(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi mummies who are still breastfeeding

Do you feel that your immune system is getting lower now? I tend to fall sick pretty often nowadays...GP said could be due to breastfeeding & lack of sleep...had seen doc 3 times in a month liao..sianz

lbs,

we think me got same problem as u leh...fall sick easier nowadays...but i still enjoy breastfeeding and will continue to do so till clara is at least one

lbs,
I agree with u cos i'm not well since last friday till now though doc gave me antibotics but i dun wan to take. I'm so deprived of sleep & super tired, my ss dropped badly so i think i'm going to stop BF liao.

Emily,
I use spoon n scrap from fresh apples, feed bb with the bits of apples (similar to puree) n juice aft scrapping. Should not be a prob. Bb kinda enjoy it.

Wise/Irene
like Irene, I dare not to take the antibiotics & always ask for the mildest medicines.

Hb said my health is more important so he supports me if I decided to stop. But I really enjoy breastfeeding & the bonding time with Yan.

Any idea how to 'bu' ourselves?

Any bb has his/her passport done? I am applying for my bb. Like to check if bb needs to be present during collection of passport @ ICA?

re baby sleeping alone:
i want to let my boy sleep in another room too..but not so soon partly cos feel he still young + my MIL stays over 2 nights in a week so hard to make the guest room a permanent bedroom for my boy..
and i dun prefer him to sleep with her haha

so maybe have to wait till he 1 1/2 years old then can.. when my mum will take care of him full time then and my MIL no need come over to stay...

lbs, wise, irene,
same here.. my health machiam no gd lately too.
juz went to doc this morning then back to office.. cos ned to clear my stuffs before my holiday next week.
doc say i'm over exhausted tats why immune system low. haiz, same sentiments. i really enjoy the bonding of BF.. smtimes i hv thots of giving up esp when i very tired plus ss low. but eventually ditch the idea. duno hw long i can tong lor...

lbs,
i oso duno hw to 'bu'. i take chicken essence every morning to perk up.... mum brew nice soups (for ti sen) during weekends. but dun seem to work lor

doobom yes le i think baby needs to be present during collection of passport @ICA. I remember bring my gal to collect her passport when she 3 months old hee..hee..

peapod, how are u and baby caelen??

doodom,
yes bb needs to be present when collecting passport. i did it when i was still on ML.

ecookie,
nice highchair.

wise,
you going to bf until clara is 1yo, good for you. gambatte!

re- frisocrem..
yes, its sweet n nynke loves it!! she finishes 1 can a week...just bought another can with friso discount voucher. i'm giving her twice a day so far, going to let her try plain porridge today..hope she likes it. she poo 3x again yesterday. 1x this morning n hope she's really ok, not diarrhoea.

doodom, yes bb needs to be there during collection, but can submit application online so no need to be there 2times. think no one beats my girl lah, she got it even before full month haha.

I just bought the 6 piece playyard from CC. Haiz, my mum warned me NOT to buy anymore big items cos my mum's place is already filled with her bumper mat, playyard, car, exersaucers and toys. Hahaha...

Re: Sleeping alone.
Now that i am so lazy, i allow my gal to sleep between us so tat i can pat her to sleep. Bad habit hoh...Hubby is "angry"...Hahaha. Now, he will take the initiatives to carry my gal to her cot once she is asleep.

Re: Fish
My MIL steamed some Ngor He for my gal. She seems to like it. Will try it again.

Re: BF
I am still feeding ebm to my gal. Just pumping enuff to meet my gal's consumption, 700++ml only. Health is still ok..Think its because i still take the supplements and fish oil.

Re: High Chair
I bought the same high chair as ecookie. My gal does not like to be strapped. So we only strap her lower body and not her upper.

RE: Sitting
My gal can sit up on her own from crawling position. Now, she will sit up when she wakes up. Just lowered her cot again becos of her new stunt.

re: supplements
any of mummies here still taking prenatal vits/calcium pills/fish oils capsule now?
or those stop bf can dun take already? or just take since supplements are always good for health?

ibs, you may want to try taking vitamin c and swissoats(but check with your dr to see if it is ok for lactating mum) for supplement. It helps to boost immunity. when i catch a cold, i will down double dosage of vit c, no need to take medicine.

Im still bfing too and I think health oso okie, maybe like poohwei, Im still taking supplements since preg till now. Taking Calcium, multivits n fish oil capsules.

Ecookie,
That high chair looks so huge! And it looks like a swing! Can swing? Little YZ looks so much like daddy!

Madlynette,
You have one thats exactly the same rite?

atinarin,
thanks for the explanation.

Re: health during Breast feeding
For me, health still ok but feel tired Due to lack of slp. I also wanted to give up a couple of times liao but think like so wasted ss still not bad abt 850-950ml per day. But might cut down when i intro porridge to Ryann at 8 mths cos milk intake will be lesser.

lbs, try to rest more and more water to get better supply. cut down on cold drinks. take care. Dun eat too much of cabbage and liver. will reduces supply.Eat more fish.

lbs,
I dunno how to bu cos i've not been taking any supplements at all so i think my health will get worse when i grow older

dramae,
Me long time didn't take chicken essence liao cos no use for me anymore. Doc ask me how many hrs i sleep everyday then i told him the most 5hrs only & he nearly faint haha... I've wanting to stop pumping few mths back but tong till now cos really bu she de but nowadays he start to chun pattern & prefer to take solid more than his milk so my hb say is really tired shld stop BF then i'll hv more time to bond with my boy. I really pei fu those FTWM who can still latch their bb after work. Now my boy is very active & everything is curious to him even the pump... He loves to disturb me & wan to put everything into his mouth haha...

Those mummies who's still BF should continue as long as u can jia you /clipart{happy}

gingerleaf: no lah cannot swing ..haha. its lowered to the lowest level liao.. no!!! his eyes look like mine! * in denial mode*

phoebe, poohwei,
both ur supply very gd man! hw many times u pump per day? i pump 2x at work, then 1x before i sleep.. max yield 400ml. i latch her in between and during nite feeds.

irene,
i dun think chicken essence work for me now... but i juz take as a habit liao. hee. anyway i stock up alot.
sleep is really impt... if i'm lucky, maegan only wakes up 2x for nite feed. my pumping yield will be beta.

although the pumping session can be distruptive at work and oso tiring... but like wat u say, really bu she de to give up. i oso try to endure as long till she's 1 yr old bah... hopefully i can.

madlynette,

dun worry..me also dun have good ss...me pump 3 time per day only manage 480 max...but at home i will latch on..so still enough for clara when she is in infant care..cos she drinks only 130ml per feed (3 hrly)

doobom: my husb went to collect passport with my son the other day. though they don't need to thumbprint, but the officer there wants baby to show face.

row
Thks..I guess supplements shld be ok but will check with doctor..think I really need that

Phoebe
I dun take cold drinks nowadays...only when it is really hot days..but seldom also loh..

Irene
I also think when old, cham liao...especially we will be lacking of calcium..

re: milk ss
i only have time to express once or max twice at work. ss dropped alot. planning to wean off BM cos my boy is biting and pulling my nipple all around. after biting, he will grin at me waiting for me to scream in pain. any other mummies with bb biting nipple? what do u do?

think i will need more discipline with my pumping, hehe.
esp weekends always want to go out and then nvr pump then monday see the amount so shocking, hehe.
my ss is low to begin with.

my ss still enough for little missy..like Darmae, I also pump 2x at work, then once before sleep, the rest will latch on. Used to pump before going to work but too rush so give up liao.

yea loh, really bu she de, thinking to tong till Yan is old year old also..haha

darmae,
It's good tat u can still pump in office cos my office no more room for me to pump & Suntec nursing room always full house during lunch time so by the time i reach home & pump ss very low liao

lbs,
I agree with u lor i think all my bones will give way haha...

madlynette,
Give me 5
We tends to go out almost every weekends cos that is the only bonding & outing time we've with our boy. Then when is it time to return to work will faint due to low ss haha..

darmae, why confirm i'll be tying myself to the pillar? hehehehe. think i wont go today ba, coz just came in office after baby's jab, work's piling up like crazy!

doboom, yup baby need to be present during collection of passport
dahlia collected hers when she was 3wks old.

FINALLY dahlia has crossed the 7kg mark, today we weighed her and she's 7.125kgs. i've never been happier seeing the number seven!!!

hi fau
I can understand your happiness.

When we weighed Yan & see her weight finally going up, I never know i can be so happy seeing the weighing scale moving upwards..cos i only want to see mine going downwards!

Darmae, me total on EBM never latch on at all.
I pump total 4 times a day.
12mn - usually 250-280
7.15-7.30 (depends on wat time i wake up) - 250-300
12.45pm at office - 180-200 (gd days will have 240)
5.45 - 6pm at office - 180-200 (gd days will have 240)

Everytime i menses, stress or right after meeting, my ss will drop.
By then when ryann cut his milk intake, i will cut down to pump 3 times but i dunno how to drag and change.

But i knw Vone's supply is much better. She can fill up 2 bottles in 10mins of pumping. !!!!

my girl these few nights chut pattern leh, turn anticlockwise in the cot when she sleeps, sometimes sleeps horizontal with legs dangling outside and bolster on her face, so funny.

Any mummies having difficulty introducing porridge to your bb? I started zorian on nestle cereals since 6 mths old. Now he's 7 mths liao. Was trying to get him started on porridge or puree but he simply refuses to eat cos I think its too bland. Thk cereal is too nice liao n the porridge is too bland. now he's also rejecting milk in the afternoon n sometimes a 4 TBS cereal at 9am can last till 5pm w/o any milk. My mum kept telling me it must be the cereal fault cos its too sweet n nice tat he's also rejecting milk. but my pd says bb are smart n bb will not eat prorridge so soon but some of my frens have started with no prob. They only cook plain porridge with carrot puree.

I also bought the brown rice from 'Yu Ren Sheng' Any mummies tried that? Any advise?

miraclecraz: what brand is ur cereals? mayb too sweet thats why zorian reject plain porriage.. perhaps can mix porriage with sweet potato/pumpkin to give it a sweeter taste and see if he wants it?

Sorry to barge in. Anyone using SIMILAC milk powder? I overbought as my ger just turn 1 yr and no longer use the stage 2.

selling @ discounted price, i have 2 cans.
<font color="ff0000">$30 per can, 900g SIMILAC FOLLOW-ON STAGE 2</font>

Collection Point: Preferably @ AMK, pls suggest if u have other collecting point, will see if it's on the way from my work place.

Pls PM me if interested. Thanks...

Miraclecraz (miraclecraz) - My dd has not start with cereal or porridge at all as she has difficulty swallowing .
She drinks mainly milk!

Hi eccokie,

I'm giving him nestle brand. i tried n its really sweet i must say. Tried cooking porridge with pumpkin n carrot but actually its also v bland.

florence, should start liao.. ur bb 7 mths?

fau,
u say leh? hee... aft test drive wait very tempted then fish for ur purse then the rest is history liao.. hee..
wah.... close shave ah. not gg dwn tdy! hee

congrats on dahlia crossing the 7kg mark. so u gg to 'reward' urself wif the bee... hohohoho

lbs,
mine oso missy lor... drink little and slow. xiao jie leh

phoebe,
your pumping yield per session make me lao nua liao. my max is 200ml per session from 10mins pumping but very RARE lor.
i always 'an wei' myself.. telling myself tat maegan small drinker, 120-150ml 3hrly. supply 'gum gum ho' can liao. so far so gd.. *pat* on my shoulder, she on total BM till now, only started solids 3 weeks ago.

ecookie, his eyes does looks like u la, BUT OVERALL still looks like papa!! HAHAHAHAHAHAH.

fau, Dahlia is light! My gal is 7.75kg when weighed on friday!

bland VS sweet
from what i know babies cant differentiate between sweet and bland yet, so if we start giving them sweet stuff now they'd only want sweet stuff later in the future, eh? i tried the rice cereal by heinz myself, it tasted like a flavourless nestum.. i'm always worried of giving dahlia unnecessary sugar/sucrose, as it is she's easily prone to cough, so i'm staying away from anything sweet for her for now. we actually fed her frisocrem when she turned 4 mths for 2 days, and it escalated her cough to greater heights.

i'm turning a deaf ear to anyone of my relatives/friends who keep pushing me to put flavour (salt OR sugar) to my baby's food or to give them cereals with flavour for now

darmae, wahsey why you say until like that.. make me beam in pride coz i DESERVE to pamper myself eh? lol. cannot cannot!! i must PURSE-vere haha!

mummyhan, i've been wanting her to put on weight leh.. ning's weight also very nice to carry. i'm always worried dahlia is underweight :p