(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Wiselyn,
Clara is so pretty!! Hehehe nice shots of her. I like the one in the white dress too...her pose so sexy!!

That phrase is true leh...Jade now also likes to sleep sitting up now! LOL! Lay her down and she'll cry like mad.

All mummies who asked for the recipe,
Ok.. I'll post the recipe here on Fri.. gotta get from my mum. Yes, it's green papaya soup with peanuts but I dunno what else is inside. Only remember it's delicious. Actually maybe I can organise a small gathering and invite interested mummies over my humble abode to drink soup. (except that I won't be drinking the soup lor
) Do you'all like the idea? But green papaya not easy to find in the market so gotta ask my mum to buy..

Wow,
Wiselyn, Clara's so pretty.. she is like nu da shi ba bian..lurve those pics
Zac is beoing her cleavage liao

Mummyfaith.. take care yah..

Darmae.. xie xie ni

Vone,
Why not? I think it's great if we can help other breastfeeding mums. Really not easy esp for new mummies who have to suffer from sore nipples and sleepless nites when baby is still small and mummy is still recovering from the labour. Actually I am quite interested to be a lactation consultant and to give more practical help.. except that I think I might not be able to get used to touching so many breasts :p.

Angel.. gee thanks. I think you are a good counsellor.. hee I always sms you when i kenna blocked ducts

Atinarin, got latch baby or not? I find latching the best to stimulate supply. Then plus the soup it's double power lor. Ya it's really nothing to do with the size of our boobs hor?

ecookie,
I dun dare to read the blog.. aiyo see our mummies here cry till so sad

Bena:

Yup i think its good to help new mums too! Im actually guiding my sil's neighbour how to breastfeed ! ^^ Feels good! haha Let me knoe if u wanna go :D So i can have someone for company

Angel:

the teether is a shape of a bug! =D umm I got it from jurong point kiddy palace. u should be able to get it from marina's outlet. Not so sure. Will let u knoe when i see it =D If im going to jurong point's outlet i let u knoe ^^

vone, bena,
its good if you have been helping people around you on how to breastfeed. I have been encouraging my cousin who'd given birth to her son in january. Sad to say, all including her hubby don't really support her in bf. Said very inconvenient, or her bm is the cause of the prolonged jaundice her son is suffering. Pretty mad when her MIL told the nurse back in the ward to bring in formula cos, baby wants milk and mummy didn't have milk... OF COURSE DONT HAVE LAH!!!... first 2 days, only colostrum wat?!?! argh.. and for the record, babies can live without milk for 1-2 days after birth.... its their sucking reflex which makes many feels that they are hungry...

So my cousin only sms and looked for me when it comes to bf... no one else, and I really mean, NO ONE else in our family bf their children....
My mum used to be skeptical about me bf sarah, saying I am flat chested lah,... no milk lah,... baby suffering lah... but 5 months later, sarah's one of the chubbiest and healthiest baby in my family now... HAH! My mum now swears that bf is the best. =P

I am interested in this bumper mat you ladies been talking about. I saw the one in mini toons but since you said its not the original, don't dare to make the purchase. What is BP??

And how much does it cost, really??

tiny sure!

I'll go my handphone and snap it! Hang on =D

Justme:

Same here i remember how tough it was to bf in the begining. So glad i hang on!! =D

Bena, great idea!! let me knw when? my milk supply drops again!!

Anyone still BF but menses came already?
Mine is like irregular and super heavy.
Today i only change my Pad 1 hr ago have to change again. just took medicine to stop the blood.. Giddy the whole day... Si xie guo duo....

Oh man...I cried my eyes out reading the blog too. I feel so sad for the mummy. 1st child in 2004 was stillborn, then she had twins and one of them born stillborn and the other survived for a mere 3 days and died. I can't imagine how she feels having carried all of them to full term and delivered...and not once but 3 times.
So sad. Gosh...it really makes me treasure my girl more.

Phoebe, Vone,
Mine also haven't come yet leh. Btw, were your periods irregular before getting preggy?

Vone,
Thanks for the pic of the teether!
Will go kiddy palace later to check it out.

Hi Justme,
Ya DON'T BUY the bumper mats from Mini Toons...Those are floor mats. The quality is different and material is rough. The bumper mats are better coz they're softer. BP = Bulk Purchase threads on this forum...they offer group discounts. Let me see if I can find the thread and post here.

Bena,
Wah so nice of you to offer us to come your house to drink the breastmilk-making soup!
Count me in! But can make it this month? Coz I'm starting work in March liao

Phoebe, my menses came back right on the 2nd and 3rd month respectively for my 2 kids though I'm still breastfeeding. So I didn't really have a break or what.

Btw I am gradually stopping already ... reduced no. of pumps and didn't exactly attempt to make supply increase ... will try to reduce pump to 2 times a day after 6 months.

angel and justme, I ordered from alien, also BP spree, cost $110 onwards. think they are the same stuff? free delivery too.

justme,

same here, my chest is like airport runaway all my life, i tot i wont have enough milk, but told myself to persevere, and try at least for first 3 mths to BF unless impossible. it was very challenging, now already pass 4 mths, you cannot imagine my happiness! also now when i buy bras i actually have a cup size! finally!

hihi mummies, happy frenship day aka valentines~ :>

angel, alien is not carrying the smaller version of the yellow bear design (she's selling those thicker & much bigger ones), i got it from Cheong Soon at $119 too, & got it within few days after i called Winnie... But if you are getting the pooh bear one, Alien is selling at $110
wanted to get from her, but as i need the mat earlier, so i order from CS instead, but i took the yellow bear one.. hehe!

when i started weaning my baby off BM during his 2nd mth, my period started coming back..like a normal one. but come 3rd mth , my next period was very light , quite weird..now 4th mth, wonder if its gonna be a normal/light one.. like very irregular..

bena,

yummy... i want SOUPS!!

amy,

bumpermats from SSW and alien same quality...
my hubby wasnt keen in the 1st place but after i bgt the 1st piece, he nv stop me when i upz my 'collection'.. haha
he even proposed to get 1 for our nephew's upcoming baby shower, which is why i ordered 1 more from alien.

angel,

pricing of bumpermats from alien slightly lower than SSW and Cheong Choon.
I bgt my 2nd and 3rd piece from her. Same quality.

phoebe,

re: menses

i oni hving spottings... so i'm not sure if its really menses cos it went off the next day. happened to my last mth.

mommies,

any of your babies like to scratch their heads?? coz dahlia likes to scratch the back of her head like it's soooo itchy, i see until i got scared coz she scratches hard!

i'd like to believe it's not itchy coz if she holds on to my palm, or the bottle when she's drinking she'll also do the 'scratching' motion.

these days she's a difficult baby when she's to be put to sleep, used to be easy, just pat2 the butt, sing a bit, or dreamfeed. now must carry (also got style to do this, cannot cradle carry coz she thinks she's not a baby anymore :|), dance around the house like a clown, the whole house must be silent, i must sing twinkletwinklelittlestar at least 30 times, cannot be too hot or too cold. also she likes to rub her face on my shoulders like she's so irritated about something.. sigh. i'm so used to an easy baby.. i hope it's just a growth spurt, or what old people like to say "change month".

*gulps down my nth gallon of coffee*

fau aiman: ha its funny the way u describe wat u do to get ur baby girl to sleep..
yah i realise they dont like the cradle style anymore... i need to "dance" ard my house when my baby boy get cranky n ready to sleep. normally i will put his beanie covering his face partially as he seems to settle down fast when there;s something for him to rub his face + to cover out any distractions as well..but once he asleep i will put him down n move the beanie to his tummy cos scared he cant breathe properly with beanie covering part of his face.

Hi shotbyfau,
A Malay teacher in Edison's infant care once told me that baby will be a bit crankly due to "changing month".. Is it a belief for the Malays? I never heard of it from the Chinese folks..

Anyway, don't worrie... Two weeks ago, Edison was cranky too, need to cradle and carry to make him sleep.. Now, he is back to normal liao... Just be patient, I am sure Dahlia will be as easy as ABC....

Hi ecookie,

Me too! I will put his beanie pillow to cover his face partially.. Edison likes to sniff sniff his pillow, I believe the smell from his saliva and milk on the pillow makes him sleepy... Hee hee.... Sometimes I also have the tendency to sniff his pillow... Yucks!

shotbyfau, my girl also scratches te head- top and back, sometimes back of ear too...i get that as 'hint' she wanted to sleep liao..

just went ntuc and bought the heinz rice cereal. saw that it's amde in australia, going to 'safekeep it first and see can 'dong' till nynke turns 6 mths old. last nite at my sis's place,s he's cranky again and cried so loudly..no choice, we had to go back home earlier..

angel, i ordered the pooh bear design..went for the $110 version cos the other dimension is slighter bigger only but cost much more.

darmae, which is the best buy based on your purchases so far?

emily: lol... yah they like their smelly smell.. hees. i tried to change the covers twice a week cos my mum told me they will get dependent on the smell if i do not do so. though personally i feel they will get dependent on it no matter what, i just change for hygience purpose haha

shotbyfau,

my gal likes to scratch her head too.. but same as amy's nyke, its hint tat she wanted to sleep

amy,

bumpermats in all sizes are good buy. i hv these 3 thickness of different sizes...11mm, 12mm, 15mm but it does not make a big difference though. the 11mm is gd enuff liao. 1st piece is 11mm (for my elder boy). thought i 'upgrade' and get 15mm $256(sweet bear with height chart).. but after getting it, i find not much diff. so when i decide to get a 3rd piece (put at my mum's plc), i chose 12mm which cost only $110.
oh ya, LG prime or not oso makes a difference in price. but the surface/texture of LG prime and non LG prime the same.

Btw,
Emily and also other mummies,
Do your babies smell like "baby-smell"? My relatives kept commenting that my baby has no scent.
I remember her mittens and booties used to smell nice nice but now no smell.

Anyway, my baby seems very lazy. Flip at 2+ months (2-3x), then 3+ months (2-3x), now never flip. She will just turn, her face touch the bed, then turn back to lying position. No effort put in...sigh. Don't know when can I ever see her flip properly.

On the other hand, some relatives said like that easier to take care cos she won't be flipping all the time. She will only flip when she is ready.

Bena,
I very gian your soup (and of cos, the gathering lah since I never been to one to meet the mummies before). You stay in Hougang right? I must see whether easy to get there cos Hubby overseas.

darmae, thanks! i know the 12mm $110 is non-LG fight? think not much diff right? so I'm now vv happy to order the $110 one..haha..

today is Valentine's day! Happy VAlentine's to all.

My hubby gave me a super big card and placed at PC keyboard..he thot it'll be surprise for me..silly man. dun think we can go out to eat anyway as prices will be steep and places will be crowded. I promised my elder one to bring her to library though...

Hi Morning to all mummies

Happy Valentine Day!

Goldfishy my charlene aso no baby smell now hee..hee...
My Charlene also no flip is ok i think cos when I was a baby I also not interested in flipping haha n like what they say no flip is easier to take care.. my mum always say that too no worries I guess baby has their preferences too.. some like to lay on their tummy to sleep some don't like!

BTW can I check if any of u is giving ur baby the brown rice with si sheng powder ?? If so.. do u need to cook it and did u add it into the mmilk n bottle feed or???? I am confused. My Mum say she add to our milk last time le with abit of condensed milk added cos is bland then bottle feed us ???? Can u advise? Thanks alot!

goldfish: yah my boy lazy also now at 3 1/2 mths i think i saw him attempt to flip less than 5 times lol. though we still try to put him on tummy time like once aday (ard 5-10 mins only) he still not convinced the view on tummy is any better hah. so he prefer to lay on his back n if bored will just wail for us to carry him.

but i agree that its easier to take care like this. if not, flip then head not strong keep on fallin on face also quite dangerous.. babies will flip once they ready im sure.

re: baby smell
my baby head can smell smelly sometimes aft he sweats haha.. maybe he like his pappy got oily scalp. :p

amy: ur hubby is so sweet! my hubby just make reservations at restaurant n we thinking of going back home aft dinner to veg out infront of tv with dvds + snacks. ha. baby is staying overnight at my mum's place for tonight. hee

low family: think better to cut down on sugary stuff like condensed milk for the baby. think baby is fine with the taste. it maybe bland to us but the milk taste is what they 've been drinking so far so should be okie with that..

amy,

LG or not LG - the diff is the technology of hw the mats are produced, processed/treated. both non slip, cushion textured...
in short, both aim to enhance safety, minimising the impact if a child falls on it.

low family,

it is not advisable to give bb condensed milk... high in sugar leh

Happy Valentine's Day

Hi Low and ecookie,

Ya... it is funny, I also cannot seem to convince my girl that the other view is better. She can already "sit" on my lap and bend forward to try to pick things up. When placed when tummy, she will turn her head from side to side to breathe (like swimming). After a while, she will cry (eh eh eh) like she has been tortured.
Guess this is how she is like....

Oh yes...
HAPPY VALENTINES' DAY to all mummies and daddies!

Went to read the thread about Ashley.
Don't know what to say.

Just would like to copy a section of a poem that I believe is what the wife wrote for the husband, and I think it is noteworthy. Makes me understand... both daddies and mummies feel as much for their children... In a way, daddies are mummies too...

"They'll always ask if she's all right
and what she's going through
But seldom would one take his hand
and ask 'My friend, but how are you?'

He hears her crying in the night
and feel his heart will break
He dries her tears and comforts her,
But stays 'strong' for her sake.

It must be very difficult
to start each day anew
And try to be so very brave
For this baby that they lost
was his very precious baby too."

Hi fau,
Haha I think its normal for babies as they get older its more difficult to put to sleep. I also had trouble putting Jade to sleep recently and I thought it was because she didn't want me
But now I learnt her pattern liao - When she's sleepy, she will start rubbing her face and ears, eyes red and watery, and starts to be cranky. That's the signs to put her down to sleep. I will need to carry her in sitting position first, with her face in my chest, give her pacifier to suck and pat her bum. Then after awhile, must change position to cradle position, her hand under my arm and head hanging off my forearm then she'll fall asleep. Although this whole 'ritual' takes only 2-5 mins and its nice to cuddle her, I feel that its time to let Jade learn how to sleep on her own. Coz as she grows older and heavier, its gonna be difficult to carry her and put her to sleep, and when she wakes up in the middle of the night, she can't get back to sleep on her own.

I'm gonna start 'sleep training' her soon. My sis trained all her 3 children to sleep on their own from young - I couldn't believe it. She just reads them a book, puts them on the bed, off the lights and close the door and they will fall asleep on their own! If they wake up in the middle of the night, they go back to sleep on their own. Its so amazing. Hope Jade can do the same. But the process of learning a new sleep ritual will be difficult the first few nights...I'm so not looking forward to it. She will definetely cry coz not used to being left to sleep on their own. Some recommend to go totally cold turkey and leave the baby crying till they fall asleep on their own. Think this is quite cruel. I'm following the Gina Ford method, she says we should wait 5 mins and then go in to reassure the baby but don't pick the baby up. Then leave the room, wait another 5 mins before going in again. And slowly extend the 5 mins to 7 mins, 15 mins and so on till eventually the baby will fall asleep on its own. This way the baby knows that she's not being abandoned and mummy is still there. Hopefully I succeed in this before I go back to work in March.

goldfishy,

this poem u hv extracted makes me 心酸. i dun hv the courage to read the thread.... was too chicken. knew i wun be able to take it well.

Hi Angel,
Wah, I doubt any mummy can leave their babies crying until they fall to sleep... Too much crying can cause stomach wind too..

Last time, I used to carry & pat Edison to sleep too.. But slowly, I changed the pattern.. I put him on his playpen, dim the light, lightly pat him on his back for 3~5mins.. Then I leave the room.. I check on him in 5 mins interval.... He will gradually fall to sleep on his own... But he MUST have his smelly pillow and pacifier, else cannot sleep..

Hi ecookie,
I change once a week only.. Lazy mummy!

Hi Goldfishy,
My boy has milky smell, I am not sure if this is the baby smell that you are referring too... But I love the after shower smell, the JJ's Top to Toe Wash smells good...

ah angel, nope, alien oni hv those thicker & bigger mats for yellow bear design (those that cost $266++ -- too exp for me :p)...

btw, sidetrack abit.. haiz...

actually im still feeling vexed, worried, stressed, clueless & concerned now..
cos my bb is STILL refusing milk at coming to 5mths..

hv tried to wait for him to be really hungry (feed on demand) b4 zooming to feed him, but he won't
& never cry for milk even if its more than 4-5hrs with a previous feed of less than 100ml!!

tried to do many many small meals way... failed too...

bot the magic spouts...no use...

tried to feed while hes sleeping, or jus woke up..din succeed...

haiz!

will be chkin with PD soon..due for his jabs..

any mummies still facing the same issue i'm facing?
I'm really worried...had thot this is jus a phase bb will pass thru, but the issue persists for so long!

Happy Valentines Day to all mummies!!
This valentines so not romantic for me...going to eat dinner with my maid and Jade. Maybe I should leave them with someone so hubby and I can have a quiet time together.

Hi Goldfishy,
Re baby's smell, I realised that the baby's smell that ppl always like is the fragrance from the baby shampoo or lotion smell lor...Babies smell of sweat otherwise.

Hi Ems,
You're doing a good job in mummying
The smelly pillow is better than having to carry, pat and dance all around the house! LOL!

Hi Charsiew,
It seems odd that the problem persisted so long. (Mine do have such problem when she is super super tired, but it will go off in 1-2 days.)

Seems like it is better for u to consult a PD.

Sorry... a bit of superstition here... some elderly folks used to say, some baby more difficult to care for. Then they'll say go pray pray. Go check it out with the elderly, if u r interested. Of cos, this is sideline.

My sis-in-law also has a cranky baby for many many months but she doesn't believe in such things and live with it. Now her boy already 4 years old. Happy go lucky.

The main thing is to consult your PD.

Hi charsiew,
Yes my Jade also like that....I was asking my PD and he say its normal coz their growth rate slows down from 4 months onwards, so now they no need to drink so much compared to earlier months. So they can go 4-5 hours between feeds now.

How much in total does your baby drink a day? Should be a minimum of 600ml at 5 months. Most babies at 5 months usually take only 4-5 feeds/day.

Try not to feed little and many times...coz it will encourage snacking and next time baby won't eat proper meals. They should be encouraged to take full feeds at proper times. Now Jade's timing for milk & solids is:
1) 7am - 210ml + breakfast (puree)
2) 11am - 120ml + lunch (puree)
3) 2.30pm - 120ml
4) 6pm - 120ml + dinner (puree)
5) 10pm - 210ml

Also try not to feed them when they're sleeping coz then they may get the wrong sleep associations and next time will need her milk bottle to sleep, which will cause dental problems.

hahahaha...
Angel! you are funny. "going to eat dinner with my maid and jade." ur sentence sounded so pitiful.
Also, this "Babies smell of sweat otherwise".

GOT SO GROSS OR NOT?!?!?!? (pardon my capitals but funny)hahahahhaha

Anyway, not so unromantic lah. U can leave Jade with Maid still for 1 hour after ur dinner. Go to nearby shopping mall for cafe (la-kopi --> corny) and cake. Even simple sharing of a carrot cake at a nearby coffee shop also very enjoyable. These days 1 hour alone is heaven-send. Simple outing would be sweet enough.