(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

me also down with fever n soar throat...pil arriving soon...count down to loss of privacy n no more time alone with nynke....

Hi Bubumama,

I don't believe that cannot sayang/kiss baby when sleeping. It will be so sad to deprive the baby of love cos of superstitions.

re: sayang bb when sleeping
hee hee, think i will try try & see whether bb really very to fall asleep....after hearing so many mummies think is a myth

re: cough while breastfeeding
i also kanna cough during CNY (think from my mum to bb then to me) now still got a bit cough (bb already recovered). Hv consulted GP & was prescribed with medi ok for bf. juz that GP won't be giving cough mixture cos they sd will be causing bb to sleep longer & sometime can't wake up. so better be careful of those cough mixture.

jovigal,
sorry for the late reply.
the GP i went is called MY FAMILY CLINIC
I think they hv a few clinics ard the island.
The branch i went to is at woodland mart.

Have not login for four days already... My gal is sick, got cough, flu and running nose. ALready seen 2 PDs.... she coughs badly at nite until her voice getting coarse.... see also heart pain... Cant sleep well this few nites as she has blocked nose, and will cry awake whenever she start to cough. Any idea why is she rubbing her eyes, besides being sleepy any other meaning?.... Me also siong have to be very alert and need to check on her during the nite cos she got block nose.... 'Sigh' Can i apply vicks on her, so she will feel better at her throat??

amy,
It will be a trial for you eh? having PIL over. The older generation usually have their own way of taking care of children so maybe disagreeable to ours.

I heard my MIL coming to my place for a week cos, she got leave from work. I was very nervous about it. Although, we got along very well, having her over and taking care of Sarah (when she'll be crying for me, and she tells me to ignore) will be stressful for me.
Thank goodness, her leave approval was revoked! But she is a nice lady lah.. just that we have differing views in terms of child caring.

sarah also having runny nose. Not so bad but she still fuss around when she wants to nap just now. Tiring, man...
And I am having the slight cough.

vone,amy,
take care mummies! its tough taking care of baby when you are sick...i've just been through that last week. its definitely ok to take panadol and BF, my girl's PD and my own GP are all BF friendly and asked me to continue bf while i was sick and on med. they say it helps to pass on the antibodies to the baby and besides, viruses don't get into the milk, it is spread more thru contact with saliva or in the air.

rsxti: i think our babies going through same thing. dahlia's been coughing and having runny & blocked nose for 3 wks. i've been to a PD twice, and KKH a&e once. i read a thread on baby cough and many mommies said going to kkh a&e is no use..
if she's still coughing next week i'm bringing her to her original PD at Mt A. now i've contracted the flu from her. we've just bought an air humidifier, hope it'll help.

you can get Snuffles Babe (vaporub for babies) at Watsons. it's a small white box with colorful letterings

Hi cookiemonster,
Re maids using handphone, yah I've seen many maids chatting away on their handphones or with other maids while the children that they're supposed to be taking care are running and playing with no supervision. That's why I decided not to leave my maid unsupervised. I'm ok with my maid using it but I have rules around it like she's not to use it while she's feeding or carrying the baby. She follows so far so I'm not too bothered by it. Actually come to think of it I also use my handphone while I'm taking care of my baby at times..heh...this mummy doesn't set a very good example! :/

Hi Em,
What you said is exactly what my hubby said! Told me at least her needs are being satisfied. She work here in Spore for 7 years already...surely will be lonely. I'm trying to focus on her positive side. She is good in her work and with Jade and that's most impt.

Re security bond, lucky I bought insurance for the bond (bond protector) so if she gets pregnant I think I only pay $250 instead of $5000. And I think I have to pay for her air ticket back home as well which will cost $150. So not too bad I guess.

tks fau. first brought her to her PD SBCC at Mt A on Sat, it didnt improve so brought her to Baby n Kids Specialist clinic yesterday.... hope she will get well by end of this week, cos the doctor said it will take about one week to recover.

i dont have it with me now. the first set: cough mixture is transparent in colour, flu is red in colour with a strong syrup smell, dosage is 2 ml / 3 times, for both. second set: cough is also transparent in colour but dosage to give is 1 ml / 4 times, and flu is in a brown bottle (not the usual white bottle) 0.5ml / 3 times.

Hi rxsti,
When my boy has blocked nose, I apply Vicks on his chest, it helps.. But I'm not sure abt throat.. Just apply a little bit & rub on the chest...

Hi vone, rxsti, fau, justme, bubumama and other mummies who are sick,
Wah looks like the flu bug was being passed round during CNY. I feel heart pain for all of you who are sick and babies sick too. Keeping all of you in my prayers to get well soon!

So many ppl is sick now!
Yesterday when I brought baby out, there were many ppl sniffing and coughing oso! Looks liek its the flu and cough season again.

SBCC is also full of sick babies. Apparently its a viral thing that goes around and initially no symptoms. Poor babies.

Need to vent abt MIL. she is bad mouthing me and HB to my mum non stop. When bb cries she says its cos we are not giving her solids. And to her solids means everything we eat.

Then she says things like i only use one drop of massage oil to massage my bb thats why the whole bottle is still intact! i used to massage bb when i was on ML but how can i find the time to do that now? And i cant possible oil her up so much right? So slippery!!!

Then she even told my mum tht my bb will be pampered. She said this when she heard my mum talking to my bb. What's wrong with talking?

Hi Angel,
Regarding your maid woes, I totally understand how you feel. For me, its a NO-NO with handphones and I told her right from the start. Her agency also banned their maids from carrying hps, all got to surrender to the agency. Upon finishing their contract, then they will get back their phones. Reason being, they might get distracted with handphones, and in your case, get bfs. But I understand its quite hard to control, esp for filipino maids because of the compulsory off days. My maid is Indo, so we pay extra for her no-off days. But she is ok with not having hp. I also told her if I find her having a bf, off she goes back to the agency. As simple as that. But actually agency has already told their maids all these already, so they are quite fearful of being sent back.
For me, why I'm so strict with my maid is that she's looking after my baby, I dont want her to have other distractions, or get into any unnecessary trouble which I would have to take care of i.e. getting pregnant and later having to bring her to clinic etc. And like what one of the mummies mentioned, dont know what disease (touch wood) she will contract. There may be other problems also, like is her bf a married man as well? that will certainly lead to more complications, and what if they broke off and maybe she gets too depressed and it affects her mood and work?
My 2 cents' worth. If I were you, I would probably start looking for a new maid, but an experienced one who has her own children, and not very old, myanmar and indo are pretty good, esp those who can speak basic english.

I also got MIL vent.

Monday was FIL's birthday. We were about to go off from their house, hubby is already downstairs getting the car. I've been very very strict about not wanting to feed dahlia with junk, I've not even introduced purees to her properly. MIL likes to say things like this to baby, "Ouh last time your father 6 mths already know how to eat chicken drumstick!" blabla. -_- So we were going back, I was carrying dahlia. She just rammed a tiny winy bit of cake (!!!) into baby's mouth! "For blessing" she said. I was so pissed off my cheeks were quivering! Lucky baby's fine, no diarrhoea or side effects.. but still! Urgh.

atinarin: whats SBCC?

sounds like ur MIL is one with v low EQ.. :p
perhaps you can discuss with your hubby abt her attitude? try to be honest n reasonable when talking to him abt his mum, i feel that this approach works when i wanted to raise concerns over some of my own MIL's ways to my hubby,..

what abt ur mum? she should be understanding and dont agree with ur MIL when it comes to ur baby crying? crying doesnt nexessarily equates to hunger.. must get this fact across to ur MIL.. and starting solids too early has its cons.. babies may form allergies if these run in the family..

fau: yah ur MIL really shouldnt do such a thing! ramming the cake in w/o asking the parents' consent!! really, if its me, i ll blow my top!!

my MIL also like to "talk" to the baby to get her points across... like when i told her sterilising bottles is a must for babies under 1 year cos their stomach not that strong.. she ll talk to baby"never mind, grandma used hot water rinse rinse also good enough hor?"

*grr*

Atinarin,
Which SBCC branch? I hope when I bring mine to the one at GlenE, wun face so many sick bb, coz she'll he having her jab next week.

Hi Fau,
Wah, I will be super angry if my MIL did tat... But she is funnie... 6 months old can eat chicken drumstick! *faint*

I think I'm one of the lucky one cos my MIL is understanding.. I'm the main caregiver for Edison & I'm making all the decisions for him.. MIL only see him on weekend & she doesn't interfere in the way I take care of Edison...

emily; my MIL helps out to take care of my baby during daytime for mon-wed n she stays over at my house for 2 nights (mon & tue)...

sometimes really cant stand the way she takes care of the baby.. parenting styles really differs.. and she vies for baby attention even when i go home after work, despite she seeing the baby for a good 12 hours when im away at work! very pissed.. got to pretend to carry baby away to my own room then close door then got some privacy..

know this is not v nice.. but i really wish to play with baby without her talking to the baby n distracting him for awhile before his bedtime at 9+pm which is just 1 hr plus from the time i reach home at 7+..

Hi ecookie,
Yeah, I can understand how u feel... After a day of work, we just want to spend some QUALITY time with our little darlings... If MIL still want to interupt, then of cos we will feel frustrated..

Btw, why only Mon-Wed? Who is taking care of your baby on Thurs and Fri? *Just curious*

gingerleaf, i brought my gal to SBCC @ MAH, to take her 5th vaccine jab on 11th, the day after CNY, the appt was so full, and theres quite a no. of sick babies....if yours is next week should not be so packed with the 'post festive' patients.

emily: on wed night will bring back to my mum's place n baby will stay overnight there for 2 nights...till we fetch him back on fri night..

somehow i feel okie with baby at my mum's place.. n when my mum plays with baby wont get frustrated.. double standard hor?

2 nights baby-free in a week lor.. for hubby + me to catch up with ourselves.. and *dread* housework.. lol

Hi ecookie,
Wah, you split 50-50 between your mum and MIL, very special arrangement hor.. Then you have to prepare 3 sets of baby clothings, cots, sterilisers, bottles & bath tub?!

We have spent 20+ years with our mum, of cos we wont have a problem with them, its normal... We are used to our mum's parenting style..

fau,
Man if I were you I think I would have blown my top off at your MIL without second thought. Cake somemore lor...babies under 1 year old shouldn't eat egg!

Hi Chiangs,
Actually its not compulsory that filipino maids have off days. Can pay them extra too if they're agreeable. I gave my maid sundays off and allow her to use her handphone precisely to avoid her becoming depressed. I myself wouldn't want to work in a foreign land, with no form of communication to the outside world and no off days...I would go crazy. In fact I remember I was so depressed when I had to do confinement just for 30 days in my own house with my own baby somemore...what more in someone else's house and someone's baby.

Will try an indo maid if I do change maid. I think indo and myanmar maids are easier to 'control' too coz they're scared of going back because they come to Spore with a $2000 loan to pay back. But these maids also come with their own set of problems like home sickness, cleanliness issues, communication problems, etc. and some really blur like sotong. Haiz...I guess its really like winning 4D to get a good maid.

Here I am complaining abt my maid whereas you mummies complaining abt your mums and mils! Hahah...so funny. I'm starting to think that the only way to avoid such issues is to quit our jobs and stay home!!!

about sbcc..the pds specialises in different areas so maybe u will want to see one that best cater to your babies' condition.
we r seeing Dr Koh at AMK branch. can get better understanding by seeing their website i think. will try to find it later..

pil went out already..nynke smiled at mil and when she carried her, nynke cried adn looked at me sooo sadly..poor girl, just 3 wks leh..she does not want mil at all. guess mil a bit sad but think will only be a few more days and nynke will stick to her liao..

eccokie, i understand lah..we always more keen to be with our own mothers right?

fau, i'll be sooo angry if my pil do that! will make sure hubby gets the correct thing across too. what if food is not clean? remember prima deli incident? cakes and bread etc etc definitely not for our babies now.

maid:
woah i think i very lucky got a good maid, who has experience with babies and is good cook and very clean. she listen to everything i tell her and she will do one. she is also very shy and polite. bless my lucky stars, so far so good. she is so gentle with the baby and caring towards my aging dad. wow! she really put my mind at ease when im at work. i really like her a lot and even gave her a secondhand handphone for her personal use. so far she only use it to call her family in indon and she never use it in front of me. she work with no off days as well. this her first time working outside of indonesia. she always make sure, baby is bath and powdered and changed diapers & clean clothes by the time i reach home. so every day i come home to be greeted with nice smelling clean baby.

sick moms and babes, please take care, eat and rest well ok. hope you all get well soon.

fau: your MIL is really very rude to feed your baby cake! better dun leave Dahlia in her care, dunno what she will do behind your back.

yah precisely.. i vented out on hubby and spelt out specifically that whatever goes into the baby has to get approval from me! haiz, actually got a lot of IL tales, if type whole afternoon also cannot finish.

emily: my MIL comes up to my place to take care from mon-wed , thats why she got to stay overnight for mon+tue 2nights..heachache thats why thinking of sending baby to half-day childcare near my mum's place once he turns 18 mths.. my mum working part time if not surely want her to take care full time. :p

so 2 sets of baby clothings, bath tub & bottles only.. my mum boil the bottles the conventional way,.,. 20 mins in a pot.. & baby sleep on mattress on floor at my mum's place.. haah

Darmae,
Wa I'llbe super pissed if I'm you.. Good thing u send her home. I'm sure she'll give you alot of problems since she has alreadt blatantly and outrightly "ding zhui".

Hey if you wake up to pump in the long run will be very tired lor.. why not dedicate 1 sat or sun to power pumping?

ha glad to know that im not the only one with MIL probs.. cos i got irritated with her very easily.. and very frustrated at times.. n my hubby sometimes v nonchalent.. when i complain to him , he will either bo chup n ask me to tell her directly (how to??!?!?) or not v pleased and say just let her be.. (how to???!??!?! again!)

Vone,
Panadaol is ok for bf mummies. Mrs Wong okayed it.

Angel,
I remember seeing a maid hanky panky with a construction worker in the lift many years back. I was shocked to see them half undressed when the lift door opened after I press the button. The worse thing is a 2-3 year old boy (I think he was the employer's son) was in the same lift "gong gong" witnessing everything. I was so angry then..how can they do it in front of a small child. I don't know if the boy understands or remembers anything of it.
I hope your maid having a boyfriend will not affect her attitude or work at home. One thing for sure.. you can't leave her at home alone with Jade. You don't know if she'll bring back her boyfriend and hanky panky possibly using your bed!!

Em,

agree tat edison really "auntie killer".. cos even me "auntie sam" cant resist leh. hee.. quickly wan to let maegan gets in the queue liao.

angel,

as much as i understd that if a maid's social and personal life satisfied, she will be more motivated to work. but i am still very skeptical abt them hving boyfrens lor. there are maids who noe self restrain, they are some who duno.
my fren caught her own maid in bed wif a sri lankan one day. she wasnt feeling well so went home early and then caught them in the act. her daughter (3yr old then) was left in the next room playing. she's a little quiet, reserved and dun tok much. guess tat is why her maid took advantage of the situation and brought the man back.
what i worry most is the little girl... duno if the man decide to try somethg 'bian tai'.
before she send her maid back, she checked thru her belongings... she discover smthg disgusting too. she found photos of her maid wearing her clothings, even those sexy lingerie. some photos taken on her bed somemore... er xin rite?

re : handphone
my filippino maid oso use her phone like nobody's business...but i found it too distracting. so limit her use, gave her specific timings to adhere. but she oso din follow. caught her secretly using... so pissed off lor. smtimes i juz give n take cos she is good with my elder one. frankly, with tis change of maid, the one who was more affected is my son lor. he is very moody and quiet these few days. refuse to talk to the new maid too... guess he needed some time to adjust.
mayb i'm not gd with maids.. so i think i beta settle wif myanmar maid. more simple and sincere.

bena,

thanks for reminding.. i still actually got up at 1am to pump..haha so silly of me.
really tired lor.. zombie now.

re : maid ding zui.
ya lor.. tats was the last straw. in the past, i focus on the fact tat she was good wif my son. so i juz left some things as it was. but she kept pushing her luck.

gingerleaf: the SBCC i mentioned is the AMK branch.

Fau: we can have a MIL woes forum...come to think of it fo rmy case its FIL too.

RE MAIDS

My bro had a Indo maid b4. We are her 1st family and her main duties is to look after my niece. She dun even have to wash my clothes and my mum's, coz my bro wanted to lighten her work load so she can concentrate on my niece.
I caught her downstairs, talking to an indian man many times, but I didnt interfere much. She gets to go downstairs very often, as my niece wanna go to the playground everyday. One day, my bro realised she is pregnant. Turns out, she had sex with the indian man very often and on many occasions, even brought my niece to his hse! She'd let my niece stay in the living room while they go inside the room to do their thing. My niece was 5yrs old then.
The man is a local indian somemore... so scary.

My FIL used to have a Phil maid more than 15 yrs ago, she was home sick but couldnt go home coz still under contract. Then she reported to the police that my FIL molested her. Luckily my FIL was found innocent. Scheming rite?

Now after so many years, my FIL finally dare to hire maid again, his 1st indo maid was lousy, but he tolerated her for 2 years, now changed a new one, she is very good. Very attentive to my hubb's grandma, keeps the hse and is very polite. When there isnt anything for her to do, she'll find things to do, if we go over to PIL's hse, the maid will sit quietly in the kitchen lest we need her help. Very nice n hardworking.
Finding maid really like buying 4D.

I am a mother of two. One 28 months old son and a 5 months old daughter... hehe can I join in to chit chat too?

I have a maid which is very much a nice helper to me, she look after my 2 kids very well and spends most of her time playing with them. thou she isn't really good at household chores ... hehe

She's my second maid, the first one was young and fast at her chores but she likes to bring my son to the playground and often comes back with blue blacks. My son also likes to beat and bite her , so we decide to change her ... and luckily we did. My son had never bite or beat my new helper at all and he clicks with her so well that my hubby and I can go catch a movie or have dinner together peacefully...

I guess wat ginerleaf say is true , like 4D...