(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

just wanted to share that i read a product named Karvol, from Watsons is recommended for bb with flu. a mummy wrote on her blog so maybe can keep a box at home...i think its to drop a few droplets on bbpillow or bedding to help breathing

thanks for all your compliments on faith's photo. we brought her to De Character Studio located at Purvis St. actually wanted to just take the promo package at $38 only for toys r us member but end up upgrading to $98 package! the outfit is provided, they have alot of diff costumes and yes faith was wearing blusher...heehee...thats why her cheeks extra rosy!

bena,
i should be able to go but hubby need to work so must bring faith alone...let me know if its still on ok?

hi yolksac, tks for popping by to drop us those useful tips in storing puree, sure save us $$ from experimenting diff. type of storage.

Phoebe,
Ya.. the one for sucking mucus from nose. Is yours the Pigeon brand one that works by just pressing some button to enable suction? How much did you pay for it huh? If it's the same one I'm looking for, can I get it from you today? If it's convenient, can you email your contacts to me at [email protected]?

Mummyfaith,
No wonder her face is so rosy.. Very nice
Yes our gathering is still on. You girls let me know if you are interested in soup and I can brew it. Maybe I'll bake Hersheys brownies too and you all can eat it with ice cream

Hi Bena,

Will try to take some pixs..Quite hard to take cos she will use her tongue to block it..hehehe, Just realised that when we feed her cereals with the spoon...will have the "grr..grr.."sound. Friction...hahaha

Bena: So sweet and hospitable of you to invite mummies here over to your place. Will have to give it a miss but i have tried that soup too...and Fenugreek, and More Milk Plus pills. They don't work for me. Neither did conscious pumping or latching baby on.

Now I only give her like 20-30ml a day of BM. Sounds silly to bother doesn't it? If i were to want to catch up with those who exclusively BF, i probably gotta pump till she she 5yrs old? Haha

Atinarin, I admire your perseverence. You give your all and that's more than enough! Dun give up.. I'm sure you won't

Justme,.. hahaha.. I only know how to do brownies..
Used to know how to make muffins, tarts and sponge cakes but forgot all already cuz too bz

Bena: Thank you its so nice to hear someone say that when most people i know question why i still bother (some even with a laugh) and when my HB doesn't understand why i cant give more. Think he doesnt realise its very hurtful.

Anyway i dont feel down or guilty over my lack of milk anymore. I always remember what my dear gynae told me "20ml is still going to be good.'

I will stop when she hits 6months though cos its taxing to pump in the morning before going to school. Its madness, wake up-breakfast-feed baby (usually my mum does this)-shower-pump-bathe bb(nobody but me is allowed to do this)- run off (literally) to work.

Weight Gain

Oh my gosh i have to say i m sooo disappointed in myself!

I lost my preg weight within the first month but now i have put on even more!

I keep feeling hungry and i thin kafter being on a strict GD diet, i now feel like i can eat anything and i DO!

Die la..tummy flabby and now i put on weight...so opposite...pple losing im gaining

atinarin, yah...agree with bena. i gave up when i keep kena blocked ducts. sighs. me useless. u bathe bb before 7.25am?

Atinarin, I wonder if you've tried Goat's Rue.. For increasing milk supply. Dunno if it works but have heard people trying lor.

atinarin: dun get discouraged.. u r doing great.. 20ml is really better than nothing..

so u bath baby wayy early in the morning? will that be too cold for the baby.. i want to bath baby in the morning too but pple say too cold and my MIL who takes care of my baby only bath him ard noon time which i find too late

yolk sac : thanks for the advice! though im still a long way from giving solids to my baby (he s turning 4 mths only tomorrow!), but wil remember your tips! will definitely check out the isetan ice cubes.. can get it from isetan scotts?

phoebe: IM SO LOOKING forward to the taka baby fair!!!

Hi ecookie: I got mine from Isetan at Parkway Parade but I would think they're also available at Scotts. Here are some pics of them so you know what to look for.

This is a batch of spinach puree I made this evening:
1263943.jpg

Just snap the tray lid on:
1263944.jpg

And freeze!

When it's done - dislodge the cubes from the tray and freeze the cubes in a freezer bag (don't forget to label the bag). This is a photo of some pea cubes I made a few days ago:
1263945.jpg

By the way, which type of spinach to you mummies use? There are many type in the market, got those china type, and those baby spinach leaves used in salads..

Yolk sac, Thanks for the advice.. actually today just went to kiddy palace to buy spoon and bowl to stand by. =p
btw, usually you feed one cube for each feed?
i am only planning to intro one meal of solid each day for a start to test for allergies (touch wood)scare if i do too much will spoil or not?? actually was thinking of doing them on tbe spot before feeding.

Bena, ecookie:
Heheh i teach the PM session this yr so its not that early la...i do all of this before 10am+ when i leave home for school.

When i have courses that start at 830am, i wake at 6 to cover everything and bathe baby at 7 if shes awake. Otherwise she wont have a full bath on that day...no hair washing.

Read your postings on the puree ... can freeze and serve later one meh .. haha, didn't know that. So food can be like breastmilk ... store and serve (within how long huh?)

So when need to serve how to heat up?

Ben mum: how long did u BF for? Its different cos my milk supply is so little im sure your little one got more than mine in however long u did BF.

Fau, Saw ur posting that you interested to buy drypers M size. I have a BN jumbo pack to sell away which i feel Ryann has outgrown it where you stay??? anywhere near north east??

gingerleaf: the lid can be snapped on, it's quite secure; not sure if it's air-tight though. but I only leave the cubes in the tray for as long as it takes to get them frozen (usually overnight); after that, I transfer them to a Ziplock bag. The spinach I bght today is Waitrose organic spinach leaves (from the frozen vege section), but you can use either normal spinach or Chinese spinach.

Phoebe: My baby's almost 8 mnths old and takes three solid meals a day (in addition to milk feeds). At each meal, she averages 3 cubes (an assortment of stuff - eg one cube of carrot, one cube of peas and one cube of pear for dessert) or 2 cubes plus barley/rice cereal.

Yes, when you first start, introduce one type of puree (eg: sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot); don't introduce a second type of food for another four days - this way you can see if bb reacts badly to it (food allergy or food intolerance causing bad stomach upsets etc). After four days, you can introduce the second food, then wait another four days before introducing the third food and so on. It's hard to make small portions of purees as you need a certain "mass" to use your food processor. Plus it'll be a lot of work to steam a fresh batch for each meal. Maybe when you start, just do 5-6 cubes of your first food and freeze those. Don't do anything more than that. Frozen cubes can keep for quite some time, at least one month, if not longer.

Blueskye: Some mums microwave their cubes, but I'm not comfortable doing so. I get my helper to steam the cubes to defrost them. As for how long you can store frozen purees, I wld say if you use up your purees within the month, you'll be fine.

Yolk sac,
Thanks for all the great tips!

When you mean, not introducing another food for 4 days after the 1st, do you mean we have to continue with the same food for those 4 days or NOT feed anymore puree during those 4?

Mummies, how do you all steam ur food? Put them in a bowl/plate and steam them the normal way?
I saw a picture in a book, and they steam their food in a sieve/strainer on top of the pot.
Which way?

gingerleaf: I think either is fine. I have a heavy duty 3-tier steamer machine (wedding gift) which I use when I'm steaming a large batch of purees - did spinach, pumpkin and apple tonight - and when my helper steams the frozen cubes, she just puts them in a sauce dish and steams them in a saucepan.

gingerleaf: sorry just saw your question abt the 4 day rule. you can continue feeding the first food for the first 4 days unless of course you notice any adverse reactions to the food. on the 5th day, you can introduce a second type of food and continue to serve the first food as well.

OKie Yolk sac,
thanks a million million trillon zillion on the tips. So darn useful!
Now my next task is to look out for the ice cube tray!!!

You're most welcome! There are different trays with different sized/shaped cubes - you can do different shapes if you're feeling creative

Hi Bena

I'm still breastfeeding so I won't be of much help re the quantities of milk!

7am - Wake up and BF (both sides).
8am - Breakfast (eg barley cereal and fruit puree or vege puree and fruit puree, water from a sippy cup)
8:15am - Play time
9:30am - Wind down for nap --> nap
10:30am - Small BF snack and leave for Julia Gabriel Playnest (three days a week)
11-12:30am - JG Playnest (three days a week)/ on other days, playtime at home
1pm - Lunch at home (usually two vege purees and one fruit puree, followed by a teething biscuit and with lots of water from her sippy cup)
1:30pm - Bath (she needs it by this point - she usually has puree everywhere
2pm - BF (both sides)
3:30pm - Wind down for nap --> nap
4:30pm - Playtime
6pm - Dinner (cereal + fruit puree or vege puree + fruit puree)
6:45pm - Bath
7pm - EBM (180ml)
7:30pm - Sleep

We've been trying to do a dream feed (180ml of organic FM) around 10pm if she wakes up, but for the past few nights, she hasn't shown much interest in drinking at this time. Problem is she sometimes wakes up in the middle of the night very hungry. So ideally, I'd like to figure out how to ENSURE she takes a good dream feed. Any thoughts/input wld be much appreciated!

yolk sac,
thanks for all the great tips! your pics you posted really inspires me to do my own puree for my baby. Tot just get off the shelves.. will get the food grinder and ice cubes from isetan and oh, do you buy slow cooker to cook rice porridge for your baby too??

atinarin, i never did bf cos nipples short, bb could not latch. kkh never did teach me what to do with my short nipples. never knew there was something called nipple shield. lol. i lasted only a week or so. bad hor? sniff. u are doing much better than me liao.

yolk sac, thanks for the advice / sharing on the milk times and all. very insightful. i aso quite gian to give ben le. is puree better than the porridge which our parents have been giving us? just wondering if my MIL will feed ben puree. lol. too western? lol....

yolk sac, ben dream feeds at around 10.30pm. he can drink while alseep. something which he could do since he was born. lol. maybe u can try to dream feed a little later say 11pm?

atinarin,

I'm having the same problem. My weight suddenly increased so much after I completely stop bf.

Yolksac,
Thanks for the wonderful tips.My gitl is coming to 5mths on Friday and I'll need to start my preparation soon liao.
Any comments on those tin rice cereals ? We just bought one tin while shopping over the weekend as it seems to be so much easier to prepare. As my girl drinking Friso, so we bought the Frisocream for easy transistion.

Brought my girl to the swimming place and she simply loves it. But I think the tank too small for her as she kicks very hard at the wall and then get bounce back !Now need to find a bigger option for her to swim but daddy worried abt the chlorine in pools.

1264398.jpg

1264399.jpg

After the swimming session, decided to cut her hair as she is really dropping a lot of hair nowadays.
This is her new look.
1264419.jpg

Busy eating her teething toy ...
1264420.jpg

totorobb ur bb is very sweet! =D

ben aso coming 5 months this friday. ur ger is aso born on 29 sept? he is taking to milk very well. so we are thinking of only starting solids when he is 6 months old.