(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

called cheong choon winnie just now. going to get a capella stroller and chicco car seat. have to go shopping centres to see the model i want then tell her. =D shopping again! yeah!

Can your babies call either you or hubby already?

These few days Jordan kept calling "Ma Ma" in a very "teh" way and stretches his hands whenever he wants me to carry. So cute!

wah blue: so fast eh Jordan can call u ma ma already eh. Mine not yet leh.

Re maid not having menses.
My maid came last 21 Nov and only have her menses this month, i think is due to change of environment and hormone changes, that's why the delay. I wasn't concern as she did not display any preggie sign, she also told me she did not have sex with her hubby before she came.

Don't worry lah, your maid's menses could have been delayed just as my maid's.

worrying...baby Yan still not fully recover from her cough & running nose. Her appetite is affected & she has been losing weight!

Hi DooDom:

I found this article on sugars:

Sorbitol: is a bulk sweetener, added to larger products and quantities. It has 60% of the sweetness of sucrose with 33% fewer calories. It is safe for teeth and, according to US-based Calorie Control Council, is non-carcinogenic and can be useful for people with diabetes. However, there have been demands, particularly in the US, for better labelling on products containing sorbitol because of the potential laxative effects of the sweetener when ingested in large quantities.

This probably will have to come down to a personal decision in the long run - whether you would feel more comfortable feeding a natural product that may cause cavities and obesity (if used in high quantities) to your child or opt for an artificial option that is safer for teeth and weight.

It can be found here:

http://www.babyworld.co.uk/information/baby/feeding/sugar_sense.asp

waaaa blueskye. so envious! 1. he can stretch out his hands. 2. he can call mama! so good! wonder when ben can do that. sighs

just got the ikea high chair! v good! so far. just now for dinner, he managed to sit in it for about 20 minutes watching us eat, and ah gong holding his hand. then he POO POO! FAINT! after another 10 minutes, he cannot tahan the 'dirt' perhaps and he ek ek call. sighs. have to clean him up and he refuse to sit in the high chair for more than 15 minutes after that! kept ek ek-ing until my MIL picked him up. sighs. PIL wins again. how to train ben to sit in his high chair until dinner is oveR? *scratch head*

lbs, have to monitor. if really no good, maybe get a second PD's opinion?

hihi girls!

we survived the great roadtrip to malacca! dahlia took sitting in our borowed infant carseat well except when she was fussing for milk, other than that it was immediate snooze-a-thon once i plonked her in the seat.

nothing beats a diaper change at the side of the road in the middle of nowhere on the north south high way hehe!

1313004.jpg

1313005.jpg

lbs, dahlia has been having her cough for the longest time also. we've been to two PDs, been to KK A&E twice, been given 2 kinds of nasal drops, phlegm meds, she's even taken antibiotics for her phlegm. am trying very hard to feed her as much water everyday so the phlegm breaks away. also learnt a technique to gently tap her back when she's coughing so the phlegm breaks off. it's worrying, and i'm still worried. she will be having her jab next monday so we'll see what the doctor says again.

is your husband a smoker?

re: baby fair.. didnt manage to go on fri so didnt catch mummies who went there... hubby was saying public hols sure alot of pple so never go

anyway went just now and realised its really smaller than last year and not much to see.. in the end only spent $10 on nestle instant porriage packs + gerber food jars..
spent more at the TIMES fair instead.. heh.. got books for myself + baby

Ben Mum
We are thinking to bring her to see Chinese physician if condition not improving..

Fau
Nope, both hb & me are non smoker but hb has quite a sensitive nose problem. PD said could be partly due to this..sian

Same, Yan has also been on antibiotics/phelgm/cough/running nose medications..see her taking so much medicines I also heartpain

Ben Mum, voice, ecookies: Soon soon ... last time my gal also started calling people around 6-7 months. She started with "ma ma ma ma ma" (5 times) ... haha ...

Shotbyfau: Wah ... change diaper in the middle of nowhere on expressway??? That's challenging! Cannot change in car?

lbs: Try Eu Yan Sang Hou Ning ... expensive but very effective for cough ... but not sure 5-6 mths baby can take or not ... you can check with the staff there.

atinarin

u can mix the stage 1 milk powder with the stage 2 powder.
portion wise - my natalie drinks 150ml each feed, so i will put 3 scoops of stage 1 n 2 scoops of stage 2. thats how i introduce stage 2 milk.

blueskeye
Thks for the info, we are told that usually Western medicines cant do much for coughing, especially phelgmy cough. Got to monitor her condition loh, if not improving still, will bring her to see my boy's Chinese sinseh liao

blueskye
your maid suspected PREGNANT??!! Sorry, I must have missed your post on this somewhere..but, how she could have possibly, maybe be pregnant?? I mean when she "manage" to find time to 'eh hem u know' ??

Yah, there was once I was coughing for like 1 month and seen 3 western doctors ... on medication the entire month still very bad. In the end, after recommendations from my colleagues who swear by Eu Yan Sang Clinic's prescription for cough, I went to "try" ... the medicine was awful to taste ... but I swear by it too ... only after 2 days, my cough almost well liao ... the medication was for 5 days but by 4th day, I fully recovered so I didn't take the medicine on the 5th day cos it was really awful.

You can bring your baby there for the sinseh to see ...

lbs, she just came last month ... she "did" with her husband before she came mah ... so possible what, if she misses her menses this month.

oh blueskye
I thought she has been with you for a while..then kana pregnant by who knows who..hahaa..scared me!

Hi angel,
Ya lor pai sei forgot to return it to u. I dun mind meeting at harbour front/ Vivo since it's near my place but will it be convenient for u? U prefer to meet me during weekdays or weekends? U let me know ya thanks.

blue,
heng its a false alarm. else u oso headache lor.

lbs,
mayb u can try asking if yan can take the eu yan sang's hou ning sang... i oso taken tat b4. like wat blue said, very effective.

voice,
dun think the maclaren quest is the sports or mod model leh. mine is probably 1 or 2 generation older.
i will try to get the pics taken for both strollers, email u once done. gimme some time ya.

Hi Bena,
Wahhh zac is so lucky to have a hardworking mummy! Got freshly made food everyday!

My new job ah...dunno yet...I've only been on it for 3 weeks. Doing financial reporting and analysis...will see how it goes this month end closing =) Everyday see spreadsheets with numbers lor...my eyes going crossed liao. I wish so much to be able to stay at home to look after Jade leh....so envious of SAHMs now. At 6 mths+ babies have so much development and I'm missing it! Jade started crawling after I went back to work lor

Re ikea high chair, oops didn't know you were abt to get it! Dun be swayed by my comments! Think its personal preference lah and also very much depends on whether your baby is cooperative! Just like strollers and carseats...can be good for one baby but your baby might not like it! Best if you can try it out first...go ikea cafe and put Zac on one and try to feed him. I know some mummies who swear by it coz its cheap and easy to clean.

The Graco high chair I got was from Robinsons...bought during the sale at abt $200 after 20% discount. Here's Jade in it waiting for her food - the tray can be pushed in to prevent her from bending forward; and the backrest prevents her from flipping backwards. Dun have picture of the legs but its more stable and not possible to topple over. And a good thing abt it is that it folds flat for storage.

1313267.jpg

Blue,
Wah lucky your maid is not preggy...you must have been so worried.

Fau,
Nice pic of daddy and yr gal!
You guys are so brave to drive into m'sia now, and even braver to do it with yr baby hehe! Was the jam at the causeway bad? Ever since the mas selamat guy escaped, I can see the jam from the causeway is all the way up till my house here at Bukit Panjang in the evenings leh.

Irene,
Its convenient for me too...you forgot i'm working there
I can meet you on weekdays after work. This week or next week also can...no hurry don't worry.

Hi Blue,
I just saw the teat 4 in Kiddy Palace at Choa Chu Kang haha...but very far from you lah. I switched to teat 4 when Jade turned 6 mths. It was such a relief coz she wasn't finishing her milk feeds...even 120ml also cannot finish and she was like not interested in drinking. She'll take like 30-60ml and start pushing away the bottle after that. It was really weird coz she used to drink 210ml with no problem. After changing teats, she gulps her milk and finishes all.

Hellooo Jade
Hmmm... so cute

Angel,
Gee.. spreadsheets with numbers huh.. sounds so boring! I certainly think only money is the only motivating factor for you now
Wow.. Jade can crawl already!?! My Zac is so slow.. can't even sit properly yet! As for high chair, I think I'll just get a preloved one from the WTS thread here.. bo lui ah - common complaint of a SAHM, so don't envy!
Btw, are you gonna put Jade to Shichida? I'm very tempted leh..

Hmmmm, sounds like Jordan ... but he's been disinterested in milk since his 3rd month leh ... imagine he was drinking 170ml when he was 2 months old and now he's drinking barely 120ml when he's 6 months old.

Yah lor, CCK so far for me!
And somemore now many places have 20% off Avent leh ...

angel,
Jade looks so cute

Ya hor i forgot u r working there blur me must be epidural fault haha... i'll see when my hb free to go there for dinner then i'll sms u in advance

need some advice.
I am thinking of getting a new stroller for ryann.
any particular model or brand is gd?
not too ex .. but not to narrow cos ryann very broad.

there's Avent teat no 4? everywhere i go i only see teat 3, the variable flow one which my girl hates. haha now i know, its just oos everywhere...anyone knows anywhere clsoer to AMK that sells it pls let me know...

BEna: Wei, u say bo lui still want to go Sichida? Steady man...

phoebe
are you looking at light weight stroller?

My boy is consider big size & we used Maclaren for him. Even he is 3 years old now, he still can fit in the stroller (though we hardly used for him liao)

Hi Angel..
Dun worrie, you get soon like the speadsheet with numbers... I have been working with it for 4 years liao since I joined my coy as a supply chain planner.. hehehe! Everyday deal with NUMBERS!!!

Btw, Jade can crawl liao?! Tat's fast.. Edison is still not crawling yet... He has 2 teeth liao, very cute when he show off his teeth when smiling.. haha!

Hi blue..
You muz be relieved that your maid isnt pregnant.. Btw, why r u replacing your old maid? The old one not good?

After work today, I will go to another maid agency for maid-hunting again.. Aiyo! So sianz....

bena, where is the bedok interchange place to buy blenders? =D i bought the ikea high chair le. quite steady. not bad.

blueskye, how come ur high chair has tray and mine doesnt? din see it the last time i was there. where did u get ur tray?

angel, u happy lo. jade can crawl le. another milestone attained. =D so glad for u. ben aso cannot sit up straight yet. but put him on high chair, with his hands supporting himself, he still not bad. not shaky shaky. =D

wiselyn, ben used to 'blow' into his teat 2 and takes up to 20 minutes to finish his milk. i changed to teat 3 and he stopped blowing and finish his milk in 10 minutes flat! same prob as jade i guess. lol....bb will tell u when he/she wans the teat change. LOL

wise,
Maybe bcos u control ur clara diet mah so she still stick to no 2 teats lor haha...
I'm still thinking when to change jerald's teat to no 4?? Just got the teat yday at kiddy palace & bought a magic cup for him.

Wan to ask if any of ur bb here know how to take out their own clothings? My boy knows how to remove 1 side of his long sleeve pj past 2 nights. I really got a shock when i saw him half naked in the morning.

Hi Blue, it must be such a relief your maid is not preggie

RE: Ikea high chair
I also bought the Ikea chair. So far, quite ok
I like its clean cut design. The tray is not included, must buy separately... Can be found at the same location as the chair.

RE: Dumex Cereal
I have been alternating between Dumex and Frisocream and EYS's brown rice. So far, I quite like the Dumex. It has zinc which Nestle doesn't
As for the sucrose, initially I was also quite against it but all the cereals that have added nutrients, besides Heinz, all contain sucrose. Anyway, my PD actually gave us the Nestle cereals as samples so I supposed if the PD says it's ok, it should not be a major problem. I think it is up to the Mummies' comfort. For me, because Caelen is so a non-milk drinker, the priority is to have as much nutrients in the cereal as possible so I resigned myself to the sugar.

RE: Teats
Actually I cut a much bigger hole (think almost 5mm) than any of the no. teats :p So far, Caelen drinks it with no problem even when half asleep. This is because i only have a 5mins window to feed him before he went into a full zzz...

RE: Stroller
Mine is Combi but it also seemed too narrow for Caelen liao so betternot buy that. Think Peg Pergo got one of the largest sitting area

Oh, blue, can please let me know where is the EYS clinic? My hubby has been coughing non-stop for a while liao. Western medicine helps but once he stops, it comes back. Thanks!

Hi Irene, hahaa how did jerald managed to do that! It is amazing the patterns our babies come up with.