(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Angel,

I have gave up travelling and hence is staying at my mum's place in Jurong from Mon to Wed. I will bring her back on Thurs where my mum will stay over for a day. Travelling is so tiring!!!

Hi Phoebe
My gal started to be a devil from 6pm onwards!! Whenever we are at out in-laws place in the evening, she will ek ek ek!! Morning, she will smile n smile.

Re: Frozen puree
I started giving my gal carrot liao. Can check how long we can keep the frozen puree in the fridge? I made a total of 12 cubes.

RE: HIgh chair
My gal will not sit up straight. She will slant towards one side. Is that normal.

aiyo..just now watched 630pm chinese news and saw the clip on maid abusing 2 mths plus baby..so heartpain for baby. dun know baby ok or not..so scary...now keep having those flashes in mind leh..

a friend told me to watch the 10pm news apparently its her friend's bb who was abused by the maid...will keep u all updated if i hear more about the baby. meanwhile pls tell me what the news says cos i dont watch chinese news.

saw a bit of the clip, cant bear to finish it. so angry!
how can anyone treat an innocent, cute and defenceless baby like that?!!!! and that maid can still work for another employer? this is putting the other child at risk. Our govt should send her back!

i hope the mummy and baby are alright. the mummy must be very upset and heart pain. Poor baby....

din realise it is such a recent case. thought it happened long time ago.

gosh. i teared when i watched how the maid abused the bb. watched the 6.30pm chinese news on mobtv. so sad!!!!! and bad!!!! i din manage to finish watching the youtube videos cos i was so upset after watching 2. really leh! how can they do this?

the mother apparently thought the maid was reliable as she was very caring and nice towards the bb in front of them. gosh! how they act! i really upset and angry leh!

yesterday nite I also able to watch just 2 clips and cannot continue to watch the rest ...
Now I know that the maid has been acting infront of the parents, it pissed me even more! How can she still be on bail. Shld have locked her up or something as she is cruel and heartless.

Hi Poohwei,
I just started giving Jade carrots too
I tried it and it was yummy. I find it abit too thick, must add abit of milk before feeding. The frozen cubes of purees can be be stored up to 3 months. But I try not to keep so long also lah.

Do you find your life very disruptive now that you're living in 2 homes? I am also dreading to have to travel to my inlaw's place every morning and evening to Bukit Panjang. Have to leave home by 6.30 otherwise jam. After work go there for dinner, then reach home at 9 plus. So pointless to come home only to sleep. And then next morning go back again. My SIL's house no space for us to move in liao. Hopefully my appeal to HDB will be approved then I can rent out my house and rent a place near my SIL's place. Anybody know anyone who wants to rent out their house in Bukit Panjang let me know pls!

Hi pillow,
Jade can't sit up totally unassisted yet...she still needs to rest her back on something otherwise will fall over. Sometimes she just lunges forward when she gets excited. So when I put her in her high chair, I strap her in...so the straps prevent her from leaning forward. Although now she can't really get out of her seat yet, its recommended to make it a habit to strap them in from young so they get used to it and won't feel 'constricted' next time when they get older.

Re sliding sideways, Jade used to slant sideways initially too, but slowly she is getting stronger and able to sit straight. Try stuffing softtoys/pillows at both sides to prevent her from leaning sideways.

Re maid abusing,
I heard that the mummy is from another forum also and she posted there that the baby was fine and didn't suffer any physical injuries. So thank God. I also keep having flashes of the video clips in my mind. Last night couldn't sleep well the whole night. Kept thinking what drove this maid to treat the baby like that. She was only left alone for 2 hours! Within such a short timespan, she can do so much damage. I think she must be ill treated by her employer (who is actually the mummy's mother), or is just plain crazy.

Totoro,
I think prison is not enough suffering for what she has done to this baby and her family! But because the baby didn't suffer any injuries, its unlikely the maid will go to jail. So sickening right.

Hi Angel,

Yeap, life is disruptive now! Must think of when to bring the pump home, how much ebm to transport and every item that all of us use must double. Now i resort to having 2 pumps! Thinking of buying the 3rd one so that i need not bring it around. One is my own hse, 1 in my mum's place n another one at work! (See got strike TOTO or not!! Haha!! Expensive lifestyle now !!

I leave home at 0615 if i have to bring my gal to my mum's place.

Hi Cherliu

I've been following the threads every now and then, but didn't really contribute. My bb gal is born on 27 Sep 07, 1 day after your bb! :)

Hi Poohwei / Angel

At what age do you feed your bb carrot puree?

its so heart pain to see the baby been ill treatment. hope the baby is OK. the maid shake the yao lan so hard, my heart oso feel the pinch.
atinarin, update us on the baby N mum, ok

Angel:
"I think she must be ill treated by her employer (who is actually the mummy's mother), or is just plain crazy. " --> i totally agree with this.. i was showing the news to my maid just now. i said how could the maid hurt such a harmless baby. only 2 months old... very bad behavior.. she just nod nod and ya not good....
I heart pain when i see her kick and swing the sarong towards the chair. i lagi heartpain when she flip the baby like a doll... if is my son, i sure cannot tahan .. i think i will box her first before call police!!

BTW, tell your hubby to pay for grooming fees... =p want a pretty mummie and wife.. then pay for it lolx... Just kidding =p actually is more for your own health la... anyway the voucher is free just go and try lor..
this amt of money spent to get good health rather then throw the money to hospital next time (This is what one of the member told me)

Emily, I Just brought Ryann to PD cos abit block nose after the fever last week.. in case he get worse during CNY, there wont be any doc... Doc Tan said he is teething which is why he drools alot.. she said my nephew and ryann could have got the germs from someone else.. hai... So poor thing...

Ryann did his first flip without assistance today.. and flip alot of times lor after he flips, he will ek ek ek cos cannot flip back =p so cute.. but sad is i am not the first one to witness his first time... so i really envy SAHM...

To all new mummies,
Welcome to our thread =p

Poohwei,
Ok wish you luck on the ang pao draw ok!!
Goodness..sounds tough. So you send your girl to Jurong and then you work in the east??? OMG! How do you get to work? MRT or you drive?

Hi Cheer Beer,
I started Jade on baby rice cereal first when she was 4 and a half months old. Then a week later I went on to introducing other fruits and veges.

Phoebe,
Ya I was thinking if it was me, before I send the monster to the police, would I have taken revenge for my baby?? But the minute we touch the maid, we will be jailed for maid abuse!

Re gym membership, I think if I ask him to pay, he will flip! He already make noise when I'm the one who is paying lor..lol! He ask me to go jogging near my house.

Hi Angel,
My company has extended the medical benefits for both spouse and kids. So, its good to those with family.
This is an American company, so benefits are good.

Hi Phoebe,
I am bringing Edison to see PD tonight to confirm if its really teething pain that is causing him to be cranky. The teacher at the infant care told me that his gum is a bit reddish and inflamed, so high chance that its teething. Maybe PD can prescribed some medicine or cream to ease the pain. Poor Boy!

Morning mommies,

Angel, i have been telling my hubby i want to go to jogging at the park behind my block ever since i preggy... but it never ever happen!!! i even told my hubby join me... he say i will accompany me by waiting for me at the starting point. -_-"

So i got no discipline one.. it is free for us to go for any classes and use the gym but it doesnt attract me at all..but last time when i work in singtel, i sign up california, i go at least 3 times a week cos i pay for it.. lolx but i have to start gg for classes le.. need to teach class soon... all stamina all gone le..muscle all gone too...

Poor Edison, Emily maybe you try buy teether and put in the fridge then give to Ed, it may help. i brought 2 for Ryann to interchange. so good your company... think after get bonus must go see the market outside le...=p

Angel: mine last time can only claim 50% for family up to $100 per annum but this year changed liao, we're given a sum to claim for self and family and they extend to PD visits for child under 12yrs old.

hi pohoebe, congrates to Ryann who can flipped liao! Mine still very funny, he can only flipped to his left but not right, why eh? He could be a leftie like me? And i find his left hand is stronger than right and uses left hand to grab and put into his mouth more often than right hand. If he's a leftie, then i must train him to write with right hand like me.

Angel,
Tell your hubby, it'll be worth it (if you go to the gym). When I was with Amore (eons ago) I had really tight butt! muahaha.. I never felt so sexy before. Now, I can hardly stand to see myself naked. Cheh...

Regarding the high chair, I haven't invest in one. See, the problem with me not getting proper meals is not cos, I can't sit down and eat. i can juggle eating and caring for sarah. Its the preparing of the food. Me alone at home. I resorted to eating fruits and bread and plain water. Sigh, if this continues, I'll go thin for sure. Yup, great idea.. but not so, when me TBF.

Phoebe,
I thot, I am the only one who has such disciplinary issues. I lived in Marine Parade for 25 years before getting married and moved out. All those years, I never use the beach to jog or for other healthy activities. Now after living far away, I told my husband we should go picnic. He started his lecture lor...haha..

And I tot, i could work at amore or something like that so can use the facilities for free.. Sekali, I become like you. Better not lah...

ecookie,
My hubby took LONG leave cos, he changed job.. haha.. Join IT industry back; his forte. used to be with CAAS. But only for a short while.

CNY coming!!!! You ladies must be super excited!! Can showoff darling babies!!!! And not to mention, Collect $$$$ Hong Bao!

re: the video on baby abused.

Actually the maid should be penalised or something. Cos, Baby had suffered mentally and emotionally ~ which can be worst than physical injury.

justme: i dread the CNY in fact... scared the relatives over-stimulate the baby then he started wailing i 'll have headache..
my baby very fierce one.. once started crying very hard to pacify one..must walk here n there.. so if this happen, cant really enjoy my CNY .. haha

i want my hubby to take long leave too but quite impossible hehe..

u must eat proper meals if you TBF.. though i understand it can be hard doing so, i remember back when i still having my maternity leave, takin care of baby alone.. breakfast is almost impossible and lunch was chop chop finish also.. :p

so any of the mummies have return to pre-preggy weight/size.. heez..

Hi Angel,

I work in Bukit Batok while my hubby works in Clementi. So not so bad. If not sure faint.

RE: Pump
Should i invest another $70 for a second hand medela dual plus? I got 1 PIS and dual plus. If i get a third one, then no need to bring my pump ard.

Hi Cheer Bear,
I started my girl on semi-solids when she was 4mth old. Started with banana, followed by rice cereal, now carrot. Gonna make some pumpkin for reunion dinner for her to eat.

emily: your coy so good can claim for PD! my cannot so its hundreds spent every mth for the vaccines (6-in-1/pnemococcal/rotavirus)... lucky will have a break from his 7th mth onwards.. think the next jab after that will be 1 year old for chicken pox/hep A/MMR etc right?

Re: Solid food.
I am not sure if any mummies experienced this: Sarah, relished her cereal when I add EBM, but she cried and retaliated when I tried to feed ther cereal which I added cool boiled water to. Must be the unfamiliar, bland taste.

Ecookie, I always try to eat healthily. If I think in the morning I didn't eat properly, I'll call my hubby to get me proper food outside, complete with Vege and all.

I haven't return to pre-preg size. But my weight has finally dipped to 50 odd kg! yeay!... my bottom half still big. I am already pear shaped ~ now worse. And all my pre-preg pants still hanging.

Lemme try this:
Gong Xi Fa Cai
Nian Nian You Yu

Am I correct??
Learned it from ex colleague - the second line is translated directly as ~ Every year got fish??

hehe

Hi ecookie,
Cannot claim for vaccination, only for medical consultation up to $600 per year... Aiyo, $600 not enuf for one year la... One time PD visit averages $80...

Yeah, spent a lot of $$$ on the vaccination.. When my boy reaches 6 months old, I have to fork out another $200+ for the pneumococcal disease & rotavirus...

I think after 1 y/o, only left with chicken pox and MMR.. Not sure abt Hep A, need to take tat also?

emily: can claim medical consultation good enough.. mine cannot one... wah ur PD quite ex.. mine is the thomson one which avg ard $50 per visit i think..

yah vaccine very exp... my boy is taking 6-in-1/pneumo/rotavirus all at 1 go during his 1st 7 mths.. so its every mth got 1 jab one *ouch*
i think i will just give him Hep A come 1 year bah.. just give lor.. kiasu .. ha

most of the babies in this thread is already 4 mths+ already so starting solids already?
mine is only 3 mths+ but i planning to intro solids only when he's ard 6mths old cos i got asthma+eczama so scared he ll develope allergies if intro solids too early..

so far his milk intake is still okie, hope he can continue this way till his 6th mth *fingers crossed*

rxsti,
ouch! tat sounds so painful leh...dun think i dare to prick myself but tks for the info, will try to continue pumping and latching b4 resorting to needle. hm...actually u mean prick where huh? nipple is it? i see a white spot on my nipple leh.

phoebe,
faith exactly same as ryann! devil from 9pm and by morning smiling angel again!

re: teethers
have u tried giving cold teether to your babies? faith gets very agitated when she sucks on teethers and will start making angry noises as she is biting on it. usually after a short while, i will have to take it away from her cos she end up becoming very frustrated and angry...dunno y shes like tat?

justme,
SAHM is tough job! bcos you are alone with baby so majority of time is spent on baby. everytime i am alone with faith i also hardly have time to eat or even take a shower! but hubby will expect us to clean the house too! i'm still out of job now so if this continues will have to become a permanent SAHM to care for faith myself.

Hello mommies, myra turns 4 months old today! can't wait for CNY can let her wear her new dresses and shoes and go collect ang bao! just bought her a johnny jolly jumper so can let her jump jump!

re: jabs
we go to marine parade poly for the jabs, the doctors there are very diligent in checking her top to toe and referring her to KK for anything out of the ordinary.

re: solids
i am hoping to hold on solids until after 5 months, going to buy first food book later today for advise.

re: pump
pooh wei, maybe can consider renting?

re: pre preggy clothes
still cant wear my jeans, its true that if i diet, my BM ss will go down
so must eat well and forget about my figure!

1238141.gif

Voice,

My boi also like urs. like to grab things using his left hand and suck his left hand. isit that they are born on the same day and got same pattern huh?

Sigh.. finally got energy to post.

Mummyfaith, I also kenna blocked ducts- somemore twice within 2 weeks. Very painful. Ya I also self operate using needle. and then used syringe to suck out the blocked milk cuz my son couldn't suck it out for me..

I'm still feeling very sore and breast is badly bruisedfrom all the massage.

bena,
so use needle on the nipple is it? yah my left breast very sore now...like kenna blue black after my hubby's merciless massage.

Mummyfaith, if you dun burst the milk blister, u won't be able to clear the blocked duct and pumping will make it worse..

ah bena..use needle?? feel heartpain for u gals
take care hor..just went punggol plaza..it's a mad house at ntuc. i was vv angry with XX supermarket leh...my sis working for them and has to slog in 16 hrs work due cny (2 hrs for rest and meals) ..they even post notice to tell workers cannot complain to MOM..

Amy.. my goodness.. it's crazy! I went to that supermart 2 days ago and it was crazy! Everyone squeezing and buying as if everything's free..

Justme:

I can totally understand what u meant by no time for proper meal im same as u. Got to depend on others to get lunch/breakfast for u isnt easy. Sometimes got to wait till 5++ before having my 1st meal. Sighs Try eating instant oats. Will help.

Justme, Vone,
You wanna consider catering tinkat lunch? Mummy must take care leh..

Vone,
Ya.. was very bad experience. I'm an expert in blocked ducts liao cuz keep getting them. I fear the day I wean Zac into solids cuz my oversupplied boobs will kenna more blocked ducts. Pumping also gives me blocked ducts.

Vone, the needle must be sterile. As long as after breaking the blister the blocked milk are moved infection won't set in. In fact if the blocked duct is not cleared, there will be infection.

Mummies any of ur babies has the habit of sucking their upper lip? My baby started sucking on his upper lip today a couple of times! >_< faints

Wah.. Bena and Mummy Faith..just by hearing these i already scare leh.. sometimes i got lumps then i just press hard hard and massage with hot towel.. so far it works *cross fingers* better dun kinx myself again.. Please take care ok.. =p

Recently my milk supply drop again... abit not enough le.. sometimes just nice... hai.. i hope i dun need to eat supplements to increase milk supply..

Phoebe,
Latch baby more? Certainly will help..My supply is so much I hand express into the sink when son can't finish...though no need to worry abt supply not enough, it's tiring..

>_< Bena must be very painful!! Take care Hope mummyfaith and ur block ducts will clear up soon. I saw from a forum before using the needle draw up a hot bath submerge the breast and try to
express the clog. The thing about submerging the nipple in still water is that you can see the individual openings and see individual streams, because the milk doesn't all run together. You can see distinct streams very easily
underwater.

Or Either that:

Get on all fours with baby underneath you and allow her to nurse while your breasts hang freely from your ribcage. This usually allows the blockage to move.

I hate engorgement >_< Its seriously painful =(