(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

atinarin, did you read the diaper rash cream instruction? I think it's stated there if the rash does not subside in 5 or 7 days (if I remember correctly), then have to bring your baby to see a doctor already.

atinarin, don't worry! Last time, my boy had rashes on his back (not diaper rash tho) which lasted about a week. I was monitoring him and was thinking if it doesn't subside in 1 wk time, then I would bring him to the doc, but luckily it went off. So you juz have to minitor closely. =)

yoki: thank u...guess cos im not allowed to sell as a new member, lagi worse, someone joined my thread. its ok,le tthe mods delete it. have other forums that are not so stringent.

Hi Irene,
My new place quite ok...staying on 30th floor! Stand in the lift for very long lor hehe...still not used to it. We are just a few blocks away from my SIL's house so very convenient lor. Now everytime I need some peace and quiet I will drop my maid and Jade off at her place kekeke! Bad mummy.

Arisz,
Which block does your parents stay? I'm in blk 181.
Next time can meet you drink coffee at BP Plaza hehe

Irene,
Nice meeting you yesterday
Your boy looks really tall and handsome

Yoki,
I din even know you are going!

Atinarin,
That Ikea chair got strap? You make me tempted to get one leh..You no good lah.. always dun let me see your girl..selfish leh.. good "things" must share mah.

Gingerleaf,
I think I saw you from afar leh

Poohwei,
Nice meeting you yesterday
Hope your girl is alrite.. when you told me yesterday, I was totally shocked. My gosh..I can't imagine how shocked you were when you can't find her on the bed.

Angel!!
Welcome back! We miss you! You've MIAed for sooo long! Any updates on Jade? How's little chubby aka du du zhui coping now that mummy is working?

Fitty nuts,
You can get swim diapers from Huggies. I intend to get more for Zac cuz he's signed up for Aquaducks and his old pack is finishing. Wanna share? A swim diaper will give you a peace of mind when they are in the water. Can you imagine what will happen if they poo in the water? I think it'll freak other swimmers out. Lol!

Blue,
How are you????!!

Hello bena, haven't seen you for a while! I'm ok ... recovering from the surgery ... now looking less like a luohan liao ... but eyes and face still abit swollen.

blueskye, u make me laugh. luohan? y luohan?
can be ready for work on monday?

in the end din go to the bb fair. all reviews no good. today went to parkway to shop. bought 2 ice-trays with lids from isetan. $3.60. is long ice cuboids one. dunno if it is the ones u all have been talking about. =D with lids. FORGOT to buy hand blender! SIGHS! went to tampines isetan but they no have household items liao. went to courts all OOS! sighs. have to go and find tomorrow.

went to parkway GIANT and bought DUMEX rice cereal. anyone tried it? is it good? cant find heinz rice cereal leh. anyone knows where to get it? nestle one has sucrose, so not getting it now. maybe later. can help?

Ben Mum, cos first 2 days after surgery my forehead swelled ... my hubby said I looked like luohan fish. Then on 3rd day, my forehead still swelling but the swell has gone to my eyes area ... so he said I'm machiam a luohan cum goldfish combi! Now, the swelling has moved down to eye bag and face area ... though still abit funny looking, but at least much better than few days back.

Monday should be able to go back ...

ur hb so bad! must scold him. LOL. but he v humourous. =D was it v raw to the touch? did jordan 'hit' ur face? ben always hits my face now. OUCH

now they are in this phase. =D

can ask what high chair u have bought for jordan and ur girl? (forgot ur girl's name) can refresh me? =D

cookie_monster, i tried to find in cold storage (siglap) but dun have heinz rice cereal. all the stage 2 and 3 only. maybe go parkway cold storage to find again ba. peng! i never thought of NTUC! LOL. blur me!!!!!

Ben Mum, last time my gal using Cosco high chair but my mum finds it too big ... so we switched to IKEA one ... used during my gal's time to now pass down to Jordan.

Btw hor, I just had a long chat with my maid ... only ended the conversation now when my hubby came back.

She suspects she's pregnant ... and requested I buy the pregnancy kit to let her test. Sigh, I am at a loss now ... what should I do huh? I dare not think of the consequences if she's really pregnant ... will I lose my security bond if it's conceived before she came here?

blueskye, did u buy insurance? i bought one for my maid. i thought ur maid just joined u? check to see if her impregnated date was within ur time of contract?

i saw the cosco chair at toys r us. ikea better? but amy said her girl only sat in it from 9 months leh. jordan sit in it liao?

spent 1.5hrs at KK A and E cos baby's diaper rash was spreading...and all the PDs are closed..

so many children there today...and i can understand if a child coughs openly but so many adults never bothered to cover their mouths when coughing...dont understand the kind of people out there...

one guy did it and he's lucky hb was feeding my girl otherwise he would defnitely have told the guy off...his fave line "Are u stupid?!"

Hihi Bena!

How's Zac doing with his solids? Is he enjoying it? What does he like? Jade is coping very well at my SIL's place during the day...she don't seem to miss me when I'm gone lor *sob sob* I'm the one with the withdrawal symptoms missing her during the day.

Re ikea high chair, it does come with 2-point straps which goes round the waist, but I find it does very little to keep a baby in place for feeding! Jade is very fidgity nowadays...cannot keep still lor. She keeps bending forward to look at the floor or suck her toes, or she'll try to flip backwards (ever since she pushed off the table and almost fell she's been trying to do it again!). When I feed her somehow her food always ends up all over the place/face! I'm using the Graco high chair at home and feeding her is such a breeze. It has a high back so she can't flip, and it has a 5 point harness and a tray that can be pushed in so she can't lean forward. The chair is very comfy and she's happy being in it, even when she's not eating.

Blue,
Did your operation go well? Hope you recover soon and become mei mei again!

xman,
Re playard, I decided not to buy it coz I don't want to confine Jade. Thanks anyway.

amy,
Re maid, you finally got one huh! Wish you good luck!!
I heard Crislo is quite good too...alot of mummies here go there to get their maids. But hor...no matter how good the agency is, the maid may be good or bad lor. So it really depends on your luck.

Irene,
Oh no I just remembered my books are still with you hor? I can meet anytime...maybe meet in HarbourFront/Vivo city will be easiest ya?

Blue,
Re maid, lucky your maid talk to you abt getting pregnant...At least you can act before its too late! If she tests positive, quickly get her an air ticket and send her back straight away and cancel her work permit coz MOM surely will hold you responsible for her pregnancy and you're likely to lose the bond.

Blue,
I really think you are very brave. The thought of doing a hair transplant scares me.

Aiyo.. your maid.. I'm speechless... Hope it's a false alarm.. but hor.. u better talk to her to avoid future problems leh.

Ben Mum,
I also can't find Heinz rice cereal! Been to several cold storage and ntuc liao. I wonder why. Hope it's not that they have stopped manufacturing the product due to some defect?!? Zac has finished a pack. Hey if you are looking for braun blender, I know of a shop at Bedok Central that sells it cheap. If interested lemme know.. Actually so far, I have been making Zac's food daily rather than freezing it. Best is I do it manually rather than use a blender :p. No money to buy ice trays and blender lah..

Angel,
So happy that you respond so quickly! Really welcome back, hahahaha! It's always the case isn't it, that mummies will suffer more withdrawal symptoms than their babes when they are apart! Jade's an independent girl, ya? Hmm..after how you describe Ikea's high chair, I think won't get it for Zac. He is hyperactive. How's work so far? Hectic, or a breeze?

RE: Maid
Yes, I bought insurance ... but the thing is, she only came last month. So if she's found pregnant now and it was conceived before she came, I shouldn't be liable right? Then becos now she is still repaying her loan, do I still need to pay for her air-ticket? If not, then who? She wouldn't have money to pay lor ... anyway she said she doesn't wanna go back ... she wanna work here ... she rather abort the baby (btw she confessed to me that the first time she came to Singapore to work few years back, she was also found pregnant when she did her pre-employment check ... so her agent brought her to abort the baby before sending her to the employer). Sigh ... praying she's not pregnant cos we find her not bad ... a pity if she is and we have to get her replaced ... cos re-training maids can be quite a headache and process is damm tiring!!!

RE: High Chair
Jordan is already using the IKEA high chair. He is feeding well in it and I don't get a single mess on the chair ... quite clean on his face too ... of cos there will be some cereal around his mouth area which can be easily wiped off with a wet hanky after his meal.

RE: Hair Transplant
Angel, so far the post-surgery reviews seem quite positive ... I should see new hair growing in 4-6 months' time.
Bena, it's not a matter of brave or not brave lor ... it's either you wanna look bald for the rest of your life or you rather "endure" short-term and gain in the long-term. Afterall, hubby is the main sponsor for the surgery ... he's the one who kept encouraging me to go ... in fact, he was the one who was researching on all these stuff before I even knew about something call "hair transplant".

Just for info ...

What is hair transplant?

Natural, life long hair restoration is now available thanks to the development of current, state-of-the-art techniques.

Hair transplantation involves removing a strip of permanent hair-bearing skin from the back or sides of the scalp (donor area) and then, using various techniques, the-strip is usually dissected into micrografts (containing 1-2 hairs) and minigrafts (containing 3-4 hairs) each. The micro/minigrafts are then meticulously planted into the bald or thinning area of the scalp (recipient area).

The creation of very small micrografts (follicular units) has allowed very natural, feathered hairlines to be grafted, and avoids an abrupt, "pluggy look" that used to behind the hairline for added density. Depending on the degress of balding for the frontal area and similarly for the crown area, 1-3 procedures involving several hundred of perhaps 1,500 or more grafts may be required to achieve the desire (of course, more procedures could be done if hair loss progress or greater density is desired).

Within 24 hours small crusts will form on each graft which are shed in approximately 7-10 days. The grafted hairs will often start to grow by 6-12 weeks after the procedure and will continue to grow for a lifetime.

angel, where did u get the graco high chair? how much did u pay for it?

bena, where is the shop in bedok central? i live in bedok leh. =D do let me know which shop it is. so near!

anyone tried the dumex rice cereal? reviews?

blueskye, talk to the agency and see what u and they can come to an agreement to. i am sure they have to be liable aso. what if the bb is legal ie her hb's bb? then can give birth to it or not?

gingerlead, wah...still up at 2am. how come?

Ben Mum, last time I gave my gal Dumex cereal also ... I quite like them cos it's cheap and texture very fine. I was a fan of cereals and I always have a variety of them so that she gets different taste everyday. I stock up Nestle and Dumex range.

Personally on other brands, I find Heinz and Gerber abit expensive and not exactly very nice also ... Frisocrem I find it's too sweet. So hor, I stick to Nestle and Dumex which is both cheap and nice and not too sweet.

Ben Mum, think I'll just get the pregnancy kit to let everyone have "peace of mind". If she's really pregnant then will call agent to check what's next ... anyway she did it with her husband so it shouldn't be my liability what ...

Hi blue..
I got a shock, how can she get pregnant? She is your new maid, right? Seems like before she is transferred to you, someone actually 'have sex' with her?! *FAINT*

I think you need to buy her a ticket & send her back. Then you wont lose your security deposit. Check with your agent.

I visited JDM yesterday. Saw 2 transfer maids there, they seem quite alright to me. Was considering whether to take one of them. Both Filipinos, single parent! Problem is my FIL doesnt like single parent. But it seems to be that its very common in the Philippines. I browsed through the biodatas, I can see as much as 40% of them r single parent.

Re: Nestle cereal.

I always have problem blending it. There r lots of small particles and doesnt blend smoothly. No difference whether I use hot water, lukewarm water or wat.. Any advise how to make it smoother?

I have no problem with Frisocrem. Its so easy to blend and is very smooth!

ben mum: NTUC got sell heinz, think giant & carrefour has it too.

re: baby "touching" face...
yah mine is the same.. sometimes like so sweet gently touch ur face and coo-coo away then suddently will just pinch my face with whole hand, resulting in angry welts!! *faint*

blueskye: hope you are recovering fast!!

Emily, she's married lah ... she said she had her menses on 6-8 Feb and she had sex with her husband on 9, 10 and 11 Feb, few days before she came here (she arrived in Singapore on 16 Feb and I "collected" her on 18 Feb. Till now she hasn't had her menses ... so she's scared she might be pregnant though she said her husband didn't ejaculate inside her.

RE: Nestle Cereal

You have to mix very fast one ... what I do is, I "dig" a hole in the middle of the cereal and pour the water into the hole and mix from there ... easier ... you can try.

atinarin: so how is the little one?? doc prescribed nappy rash cream?

yah some pple can b very inconsiderate. was at the PD for my baby 2nd pnemo jab and lots of toddlers coughing away w/o covering mouth and their parents never comment at all.. little one dun know how to cover mouths stil okie but parents should teach them what?!

just took my boy for his 2nd pnuemo jab and he weighs 8.5kg and 68.5cm near 5 mths old.

forgot to ask doc which percentile he;s in but i reckon should be on the high side. ha

ecookie: ya these pple are terribly inconsiderate, as adults we should be more knowledgable than that right...after SARS and what nots...

Your boy is pretty plump ya heavier than my girl and she's a month older hahah..

Doctor prescribed a steroidal cream and a moisturiser...he said my girls skin looks very sensitive...

Even when she's in the carrier, that fabric makes her legs all red..

blueskye, i see the nestle ingredients and saw sucrose there. i remember some of u mummies mentioned the sucrose not good for bb? did i recall wrongly? most prob will give ben dumex then. =D hb bought 2 packets! faint! i asked him if he knows bb will like it. hb said, "well, does he have a choice?" LOL. good hb! hahahaha

And for voice, we were chatting on MSN on the mess during cereal time. Was telling you the mess Jordan makes still manageable ... only around the mouth area ... here's a pic of him after feeding him Heinz Pumpkin, Potato and Beef Puree.

1312498.jpg

thanks blueskye. ikea high chair good? hmm...

after hearing angel, i do have second thoughts. but i see jordan in the high chair. the back like quite high aso leh. he happy in the chair? =D

thanks ecookie. will go NTUC to have a shop shop. =D

may go down to cheong choon to see the strollers and car seats and high chairs too. have a variety better. =D quite keen on the ikea high chair. looks v easy to clean. and not warm after sitting long long. good training for school! HA!

Ben Mum, think Jade fell cos she kicked the table and the IKEA chair fell backwards ... as long as there is nothing for Ben to kick, should be fine. Come to think of it, if it's other high chair, if baby kick something in front, the high chair may also fall backwards.