(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

justme: oh no so sad to hear the boy cried for so long.. i cant stand it if babies cry for too long.. though at times my baby really tested my limit and i wanted to let him cry it out but when i hear him cry very pitifully for 10-15 mins at most.. will be v heartpain and will carry him.. sometimes carry too late then cannot sooth as fast.. then feel v bad at myself for letting him cry till like that..

emily: yah think older babies may have harded time adjusted to new environmts..

ginger, my sis bought the jumperoo for her boy at vv late stage then, think he already 8 or 9 mths old then. he played till 12 mths old and then it was discarded to one side. hubby and i then were thinking whether the jumping was good for the baby or not cos legs not that sturdy and seemed to promote' hyperactivity' leh..haha..who knows now, I'm the mummy who wants my girl to try...since so many mummies here also let their babies tried it. hubby is the 'obstacle' now cos he still thinks its not good...

Hi Bena & ecookie,
Its hard for older babies to adjust to new environment... The mother shd start slowly, like putting him half a day, then slowly to full day.. In the beginning, she shd also stay at the infant care for sometime to accoy his baby before she leave..

I always ask the teacher if my boy cries a lot in the infant care.. If yes, I will have to withdraw him from infant care.. But luckily, he adjusted well... A bit of crying whenn hungry or sleepy is OK, but crying excessively is definitely not acceptable for me...

emily: yah i think so too.. i will put my boy to childcare when he turns 1 1/2 years old . hopefully by then he will adjust okie since older, can talk to him to make him understand .. heh.. if not, will follow ur method of slowly easing him to new environment.

wish all babies who are unwell a speedy recovery.

angel, ecookie,
faith don't nap much in the day at all...very hard for her to fall asleep and she will be awake very fast, at most 30mins - 1hr only. she is usually tired by early evening and will start rubbing her eyes vigourously but just refused to sleep. we call her super baby as she doesn't seem to need much sleep. last night, woke up only once at 5am...

emily,
i saw you n hubby n edison on the news last friday! edison look so guai, didn't make any noise or move about during the interview.

Hi ecookie,
I started off slowly by 0.25 day to 0.5 day to full day.. Initially, I accompany my boy for abt an hour at the infant care before I leave.. The teachers were OK with parents staying there...

Hi mummyfaith,

Hee hee... I bumped into the Mediacorp reporter last Friday at TPY Hub.. The interview lasted less than 5 mins, tat's why Edison can stay still.. He was also quite kaypoh, keep looking at the cameraman..

thanks all for input.
just got to know that maids cant even wash the car for us at the hdb carpark!
GOSH! what is this? then how are we working mothers supposed to cope?!?!?! then how to have more children? arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! u cant expect IL to do housework and take care of bb at the same time! then we employ maid. only to know she can work in 1 residence! then cannot wash car cos car not in own compound! then best we no need work la!

sorry mums...just needed a vent to vent out frustrations. very very very very angry leh....

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Hi Bena,
I din record leh, anyway, very short only..

Hi Ben Mum,
I heard Indon maid can wash car, but Filipino maid cannot.. Not sure true anot.. But I saw maids washing owner's car every morning at the carpark..

Bena:

Thanks he's much better after taking his new medication not so much phlegm compared to the previous one and his fever has alrdy subsided. *cheers* Hopes my little one gets well soon then mommie can get more rest! As for the bottle,cup i almost give up he kept screaming and crying and even went on hunger strike i tried going out leaving my mum to feed him from the bottle but i feel so guilty about it. Nowadays he will pull and bite really hard on my nipple trying to see my reaction ~_~

thanks mummyfaith! Hopes Jaylen gets well soon too.

fau:
Yup my baby still sick =( But pd changed his medication and got slightly better compared to the previous one. Hope your darling gets well soon too!

Em,

little edison on the path to stardom ah.. 1st it was the mother & baby mag... now on TV. keke...
re : maid washing
actually i'm oso uncertain abt the rules and regulations. but both my indonesian and filipino maid wash cars for us oso.

i juz sent back my filippino maid last fri. juz renew her contract aft 2 years of working wif us. but she chu alot of pattern after the renewal... we buay tahan liao.
employed a maid from myanmar instead... was abit lucky, we didn't have to wait for 2 weeks. the employer who wanted her initially can't afford to employ her liao cos his wife lost her job. so we have her to work with us after the documentation. Am on leave 3 days to train her.

bena and mummies who still breastfeeding,

i'm am having this situation. during wkends when i latch maegan... she seems statisfied with the 3-4hrly interval.

but then when i'm at work, i can only pump a max of 300ml, smtimes even lesser. but her intake when i'm at work is 360 - 390ml. the reserved in the freezer is slowing depleting liao. can only 'tong' for another 8 days nia (minus wkends). i tried increasing pumping session.. but then, i still can't pump more. when i latch maegan on.. i can hear 'gulp, gulp' sound.

Darmae,
Pumps definitely don't extract milk as efficiently as our darlings, so she might be getting alot more than you can pump when on direct latch. You might need to add one more pumping session at home (late at nite maybe?) to match maegan's needs. Otherwise, you might need to do power pumping on a weekend to up your supply? Or you can also try to feed her one side and pump the other side at the same time. Soon, your body will produce double of what's actually needed. Last resort is to supplement one feed with FM lor.. Tried the soup yet?

Actually quite surprising cuz normally babies will do reverse cycling - meaning they will take a little when mummy is at work just to tong till mummy comes back, and then have a feast on mummy's breast. How come Meagan is reverse hah.. so cute.

Vone, happy to hear that Jaylen's better.. dunno why the flu bug is everywhere these days and there are actually more than 1 strain of the flu virus. So mummies, do keep your babes at home as much as possible these 2 weeks till the bugs are blown over..

Re infant care,
I heard that babies at infant care from a young age can adapt better coz they don't suffer from separation anxiety till ard 8 months or so.

Mummyfaith,
Re to get baby sleeping thru the night, actually I read if the baby doesn't get enough naps, too long or too short naps during the day, they will become fretful/cranky and can't sleep well at night too. I used to let Jade stay awake till she shows signs of sleepiness on her own, sometimes she'd be sleepy after 2 hours of being awake, sometimes 3-4 hours, but sometimes she stayed awake the whole afternoon and then she gets overtired and cranky in the evening and is very difficult to put to sleep - she will fight sleep even though she is very tired, and when she finally goes to sleep, she keeps waking up 2-3 times in the middle of the night, not hungry but just have to soothe her back to sleep. I also had difficulty telling the difference between her sleepy cries and hungry cries. Sometimes I think she's hungry and warm up a bottle of milk only to find that she's not hungry!

I recently started to make her nap at roughly the same times everyday. Each nap lasts abt 1 hour. Total naptime ard 4-5 hours. I never let her nap for longer than 2 hours at a time. Sometimes she'll wake up within 30 mins too. And she'll compensate at the next naptime. If she does not show any signs of sleepiness at her nap time (yawning, scratching and rubbing face or crankiness), I will put her to sleep anyway. Since then she's really shown ALOT of improvement - goes to sleep within 2 mins, she's not cranky while she's awake, eats better and is happy to play on her own most of the time and not be carried so much, and at night she sleeps well from 10pm to 7am. She's a much happier baby now. And remembering Wiselyn's famous quote - corny as it may sound, I'm a happier mummy too.

BenMum,
Ya lor maids cannot wash car...because they are DOMESTIC workers...and the car is not considered part of the house unless you stay in landed property and park your car in the house!

Amy,
Re jumperoo, the manufacturer instructions say it can be used from 3 or 4 months onwards...should be safe lah. Think US safety standards for children very high...you should know better coz you were living there right?
Tell your hubby Nynke is missing out
Jade's legs very strong now...she always tries to stand up by herself now...and can stand for a few seconds with some support. My MIL say she's gonna start walking soon!

Cabbage leaves works! I know alot of mummies are gonna beat me up for this but I'm so happy!!! My supply has dipped!! Now no need to manually express after Zac nursed, and no need to wake up in the wee hours to express liao!! 2 more weeks and Zac will start solids!

Darmae,
Yeah babies are more efficient than pumps!
If you're pumping 300ml, your baby can get ard 50-100ml more. Hmmm...when maegan starts on solids, her milk intake will reduce so you should have enough BM for her again. In the meantime, try to increase your supply by pumping or latching more frequently, or top up with FM at the last feed. She's on bottle feeding EBM already right? So should be easy feeding her with FM.

How's the new maid? Heard Myanmar maids are less notty.

Bena,
Hahaha so fnny!! Ppl trying to increase supply and we're trying to reduce!
I'm down to pumping 2 times a day. Btw, I asked my gynae for the medicine to stop bfeeding. But he kept asking me to try naturally first...like very reluctant to give me. So I'm trying..suspect getting blocked ducts coz can feel lumps...I will try the cabbage leaves!

re: baby sleeping/napping
yah i agree with angel, when baby does not sleep enough they will get cranky come night time..
but when they sleep too much then they will go to bed late and routine all messed up.. lol.
thin line to thread.
baby napping is an art!

i didnt make my baby nap at a routine time but as and when he wants.. but will wake him up if he sleep more than 2 hrs (quite rare by the way) and if he happens to wake up like 15mins from noise etc, will pop back the pacifier to let him sleep longer.. in short will keep his nap time to 3-4 hrs during the day..

and realise he ll sleep easier come evening time.. sometimes just give him his pacifier n beanie bean sprout , he ll doze off himself in cot.. leaving me amazed.. at my luck ha.
but other times still need to carry him "dance dance" round the house lah... but so far he s falling asleep quite fast.. so keeping my fingers crossed that he ll learn to fall asleep by himself sooN!

re: sleeping
all mummies, hv u all heard that not to kiss/sayang bb when they r sleeping, no matter the face or the whole body....bb will become cranky for the next sleeping time. my mum always complaints to me that i (hubby & me) must hv kiss bb when she is sleeping....but we did not. cos during wk day when bb at her house, always cranky and need to be "rock/dance" then fall asleep. any advice.

angel, ecookie,
i don't have much control over faith's nap times now as she is still in infantcare. they do not follow a nap routine for young babies and just allow them to nap as and when they want to. usually on weekends, i will try and get faith to nap at least 1-2hrs in the day but the routine will break once she goes back to infantcare. oh well...if i really don't find a job by end of this mth, will officially become SAHM and then can train her to sleep better!

Hi Bena,
I slowly reduced from 4 to 3 to 2 times over a week or so. Actually it was the CNY period and I didn't have much chance to pump till I got home. Abit uncomfortable coz always feel 'full' but its bearable. Just hope I don't kenna blocked ducts...if not I'll be sure to ring you!

Bubumama,
Hehehe your mum very superstitious hor? My hubby and I kiss and sayang Jade alot when she's sleeping. She's so nice to kiss when she's asleep!

mummyfaith,
Oh ya forgot she's in infantcare. Hmmm....don't they control their nap times in infant care? Someone mentioned before that they instill routines.

bubumama: yah never heard of this saying also.. and my hubby n i love to kiss baby a lot when he sleeping hee.. cos so sweet looking!

Angel.. then I hope I won't get any phone calls from you! You talked abt kissing Jade while she's sleeping.. hmmm... so sweet.. I can imagine how cute she looks when sleeping with her du du zhui..must be so irrestible...feel like kissing her myself liao.

Hey the other time you got thrusg, you just used vinegar and rub onto nipples is it? How many times must you do it and any vinegar also can? I suspect I have thrush. I've this shooting pain from my left breast but I dunno if it's the nipple and it comes and goes. Wonder if it's thrush.

don't know leh, or juz becos my bb very diff to fall asleep, so they came with this kind of excuses.....might be a myth, so at the end i never kiss/sayang my gal, so sad

bena, angel,

wah seh... me desperately i need to increase supply. both of u trying to decrease wor.
i think my supply only 'gum gum ho'... re : latch 1 breast, pumping the other.
i can't do that wif my current supply. maegan ned to feast on both inorder to be full (tong 3-4 hrs). i think i will try to get up and pump late at nite. usu she takes her last feed at 11pm. then will wake up at 3am for next feed.

maegan's feeding consider reverse? usu iatch her before i go to work. she takes EBM fm bottle 3x during the day when i'm at work. latch 2x (11pm last feed). plus 2 nite feeds (latch at 3am, 6am).

i hvnt try the soup yet. mum cooking for me this sat. i hope it will work for me.

angel,

re : myanmar maid
i find them more hardworking and sincere.
few colleagues n frens who had issues wif their indonesian or filippino maids.. made the switch to myanmar maids. so far good comments, so i thot no harm trying.
some filippino too street smart. mine was ok for the past 2 years. but then aft renewing her contract tis jan... she started hving new requests every other week.. 1st she requested to attend some courses (require to attend every sun), but we rejected, then she asked for additional day off, which we didnt agree too. We had sat dwn together in Jan to discuss about the new contract, term and conditions plus pay raise. we even gave her a small bonus. And now she is requesting this and that.
The last straw came when she 'burnt' 2 of my clothes while ironing... she didnt even own up. kept the clothes in my wardrobe as usual. i only found out when i wanted to wear one of them. questioned her.. guess wat reply she gave.. she said she wasnt in a good mood that day after we refused her requests.
i told her if she had plans to upgrade herself or wanted more off days.. she shldnt hv agree to renew the contract. we can ask the agent to get her a new employer. but now with this bad attitude.... i say i ned to discuss with the agent to send her back. guess wat.. her reply was 'if you want to send, go ahead.'
i was soo angry lor. but control my anger, called the agent and ask them to come pick her.

sorry, complain so much here..

Bena,
Haha so funny the way you describe her 'du du zhui'. I think its very suitable! I also hope next time I call you its coz of something else rather than blocked ducts hehe!
But its good to know who to turn to for help.

Re vinegar for thrush, supposed to use white rice vinegar, those use for cooking kind. Don't use black vinegar. Just use a cotton wool and wipe/dab the nipples. And then rinse off with water and dry. Its recommended to do it after every feed and continue for a few days so that the yeast doesn't build up. I only did it for a day since they pain stopped. I think it sounds like we have the same kind of nipple pain...sharp shooting..comes and goes. Hmmm..but I really dunno whether my nipple pain was related to thrush leh. But the vinegar seemed to work! If you do try, lemme know how it works for you k

Hi darmae,
Wah, path to stardom?! Hee hee... not yet lah... But he is an "Auntie Killer" (Si Lai Sat Sau in Cantonese).. A lot of aunties like him a lot.. Yesterday, when we were out shopping, a middle age woman came over n' talked to Edison.. She saw him and said "Oh, such a LOVELY little toddler!"..

Hi BuBuMaMa,
My MIL said the same too, but I dont believe in those old folks tales & pantang thing... I love to kiss my boy when he is sleeping cos he is so sweet-smelling...

Darmae,
I also want to complain abt my maid. I really dunno what to do now. My filipino maid has been working for me for 4 months. She is very good so far..her housework is great and runs on auto-pilot and she can handle Jade well. We get along rather well, and she's a nice and cheerful lady. Sometimes we talk abt personal stuff and she confides in me with her family problems at home. She's got 2 children of her own, but is separated with her hubby. The only thing I don't like abt her is that she talks alot on her handphone and spends abt $40-$60 on top up cards each month. One day I heard her talking to a man on her handphone in English...and I asked her jokingly whether its her boyfriend..initially she kept denying but after I probed she admitted to me its her boyfriend. He's an insurance agent working for Great Eastern, malay man in his late 40s. On one hand, I'm not surprised she has a boyfriend coz she's quite pretty and since she's separated, why not. But on the other hand, I'm thinking..what if she gets pregnant? She's got every Sunday off and I can't control what she does outside. I told her if she gets pregnant, she cannot work in Spore anymore. She told me not to worry...she uses contraception. *faint*
My whole family including my hubby seems to think that its ok and ask me to overlook it because she's good and good maids are hard to find. Anyway I'm starting work soon so also no time to train new maid. So in a dilema now
What do you think?

vone,
I took panadol before,... but only when I really can't take it. I fear the medicine will affect BM.

Bena,
I intend to latch on Sarah for a looong.. time. Guess, I have the luxury to do so cos SAHM. However, I have gotten her a Magic cup so she'll practise whenever she can using the spout. Just in case. I hope to latch her on for at least 1 year.
Heard about the cabbage leaves but never tried.

emiily,
edison can toddle already?? why the lady called him toddler??

Justme:

Me too ~_~ But my running nose is really bad.. ~_~ *Sighs* Guess i'll jus bear with it.

Bena:

I'm also intending to latch on my baby as long as possible. Can't bear to see him go through the phrase of screaming and crying although sometimes i realy feel like taking a short break from him .

Re: Ear infection
Justme,

natalie got outer ear infection when she was not even one month old. Doc said probably water got into her ear during bathing time. How we found out is - we saw yellow stain near the ear, on the nappy that she slept on (we use nappy like pillow for her). THen that ear seemed to have yellow crystalised solids also. We brought her to see PD and PD gave the anti-biotic ear drop. Can only get it with doc prescription.

There is the more serious middle ear infection. Middle ear infection must be treated immediately, if not will result in permanent loss of hearing. Symptoms: baby pull, rub at the ear, cry, temperature over 38.6C, vomitting, discharge from the ear.

Re: maid
Angel, I will not tolerate that my maid go outside and do funny things, you duno if she will get any kind of sickness and pass on to the family members, worse - the baby. I will be super uncomfortable. So I think it depends on your comfort level and judgement on what kind of person is she. For me, I do not alllow my maid to use handphone, I seen too many busy talking on the handphone, than taking care of the baby.

Vone, I think it is safer to check with your gynae or the PD, before you take the panadol. Do take care and drink lotsa of water.

I am a mummy looking to expanding my social circle, not tat i have much for the past 3 years, since the birth of my elder gal... -_-" My gals are all in the month of Sept. Now my younger gal is 5mths old, same as all the babies here rite?

Hi Vone,
Checked with doc b4 panadol cold relief is ok for TBF mothers. But just try to BF 6-8 hours aft consumption. but wat i did was aft a feeding, i'll pop the medicine and usually it'' be 3-4 hours (in the day time) b4 baby wakes up for next feeding.

There are some medicines that are a definite no-no for BF mums. but those are generally "stronger" medicine.
hope this helps. ^^

Hi Coolmama,

oh 6-8hrs then cant alrdy coz im fully latching on my baby. Thought of going back to my gynae to get the flu pills but not sure if im able to do that since im not pregnant @_@ *scared that he will think why i didnt go to my GP instead?* But the medications which my GP prescribed they usually will advise me to stop bfing after consuming and some might even ask me to temporily stop bfing for 2-3 days til i recover which i din really like *probably not bfing friendly GPs*

cookie monster.. alamak, my sarah, likes to pull and rub her ears and pull her hair around the area. I am scared now. Read that milk can get into the ear cos, usually we feed baby when they are lying down. And once that happens, it will tend to cause ear infection. WOrry, worry, worry...

Hmm.. vone, probably, those gps aren't pro-bf.
Now my throat feeling uncomfortable. Think the weather is favourable to the flu bug. I read books by the Sears and they said there is no relevant excuse not to bf even if the mummy is sick. In fact the more the mummy should latch on if she's unwell cos the antibodies for that sickness is formed in her milk!..WHy don't you rest and drink lots of plain water and if you need a panadol, then probably take one after you'd nurse your boy. I took them before, and so far so good. Just refrain if possible lor...

justme:

yup im doing that now. Taking loads of water feel like im bursting n kept going to the washroom! @_@ I agree with u those GPs arent pro-bf. There's once i went to another gynae thinking he might be ok since he's a gynae himself.. he told me to stop bfing and why didnt i go back to my own gynae @_@ i was like HUH? .. u're a gynae and u're telling me bcoz im sick i should stop bfing till im well again.. I jus ignored him and didnt take any of the medications he gave me in the end i went back to my own gynae.

Hi Angel,
I think having a BF is justifiable... As long as her work performance is not affected.. Imagine if your maid work 7 days, with no personal life, she will slowly get bored with life and will not have motivation to work...

If she can have one day off in a week, spend time with her BF, then she can have a more balanced life.. Its healthy!

Most important is that she loves Jade and can handle her well.. What's more important that our little darling? Basically, if you change maid now, you wont have much time to train her again..

The only concern is that how safe is her contraception? What if she is pregnant? I think your deposit will be forfeited by MOH if she is pregnant, right? Can you get back your deposit?

In my point of view, the pro is more than the con now... So, if I were you, I will continue with this maid..

vone, go see a doc. The last time I was sick, I continue bfing even tho I was under meds. The gp told me its okie to bf with the meds he gave, so i didnt stop. You might liek to consult ur gp or gynae 1st, else flu+looking after bb is very very very tiring.