(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

yah lah i think they're always damn daring. they should put a warning Do Not Try This At The Swimming Pool hor. heheh.

Siti, hope you're coping well with the flu! mine's diminishing already after downing so much water yesterday.. i feel like a waterbag. now need to go induce so waterbag can burst. wahahaha.

Hi gingerleaf,
Thanks for informing. But this BP has been closed yesterday.

I am checking if the organiser can still accept my order.

Hi Angel,
You want to check this out?

mummyfaith,
wow your bb look so pro. how long before it takes until she start to cry? she look so happy!

fau,
you are welcome to link. regarding the video, i think if i have a pool in my backyard, sure can try to teach bb to swim like dat. but dun have so can forget it. my friend in aussie has a pool which is fenced up, dunno if its the law, but countries whereby the houses is common to have pools got lots of drowning cases one, so its better to fence than take the risk.

I'm back! went to another GP.. She encouraged me to continue bfing my baby and even prescribed me with medications tats suitable for breastfeeding.. Thank God !! >_<

Mummyfaith, i dun think is because she is hunger for cereal la.. you haven intro cereal to her right? Then i guess she wouldnt know what is cereal then.. =p i think she is just hungry .. 5 mths gt growth spurt... sometimes ryann also like tat..

RE: Swimming
My PD advice me to only bring Ryann to swim in the swimming pool after all jabs finish so is at 6 mths. i see u all enjoy so much i also tempted leh... but still have to wait for 3 weeks.

Angel,
Yes!! count me in for the float.. any colours except green =p

Vone, you better le ma??
Got this yellow small flu medicine that is BF safe one... very good .. cleared my flu that time ..

Em,

me oso checking wif the organiser on the float.

angel,

if the organiser takes my order.. then dun ned to trouble you. since rxsti mentioned they might not sell during winter season. otherwise u will be walking ard in the cold... trying to look for the floats

fau, I have recovered already!... didn't take medicine. Just sleep in. Muahahaha. Vone, hope you feeling better now. Phoebe's right, the small yellow tablet for flu is powerful and yet safe for BF. I think in general, whatever medicine which is safe during our pregnancy, is safe for lactating mummies.

re: magic cup,
madlynette, its the avent cup non-spill spout.

Vone, I don't really care for now that the water reaches sarah or not. hehe. Just let her have a hang of it. She'll just hang on to the handles and bite the spout. hehe.

Re: solid food.
Actually, I am pretty lazy to feed sarah lah. She always gagged when I give her some puree which comes bottled in jars and the cereal. But I can't NOT give her solids right?? she's growing up some more...

Only, managed to put her down for a nap. The whole day, she didn't manage to sleep. Stupid renovation above/below my flat is so disturbing. The 2 days they did drilling I ran to my mum's place. Now I think they placing new tiles, knocking non-stop. Argh... too lazy to go out and i want sarah to rest...

QUestion:
do you ladies bring your babies swimming in public pools or your own condo's (that is if you live in one lah)... i have issues lah on public pools...

sighs.
my maid never renew her contract aso show attitude le. she never need to help take care of bb already so siao zhang. sighs. cant imagine if my bb sticks to her. sure gone case la. sighs

fau, yah...but sometimes, my mil complains about maid, then maid will show tantrums to me! peng! i innocent party aso kena. so i angry, then scold her rude lo. try to help her aso kena snub by her. really faint sia.

angel, since u are not letting her stay in the house alone, then i think she wont be able to bring anyone home. read about her background i aso feel sad leh....=<

Re: Swimming
I bought the float too but only tried it out in the bath tub. Caelen doesn't seem too keen.. think the bath tub doesn't have much space for him to move. Will bring him to the pool after his next jab I think

Re: Magic Cup
When can babies use the cup? I let Caelen tried once and he choked

Topic: What do you play with your baby?
Us working mummies only have so so limited time to play with baby
I only have an hour after I go home from work to spend with him so really wan to make full use of it. But sometimes I really dunno what to do with him. Ended up carrying him around the house and sometimes downstairs. Wished there's something more interactive like games etc... he doesn't seem very interested in books yet. Do you mummies play any games with baby? Can share?

Relating to this working mum thing, you know I used to be so jealous of my baby being closer to my MIL whose taking care of him. Recently, I realised that he would reach out for me to carry even when he's in the arms of my MIL. I was so so happy! But then I realise he will reach out to anyone who told him "gai gai" (go walk walk). He wants to be carried to go jalan jalan and not because he prefers me. Bubble burst. So sad.

Hi Peapod,

You are not the only one!! Nowadays, i reach home at 6.30pm and the first thing i do is not to carry my ga, but to PUMP!! Haiz, no time to pump during work time nowadays!! (Pumping now as I am reading).

Not much time to play with my gal..so bought her a lot of interactive toys from leappad and fisherprice..

As to carrying..when she sees me, i am glad that she will still be very excited and will reach out for me..hope this continues...

peapod,

hahhah.. ur son so cheeky...
abt playin can be quite challenging hor... i will carry her and swing her ard or raise her up and down or bring to see the mirror or do some leg excercise lor... then aft tat i dunno wat to do liao.. then i rented the jumperoo for my gal she's so sian with it lor... aft awhile she will have the stone look... like 'hey i'm bored.. do something else leh..' hahah

peapod: same leh.. sometimes i also wondering what shd we do next.. so both of us will roll around in bed, i will on my laptop and watch FRIENDS haha. she will be gnawing her teether.. when she's bored i will carry her around the house. flashcards reading also sometimes only, coz she tends to look at other things in the room when i read to her.

i have a whole folder of *cough* empeethrees *cough* of nursery rhymes and lullabies.. also sometimes sing and dance around in front of her while she sits in the bouncer. i think babies like it when we're clowning in front of them.

mummies can try to sing with bb "if u happy and u know it clap ur hands" then we clap hands, stomp ur feet, pull ur ears , shout hooray! Tryleh, its quite fun! Bb can try out all the actions.

playing with bb:
typical in between feeds:
1. carry him for about 15 min cos he er ni very easily.
2. put him in his bouncer and i will sing with him with the help of a cd. that lasts about half an hour.
3. let him watch him musical mobile while still on bouncer. this lasts about half an hour too.
4. carry him, let him be on his tummy. clown. ask daddy to entertain him (more singing to him) for about half to an hour.
5. time to nap till next feeding!

then the whole process more or less repeats. LOL
i aso dunno what i can do with him. sometimes i read. but he like not very interested aso. play with him on my bed. 2 of us clown together. shrug....

Hi Em, Darmae,
Wah if the BP sell $19 then better to get from them. Buy in bulk cheaper. Last time my hubby's colleagues in Shanghai helped me buy a neck float for Jade from a toy shop they said...it cost 100RMB. If you can't get it from the BP and if I can find I'll post here next week and you guys can decide whether you still want it. They have alot of shapes and sizes apparently...they bought a pink heart shaped one for Jade.

Re playing with baby, after her feed will sit her down on my lap with as little movement as possible for abt 15 mins so she doesn't er ni. Sometimes will bring her in her stroller downstairs for a walk or put her on her rocker/bouncer. Then after that she's usually most content to be left alone playing by herself...so will leave her in her cot under the musical mobile or let her listen to her music for 30 mins or so. Then will put her in her exersaucer or jumperoo and play with her for 30 mins or so. Then will lay her on the bumpermat let her kick abit lying on her back, then some tummy time, then sitting time. I will have all her toys and rattles around her to jiggle/suck/lick/squeeze..this usually lasts abt 30 mins or so. Then put her on her walker and let her cruise the house until its feeding time or nap time. I read a book to her before sleeping time. Ya and then the whole cycle repeats again.

Re flashcards and books,
Its proven that young babies even at 3 months absorb and learn very fast. So think its worthwhile spending abit of time reading to them and flashing those cards

Poohwei,
One of the reasons why I want to stop breastfeeding when I go to work is so that I can spend more time with Jade when I get home from work instead of being stuck at the pump! Haiz...today went to collect the medication to stop breastfeeding from my gynae..I nearly choked when doing the payment! One tablet is $23. Lucky only need to take 2 tablets.

Hello mummies, really miss chatting here but really got no time to come in lately ... hardly to even have time to breathe at work! Believe it or not, I am still working now ... just taking a breather off to surf 5 mins of net.

No time to go through past postings yet ... any "happenings" lately?

Just to share a recent pic of Jordan which I am very satisfied of!
Heeee ... why? Cos at least he's looking and smiling at the camera!

Jordan says HELLO to all mummies &amp; babies ...

1259484.jpg

angel: u let Jade stroll around in a walker huh? Is it the normal type? Scared to buy cos pple say it will cause the legs to be bowed?

Re MIL:

I dont know what to say about her already. She's younger than my mum but my mum is more adaptable and respects my decision not to give bb solids before 6 months and also on other do's and dont's that i have. MIL on the other hand is relentless in her pursuit to condemn me and my decisions.

Hi All mummies,

I am thinking of getting a jumperoo for my boy. Have been following the thread since I preg but nvr post.

Understand that some mummies here got theirs thru Cheong Choon. Can anyone let me know where it is and the contact number?

Also, there's a toy place in Yio Chu Kang tt I can bring my boy to try out before purchase? Any other place I can let him try out first?

Thanks in advance

Atinarin, walkers are ok lah ... I've seen so many babies in walkers (my mum was a babysitter last time) and they still grow up normal. My 2 kids also on walkers. In fact, I think babies on walkers learn to walk faster cos they "walk" earlier than those who are not on walkers. My gal last time already walked quite steadily by her first birthday.

wah.. these few nites have been battling with my gal to put her to sleep!! gosh... she really clings on like a ??? sticker? hahaha..

angel.. last time i'll put her on the bouncer and let her play.. but these few days dunno why.. the moment i walk away then she will starts to cry... i think could be teethin bah.... sigh..

Btw I just changed my maid! Finally! New one so far ok ... seems smarter and learns faster. More hardworking than my previous one. Hope I don't get to see strange strange "patterns" next time.

angel,
where can I get flash cards?
What kind of flash cards are suitable? Been wanting to get but dunno which type and where to get.

thanks mummies, my turn to be down with fever. =( My bones going to break apart. Sighs. Phoebe. yup she gave me that small yellow pill. I was so drowsy after taking tat and the cough mixture. But still got to wayang with my baby coz he doesnt want to sleep..Hope i'll get better soon..

gingerleaf:
flashcards can be bought from united square lvl 2 i saw a flashcard (black and white version) for babies age 1months to 12months

eh, vone,
you seem to be in a bad condition lei... worrying. Thought you recovering by now. Hope you get well soon!!

re: playing with baby.
THose mummies who wants to play with babies. I think, some babies are just content to stare into our faces. DUnno why, they love faces, so try to put your face near theirs and SMILE!... they know when you are happy and they'll be happy too!.. its like they can feel the positive vibes. But of course, if you are having the flu, avoid kissing them.

Here's Sarah with one of the huge hats she tried on while we both were window shopping.

1259837.jpg

Can't wait for her to grow up so we can have girly dates together!

Here's a photo of her with the flower her daddy got for her duing Valentine's Day.
1259838.jpg

My gal has been waking up these few days at night cos she just want me to hug her. How arh? I end up hugging her to sleep cos i was too tired to rock her. Surprisingly, she just fell asleep w/o rocking. Any idea why? She simply refused milk also.

Re: Puree
Just made apple puree for my gal yesterday. She loved it so much that she "pound" towards the spoon.

Atinarin,

PD advices against sitting on walker...not because of bow leg etc...rather it is because the baby will rely on the walker to "walk" and this might cause a delay in their development.

My sister who is an occupational therapy and her friend who is a physo therapy also say the same thing..

however, pd states that if you want to let ur child sit on the walker...try not to let them sit for more then 15 mins..however..it is still up to indivuals lor..cause some people swear by walker...

justme: awww, ur hubby is so sweet to get sarah flowers

to all mummies on tips to play with baby, thanks! will try those tricks with my baby .. working mums really have very little time with the little one during weekdays..

Hi <font color="0000ff">Pooh Wei</font>,
How to make the apple puree? Can you teach me? I rarely cook, only step into kitchen to cook instant noodles

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>,
Now that my HB is not working, he can fetch me home after work. I usually reach home abt 6pm to pick up Edison from infant care. I still have 2+ hours with him before he goes to sleep. I will carry him walk-walk, play with him either on his Jumperoo OR PlayGym.. I bought some small little toys to play with him.. He will chuckle when I play with him.. Very playful boy!

Hi <font color="0000ff">Angel</font> &amp; <font color="0000ff">darmae</font>,
I sent a mail to Mambo to check if she still have stock for the baby swimming float. If have, do you want to buy?

Wiselyn: Thanks for the info. think i will pass on it.

Jumperoo
Thought of getting too but im afraid she will get bored of it too soon...plus its like so huge and my house is pretty small...hmmm decisions decisions

Sick mummies and babies
Any of your bbs sick but have taken the pneumococal jab already?

anyway i dread to start solids with baby, how do all the working mummies manage?

since u away from home for so long, how to prepare home-cooked meals for baby lunch + dinner? dun wish to keep on buying those off -the-shelf food

hi gigerleaf, recently i bought flashcards for my boy, it's very good, it's bilingual with hanyu pinyin. So if you don't recognise the chinese word, the hanyu pinyin is a savior. haahaa!

angel, em,

i recd email fm the organiser (mambo) asking me to proceed with payment for the float.
will be doing it shortly.

re : playing with bb

usu will reach home ard 6pm. then take shower + dinner. will latch maegan abt 730pm. afterwhich i will do flashcards (with her sitting in bumbo) along with her brother. approx 15 mins (with 3 2mins break in between).
then i start talking and playing with her lor (30mins)... after which, she will spend some time on the jumperoo (10mins, if she's fussy then hubby takes over) whilst i get my boy entertained. change into pyjamas ard 9pm. then read them a book. slumberland after tat... dreamfeed maegan at 11pm. everyday same cycle lor

hi mummies..

bumbo seats- my girl still lean forward and start 'tasting' the rubber like 'licking lollipop'..so i can only let her be there for abt 5 mins only...thik her back not that strong to sit straight yet hor...neck is strong and head can be held up high leh..but once on that seat, she'll just lean forward...

play with bb:
-i am trying to set routine to play nursery music to her, even when she's sleeping.
-after bathing, I'll do 'stretching' for her arms and legs. will bring her arms to head and legs to chest etc. she enjoys that vv much.
-has some sensory and cloth books to read and play with her too...
that's about all and still wondering what else I shd do..

cereal- she's taking a few sppons of them daily. it's been 7 days. I only feed her once a day at noon time, after that she'll have milk in a bottle. saw from frisocream tin that there can be 4 feeds daily..did any of u give so many times/ i did not use frisocream though..using heinz instead.

re cereal:

i oso bot the heinz cereal, bot the organic and the normal wan.. started her wit the organic wan.. her first reaction is the gagin and vomit look.. the 2nd time on she simply love it..

emily,

the apple puree, u jus steam the wahsed and cut apple with the skin on for abt 10-15 mins or till the apple is cook then take it out and remove it from the skin then mashed it or use a blender to mash/blend till smooth
hope it helps

hihi shotbyfau, i'm interested in the bb cubes... can tell me how much did u pay for this?
tks!
is this individual cubes, 10 small ones?

hmm...hv to tend the bb now, be back later....

Can mummies share where you got ur flash cards?

tiny voice and darmae,
where did ya get the flashcards? I wanna go shopping tmr, so can shun bian buy.

vone,
which shop at lvl 2? Think I try my luck at united sq tmr.

re mambo float,
I got mine float after the spree closed too. They have some left over stock apparently. The float is very cute, inside got bells, but I had trouble pumping up the float with the given pump, end up gotta inflate myself.