cream
me also using on my gals. really vv gd for diaper rash and eczema / rash like problem. i bought quite a few to stock up actually. haha.. btw merkon, if u need one asap, can pm me, i can spare 1-2 bottle.

nynke likes the plain prooidge and so i'm giving her again for today's lunch. her gum is whitish and pple said it's teething..waiting to see her tooth poop up..but hor...a bit sad to see her growing up liao..she's so sweet adn cute lately and i like her 'bo gay' smile..haha..bad mummy...

ecookie, my gal also only spoon feed for water. simply refuse to be bottle fed. ebm wise, she will take bottle but i need to have a break in between, somehow she cannot finish her 3-4 ounce in 1 go.

charsiew: the derm dr said if the med strength steroid don't work, he'll step up to elomet. did it work well for ur bb? maybe i shd ask to step up earlier ...

low: will go find out more re: the california pdts. i have another reason to go to BP page again. Thanks!

hi miraclecraz, jiayou & don panic ok? i understand...haiz!! my bb is not takin milk & solids well either, but i reckon that worrying won't help, so i always tell myself bb will eat when hes hungry! hehe! :>

hi merkon, ah yes, i only applied a very thin layer on the area where there's rashes- his chin (mus be bec of the excessive drool), it will go away in 1-2days..then i din apply liao, cos its steriod, not gd for bbs... then i will be more diligent to wipe bb's face with a damp cloth after milk, but my bb hates the act of wiping.. mummies, yr bbs will fuss when u wipe their face?

miraclecraz,
hi, i long time never contribute.

my bb is taking healthy times cereals for lunch and EYS's si sen brown rice for dinner. Cereal- you must check if milk is already added into the cereal, so dont need to add milk when you prepare the cereal. Or it will get toooo sweet.

for me, i will only use 2.5 scoop of milk to 90ml
of water when preparing the cereal. breastmilk makes the cereal very diluted....

He has been taking the brown rice powder for 3 weeks already. got rosy cheeks loh...

my son is 7.1 month and i am going to intro fish porridge (slow cooking and blend) end of this week as i could see that he is quite ready. However, i will only intro meat at 8months when his gut is more "seasoned" heeheee.

btw miraclecraz, maybe u want to try Heinz plain rice cereals, it doesn't contain milk & sugar, so should not be sweet.. u hv to add milk yrself, be it FM or BM...

Dear mummies...

So FUNNY... haha..
I dun work in the ZOO.. but my workplace very near to the ZOO!! haha..
FYI, there are some restaurants near the ZOO which having good food!!

Haha.. COME ZOO N SEE ME!!!

hi aidanee, wow, u make the EYS brown rice sounds wonderful! maybe i shld let bb try soon... is there any thing i hv to watch or to intro 1st b4 giving him the brown rice? tks!

ha charsiew: my mum also said same things.. say nowadays baby more active.. last time i also just "gong gong" lie there and give her no trouble haha

<font color="0000ff">voice,</font>
My boy is a big eater. He can gulp 3/4 avent via cup of food on top of water. (I use avent via cups to store food. Don't have that much breast milk to store anyway. These via cups are more handy than those ice cubes, me think.) J weighted 10kg when he reached 6 months old 1.5wks ago. He hits 90th percentile in all his assessments(think he is over 100th precentile but the nurse is kind enough not to tell us so!) I prefer to push him around in a stroller when we go out. Too tired to carry a heavy bindle for hours. Afraid to break my waist. Haha!

btw mummies, i tink this may hv been discussed previously, anyone can tell me quickly that how much milk intake is the minimum for a bb of 6mths+? tks!

wow poulinea! ur bb is big!! wow! envious!

haha ecookie, ya loh! we were much simple then... simple life, simple food, simple milk powder, simple tv shows..simple toys...simple us...simple simple..

charsiew,
hi hi....the brown rice powder comes with si sen powder...can intro immediately. very safe.....but you must simmer over fire and stir continuously until you get a smooth paste, then you can add milk etc. I will add in veg or fruits lor... so quite ley chay as compared to cereal or porridge. My elder took that he was a chubby bb with rosy cheeks too. So i am trying it out on my 2nd one. hehehe...so far so good. no poo poo problem.

amy: yah sad to see our babies growing up so fast hor.. think their 1st year is the time where we see the most changes! i almost miss the cherubic baby who sleeps and sleeps after feeding and look so sweet n serene when sleeping..

now my lil'boy very notti... flip and demand attention often and sweat easily in nowadays' hot weather and head can be stinky at times lol

charsiew: think min milk intake of 600ml even with solids..

poulinea: wow big baby.. must be nice to cuddle! haha
is he demanding? if so, carry him ard must be shiong for u haha

HI Miraclecraz (miraclecraz),

I did bought the Yu Ren Sheng brown rice powder and fed my baby once, but he seem like doesn’t like it because he didn't finish it.

I started my son with the Heiz Rice cereal with breast milk for one week and added on sweet potato a week after. I only introduce one type of new food weekly. Actually most of the book recommended the “4 days” rule as this will able to see whether baby allergic to that particular food or not. But I only free to surf online to look for recommended 1st stage food for my baby on weekend.

I am yet to feed my baby any porridge.

hi poulinea,
what was his birth wt? could you share his feeding routine? can imagine the stress on your back when you carry him!

totoro,
She drinks water after cereal. Normal she can drink ard 2 oz. Then I will let her play with her mag mag cup n she will chew n bite n will end up drinking more water. Heeh.

hmmm am so sad my boy reject porridge totally ... but he eats other food ... who uses brown rice to cook porridge??? i use that and i also soak it but still its hard after i cooked ... can let me know how u gals cook them ???

i am keen to try gymboree...but am quite worried abt the HFMD. maybe we can form a trial class together.

CM,
i will be blending it after using slow cooker to cook....hope it is easier to feed and not so hard. keeping my fingers crossed too.

amy, charsiew,

re: cb calendula cream
can it be applied on the face? for milk rashes.. smtimes maegan hv these little red spots

cm,
yes....actually if it is soft enough, no need to blend. but i think they will like the smooth texture for a start.

darmae,
cb cream is safe for face. it is very good.

cm,
yes, i soak for 3 hrs and cook 3hrs. hhaha....but if you blend the rice and cook, heard it is fast and smoother....but i thought to blend the veg and fish together tooo after they are all cooked.easier...

morning mommies,

i've been talking about peas all week but today is THE PEA day yeay! technically i'm on mc but nice chance to feed her peas for the first time, so i gotta say HELLOOOO to green poop tonight! :p

Hi Aidanee,

So u add plain hot water or cold ist, stir till smooth paste then simmer over fire till smooth paste again. finalyl add milk ? What kind of veg or fruits do u add into the paste? Are they all in pureen form?

fau &amp; aidanee, im interested in the gymboree music and play class too. If you are forming a trial class let me know. Cos my fren in the April thread, they actually go in groups to the trial class, which was more fun.

merkon, my gal also got slight eczema. PD prescribed mustela cream, the patch didnt really go off but her skin got some discolouration ie. thers a white patch. Another PD prescribed an antiseptic lotion, which is very good, after 3 days of application the spot healed and thers no white patch alr. Now nanny still using it to wipe her face every morning. Nowadays she seldom get rash or red spots. I go find out the name and let you know tmr.

aidanee, do you know what machine they use to blend the rice? Cos i also read from book that rice will cook faster if its blended.

rxsti: waaah, ur girl going to be busy leh, shichida, next gymboree...hee hee! Where do u stay? I intend to let my boy try gymboree after he turns 1 yr old.

Hi miraclecraz,

Re: EyS brown rice powder
i use room temp water to mix the powder first, then i use low fire to simmer n stir continuously in one direction until it is very verysmooth and "look" cooked.hahaha...then i remove from fire, and stir in the milk. But hor, your paste must not be too wet else, after adding the milk, it may be too watery.

i will add in pureed carrot, sweet potato or pear during the cooking.

CM,
re:Brown Rice porridge

i have not started intro porridge to my 2nd bb. but this was how i cooked before for my elder son.

rxsti,
i think any fruit or juice blender will do right? Yes, it is faster.....alternatively, can just used the blended rice to cook and then throw in pureed stuff into the porridge...so no need to blend after that.

ok will try this weekend to blend the rice.

voice,
cos shes very active and she love to listen to songs and music, hence she should enjoy herself.... and since im FTWM i will make use of these classes to bond with her and give her my full attention.
If we stay at home, we tend to do our usual activity like watch TV program (adult type) or read newapaper, and we will give her toys to entertain herself, which i feel its not fair to her. Cos weekdays we alr dont spend much time with her, and we also dont know how to give her the proper educational teaching so no choice have to spend $$$ lor.... How i wish i can be a SAHM....

voice

i currently stay at my mum's plc at upper bt timah, cos nanny at cck. Fri - Sun will go back to our home at CHangi.... i know its very far apart.... no choice 'sigh' :<