(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

ecookie,
i actually quite like those Vtech or leapfrog stuff =p Ryann fav toys are the LEap frog caterpillar which teaches numbers 1-5, colours, musical melody. 2nd is bright stars wriggly dragonfly with 12 silly sounds when twisted and lighted eyes... 3rd is sassy's song book which sings Rock a bye baby and have pages to flip and able to teach and sing line by line. =p will be buying the itsy bitsy spider book for him later... i trying to find the twinkle twinkle little star book which happen to be Ryann's favourite song..

haha Phoebe! My baby also love that caterpillar! and he also likes the fisherprice gym
What is the book that is able to sing? Can post and show a picture of it? Can it be bought in toy r us?

Re flashcards
Bought mine on a BP here but hardly use so pretty wasted.

Re Bumper PLay Mats
Mine still has the chemical smell.
OCD i am i went to steam it with my trusty Karcher steamer.

Re Working mums:
How do you spend your weekends?
I find that mine is spent cleanng the house and doing little else.

Hi atinarin

My weekend is spent with my baby charlene.. whenever she sleeps or nap me and my hubby would rush to get the housework done.. sometimes if she don't sleep.. i would have to keep her company and hubby would have to do the housework all by himself... sunday night after putting her to sleep I would iron the clothes...
busy on weekends these days in fact busier than weekdays now.. plus now cannot sleep late my charlene programmed to wake up at 7am everyday cos on weekdays we wake her up at 7am to bring her to my mum pl to take care of her so she somehow get used to the routine already

usually we would go out at least once unless charlene is not well or that week she happen to go for jab then we would confine her at home...Charlene loves to go out and I seriously don't mind bringing her out often.. cos at home she don't sleep much but when we go out, she look here look there come back she sure sleep quite long then it leaves me time to do housework and other stuffs

just like now.. we brought her to east coast park just now so now come back she tired.. sleep so soundly then i can surf the net haha

feel so tired actually...weekends are more for cleaning house than relaxing or bonding with bb.

hb doesnt do housework so its worse for me.

Re Baby sleeping

I dont know how to get my girl to sleep without being swaddled.
Now, we just have to swaddle her and she knows its time to sleep but cant possible swaddle forever.

Tried not to but she will just keep kicking away and flipping and will become wide awake.

phoebe, i oso bot the caterpillar for faith and she also loves it!! esp the color song she will laugh at the yellow color song!! ahhahaha

atinarin, maybe u jus let her kick and play till she fall asleep by her self? my gal also like tat.. eyes open big big when i put her down... sometimes will ek ek ek and cry but i'll jus leave her alone unless she really cry till very jia lat..

Phoebe,
Dun be sad.. you've already done very well breastfeeding Ryann for so long. Guess no choice you gotta try power pumping.
Dun be too stress ya? Stress also will cause supply to drop one..When is Ryann starting solids?

As for the soup.. hmm.. I'm surprised it has that effect for you. The soup made my supply increase but of course drink once not much effect.. must drink at least several times.. during confinement my mum cookd for me several times and I think that helped alot.

Hi Bena!

Great thanks for invitation for the milk boasting soup gathering...hehe...need to wait at home for starhub to deliever the videocam to us

re: weekends:
i love to go out myself..so nowadays will bring baby out on both sat & sun , be it visits to shopping centres or just to my munm's place.

the idea is to let them get use to car seat/pram/napping outside/familiarise with people & stuff etc..

so far so good. my baby can stay in his car seat/pram w/o wailing like last time..

Red Dates Tea Might Be A Good Drink to increase supply as well. Rinse everything and put in a crockpot (slow cooker). Add boiling water of about 1.25litres of water into the pot and let it simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs. And Its Ready to drink! Drinking it as often as you can will help to build up supply as well.

Recipe:

RED DATES TEA

8 stoned red dates
50g black beans, pan-fried without oil
10g dried longan flesh
20g "Tong Sum" ("DangShen")
4 slices old ginger

Re: Teething

My gal has 1 tooth already!!! Yippie. The silly mummy has been scolding her for scratching her ears and head until there were so many scars! (didn't have time to cut her nails cos i was busy with work and she was awake when i went home). Increasing demand for milk was definitely one sign of teething. These few days, she took an average 800ml of milk with 1 meal of puree and 2 meals of cereals.

Re:Toys
I bought another exersaucer for my gal. She loves to be in the exersaucer and she can self entertain herself in it for at least 20-30 min.[Can eat comfortably and do some work]. Bought the leappad littletouch system too but she just "crushed" the book! Haha

Re: Milk Supply
My gal has officially gave up latching on. Now she is fully on ebm. Pumping onlu 850-900ml each day. Would it be enough for her when she start on porridge? How much milk is sufficient for 6 mth old baby if they are on semi solids?

Poohwei,

My boy recently also start scratching his ears and head until scars too!! i also keep scolding him !! didnt knoe its teething >_<

Did u get the leapfrog exersaucer?

Hi Vone,

Yeap, i got 1eapfrog one which i put at my mum's place cos she stays there mon to thurs. Recently bought another 2nd hand fisherprice one to put in my own home.

Red date tea can increase supply too? I ever did wonder if red date tea does increase supply, coz when I was in confinement, my supply was alright but it dropped drastically after CL left. Dunno issit due to stress or what, coz I had to diy everything and had no help from others, cept hubby, and I was also drinking less water.

Vone,
ur recipe for red date tea is diff from what I had during my confinement. My was juz red and black date with some dried longan with some ginger. How long do we needa panfry the black beans for?

Bena,
thanks for ur recipe for soup but I had teh same prob as Phoebe, my milk became thicker too and I kept experiencing pain which felt abit like block ducts forming. Supply wise.. I felt more engorged in the morning, but rest of the day still same same.

Thanks to all mamas who contributed where to get flash cards. Went down to United Sq today and bought a box of 5 sets of cards. Very expensive at 60+, but it seems interesting tho.

Woah! Im thinking of getting the exersaucer too. Poohwei, ur gal's tooth jus popped today ? issit the top or bottom tooth? recently my boy down with fever was wondering if its becoz of the flu virus he's got or teething..

Hi Vone,

Its the lower one. Also, my gal has been waking up for no reasons in the middle of the night for the past 1 week. She used to be able to sleep thru. Just read on the net that waking up at night is one of the signs of teething if they have been sleeping thru.

Poohwei, scratching ears and head is teething meh? Mine these few days also leh ... wondering why he kept scratching his ears (quite vigorously) cos he never do that before.

gingerleaf:

Red dates tea does help to improve supply =) Must drink alot. Panfry the black beans for abt 2-3 mins before putting it into the cooker.
During Confinement,my hb's nanny will alternate between the red date tea and prepare a flask of black bean + dried longan + red date + some ginger water for me instead.

Brewers Yeast (containing B vitamins) is another commonly recommended treatment for low milk supply.

blueskye,
read somewhere that scratching head n pulling ears are signs of teething as its painful, hence they keep pulling.

Fau,
Saw the lidded containers you got at United sq today and they are selling at $25!!!!!!!!!!! You got urself a steal, but downside is, cfm its not airtight and the lid very easy to open too, and doesnt close well.
Looks like I'll try angel's method of freezing in cubes.

Vone,
Thanks, I'll try ur red date black bean tea soon.
I tried many method but they dun really work for me cept Bena's recipe, which helped alittle.
I tried fenugreek, and I have that brewers yeast as well, both nada.

The other time, I made green papaya soup with the skin on, and it was SO BITTER, but i drank up the whole pot of it. Next morning I was *wow* bursting! But it really takes guts to drink it up coz it was so so so so so so so so so bitter.

Just ordered 'mummy's tea' from spree. Good for lactation. Hope that'll work.

ecookie thks for the info.. will not let him watch too long... =p there goes his favourite channel news asia =p

Jac, Ryann loves the number one with the twick.. =p

I will take photo of the book and post tml

gingerleaf,

Maybe u can add fishtail bones (ngor he bones) into the green papaya soup. Cook till the papaya turns milky in color add in the fish. In order to hide the taste of the bitter papaya i added "gou qi zi" and its yummie not too bitter =D

eat oatmeals for breakfast its useful ^^

Just came in to kaypoh - haven't spoken to you gals in a while. Hope you're all doing well! Can I give some tips on puree storage? Just stuff the July mums and I have picked up over the last few months:

1. Most of us have a puree day each week when we make a huge batch of purees and freeze them so that each time we need to feed our babies, we just need to defrost the frozen puree.

2. Some of us are trying to serve only organic fruit/vege to our babies for now. This is because we believe that our babies' digestive systems are still too immature to deal with the pesticides and other chemicals present in non-organic produce. We buy our organic produce from a number of supermarkets but in particular, Marketplace (Tanglin Mall) has an excellent selection.

3. I notice that there has been some discussion about how to make frozen cubes. You have a few options:
- Buy individual cubes (with lids) from vendors such as Little Jet Plane (approx cost is abt $15 I think); pipe the puree into the cube, seal the lid and freeze
- Buy ice cube trays (which come with lids) from Isetan. You can buy trays which are configured to make very large cubes. Approx cost is <$4
- Buy silicon ice cube trays (no lids) from Ikea. Approx cost is <$3. As these are without lids, you will have to place the entire tray inside a freezer Ziplock bag when you place it in the freezer.
- Use silicon bakeware (eg cupcake cases) (no lids) available at department stores. As these are without lids, you will have to place the containers inside a freezer Ziplock bag when you place it in the freezer.

I've tried all the options above and personally, I like the Isetan trays the best. They're reasonably priced and the cubes are a good, large size. While the plastic tray seems very stiff at first, the cubes were surprisingly easy to dislodge.

A good technique is to make the puree, then spoon all the puree into a plastic bag. Twist the top of the bag tightly shut. While holding the plastic bag like a piping bag, snip off the end of the bag and pipe the puree into the ice cube tray. Cover with the tray lid and freeze. Once frozen, you can dislodge the cubes of food and store them in a Ziplock freezer bag. I label the outside of the bag with the type of puree (some apple and pear purees look very similar!) and the date the puree was made.

The disadvantage of using the Ikea trays is that you cannot get a lot of puree into each cube, so you have to buy lots of trays and you need to defrost multiple cubes for each feed. I also find it troubling that the Ikea trays don't come with lids.

The disadvantage of using the Little Jet Plane individual cubes is the high cost involved. Also, I have found it difficult to dislodge the cubes to store the purees in a bag. I find the Isetan trays much better in this regard. Also, the lids on the LJP trays sometimes don't snap tightly shut and there have been many occasions when I look in my freezer only to find that the lids on the LJP cubes have opened. Not great if you're concerned about food contamination.

Just some thoughts! Good luck with feeding solids - it's a whole new journey!

bena,
i will only intro solid when he turn 6 mths which is soon.. after his jab. i quite strict over this cos Ryann gt bad allergies so i dun wanna risk it. but tml gg to bring him out ALONE!! to compasspoint to buy spoon and stuff to standby =p a bit scare cannot handle leh

gingerleaf,

yup cook the papaya with skin =) must add some slices of ginger to remove the fishy smell. If u scared got fishy smell add a little bit of lemon juice and rub on the fish before adding into the pot =)

Shopping time mummies!!!!

Takayashimaya Baby Fair:

9th-25th March 2008
Taka Square

There will be a baby fair at Expo in Mar.

Date: 21 - 23 March 2008
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A
Time: Friday &amp; Saturday, 11am to 9pm, Sunday 11am to 8pm

Vone, eat papaya skin too? Wah, must be quite bitter...mothers are great.

Pooh wei, Zac also got all the symptoms u mentioned. Scratch ears and head, increased intake, nite wakings..don't tell me he's also teething!?

Phoebe, same here. next week I'll start Zac on solids liao cuz he'll be 6 mnths already.

Gingerleaf,
Oh no, my mum's soup recipe caused blocked ducts? Now I'm having 2nd thoughts abt cooking the soup for mummies here! Don't want to cause anyone to have blocked ducts cuz it's such a painful ordeal!

bena, i aso keen to join for another gathering tho i not bfing. can hor?

but i cant meet up on 1 mar aso cos sch is having CA and i need to mark papers that weekend. have to give it a miss too. =<

wow Yolksac! thanks for sharing! You are so helpful!

the Isetan tray you have mentioned sounds gd, will get this soon to experiment on puree making..hv wanted to buy those individual cubes initially..now i can save $$, hee!

Hi Bena,

Yah..My gal had those signs for a week or so. This morning, i checked...her 2nd tooth is out too!! She has 2 teeth liao...

Hi Phoebe,
I am also doing power pumping. Now gonna pump longer than 20 min to get the same amt. Where can we get the sassy music book? My gal loves to flip the pages but they must be made of cloth or plastic (like the leapfrog exersaucer type). Is the book "tear proof"?

hi poohwei, wow! yr gal has tooth cutting thru already! so fast &amp; so cute! i rem our bbs's birthday are on the same day! does this mean my bb will start teething soon? so interesting! heehee!

few wks back, i caught him tugging hard at his ears &amp; rubbing his cheeks, i hv thot its teething since hes refusing milk so violently. I even applied teething gel.. but when i checked with PD, hes not teething yet.. hmm...

Hi Charsiew,

I checked with the GP last week too! He said "No, not teething yet" too. But...the teeth popped out this week liao!!

really ahh! wow! am looking forward to his incisors cutting thru! hehe! it will be so cute! heeheehee! k, catch up with u all soon, going out now..

anyone knows if its ok to miss the prevnar dose?

bb went 4 1st one but we don wanna send for 2nd one

any1 goin to PD pls pls ask 4 me

bena, u refering to the one that can be used to suck the mucus out huh?
i have a brand new one, if you need it urgently can get from me cos the other time i brought for ryann end up never use.