(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

mummies using sling pouches,
I have one from littlepod, and I find it so hard to use! Baby seems so squashy in it and the shoulder part keeps threatening to slip off! Then it hurts my shoulder blades area too. So waste money, buy oreadi never use.

darmae, you got ur beco oreadi? Im keen in the beco or the pikkolo

all talking about strollers here, i just bought the bugaboo bee!
hopefully can last loooong time so to make the investment worthy.

i chose the bee becos i looking for something sturdy cos i go to all kinds of places, the wheels got suspension so should be able to tahan rough surface and also i usually go out without HB so i need something i can handle by myself and i commute on public transport, neither me nor HB drive.

wow all the stroller talk.. im using combi mainly cos of its lightweight..but its really small mayb cos jap babies are smaller? ha.
my boy like v no space inside and half the time his legs are longer than the seat.. oops..

but thinking of changing to a stroller like mclaren only when he s older like 8 mths old when he can sit up straighter..

so far, hes okie with being in the combi. so long i recline abit, allow him to sit up abit n see the world, he s fine.

rsxti, which capella is that? we're selling off our capella coz got ourselves a new stroller also. with the capella i didnt have much faith on the escalator but with new one i feel like a champion haha!

gingerleaf,
hvnt recd the beco carrier yet...think hvnt arrive SG.

madlynette,
WOW... i hv been comtemplating if i shld get bugaboo bee or quinny buzz leh. so hw's ur review on it huh? finally hv sm1 i noe whom i can trust the review rather than ask the sales assistant. heee..

fau,
which stroller did u get?
hw compact is it when u fully close it?

darmae/gingerleaf,

the beco carrier is nice and easy to use. i love it. mine is now sent for repair. so inconvenient without the carrier!

lina, bugaboo!!!! 999 right? *faint* is it heavy?

mummyhan, i also actually.. so far only go on escalators twice. the rest of the times husband will navigate.

darmae, got the quinny buzz. i've never ever tried to fold it yet, so far husband will be the one hauling it in and out of car. ours is the 2007 edition, where we have to pull a latch and latch on to a knob. 2008 edition is swanky, no latching needed, just press down and will automatically lock.

ecookie, mine is the other way round, going down is ok.. going up will give me the shivers.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=njDUU3Rvnmw

fau,
yah lor $999 and member card discount cannot be used also, i cannot sleep until 4am the night before i went to purchase, also when i went to the store the next morning i sat outside for a solid 10mins sweating and heartbeat pumping very hard. haha! in the end still buy oso.

re: strollers on escalaters
how do you mommies handle escalators? for me going up is quite straight forward, stroller is in front and my hands like above my head or maybe my hands up to my chest or face and holding the handles. the stroller is above me.

for going down, i am in the same position as going up, i have to position my stroller going down backwards and so i am going down backwards and my hands are still like above my head or maybe my hands up to my chest or face and holding the handles. the stroller is above me.

my maid can handle going down the escalator with the stroller in front of her, meaning she has to bend forward to push down the stroller to balance it since the front wheels has no support. for this position i cannot handle, maybe becos i am too tall and cannot bend forward low enough else will lose my balance.

can understand what i write here? hard to draw the picture hor?

meko,
ur beco is butterfly izzit? affected by 'recall'?

madlynette,
thks in advance. i understand wat u wrote on managing the stroller dwn the escalator. same way as my hubby... i nv had the courage to do it. always hubby or helper.

fau,
i'm all wet dwn... becos of all the drooling esp after seeing the clip. must snap a pic of dahlia cruising in it. the thot of it makes me drool liao. keke
where did u get the buzz and hw much did u pay?

madlynette: Think my method is the same way as your maid. Going down, I will have to lean forward and the stroller is in front of me.
Definitely takes alot of practice to master the skills of handling strollers on escalators. I am currently still training my maid to do so ... I let her practise with empty stroller. Heee

madlynette: me go up/down same as u, but up still okie cos i can see where i gg, but coming down i very panick.. like cannot pull the stroller along in time.. v scarey ha

meko,
i wanted to get butterfly initially. but place ordered liao then recd the notification of recall. so hv the option of changing to 4th gen or wait. i chose the 4th gen since i need it for my trip on mid april. but so far.. no news yet lor. duno can recd in time or not?

haha ... practise make prefect... am also letting my maid practise with empty stroller ... oh ya till now my maid still dun no how to use a lift ... she even got herself lock in the lift last weekend ...peng

darmae,

oic. i emailed ash recently asking when my carrier will be sent back. she said no news from supplier yet. did u ask roughly when ur carrier will be in?

*wipes darmae's saliva* my friend actually got it as a birthday present from a collective of friends, but it wont fit the boot of her cute car.. so she sold it off to me for 500bucks..

1317905.jpg

taken over the weekend when we were going down for breakfast at malacca

fau, i also dont know what model i bought, must check.... you are right going up and down escalator its the toughest task to do, so we always take the lift.... if really no choice then 1 in front and 1 at the back, and we will carry the stroller when nearing the platform.
Manage to sell my first 'big' capella to my friend, so ive got another small one stuck.... but im very tempted to get one alr.
I need some recommendation from existing user of P3, bee, quinny and aprica.
tks

me now procrastinating between

1) P3 -- after i read angel's post... i drool big time but i also tear big time when i see the price. -- a bit off my budget

2) Maclaren quest sports -- looks nice and lighter then P3 but smaller basket i think.

3) sometime back saw this korea brand 5.9kg nia Haenim baby or something like tat quite light and broader then my current one also.... but never hear ppl comment before.
cheap also i think only 180.

any Suggestion?

talking about japanese baby
my neighbour who is a japanese got married to a singaporean and gave birth to a boy just 1 - 2 mths before ryann. But he is HUGE!!!!
He definitely cant fit into a combi for sure. so chubby and solid.

If the next time got gathering at my house i ask her to come along, you are can see his cute chubby son.... then you will be wondering why combi stroller so small...

ah bu, maybe the food intake is singaporean already, that's why follow singapore size mah :p

rxsti, it's 999 at mothercare for both 2008 and 2007 models. but 2008 model only have in black, but 2007 model comes in a variety of colors. if my friend wasnt selling it to me at that price i don't think we'll even consider buying..

meko,
no news so far. poohwei oso bgt in the same spree. both of us still in the waiting game.

fau..
u tempted me big time wif dahlia on the buzz... i ned more tissuesssssss
tats a very gd buy you hv. $500 only... if i were u, i wudnt think twice as well.
now im torn bet bugaboo bee and quinny buzz. but will prob wait for madlynette's review on bee b4 deciding.. hee. hubby finally 'surrender' after my pestering... wahaha...
nw ned to try n sell off my maclaren n aprica strollers. hee.. **lelong**
first must take pictures...

Hi ecookie,
Re peas, if you don't strain the peas, the skin bits will be there - it is not very visible after blending but when you eat it you will be able to feel abit of roughness/texture with your tongue instead of a smooth paste. But its not rough until will choke the baby kind. My 2 weaning books didn't mention to strain so I didn't do it, but Funny mentioned her weaning book said to strain it. For Jade, she was ok with it...that was the first green vege she ate at 4 months+. I mix it with pumpkin or sweet potato.

lbs,
Ya the frozen peas are the kind that's used to cook fried rice. They have packets that come with peas, carrots and corn, and those that come with just peas.

Poohwei,
Re car seat, I was using a maxi cosi infant car seat for Jade...I find that she is warm when I lift her out of it..sometimes her hair behind will be all wet when its a hot and sunny day. Think got not enough ventilation as the side cushion is very deep.

Ben Mum,
Re convertible carseats, I'm using the Britax Marathon. It has my 2 thumbs up! It had very good reviews on the internet. I've just started using it for Jade. Its really comfy, the material is nice and can be machine washed. In terms of safety it has a 5-point harness, and the straps are very easy to adjust and buckle in. It also has multiple recline angles and height adjustments. The weight limit is the highest of all the car seats available - can be used from newborns up to 30kg. Most other carseats only up to 20kg. So with my chubby daughter, this car seat should last her till she's at least 3 yrs old!
Hehe I also did alot of research then decided to buy this one. I bought it for US$260 from the US which is abt S$400. Its pricey but I think of it as an investment for my future children! I've seen it at First Few Years at Paragon, and I think Baby Kingdom or Hypermart at Kaki Bukit has this model too but not sure how much is it here. Here's a pic of it -

1318080.jpg

phoebe,
voice oso interested in maclaren. the quest i hv is old model, but the sports or mod. but conditionn still very gd.
i will email u the pics too.

voice,
i took the pics liao. juz emailed u.

fau, thats a really good deal u got there.

OH TODAY I TOOK THE ESCALATOR DOWN with the pram!
I push the pram onto the escalator n try to aim for the front and back wheel to rest on each escalator step. I started panicking coz I wasnt sure if the pram was resting on the steps properly and oso becoz the escalator was moving too fast, I keep stepping backwards to 'adjust' the pram. Hubby was laffing behind me and kept telling me to pull it up but I was panicking. Luckily I pull it up in time and everything was alrite.
Hehehe. Phew!

rxsti,

Im using the pramette which is under peg perego as well. Its very similar to P3 and infact, at a glance, they both look exactly the same. It has all the function a P3 have but the extra part is, the seat(part where the back lies) can be zip open to reveal another fabric which can be zip down to the other side(where the seat part is) to form a cot-like pram. When its converted to a pram, the baby will be facing you. No harness if you choose to use it as a pram, but its as good as a soft bed. Its also heavier than P3 with it weighing in at 9.9kg. I have trouble with opening both the P3 and Pramette with one hand.

1318306.jpg

This is how it looks like when its in carriage style. I used it this way when my girl was only a mth old.

1318307.jpg

Prop it back up, zip up the neccessary parts, switch the canopy over and this is how it looks like as a stroller.

hi darmae, i showed hubby the pix, he doesn't like it leh...so i have to give it amiss. Let Phoebe have a chance to grab your lelong, hee hee! I just bought a graco junior mini car seat from bebeng leh, she sold to me, so now no budget for stroller yet..hee hee, will KIV till sam is 1 yr old then i change another one. Now like everything also nice, must weigh what is need and want, everything inflation.

hey fau, dahlia looks tiny in that big stroller lah...but she'll grew to fit in well definitely. hee hee!

I'm using a zapp and I like it so far but my girl is like growing too big for the car seat liao. Sob sob
Regarding escalator, I only dare to go up and always need hb when we go down.don't think I can master the skill of going down as I'm afraid of me losing balance!

darmae, buy buy buy! :D but if you want lighter then bugaboo bee is a better buy. buzz is seriously heavy for me to handle on my own.

voice, sam looks vair happy leh! we have a priori maxi cosi handmedown, but can only use when dahlia is 9mth old :S

hmm...think must go down to kaki bukit for walk walk le. =D get car seat and stroller.

voice, sam looks v happy in there. no problem for long trips le! =D

Looks like it's time for most of us to change our car seat liao ......
Saw the maxi-cosi tobi I think but the price a bit ex. HB wanted to get Britax but it seems must really go around as nobody carry full range :-(
Anyone on Gracco brand or Ferrari ?

bebeng,
wow ur SIL got stokke thats like buying rolls royce of all strollers. haha!
stokke is unfriendly meh, thought the design is supposed to be super fantastic.

Finally brought Faith to 24hr clinic @ TMC last night as she was still suffering from diarrhoea. Poor girl, passed watery poo so many times until her whole bottom is red and swollen already. Doc say its a mild viral infection which could have come from something she ate. She was so colicky last night too due to wind and dirty diaper kept her up crying. I feel so heart broken...dunno if its the way I prepared the puree which led to viral infection.

sorry ladies, cant read the past posts, too many, but did anyoen reply my query on how to intro similac follow on?

girl is 6months but havent switched yet. stupid abbott line is busy whole day long.

atinarin, according to my PD, it is perfectly fine if you wish to stick to stage 1 (0-12mth) formula, as you're introing solids so she can also get the nutrients from there. but if you wish to switch then maybe you shd half the portion of the old FM and the other half, the follow on.

for dahlia she was fine when we introed step 2 when she was about 5.5mths, no half-half portions.

mummyfaith,
hope faith is feeling better.
so poor thing.

atinarin,
the abbott lady called me and say to give half half portion first and monitor for any reactions.

atinarin, i was thinking of asking that qn to my pd when i see her on 5 april. =D ben is 6 months this saturday. think i will do the same as what fau said, just give ben full stage 2 milk on saturday. =D

Hi atinarin

For Caelen, we did it slowly through a week and monitor his stools carefully. Eg. He now takes about 5 scoops of milk. 1st day - one scoop similac, 4 scoops old powder; 2nd day - 2 scoops similac, 3 scoops old powder; 3rd day - 3 scoops similac, 2 scoops old powder and so on.

His stools got progressively softer cos' I think Similac doesn't use palm oil so the stool consistency changed. Now he poos regularly every morning, sometimes even twice a day.

Mummyfaith,
Oh no.Ryann gf sick ah.. better take care. try to drink more water to replenish the water lost.

Ben Mum,
Dun buy first, i still waiting for my friend reply to see if can get staff discount. If can then compare prices with CC.
Die ah.. getting more and more auntie liao.. =p

Hi rxsti..
Sorry for my late reply, as I was sick yesterday. I just checked with my bank, the cheque for the First Food book has been cashed yesterday!. So, I believe they will send the book to me soon, so I cant take yours. Sorry!