(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi blueskye,
u need to click on the search by frenster and enter the address as seen in the picture below:

1297794.jpg

Ai yoh finally got a chance to log in to the forum! Hope everybody is well! I have been so busy adjusting to working life, and packing all my things for the big move (which is tomorrow).

Re spinach,
Alot of old folks say spinach is good...but I read that spinach should be avoided or given in small quantities till baby turns 1 year old coz of high level of nitrates. Here's what I found on the internet:

http://www.nncc.org/Nutrition/make.babyf...
"Beets and spinach have high concentrations of naturally-occurring nitrates which can reduce the ability of the baby's hemoglobin to transport oxygen. Use these foods in moderation or not at all until the baby reaches his or her first birthday."

http://www.umext.maine.edu/onlinepubs/ht...
"High-nitrate vegetables, such as beets, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, celery, collard greens, lettuce, spinach and turnips, should not be fed to babies in large quantities. The naturally occurring nitrates in these vegetables can change to nitrites, which bind iron in the blood and make it difficult to carry oxygen. This can make it hard to breathe and cause the skin to become blue. Limit the serving size of these vegetables to one to two tablespoons per feeding."

Phoebe,
Fyi Jade also started waking up at 4-5+ in the morning hungry nowadays. Think she's going through a growth spurt. Most babies have growth spurt at 6 months, if they have previously been sleeping through without a feed and suddenly wake up hungry, then its most likely a growth spurt. During growth spurts, we should increase their intake during the day for all feeds. The most impt feeds to increase first are the 1st feed of the day, and the last feed before they go to sleep. I read its better to start baby on solids by 6 months, coz milk cannot satisfy their appetites anymore. Sometimes Jade still wakes up in the middle of the night, I try to settle her with water first or if she still won't go back to sleep I give her 2 oz of milk instead of giving her a full feed so that I don't encourage her to wake up at that time. Then when she wakes up at 7am I give her a full feed of milk, plus her breakfast cereals/puree. Sometimes she won't want to finish her milk lor but can still eat alot of solids. I think I read somewhere that milk is easily digested so baby tends to feel hungry after a while, whereas solids will keep baby full longer so once you introduce solids, most babies will be able to sleep longer through the night.

Ok, someone sent me the link already ... hmmmm, confirm that's her? I thought the person should be someone who look very "auntie" leh ...

atinarin, she is prettier than me...so pretty lo. heheheh...

gingerleaf, blueskye,
yah, i aso very surprised she so young only. somemore educated leh. sighs. design school. really wan to know what is she thinking.

Morning mommies, i am starting to cut back on pumping liao, getting tired already, seem like i cannot cope with pumping, work and taking care of baby when i get home liao and also not counting the things i want to enjoy myself liao. but at the same time feeling very sad she will be missing out on the nutrients liao.
dilemma! many a times i missed the bedtime pump cos i already fall asleep....this morning already missed the breakfast pump cos i already wake up late for work... wish my HB can handle night feed himself and give me a good night rest but he cant handle liao...

hi amy, i find that my ss drops on the first few days of my menses, after that it will go back to normal supply, thats my personal experience, kena two times already.

phoebe, your boy drinks 180ml ah..my gal still at 90-100ml only leh...she simply refuses after drinking that much, recently even worse, only 70-80ml only...still on 3 hrs feed nowadays.

madlynette: poor thing, yah juggling all these can be very taxing! how abt u power pump during weekend, to store some milk so myra at least can have BM till she turns 6 mths old (which is few more weeks away)?

thanks for the encouragement ecookie. will try my best. ;) just that i feel so sad when i get tired cos i thinking i can't give the best to my bb.

yoki: yah same here, i wondering how long can we let our babies maintain the sitting position for how long. cos mum n MIL kept on saying their spine not yet fully strong so putting them in sitting position not too good for their back..

madlynette:
pumping is indeed really hard work. i am pumping 2 to 3 times at work. imagine the time taken out of my working time! good thing my work can arrange appt kind but feel very pai seh walking to sink to wash the pump a few times everyday. and of course the pumping time 'eats' into working hours too. but i remember reading somewhere that we don't have to feel guilty not giving BM if we can't. if you can have better rest, you can play with your bb better and look after bb better too! so that makes up for it!
a healthy and happy mummy makes a healthy and happy baby!

Amy, At first he alway stuck at 150ml but always cannot finish. so my sis suggested that maybe he not hungry enough so always dun wan to finish his milk. and i tell u ryann dun wan milk is use scream one hor.. Ask Pinkyj, she seen my ryann almost tear down orchard road before.
So i try to drag the timing but feed more. Make him hungry then feed more gradually. Then drag to 4 hrly but 170ml then increase to 180ml.
my ss also will drop but will come bk.. have enuff rest and drink more water.

ytd i tried to increase last feed but have to use 25 min to make him finish his 210ml. he still in the middle of the night still scream leh.. but still slping la.. so dunno why these few days always like tat.. cry during slp.IS it Teething???

Agree with Voice,we should move on. Dont waste our time on this kind of people. maybe now she very happy to get all the publicity leh? Very high possibility she is reading our post now!

yoki,ecookie,

my PD taught me the tripod sitting position to build the strength of the spine. Isaac will at most hold the position for 5mins, head will start to drop and body roll to the side. If not, will attempt to crawl forward but body too heavy + legs kena stuck, then 'ark ark ark'. LOL!

So everyday will train him during his play time. Now when on stroller or car seat, he likes to lean forward trying to sit upright.

re: sitting position

i always tell myself if she's tired of sitting, she'll just tumble herself to the pillows behind her hehe. don't you girls think the babies look so cute sitting down? and then they give one kind of look as if theyre old enough to do everything adults can do, only to sway to the side and kiss the floor keke.

angel,

moving house is really a big job! all the best and good luck.
thanks for the note on spinach. was abt to give maegan 2 cubes later when i'm back after work.

re : milk ss

i hvnt hv my menses returned yet though. but ss oredi drop. tried the soup n power pump on sat. but then ss dropped again after 3 days...
maegan is 6mths n 10 days old liao. i'm thinking if i shld stop bf.....

fitty_nut can explain more on the tripod way of sitting.. my boy always fall forward despite me making a pillow mountain behind him for him to lean on.
he will push himself up and then only to fall forward! lol.. he hasnt learn to support himself with his hands when he leans forward when sitting

Hi fitty nut, what is the tripod position like? Can explain? Thanks!

RE: Friendster photo
Agree that not pretty. Got the 'bu jian dan' look :p

Ben mum, your inner beauty already outshine her 10 times lar.

myra has been very good at feedsleh, she only 5 mths and 1 week old and already feeding 210ml x 4. also already started to intro solids to her since saturday, but she not so good at swallowing the rice cereal yet. so giving her 1 o 3 teaspoon rice cereal once a day. last check up she is 50 percentile. going to weight her again tomorrow at her next jab.
i would like her to be a chubby baby

re: friendster photo
i must say they look like very loving family. but those people who kena cheated by her must hate herhor. see her pic surely want to spit one.

Hi Merkon
My boy also takes about 150 to 160ml and sometimes he doesn't finish as well... he is 6 months already.

Hi fittynut, oh i see. Thanks for the pic to illustrate
My baby has been sitting somewhat like that. So now I know that there's a name for it hahaa. Your baby very cute and cheery leh.

RE: List of things to buy for baby
If any of you still keep a copy of the list of things to buy for baby, can send to me please? One of my friend's baby is arriving soon

thanks mummies! me worried cos my friend's baby gal (just 3 months old) is same weight as my boi boi. he's coming 6 mths and weigh 8 kg and 67cm . checked he's only 50percentile. i blame my husb side ... ha .. my family side all very tua jiat one.
madlynette: i also want my bb chubby chubby!

fitty_nut: issac right? so cute! hee. okie will try wormy on this position soon.. but think mayb too early cos when in sitting position he just fall forward like freefall haah, never thought of using his hands to support leh

dunno is it a mummy thing or not ... seeing all your bb's pics make me feel like hugging and kissing them all! so so cute!!!

ben mum: dont see urself no up la...im sure u r a pretty mummy...hatred and deceit shows on the face...kindness and patience do too..

fau: our girls sama sama la...my girl not 7kg yet...how tall is dahlia?

Anyone goes to Bishan Pediatric Centre - Dr Oh Meng Choo? Was with her for long time, now that she has left, not sure still want to go back there. Anyone has recommendation for evening PD clinic around Bishan/AMK or Hougang area?