(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Baby Swimming Lessons

Just to let everyone know that my favourite coach at Aquaducks, Adrian, will be leaving Aquaducks soon. A bunch of mummies (including bcube from the July thread and cin from the Aug thread) have convinced him to continue teaching our babies and there is space in the class for two more babies.

Here are the details:
When? Monday mornings @ 9.20am
Where? Draycott Eight, a condominium at Draycott Park (next to the Tanglin Club)
Size of the Class? Up to six babies. Each baby must be accompanied by an adult. There are already four babies who've signed up, so there is space for just two ore.
Cost? If two more babies sign up, the cost is $20 per class. (Adrian charges $120 per class)

I won't be attending the class as it clashes with my babies Mandarin Playnest sessions at Julia Gabriel. But bcube and cin will be there, along with two other very nice mummies (from our original Aquaducks class), so do let me know (by posting in the July thread or by emailing me at [email protected]) ASAP if you'd like to join in the group.

The class is likely to have its first lesson in April, so your babies will be a good age for swimming by then!

Don't leave it too late - I've seen some older babies really freak out when they enter the pool; very sad. The sooner you start, the better the chances are that your baby will develop awesome water confidence!

Erm, just for clarity, I should point out that I'm not getting a commission from this yah?
Just helping the mummies who are making up the group to find two more mummies for the class.

For inspiration - here are some pics of my bb in the pool (hope I haven't posted these here already!):
1290768.jpg

1290769.jpg

Atinarin,
I wanna get the leappad system leh.. Emailed u liao.
If you wanna get the carrier from Mothercare must remember to check out which credit card got disc .. i remember ABN amro got 20% off.

Fau, I think u are the best person to advise Emily.. hahaha

atinarin,
your fren can get how much discount for leap frog? Looking for a alphabet phonics toy. under leap frog.

btw, BHG having 20% off. just brought nuk items and tolly joy spoon... sassy, pigeon, bright star, tollyjoy, nuk, muchkin.... all gt 20% regular price tag...

atinarin: if really got 5x/wk i take my hat off the couple liao

bena: advise cannot leh, this kind of thing, the feeling must cultivate yourself hahah! most times too tired to do anything

yolksac: your baby looks very terror underwater! do you mind sharing adrian's contact no? hoping to send dahlia for swimming lessons when she turns one..

phoebe: im not sure about how much her friend is selling or what shes selling too..will find out tomorrow...the name of the toy is alphabet phonics?

Maybe give me the name then i see if she has it...will sms u the price, leave me your number at my email

no promises ok cos i dontknow what she has.

Bena: the overseas spree seems so super cheap...books so cheap? ecookie said Kiddy Palace sells each at 29bucks u know

What follow on formulas are you mummies giving bbs?

Fau's dahlia on Mamex...

the rest?

Thinking of changing to Similac but probis my girl is now on Enfalac...does that mean i must switch to Similac, then only Similac follow on formula?

How to change formula? The last tiem we changed overnight, never mix or anything.

Hi atinarin,

My boy, JY, is on NAN 1. He used to be drinking NAN HA 1. I just increased the number of feeds on NAN 1 slowly until he is fully on new FM.

Atinarin, my PD recommend change according to no. of feedings slowly, she don't recommend by no. of spoons as it will be very confusing. ie. out of 5 feeds, 1 feed is new FM, then slowly increasing the # of feedings to new one.

tiny voice: thanks...someone said mix as in 1 spoon new, 2 spoons old...find it strange too.

think i will switch to similac then to the follow on similac formula...

heard Gain is good too

Irene, i voted for ur handsome boy liao! You all really free to do these such of things hor, for me to do my son's blog is like taking me forever! So far 2 entries only...hahaaha!

Nothing fanciful, this is Samuel's blog: http://samueljoshua.livejournal.com/

I need to be more diligent to update more regular.

atinarin: my boy is also on enfalac now but no plan to switch to other brand, i got sample tins of enfapro and similac sent me their sample tin of step 2 as well. PD also gave me NA HA, so many brands, haahaaa!

RE: Babies "eating" their legs
Nonsense about having a new sibling soon lah ... last time my gal also "eat leg" around this time ... 6-7 months ... think it's just a common phase that babies go through lor.

RE: Formula
Think both methods also can (by scoops or by feeds) ... so long as you are comfortable. Atinarin, why need to switch from Enfalac to Similac Infant then to Similac Stage 2? No need lah ... from Enfalac can switch direct to stage 2 liao!

hi all!
gee.. been extreeemely Bz these days. Sarah only wants me around her all the time.

anyway, regarding baby putting/sucking feet:

Babies love to put things in their mouth cos, at this time, their tongue is one of the most sensitive organ with millions of nerve ends.

They are curious about things around them and if they manage to grab these things, naturally, they'll want to feel them against their tongue.

Their feet too have these sensitive nerve endings. So when they can, they put their feet into their mouth, giving them DOUBLE pleasure! haha.

the old folks ALWAYS come up with all sorts of explaination for this... yeah, i know about the "they want another sibling". geez.. like we have the time and energy to do "it".

hi mummies, remember just recently i posted a thread regarding a mummy who needs help...

Her name is Joanne.20 yrs old She gave birth to her beautiful daughter but after she went home, she caught her BF (they are not legally married)having sex with another gal on their bed.She went to her own hse to do confinement with no job,no money nothing except for her daughter.She refuse to see anyone and tried to commit suicide at home.
She is admitted to KKH suffering from serious depression. Doctor can only give medicine but they are worried she might commit suicide again...Her mum is not supportive at all making things even worse.
Please pray for her recovery and pray that she will be stronger.
If there is anything that you can bless her with, pls help.

Bluesky: When switching to stage 2, the lady at Similac said, one scoop stage 2, 2 scoops infant FM to start with...

So how to mix Enfa infant FM with Similac Stage 2? Some ingredients diff right? I know all good stuff but still...

Phoebe: I read about her sad story...wasted that they are not legally married, otherwise at least she can divorce him and demand maintenance.

Feet: Any of your bbs like touching stuff with their feet too? LIke trying to pick up using feet?

Hi Angel..
Here's the contact, I have posted last week when I replied to Bena, not sure if you have seen it.

My mover's contact is:
Moving Star - Express
Long Yun Removal & Transportation Services
Mr. Jason Ang
Tel #: 6384 2803
www.movingstar-xpress.4t.com

Great to hear that you have found a nice place to rent. With the additional $1K/month, it will be $24K in 2 years time. You can renovate your house nicely then.
So happy for u..

good morning mummies!

hi atinarin, have voted for jerald. regards to the mixing of formula, hv to slowly introduce by mixing one scoop with the old FM. BB not used to switch taste at one go..I did try once when i simply her a different type of FM but same brand and she refuse to drink until she is very very hungry.

but if i mix with the old FM with new one, she will drink
and tis happen when i brought her to Genting when she's 2mth. Can u imagine i am so stress up during tat few days. Plus search the entire Genting, nber sell bb milk powder ..

hi phoebe,
read ur sad story. r u the one contacting her? how is she nw?

hv she got all the bb stuff? perhaps mummies her can contribute..

HI,

im from the Oct tread bb BB born in Sept .. haha

anyone grinding brownrice on thier own?? how to grind?? what kind of machine is suitable??

Tks in adv

atinarin,
actually they intend to sue him as he is the biological father but i dunno if will work or nt leh... cos to prove he is the biological father also need dna ... dunno if gt womans act protecting this kind of situation or nt... i feel so sad for her and especially the bb... if she knw she is not wanted by the daddy.. i m sure she will be so sad....

btw i m donating milk powder Nan 1 to her will be buying later... she reject cash cos she feel everyone look down on her..anyone gt things to donate can email her fren...

Phoebe, do you mind being the one to consolidate the contribution list for Joanne so that can pass the items at one go to her friend.

Any mummies here wana donate any stuff to her?

<font size="+2">Hi phoebe,</font>
Thank you so much for offering ur help to consolidate the donation list.

<font color="0000ff">Sept Mummies, shall we start the ball rolling:</font>

<u>Areas of mummies</u>

<font color="aa00aa">Tamp</font>
1) Yoki - a bottle of DOM, a pack of Huggies

irene: voted for jerald liao!

yolk sac: ur boy go underwater!! so he hold his breath for that? wow was he alarmed by that move?

phoebe, i have the car. so can do the delivery. let me know once things have been consolidated ok. i have baby clothes to give. my contact is 96412858. can deliver on weekdayds.
btw, i'm worried abt the baby too. wondering they need any help in having someone look after baby. i can volunteer though looking after nynke at same time. my mil and mum will sure ba able to help out .

Pillow, my boy is 8.4 kg @ 5.5mths. Juz took his 6-in-1 jab n pneumoccocal jab last wed. PD advised to have @ least 3 milk feeds a day @ this moment. My boy is on 3 milk feeds a day + 2 Rice Cereal Feeds (w/ milk). His daily feedg schedule:

7am - 120ml Similac FM
10.30am - 160ml Similac + 7teaspoon Heinz RC
2.30pm - 120ml FrisoGold Stage 1 OR 3 potatoes (pureed)
6pm - 160ml Similac + 7teaspoon Heinz RC
10pm - 160ml Similac FM

Got the sample tin of Friso Gold, so give this for his noon feed. So in total, he is on 4-5 milk feeds.

Atinarin, I remembered about the switching of FM. Was told to introduce new FM by feed in increasing numbers to consecutive days. (e.g. 1 new FM replace 1 old FM on day1, 2 new FM replace 2 old FM on day 2).

My boy was on Enfalac since birth till 3mths, then switched to Similac. Planning to get him on Follow-on Similac when he is 6mths. Haa... 6tins of it standby already. =)

Tiffany, my boy has been putting his toes in his mouth since weeks. My mum has been telling me abt the preggie myth. *My goodness!* Better not be true, coz I m not ready yet. Haiz... still busy with my boy rite now. He needs me, so cun divert attn @ the moment.

Irene,
Gave Jerald my vote too!

ecookie,
Hm...i don't know what plastic thing on the highchair u refering to leh?

Re: Gathering @ Poohwei's
Hey, i was the one who suggested to have the gathering on Good Friday but i just remembered that the Baby Expo will start on 21 Mar - 23 Mar at the Expo! Do u mummies want to postpone the gathering so that we can all go to the expo?

Irene, have voted for Jerald! Good luck!

re: mamex gold soy
received a call from dumex hotline for clarification. now theyre gonna do a check on the sales rep at giant tamp who MISinformed my husband about the *new* soy formula. obviously soy is for lactose intolerant babies, and the original mamex gold with immunofortis is for babies who can take lactose.

yesterday baby had one feeding of the soy formula and she hated it. so now waste money on one tin of soy mamex. *faint*

re: gathering
yeay if gathering postponed from next week then we might be able to join! coz wont be in singapore next week

Areas of mummies

1) Yoki - a bottle of DOM, a pack of Huggies - Tamp
2) amy - Babies clothes
3) Mummyfaith - baby girl's gift set
4) Phoebe - Milk powder

Amy, you stay in Punggol also right???

Areas of mummies

1) Yoki - a bottle of DOM, a pack of Huggies - Tamp
2) amy - Babies clothes
3) Mummyfaith - baby girl's gift set
4) Phoebe - Milk powder