(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

yap, our bb have the same birth date.
I don't know why she stop drinking her nomal intake which is 160ml-180ml for 6 feeds per day. Normally exceeed 1 ltr per day. But for the past 1/2 weeks, she is only drinking ard 100ml.
As she is at 8.05kg last week, am thinking will let her be and monitor the situation further. Wanted to introduce solids at 6mth also.

im from Oct-07 thread, hope u all dun mind me chatting here, really find lots of useful info over here...

yolk sac,

thanks for the tips on preparing bb's solid food! may i know where do u buy the baby's food book? and i also went to tanglin mall market place to recce on organic foods but they come in big quantity, much more than bb's consumption.. so do u buy and share wi other mummies? i find it quite wasteful if i were to puree abit and throw away the rest leh.. thanks

totoro_bb: ya boy so depressed...cant believe i let myself go...

yolksac: nice schedule there...even when im home on weekends, i am too busy house cleaning.

When we say start solids at 6 months, does it mean when bb enters the 5th month or when they are 6 months exactly?

hi yolksac,
thanks for all your tips, i'm going shopping this weekend to get geared up for intro solids to my bb, she'll be 5 months in 9 days time! will start with 1 to 3 teaspoons of rice cereal first.
already bot the first foods book a couple of weeks back, so hard to find
, finally got it from popular at bras basah.

totoro,
like your bb before and after look, she's still as pretty as before.

yolk sac: thanks for all the advice!
just want to check, what kind of freezer bags u used for transferring the frozen purees ? normal ziploc bags will do?

ben mum,

my girl shld be 28th, 1 day earlier then urs. blur me.

thanks madlynette, she actually cried towards the end of the haircut. daddy have to bring her to the mirror and let her see that she still looks good b4 she stop crying. ha ha

My boy is a 20sep bb. He is 7.2kg @ 65cm on 02Jan (3+mths). Since then, yet follow-up with PD.

I started him on Heinz rice cereal when he rejects milk @ 4mths old.

He is taking 4 feeds on 160ml FM, and 1 feed on 150ml Rice Cereal. Somehow, he tends to reject milk when he is done with about 120-140ml. We paused a while, warm the milk in warm water n give again after 15-30mins. It seems that he wants to play after his 120-140ml. Coz during his night feed (dreamfeed @11+pm), he can finish 180ml FM most of the time.

When I m feeding him (norm feed - 160ml FM), he tends to reject. I scold him and he is angry. Start crying n stop immediately when I sit him upright. Now, he seems to dislike me as he turns away when I want to carry him.

Any advice?

When I plan to start my boy on cereal, I feed him water with spoon prior a few days. A few spoonful of water about 1st two days to let him get used to spoon feed. He seems to like it. Thereafter I start him on cereal.

Hi Charsiew,
Sorry for late reply regarding your question, the frozen puree is ok when stored in the ziplock bag...it doesn't melt or stick to each other at all.

Hi yolksac!
Long time no see yr posts here.
Looks like your baby is doing well! My girl's routine is abt same as yours, has 3 meals a day on top of 5 milk feeds at 7am, 11am, 3pm, 6pm and dreamfeed at 10pm, then sleeps till 7am. Re dreamfeeding, I'm trying to make my girl drop this feed coz I read its not recommended to dreamfeed past 4-5 mths. So I'm trying to slowly reduce the amt given at 10pm...every 3 days drop 20ml till she doesn't wake up anymore. By dropping 20ml at night, she's hungrier at the 7am feed when she wakes up in the morning, so the total amt of milk for the day still stays the same. Hmmm, if you're breastfeeding its more difficult to tell how much they're drinking, I suppose then reduce the time she's latching.

Hi dodo,
I buy organic fruits and vege from the organic store in Tanglin Mall. The store is just behind Mother Works, just walk up the stairs behind it. They have a very wide range of organic stuff there and we can buy individual pieces.

Hi ecookie,
Yup use normal ziplock bags will do to store the frozen purees.

Hi Bena,
Thanks for the invite to your house!
I probably should not drink too much of the soup since I'm stopping bf (and my supply is almost stopped liao..amazing how fast the body reacts!!), but I would love to meet up with you and see Zac again!

Hi justme,
Yah Jade is ok with strangers and will smile at anybody when she's in a good mood (i.e. fed and slept well)
How about Sarah?

hi doobom,
Don't worry about your baby reducing his milk feeds. My girl also like that. From ard 3 months, my PD says they go thru fast and slow growth periods. So some periods they will want to drink more (that's when they go through growth spurts) and some days less. Its perfectly normal.
Its best not to force feed him. When he's full, he'll let you know by turning his head away or pushing the bottle away.

hi angel,
is it true? Dreamfeed is discourgaed from past 4-5mths? For my boy, itz only this feed when he finish the milk most of the time.
coz I am worrying if his feeds will be irregular if he finish as per his own time own target.
In fact, I am trying to let him stick to a fixed regular routine. Is it good that I get my boy on this fixed routine? or it is not good to force him? feed him only when he is hungry?

6+am - 180ml FM
11+am - 160ml FM
3-3.30pm - 150ml Rice Cereal
6.30pm - 160ml FM
11.30pm - 180ml FM (dreamfeed)

Most of the FM feeds, he finish @ least 120-140ml. We rest him a while n give again. Sometimes succeed, sometimes not.

Pls advise.

hi angel,

thanks for the info on organic food!

btw for those mummies who had started preparing puree for ur baby, do you have to use blender?

Charlene is 5 months 1 week but she is still taking 1 night feed at about 4am daily ( last feed is 11.30 at night ) .. do i need to try to kick of this night feed habit?? Actually I am unsure cos these days.. Charlene refuse milk she is like drinking only 90/100ml per feed every 3.5/4 hourly during the day.. she seems to dislike milk .. if I feed her cereal she is ok ... so I would feed her 2 scoops of Frisocream now... I reckon that cos she seems to drink so little in the day that s y I am worries and continue to give her night feed ( the funny thing is at night she guai guai finish her milk of 120 ml ) .. could u mummies advise if I should stop her night feed now???

My mum who is helping me to take care of charlene keeps telling me is alright lor.. this type of thing automatic one once she starts taking porridge and brown rice after 6 months.. she would not wake up at night already...
I think she also heart pain and worry charlene drinks so little so she don't mind waking up for night feeds like me cos it is only during the night that she would not struggle and would guai guai finish her milk
( Charlene don't cry or ask for milk during the day sometimes I never give her milk for like 4 hours plus a little she also never yell but at night she would cry for milk lor???? )
me blurred le.. can someone enlighten me??? Thanks very much!???

I know of a mother who's 3 mths old baby is in hospital now. just did a surgery due to some birth defects but unfortunately her milk supply is not sufficient enough. Any mummies who have extra milk supply willingly to donate to her. pls contact me. Thanks

Totoro,
Your baby's so cute! She has beautiful eyes.

Yolksac,
Wow, thanks.. it seems like your life really revolves around baby.. and it's really like a lot of work feeding baby!!

hi low family, my gal (now 19wks) still wakes up twice every nite for nite feed (which i latch). normally is 2.30+ & 5.30+ (normally last feed is ard 9-10pm+). but yesterday she wakes up ard 5am for only once (last feed is 9+pm)

low family, my boy wakes up in the middle of nite around 3-5am. Can tell that he is somehow hungry, but most of the time, I feed him some water n put him back to sleep. Pat him to sleep with pacifier.

hi wisely,
im fine. Busy with work and looking after bb at night.

am thinking of enrol her to infant care but need to find out more info like what are the programs provided

have been following up this thread lately but really having hard time to catch up.

i am still figuring out the facebook..are all the mummies joining the facebook?

Hi low

My boy is also waking up at night for feed. Same as your Charlene, he is not taking in enuff in the day so I feel better that at least he is eating at night. He doesn't like cereal very much either
Once, he went from 8am to 8pm without food! So no choice, we have to suffer abit more till he is putting on weight better. Will be feeding him porridge once he reaches 6 months so I hope the situation will improve.

hi low,
voted for your princess, shes so cute!

my girl is also still waking up for night feed at least once, usually at 5am and last feed was 11pm...sometimes she might wakeup twice even! but i latch her for night feeds so we will both fall alseep together during the process.

Hi Low,

My girl is also still waking up for night feed, at least twice and some nites can be every 2 hrs! Have not been sleeping well since her birth

hi low,
my girl seems to be at the same stage as urs regarding feeding. the daily 4.30-5am wake up call is a must. i used to just give her the pacifier n she can tahan another hr b4 she cries again. now i will feed her n she will drink ard 100 as her day intake has dropped so much.

angel,
Sarah, usually will be a "kwai" baby. Just keeps quiet and mine her own business.. unless, she gets bored, uncomfortable, sleepy or hungry.

I asked cos, wanted to know how you would handle such situations if bb gets out of control in crowded places..

totoro, your bb vvv cute leh..u staying at punggol?

doobom, my gal same bday as your boy
I just started her on heinx 1 wk ago. today ahs been bad, went out without her abd did not feed her. MIL helped babysit her while i was out.

oh..so there's the term I just learnt- dreamfeed..my gal is like that nowadays. it makes my life easier when she dreamfeed and slept all the way till 7am next day. is it really that bad to dreamfeed?

btw, finally opened that tin of friso 1- left one more mth to go and if dun used it also got to throw away. as ss is a bit low lately, I opened it on sat and gave her but she rejected it. I was happy actually...haha..power of bm! but worried also as ss may not be enuf for her. so on sun, i tried again and used together with the rice cereal, this time, she tasted the cereal and rejected it too. today, I tried making a bottle for her and she was really unhappy drinking it. I guess i'll just try to give her a bottle of FM a day and see how she takes to it. if ss can increased after few more rounds of papaya soup..will then stop this FM thingy for her if possible.

bena, need to seek your advice on blocked duct..me having this lump now. a bit scared leh..felt it last week and think it could be a blocked duct cos after pumping and bf, it seemed to be smaller. these few days felt it again...i had breast lumps few years back and luckily they are benign..so i'm a bit worried now..looks like i have to go abck to my breast specialist adn bring forward my annual check up...

Hi all, check with you ... do you all change your bb's teats / pacifiers every few months or only change when it's "spoilt"? Thinking if I should be changing all his pacifiers come 6 months (though they are still good).

Btw hor, is your nigra line still there? Somehow for this pregnancy, the nigra line still there. I remember last time my 1st one quite fast disappear one.

On breastfeeding ... sigh, think I need to stop soon. Not becos my supply is drying, but becos I am going for some form of surgery and it is advisable to stop. Today I just started to reduce to only 2 pumps a day. Life is such a dialema ... when breastfeeding, I so look forward to weaning off ... when wanna stop when still got supply, find it such a waste!

blueskye, my boy is on Avent feeding equip. I change his pacifier n teats accordingly to the Avent guide. My boy is on teat 3 now for his milk feeds, n teat 2 for his water bottle. U may like to check the guide via the brand of teats/pacifier ur bb is using regards to the replacement.

time really flies. ben is coming 5 months this friday.

can check with mummies if ur bb are still er-ni-ing? ben seems to be er-ni-ing quite often. he is drinking 150ml for almost 2 months now. still er-ni-ing on 150ml! faints! at night he can take his dream feed of 180ml without problem leh.

how much water are u all feeding ur darlings? ben is on fm. just wanna check the amount of water drunk.

same as blueskye, wan to know how often are u all changing your bottles. now that this bisphenol-A is known....how are all of u coping with the bottles? i worried...but not sure what to do about it. any ideas?

1 more question, sorri hor...so many qn tonight...do ur bb automatically wake up at 7am for milk (breakfast)? if they dont wake up, do u wake them up?

used to feed my boi at 6-6.30am. then he would sleep again till about 8am. realised today it is more and more difficult for him to go to sleep again. thinking if i should feed him at 7am instead....advice?btmum

Vone, so yours also still can see ah? Phew ... thought I'm the only one ... 5 months liao still there!

Doobom, my boy also on teat 3 now ... I just bought 6 Nuk 6-18 mths pacifiers as I intend to replace all his existing 0-6 mths pacifiers though they are still very new (as I have 6 pacifiers to go around with). But on the other hand, am thinking if it's necessary to change very few months ... all the 6-18 mths can really last till 18 mths if they are not spoilt.

Hi amy

I also felt a lump in my breast when I was weaning off. Went to see doctor. Turn out that the lump i felt is not a lump but she found another lump! Doctor asked me to feel again after I stop BF for a month. Went to another doc last week (to get 2nd opinion). She felt it at first then couldn't find it again. So I'll be going to see breast specialist next week to do a thorough check. Hope everything's fine...

good evening everyone. sorry to barge in like that. wondering if any of you had a wonderful experience with your confinement nanny and can recommend? appreciate if you could PM me if you do. i am due in july and realise that many CLs are already taken up. many thanks in advance and have a nice evening.

I'm also from Oct'07 like gingerleaf,ecookie and dodo. Hehee, peeping into your thread to get tips on preparing puree.

Yolk_sac,
May I ask why do you need to squeeze the puree from a plastic bag into the cube tray and not scoup directly using spoon?

Also, is it nec to add water when blending the food? Is boiled water rite?

Ben Mum, nowadays my boy doesn't even wake up for milk! He can go without milk for 8-9 hours and I had to force the bottle into his mouth then he will start to suck ... even 150ml sometimes left 20-30 ml don't want liao ... super baby! Maybe he wanna go on diet ... heee.

Atinarin, today's news got talk about baby bottles huh? Don't know leh ... didn't have time to watch news nowadays.

Peapod, hope everything is fine ... sometimes the lumps may be due to milk lah ... how about you try to massage it hard to see if it goes off few days later?

Yoki, Mummyfaith, Irene thanks for voting for my princess Charlene

Thanks to all mummies for the input about night feeds..guess lots of mummies are in the situation like me too.. like what peapod feel I feel just tahan lor.. cos is the night feed that she is drinking well the day feed are all so little and ruan zi ba zao.. really sometimes i also in a dilema to feed or not to feed.. see her waste milk like so ke xi but on the other hand.. she shrinks liao so worry she is not taking enuf

Thanks once again for the input!

Regarding breast lumps, I have it too .. I stop bf after 1/1/2 mths but when charlene is in her 4th month suddenly one day i find a big lump on my breast.. i was freaked out cos I have history of cyst/ lumps in breast so I was very very worried. I told hubby and he pester and brought me to see a breast specialist. In the end i have 3 lumps and all of it are blocked ducts heng man.. the doc actually use a springe to suck the milk out and my gosh.. the milk are yellowish!!! so relief to know they are only milk cos I fear for the worst.. I scare is something more than lumps, then also scare waste money sign!!

But hor I also spend 300 le cos the doc suck out 3 springe of milk so 1 =100. Expensive but is the best and most blessing situation since I thought it be something worse than that! So no worries peapod, amy I guess u are facing the same as mine!

BTW, I did ask how come me stop bf like 2/1/2 months ago so have blocked ducts. the doc just say is like that.. and even ask me to monitor cos might still have blocked ducts appearing..

blueskye.. wat happened tat u have to go for surgery?!

Ben mum,
my gal also on fm.. i will prepare a bot of water of 60ml for her.. but usually she dun finish lah.. if u boy can sleep thru till later then dun wake him up to feed him? my gal usually wakes up at abt 7 plus or 8 plus but if she dun make noise i'll continue to sleep till 9 plus then wake up to feed her..

Amy, peapod,
I'm sure both of you must be very worried. My sis just went to a breast surgeon last week as she felt a lump (I also felt it for her) on her breast and she also felt some pain. She did an ultrasound scan, a mammogram and a MRI scan to confirm that the lump is benign. Spent S$1-2k! And the surgeon also found a water cyst in her breast which was the cause of her pain, and had it sucked out using a syringe. She was so stressed cuz the water cyst, according to doc, will grow again..

Amy, if your lump gets smaller after pumping/ latching, it sounds like a blocked duct. Are you able to massage it and get it cleared? Is it painful? Maybe you should see a Lactation consultant to get it checked..if it's not a blocked duct, they will refer you to a breast surgeon.

Justme, Vone,
Today Zac took EBM from a bottle! He finished 150ml of it, and then after that he continued to latch on.. I'm so happy cuz finally he accepted the bottle without putting up a fight.

Atinarin,
What was the milk bottle news abt?