(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

wana ask what u normally do with bb when they wake up? what type of games do u play with them? care to share. thx

maybe would like to soak the brown rice overnight but used the water to cook the rice.

as per the article i have posted earlier on

RE: brown rice porridge
I was told by an elderly that the brown rice has to be soaked for at least an hour before cooking so that it will be cooked easily, will not take so long to cook. Mummies can try, me personally has not try cos has not started cooking porridge yet.

pinkyj, should be open to public for the bumbo purchase.

darmae, i think max storage for 1 month period.

RE: Intro solids
Yesterday started 2 feeds of solids for my gal, 1x morning and 1x evening.... during bedtime try to pat her to sleep, but when i put her down in her cot, she will flip over and be awake again. then i will carry her again, and put her to lie on my bed... she will make er er er sound. Is she feeling bloated? any mummies encounter the same situation... pls advice

Re: Playing with baby
Hehee... I think I asked the same question last time. Very envious of mummies whose babies can entertain themselves at least for a while. Mine can't play by himself. Not interested in toys as well. He will only tolerate being put on his tummy for 5mins max before screaming bloody murder. Now at least he can turn himself back so not so agitated :p

Caelen LOVES to jump. We have to hold him under the shoulder and bounce him up and down. He gets so good that he can even bend his knees in anticipation now. After we go home, we bring him to our bed and take turns to 'jump' him. Damn tiring
Else, we carry him downstairs to gai gai. Very boring to walk around the house.
Very tempted to buy walker though but MIL not keen.

Sometimes, I will prop him against pillows and sing some nursery rhymes with action to him. This will last, say, 3 mins? Then it's back to jumping

darmae, try to steam your vegetable or other food instead of boiling, as it will cause greater loss of nutrients.

RE: jumping baby
i think now our babies are going thru a jumping phase... or is it that they learn how to jump from jumperoo. My gal also jump a lot, whenever we carry her to sit on our lap, she will prop herself up and start jumping. When shes in her stroller, she will also jump in it, thinking that she's in jumperoo....

tiny
I dont know if her losing weigh due to her running nose that time or what loh..but PD didnt say anything wor..

I better go home to weigh her later..haha

peapod
spinach is very good for babies & in fact my PD highly recommend me to introduce when my gal turns 6 months..

Oh, to add on. I realised that Caelen likes to watch DVDs with songs. He will watch it intently and quietly while we feed him. I borrowed some from the library. So far, I tried Baby Einstein, Baby Genius, Brainy baby. He only likes the Baby Genius ones. The Baby Einstein ones are so boring that even I tune out. Think it is the music. Caelen obviously have no patience for Mozart.

mummies, i dunno wat is wrong with my son recently. his drinking schedule like so weird..
he drink 4 hrly. 180ml each time
7-8 am - 180ml
11 -12 pm - 180ml
3-4pm - 180ml
7-9pm - 180ml sometime he will slp thru certain feeds but his last feed usually 7-9 and able to slp thru till next morning. He will usually slp at 9-10plus.
Recently, he started waking up at 4-5am crying for me. those screaming for milk and cannot wait kind.
i haven intro solid cos wait for injection this sat for clearance.

wat shld i do?
1) increase last feed to 200ml or more??
2) dream feed at 11pm?
3) or increase overall intake
4) intro solid? but i read that solid will nt make a bb slp thru the night leh...

How huh.. i am in zombie state recently plus all the investigating.

totoro,
when times bk fair? gt bb books? i interested to buy more books for my son to cultivate his habit of reading.

Hi rxsti

Oh, your gal is so cute to try to jump in the stroller hehee. I was worried that Caelen is hyperactive leh. He cannot sit nor lie still. My PILs are usually exhausted by the end of the day from taking care of him and they are complaining of back and shoulder pains liao

I am really keen to try spinach.. maybe I will try to add into the porridge first. We even let him try some soup (of course without the salt and oil). He loves it! If only it is as easy to feed him cereal

Hi atinarin, Caelen is still eking a few times in the night. Sometimes he will wake up and cry quite badly. We cannot figure out why he does that. Maybe overstimulated? Maybe jump too much?

rxsti: ha so funny to hear ur girl wanting to jump everywhere!

peapod: spinach is a healthy nutritious first food to be introduced to babies, so go try it!

phoebe: maybe try a dream feed ard 11-12?
see if that works.. if not, maybe talk to ur PD soon.. ur baby may need solids soon if milk is not enough for him

/me passes phoebe a $10 mothercare voucher.. *nah*

now at least can rest a bit. though my eyes feel so strained staring hard at the pc for the past few days.

Hi Phoebe, since you're seeing Ryann's PD this sat, you better bring up your concern to the PD. Your boy at least can drink 180ml, mine max. only 165ml, sometimes cannot finish too. I think dream feed at 11+pm sounds good, before you go to sleep, else the waiting time from 9pm to next morning might be too long for Ryann, he is still a growing boy.

peapod, i think its just a phase of growth, dun worry. Spinach is rich in vitamin A and rich in iron, its definitely good for baby. Wanted to buy organic ones for my gal next week, as this week i will be doing pumpkin, sweet potatoes and carrot.

phoebe, i think you should increase the volume of feed to 210ml, my gal is able to finish 210ml. Since intro of solids 2 weeks ago, sometimes she can sleep thru till 6 am but sometimes she will wake up around 2am for another feed... so its inconsistent lor. i was also hoping that she can sleep thru after intro of solids. WIll monitor this few days if she can sleep thru, yesterday started 2x solid feeds and she slept thru till 6am.

phoebe,

maybe u try increasin the last feed see if he still wakes up.. i read somewhere tat when bb are goin thru the teethin stage they will wake up in the middle of the nite wan...

Wow, looks like the girls can drink more than boys in our thread!! Pinkyj's baby also drinking 200+ml per feed. Girls tummy bigger than boys?

Avocado:

Introduced Avocado puree to my baby today lol he shows me the disgusted look and wanna vomit... i dont think he likes it.. looks very funny seeing him wanna puke.. bian tai mummy haha Poor baby got to suffer with avocado puree for 3 days.

Re: Pics

where i wanna see too! where tattoo.

Bumbo Seat With Tray:

59.90!! i wanna get! but no have Istan member =(

Spinach:

Mummies can advise.. wat is it called in chinese?

tiny voice: no leh my girl taking 90ml at most per feed...everyone tells me its too little but what can i do, her tummy really cannot take it

Phoebe,

My girl milk schedule is almost like yours except that she still will cry for milk at 11pm/12am and another confirmed timing ard 4.30am. these 2 timing is those that die die must feed milk one but she would only take like 80ml or something only 50ml. Tried giving her water and pacifier and both does not work anymore.

times expo sales starts next week 20th, same weekend as the baby fair. I think shld have children book there.

thanks peapod for answering my qns

i have been on leave a wk to take care of bb and really duno how to spend my time with bb. Cant entertain her whole day, got so tired. Really salute to SAHM!At least when we work, head home few hrs, play with bb still not so bad but whole day..soooooo tiring..somemore bb is not those tat will guai guai sleep thruout one..wan to do my stuff oso abit difficult

really envy for mummies whose babies can sit there play alone too..

Yoki:

Its very tiring facing babies 24/7... But when he laugh and giggles u'll be very happy lol! i think of everything to entertain him till i dont even have time for myself until he goes to lala land... "the boss goes to sleep then i can have my break" try singing to him , read a book , throw him into exersaucer. But most of the time he wants u to carry!! .......... or talk to him

phoebe,
thanks for discovering the scam. how can shd person exist hor...so sad that she made use of our kind heartedness.

just came back from isetan sale...having headache now. did not get any baby stuff..just household ones.

nynke is waking up at around 2am nowadays...vv tiring...

Vone,
Yeah, tats true!Thou tired, seeing her laugh and giggles will make u happy. But i cant tink of what to play with her. i have a walker but she can oni play less than 10mins and wan my attention. Place the walker beside me, she still scream. Oni when i start to look at her or talk to her,then she is ok.

sometimes feel abit upset that i didnt spend all the time playing with her..

yap, tats a fisherprice items. am thinking of getting.

Yoki:

Ya lo they jus want our attention. Umm.. I knoe put her on ur bed and then sing twinkle twinkle, give her a tummy massage ! play with her using hankie peek a boo. ! Put her on high chair look out of the window tell her wats those, and hear the sound of the rain. ! Hope all these works

haha..u r so funny!

not much time to try liaos..but will giv it a try coz nxt wk start work..now she's sleeping but from 7pm, she woke up twice crying with eyes closing and in flipping position..hais..

Avocado:

I see him eat until quite ke lian lol wana vomit look.. should i continue and feed tml? Very poor thing leh he totally dont like it.. i can understand how it feels

rxsti,

thanks for the note on frozen puree's storage shelf life.
re : boiling of spinach. i got the note fm first book to boil lor.. other vege n fruits, i steam them

re : milk intake
mummies who hv introduced solids (1 or 2 meals) to your bb. may i ask if the milk intake remain the same or has reduced?

saw her fster profile already...well at least shes not the same scammer from another forum that i read about...

one comment to her was from someone claiming she stole her pics leh

just saw the scammer's pic. wondering what made her do such a thing really. sighs. she has a daughter too. her friendster pic so pretty and hb and daughter so sweet. sighs. think liao really feel sad for the teachers who had taught her leh.

re sleeping
ben sleeps very little in the day leh. i think 3-4 half an hours naps in total. i envy bb who can sleep for 2 hours! wow! so good!

Avocado
Hi Vone, I also feed my son avocado today, 1st day. He took it quite well, I mashed it & mixed it with ebm. Maybe u can try.

Hi Sept mummies,

Can I continue to join your thread? My bb Isaac born 6 Oct. Introducing solids to him already. Hope to 'tou(1) shi(1)' from you mummies...

So far have tried pumpkin puree. He loves it. Tml trying green peas.

Yoki,
The jumperoo costs at least $250 in SG. Taka bb fair now selling one...but can't rem if it's fisherprice.

Vone,
Spinach in Chinese is Yin Choy. Some said Por Choy.

Re: Avocado puree
Err..will not try now cos of high fat content (despite other gd nutrients). My boy 8.8kg at 5mths. Not fat but heavy bones. Still, don't want to help him put on more..keke

Yoki,

Maybe walker is a good idea. Actually I won't consider buying exersaucer or leapfrog anymore. Cuz Zac's on walker and he has so much interesting things to see, touch, bite, flying from room to room, I doubt he'll stay put in the exersaucer/ leapfrog for long. That's the way he self entertain. He can stay in for a good one hour with music playing in the background and lotsa toys and teethers tied to the walker..

Ooops! My nick is fitty_nut. Favored is my good friend, staying over my plc sometimes, using my computer just now. I hit 'Enter' key too fast without changing her username.

Aiyah, you all keep talking about her pics making me very curious leh ... think she took out her profile liao cos by the time I searched just now, I can't see anything liao!

hi bena,
i wish my gal can sit still and play with her toys but she cant unless im sitting beside her but tats for a very short period. After awhile, she will flip and start crawling.

headache..nw she screaming after putting her into her bed..and she is in crawling position again