(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi pinkyj,
Thanks for informing. Seems easy, I will try it out..

Hi gingerleaf,
I bought my flash cards for Edison at United Square. A few baby shops selling Flash Cards in United Sq, you can take a look. I can't remember the name of the shop where I bought mine.

charsiew: ok i've emailed the mommy to confirm if it's still available. i got it from her BN still in pack and box at 10bucks. self collect at bishan/amk mrt.

tiny voice and darmae, where you all got the flash cards? my nephew got alot but hor.. where got time to flash for him.. i tried using the animal one after awhile he started screaming and playing with his hands...

i interested in the float too.. anyone can tell me how to buy?

mi again..haha..

saw the link on the swimming float..placed my order, hope the BP not closed yet

do u set a routine for your bb to go sleep at night?

and anyone start formula milk? totally FM?

thx

hihi shotbyfau, tks alot!
ooh so its $10 with no postage ahh.. maybe u can PM me the mummy's contact, i will liaise with her direct? paiseh, don want to trouble u...thanks!

phew.. finally my boy sleeps... can take a breather...

talking abt solids...
i'm still hoping to be able to hold on till 6mths...
but think may hv to start soon..
reading from the thread, think the best 1st food is plain cereals..
so i prob will get Heinz brand & try... good luck to me!

yoki:
sleep routine:
hi, i try to put my boy on a routine, so he ll sleep ard 9+ pm everyday and nap not more than 3-4 hrs during daytime

and he s on total FM already..

Hi Emily,

To make apple puree, peel the apple, remove the core, chop into small pieces, steam it for abt 20 min then blend it into puree.

re cereal,

mommies who are startin out cereals, rem to buy rice cereals instead of the wheat wans.. this is wat my gal's pd recommended. cos rice is least allergic then wheat...

hehe tks shotbyfau!
tks for your lobang... hee..

re solids..
hi ecookie, ya, actually im also not very sure which is a better brand..but i presume most cereals are the same, i just something plain & bland to start with... i think some mummies hv advised that nestle can be sweet... hv also heard tat bellamy (not sure of the spelling) is good too.. tink its organic.. but i will like to start off with something not organic 1st...

maybe some other mummies can advise..

ooh, thats a good tip, pinky
tks!
will bear in mind...

poohwei, if we steam the apple will it turn brown, and will the nutrients reduced after steaming? cant we just leave the apple in room temp and puree it straight? how do we prevent the browning of it? Need advice.

hi wiselyn,
how hv u been? thanks..i will read up more info on the infant care. What are the programs provided?

hi ecookie,
my bb seldom can take afternoon nap more than 2hrs, will wake up often.

at night, she dun wana sleep, wana play..maybe shd get her alot of toys
i oni gt 3..haha..

heard that brown rice are good for babies..

fau: can give more details on the containers? want to look for containers that can be put in freezer for freezing up pre-prepared purees!

any mummies can advise?

can use normal ice cubes containers? those default that come with our fridge?

also, how many cubes mummies will serve to babies per meal?

pls advise, starting solids is v confusing to me ha

fau, i hope urs seal well.
I read theres another popular brand, the review on that isnt so good, plastic too britter n doesnt seal in liquids.
Im oso on the look out for individual lidded containers!

hi rxsti,
Re browning of apples, the longer its left out in the open, the more browning happens. Its really impossible to stop them for browning totally. So try to do things fast as fast as possible - cut the apples up and remove skin, steam (steam is better than boiling coz the nutrients will be dissolved in the cooking water when boiled), then puree and put them into cubes or trays and freeze as soon as possible. I've tried a few kinds of apples already and some brown alot more than others...but its ok to eat don't worry...as long as its prepared properly

Fyi - Fruits and vege given to babies during the 1st stage of weaning need to be cooked (steamed or boiled) to soften it - the only exception is banana, papaya and avocado.

ecookie, actually ah.. i also just bought on impulse. have yet to start reading up on solids, i keep bookmarking everything but go home too tired to read. at work only skive on forum and do work a bit hehe :p the one i got are individual cubes with lids. like the one in photo below..

1260570.gif

fau: what brand is your containers?

u think we can use those freezer bags meant for breast milk to store purees in freezer?
what abt tupperware or avent food cups?

hi all mummies, y not u all try tupperwears freezer mate. heard is quite gd. am not selling, but hv bought some at home for my bb future use. kia su rite.

bubu mama: not kiasu lah,
im now asking alot of qn even though im only planning to give solids when he 6 mths.. n he now only 4 mths...heh

fau, im not sure if urs is he same leh, but judging from the pics, do u think its air tight enuff? I worry that those funny smell in the freezer will go into the frozen puree. Hehe.

I got a few small size lock and lock containers, but too expensive to buy more for puree.

that day, my MIL brought over small TUpperware containers. DUnno for what, now can use for freezing bb food! thank you ladies for giving me the idea!

vone,
When do you to intend to wean your boy off your breasts?? when he reached 1 year? 2 years?

My hubby last night was ranting on and on cos, he's jealous I can bring bb out alone (cos still latching on). He wants to go out with her alone too.. sigh.. last time before married, he'll follow wherever I go, now he wants to just go out with baby only...

also, do you drink coffee??? I mean, my hubby keeps on saying that if baby is active its becos of the caffeine I took during the day. Cannot help it lah... I am a terrible coffee drinker!! Now I only drink 1 cup daily lei... last time 1 jug per day! Even during pregnancy...

justme: i wanted to bring baby out alone too but my hubby forbid cos he think not safe.. dun know why not safe since im capable of taking care of him alone at home :p

mummyhan, i've not opened the packaging yet :p tonight i open and will let you know.

i've spent three hours alone with dahlia at T3, hubby dropped us off before he went for a shoot and picked us up for dinner 3 hrs later. it was so quiet she actually dozed off to sleep
i cant wait for her to start walking coz it's damn huge, lots of space to run around!

1260722.jpg

here's my baby d all covered up in the cold airport

1260723.jpg

with her Ayah at changi beach

Re frozen purees,
My freezer is now full of frozen purees instead of breastmilk. LOL!

Re freezing purees in containers vs ice trays - here's my take after using both containers and ice trays for a month: The pros for freezing the purees in individual containers is that its more convenient. You freeze it in the portions you need in each individual container, then can defrost and warm up the puree in the container and feed from there. This minimizes any transfers and washing up. But the cons is that firstly, you'll need lots of small containers coz when baby starts eating a variety of fruits and veges, and because we need to alternate between the foods she already takes, we need to store a wide variety of different fruits and vege purees. So that means we need to have quite a number of containers. Some containers are not freezer proof and cannot be heated up, and those that can be frozen and heated up are typically more expensive and burn a hole in your pocket! Then the individual containers are only good for the 1st stage of weaning when they only eat 1 kind of fruit and vege at a time. After the 1st stage of weaning when we are introducing various foods one at a time, its recommended we start to mix stuff up, e.g. 1 cube of apple and 1 cube of pear for breakfast, 1 cube of carrot with 1 cube of peas and 1 cube of corn for lunch, then 1 cube of broccoli and 1 cube of sweet potato at dinner. Then using individual containers are troublesome coz you'll have to take out 3 containers and mix them into a bigger container/bowl to feed also. Then as they grow older, they'll be eating much more so those small containers too small...have to buy bigger containers and burn the other pocket. So I find using ice trays easier in the long run. Freeze the puree overnight then transfer the frozen cubes into ziplock bags to free up the ice trays to make more puree. Every night I will take out what I need for the next day and put the cubes into her feeding bowl (buy those that come with lids), leave it in the fridge to defrost, and at feeding time warm it up with hot water or in the microwave oven.

ecookie,
haha, think your hubby scared you are more connected to your wormy! alamak, tell him lah, everything will be fine...maybe, just go jalan jalan around your neighbourhood first then show him, you can go out alone with baby safely.

fau,
hehe, your hubby another one ah! fear her daughter only sayang mummy. even when you go to T3 without him, still have to wear the bib "I love my Daddy". OIC, your hubby sent you ladies there. I was wondering how you managed to get to T3 without him. Taking bus or taxi... tough with the buggy.

Oh by the way, I haven't gone down to T3. Wah, i saw it was filled with shops like a shopping mall! Saw it on CHannel NewsAsia. Hmm.. maybe, will pester my hubby to bring us there this weekend.

Since I fully started work after CNY, really have no time to read and post here. sob sob

Maid
I recently got a maid but she really cannot do her job well even though she has the whole day at home alone !! Sweep floor not clean, wash bottles not clean etc. thinking of terminating but she want to go back so I have to pay for her air ticket back right ? She's a transferred maid from indo. So far we paid the agency fee + insurance + her monthly pay. Anyone know how much I need to folk out for the air ticket?

Swimming
Where can I buy swimming costume for my gal. She is coming to 5mths and have finished her 6-in-1 last week. So am thinking of bringing her to the pool. I bought the mambo but have not tried it yet. Hope it fits her cos she's at 8.05kg at 4mth 20days !!

Hi Angel,
THANKS very much for your detailed explanation. Now I know what to do.. You r the most knowledgeable mum here.. hee hee
I will probably try making apple puree this weekend, since I got lots of apples in my fridge..

Btw, when you freeze puree in the ice trays, do you cover the trays? If not, will the puree gets contaminated in the freezer?! I may sound silly here, but I'm just wondering...

hi totoro,
will u be able to arrange with the maid agency to change a second one..

coz some agency allow employer to change their maid twice.

u can try kiddy palace but nt much variety..or look out for BP..saw one thread selling bb swimwear..

totoro, if i remember correctly there's a swimshoppe at paragon kids' level

thanks angel! i think she's looking more and more like a boy haiz.

Hi Ems,
Don't mention it
Yes must cover the trays otherwise will get contaminated by the bacteria in the freezer. I use gladwrap to wrap the ice trays.

Hi Totoro,
Ya if you terminate her contract then you have to pay for her air ticket back home, or else send back to your agent to put her up for transfer, but usually the agent will make you pay for food and lodging abt $12/day until she finds a new employer, which usually takes up to 30 days. So it may be cheaper if you just buy her a ticket back home. Not sure abt the price of airticket back to Indo..should be cheap if can take those budget airlines bah.

hi gingerleaf, i bought it from one of my colleague (who is member)....u want i can asked her for the booklet. i bought it quite a while liao, can't remember how much. but think will get somemore from her when bb coming 6mth, cos some of the containers i actually hv used to put minced meat last time. wonder still can use.

hi fau,
wow..ur baby is so strong, she is able to stand so firnly to ground. Mine EDD is the same date as urs but kayla cant wait

angel: thanks for the tips! i think i will use ice cubes 1st n transfer to containers to store in freezer. just checked with colleagues, seems like VIA avent storage cups is good for storing purees! he did it this way for his girl.

justme: yah i think my hubby scared i more close with my wormy. lol.. think shall bring him to nearby tiong bahru plaza for a start, mayb this weekend heez...

fau: dahlia is v cute! n dun b silly, she doesnt look like a boy lor.. her eyes scream "girlie!!!"

bubumama: keep me in the loop for the tupperwear? i think i want to get the freezer range if possible!

baby swimwear, thinking of bringing baby to swim when he 6 mths old.. still need thermal wear then or normal swimsuit will do..
for boys should wear one-piece swimsuit cos warmer?