(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi dArmAe

I have not tried bringing baby out after she slept in the sarong. Will let you know after this weekend. But she really rest better after we got her the sarong.

Hi Low Family!

Still remember me?? Your neighbour at TMC? Hope u are getting on fine too. I m ur reversed! i gave my gal sarong in the night. Daytime, i try to keep her on the bed/cot.

hi poohwei yes i remember u!
I am fine infact i am happier with sarong or else i won't be able to rest or do stuffs cos my gal sleeps little and always want carry before that!

Hi Mommies!

Haiz...i have officially give up on BM...my breasts r so super tender and small now...my boy is going for his jab this week at kinder clinic...Dr.Gong..but thinking of changing PD leh..his charges r very ex...they dun hv any packages for the 6in1 jabs...its $160 for each course, excluding consultation fees...

Anyone have good recommendations for PD near katong area???

Lately my boy would cry out loud suddenly too...duno wats the reason leh...could it b colic??? is this one of the symptons of colic???

went to see PD today but apparently it is colic. Breastfeeding also have colic?! I tot colic is when babies cry at fixed times for no reason... but mine cries at feeding times leh. Haiz, i see how long i can tahan the crying. Anyway i have at most 2 more weeks before i have to wean him.

Hi low, you baby is so kwai to make the switch to cot without trouble. Somehow i don't think mine is going to be that easy...

hi blue,

yeah lor...nowadays most of us also busy...think many of the mummies are busy expressing a large of ebm before going back to work...no fingers to type...hehe

great to hear that your bb is sleeping regularly...tell us how to do it...to make bb regularly so we can learn from you

hi peapod

colic for baby might happen to any baby...be it bottle or breast feed...just that experts said breast feeding is lesser...

might be due to crying...might be due to feeding...try to burp them...sometimes bb dun like to be burp just cry and cry...bear with it...continue to burp...if really cannot tahan the cry...then give the medicine from the doctor to eat...usually with good one...bb eat already sure burp or fart!
...then they happy face again liao

hi pinkyj,

PD insert a tiny tube which is connected to a pump through her nasal.
usu PD wun suggest this method unless really congested. mayb u let ur PD hv a check on your bb.
BF bb also fall sick lar... mine total BF but i still passed my virus to her through close contact.

hi low, your bb dun hv confusion ah.. so gd. i worry tat i will hv the problem of making bb sleep when we are out if i start her wif sarong.

hi poohwei, u try n let me noe if u hv prob bringing bb out.
i dun mind the idea of sarong is tat can make my bb sleep longer. but only worry is hw she will react w/o sarong esp when we are outside.

hi BeBeNg,

dun worry, u hv tried to give the best for ur bb liao. regarding PD, my bb seeing Dr Siva at kinder clinic paragon. i oso hv thots to change cos the travelling can be a chore. although 10 mins drive but the erp, parking charges oso killing.

hi peapod, gd to find out the cause. i oso din noe BF bb can hv colic. did u Pd give any medication?

hi Peapod, my bb also cries during feeding (bottle feeding). Infact, he cried so pitifully just now at abt 4+am
i tried to feed him his milk, but he sort of rejected the bottle & cries non stop.. it took us quite fair bit of time b4 we can calm him down...
it sure is nerve wrecking...esp in the wee hrs of the nite.

i tink my bb has plenty of gas in his tummy..he looks so umcomfortable & seems to be in pain. We went PD too, was prescibed Ridwind, but bb refuses to swallow & even spit it out..i think its bec its sugarfree - bit bitter, i guess. Now i am trying to add to his milk, i hope it wks.. (besides gripe water + ru yu you)..

i understand how u feel. I am worried im building up negative feelings towards bb too.. But i tell myself to think from the 3rd party perspective, actually bb is innocent..they are jus expressing & telling us that they are in discomfort...we hv to bear with them & to stay calm..which im trying to. Its especially difficult when we are trying so hard & are so tired...drained & the cries are definitely hitting on us...

Anyway, jus wanna say jiayou everyone..

Clement, I think it has to do with individual baby's "character" also lah. I could never have a this kind of sleeping routine during the elder's time. Her routine was cry cry cry from 10.30 pm till about 3-4 am every night ... thank God the younger one is more "guai".

cant remember where i read that...think this forum ba...it is normal for bb in this age group to have colic?

hi blue...interesting...the elder so 'un-guai' one ah...hehe

maybe the elder got character (you xin ge} like the mummy..do what she likes

just like clara, she stubborn like me....haha

How you know I am someone who do what I like?

But it's true lah ... younger one much more guai than elder one. Younger one also more mild in character ... this I can already tell when he's in my tummy cos they are very different in terms of movements.

hey charsiew
we haven't seen ur baby pix leh, post here for us to see can? sometimes my bb also cranky lah...i very bad...scolded him and spanked him...haahaa! After that i will say sorry to him when he quieten now. last night very farnie, 4+am he started crying and we thot he cranky and fed him some water but after awhile he started again and we left him to cry for abt 15mins. Hubby cannot tahan and woke up and ask if i have fed him anot, i said not yet...next feed shld be 5+ right since he fed at 2+, then he said no, he fed at 12+am which was last feed, poor baby was crying in hunger, haahaaa! So much abt communication, i also concussed, can't recall his last fed cos' i took medicine which made me drowsy!

Wiselyn, think you are wrong lah ... I don't always do what I like ... sometimes have to depends.

Voice, aiyoh your poor baby ... kenna scolded for nothing!

hi mommies... brought my gal to see the pd jus now again...
she's down with a mild flu.. stuffy and nose, coughin.. and phlegmy... hiaz.. so poor thing to see her drink with a stuffy and blocked nose... gaspin, gulpin and cryin while drinkin..
hopefully she'll be better by mon..

voice... me too.. sometimes when my gal cry and cry for no reason... then i'll spank her backside.. then after she calm down liao then i'll feel so sorry... ahaha.. then will apologise to her...:p

Atinarin, don't ever do that cos it's actually better for them to sleep thru the night if possible. If not when they get older, it becomes habitual that they will wake up for milk. I'm training my baby to eventually wake up only in the morning for milk. Getting close ... hee ... today woke up only at 6.10 am.

Hi Clement, oh no lar, I don't mean that breastfed babies have no colic
... was wondering if the symptoms of colic will include crying during breastfeeding sessions. I tot colic is just crying for no reason and at fixed times, usually at night. But my baby only cries like that during feedings.

Hi blue, but my boy was very guai in my tummy, hardly kick very much. But after he comes out, aiyoh, he is like making up for lost time... very alert and active, always dun wan to sleep

Hi charsiew, Caelen cried at 5am last night. Luckily we managed to calm him down quickly but he was super awake so i gotto carry him and walk around until 7am
Yar, do post up pic of your baby leh. Didn't remember seeing your birth story as well... was it an easy birth?

Hi pinkyi, hope your darling girl will recover soon. My baby have nose allergy, like his daddy. He will have stuffy nose at night and in the morning. For this, no cure one.

I finally ordered my yaolan. Will be delivered later. In fact I just called up the shop and ordered just now. Couldn't take it anymore cos' baby simply refused to sleep on the bed. Once we put him down, he will be up and crying in 5 mins. He didn't sleep much the last 2 days and was extremely cranky, especially yesterday. My MIL also says she surrender, of all the babies she had taken care of (like 8 babies), mine is the worst :p Luckily he is her grandson, else I think she will resign hahaa...

my girl was merlion twice today..I'm getting abit exhausted with her being merlion. tried to burp, put her in sitting up position for longer time etc..thot everything is ok but then suddenly without warning, she just
'blah' all the milk out. after vomit for about 30mins, she cried and cried and wants to feed again..is that normal?

Hi Mummies n Daddy,

Long time no post liao! Been quite busy wif my BB n running errand for her...So many posts tat I hav miss...only manage to glance thru nia...

Hi Emily n Bena,

Will join u all for the mitup too coz I live in Punggol(northeast). Was telling Wiselyn in MSN a few wks ago abt tat...Can mit at compass pt's starbuck....Got outdoor tables n chairs, can put our prams there...haha...

Peapod,

Can try manual Advent pump...work for mi to expressed out my milk n increase my milk flow too...but got to express out every 3 hrs....

Peapod, maybe it's just a phase lah ... just hope this difficult phase will pass very soon ... think after 3 months should be more stablised. Hang in there!

blueskye, how did u train ur bb? how old is ur bb? my gal will sleep abt 8 or 9 for 4 hours then wake up for her feed.. there aft will be 3 hourly.. how to make her sleep thru? pls 'chuan shou' ur 'wu gong'...

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..

Do u introduce pacifier to your baby? Although I have objection from my MIL, I still use pacifier on my son. Sometimes this is the easiest way to calm him down from his crying. To prevent him from getting addicted, I usually pull-out the pacifier after he stopped crying or fall asleep.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..

Me and my HB oso scold Edison when he is cranky.. Tell u smtg funnie... Yesterday evening, he was cranky, crying & keep wanting me to carry him... I called my HB, asked my HB to talk to him.. I placed the phone near his ears... He was shocked to hear his dad's voice, he turned and looked at my mobile phone & stopped crying... I was totally amazed!

Has anyone started introducing toys to your baby? I found this info from Fisher-Price website, I'm an avid fan of Fisher-Price!

<font color="ff0000">For 2 months old:</font>
How yr baby plays now:
She kicks and waves her arms when she is excited. This uses the same movement as stepping. It is easier to lift heavy legs when lying flat.

She smiles directly at people and expects to be given her turn in "conversations."

She can learn that one event follows another.
She learns to make things happen.

She can locate a sound in front of her, but not one behind; she turns to the correct side if she hears a sound, but cannot locate it.

What you can do to help your baby learn more:

How will your baby see this toy? Get down to floor level and look up at it yourself. This will help you know where to position her underneath for the most interesting view. Change your baby's position every once in a while to freshen the view.

To encourage communication between you and add fun to playtime, play with this toy together. Pick a time when baby is in an active play mode, not sleepy or hungry or overly stimulated. You'll be able to tell; if the toy looks too busy for her at the moment, she'll close her eyes.

To help your baby learn there's a connection between words and actions, move the parts and talk about them as you go: "Shake-shake-shake. See the silly little face smiling at you?"

If your gym has music or lights, hum or sing along to the music and point out the light-up features. The more you talk to your baby and directly engage her, the more you're benefiting her development.

Pinkyi, my boy is 7 weeks plus now, born on 5 Sep. Think he's a natural sleeper also lah. Used to sleep almost 24 hours everyday, hardly wake up to play. Maybe also cos he was born early @ 37 weeks, still feel as if in my tummy wanna sleep.

Back to "training" ... he's fed every 3 hours in the day. Sometimes I will "drag" depending on what time his supposedly fed time is. Will try to time his last feed before I sleep ... around midnight - 1 am. Last time he will wake up around 4am - 4.30am. Then lately I tried to "drag" by coaxing him back to sleep when he starts to "ek ek ek" for milk. If he doesn't comply, can give him some water (not too much - about 20-30ml can liao) or latch him for a while ... usually he will be sleeping after that so can last for about another hour or 2.
Slowly, his sleep will be longer ... of cos, different methods work on different babies. What works for me might not work for you lah.

Phew, finally got my mouse and keyboard working. I've been reading the thread for the last 2 days but can't post cuz keyboard and mouse is dead! So xin ku. It's like have a lot to say but forced to shut up!

Okie, so our Northeast mummies are Pinkyj, Emily, Wiselyn, Aidanee, Amy, Star07 and Funny. Did I miss out anyone? CP sounds good. But with my baby so cranky dunno whether I can handle or not outside
Anyhow, I think it'll be nice to meet up with everyone. Can come to my place at Hougang too if you all prefer..

Today I had a nursing vacation with baby (ie do nothing but breastfeed baby on demand instead of on schedule). He seems to be happier and didn't cry when he was awake. He could even 'play' with me a little. And he vomitted less too.

Angel,ya been busy the past 2 weeks increasing supply
Now supply is slightly better. I just had a nursing vacation with baby today and tomorrow I'm going to do a pumping vacation (ie total pumping without latch on). Hey care to share how you train baby to sleep so long at nite? Mine still gotta feed at least once in the nite..

Peapod,
I just wonder if baby cry because your let-down is too powerful or your milk flow too fast? Btw, regarding the yaolan, actually not every baby needs to be weaned of it when they are older (if that's what you are worried abt). My niece has no problem sleeping without it when she travels. She travels since she was a newborn.

Pinkyj, baby better today? You must be very heart pain to watch faith suffer..

a gathering to meet up will be fun. baby was cranky last nite n hubby suggested the pacifier as she was fed 1hr ago, we did not want her to be merlion again..she rejected the pacifier n i kept trying n hubby said she'll vomit..i was so frustrated that i snapped at him n said 'then wat u want me to do?'. he quickily take baby away n told me to go n sleep. i felt so bad...he still have work the next day n not in gd health but has to settle baby n think it took him abt 1hr to finally put baby to sleep.

Amy, my baby has been using the pacifier too and in fact the yaolan as well. We really took alot of time to get him to accept the pacifier, and up till now, we still need to hold the pacifier in his mouth or he'll somehow push it out while sucking, and then start crying again. Some say these are actually not good for baby but they really work wonders for me. I think it all depends on how they are being used. I guess it's alright if baby is not addicted to it or if mummy and daddy do not use these in replace of the attention that baby needs. Hope you feel better today.. sometimes when baby is cranky, mummy and daddy also becomes cranky. We're only human.. It happens to me too and I've lost it with my hubby and vice versa. I guess we'll feel guilty after that and apologise and make up

bena,
welcome back. hahahaa...dun think yours is the only one that is cranky. my bb is always cranky after feed....cos of colic n reflux(i suspect,though havent seen dr)....but i think it will be better in a month or 2. so stay positive yah...anyway, 2nd time so more experienced, and less kancheong. used to spend so much $ to see pd cos of EVERY symptoms, only to find out they were harmless. hahaha.... enjoy this period....

my bb still gets up for one feed too at around 3am....I think his main prob is the gas that causes alot of discomfort,hence the waking cos he only suckle 2-3mins and then he will zzzzz till 6plus. So i need to solve his prob...so heartpain!

last nite i was so sleepy that i did not pump after the latch-on...This morning he could not suckle properly cos the boobs were hard like rock.

amy,
when i had no.1, my hb got up to do the nite feeds while i expressed. it was tough. but we went tru it together. This time i told him i will latch on at night and pump therafter. so he can rest. but there are times when bb could not go back to sleep due to tummy discomfort, he would still wake up to help. (i am sleeping in another room with the bb)....So dun feel bad abt it. it is his bb too...we also often loose ourselves and fire at each other, but after that no one bears grudges...

hey bena,
yalor.. i cried and was so frustrated.. cos she cannot breathe properly with all the pi sai and the mucous stuck in the nose.. then she'll be gulpin down the milk.. then the 2 early mornin feed she vomitted both.. hiaz... hope she'll get better soon...

Hi Blueskye,

Since you baby was born on 5 sep, i would like to check with you, how many ml of milk u give to your boy boy and how many feeding per day?

As mine was given birth on 4 Sep, he is currently taking 120ml for 8 to 9 feeding per day. he will cry for milk in 2.5 to 3 hrs time. Day time solely on EBM and night time on FM.

I am not sure whether it is enuf for my boy boy or not, thanks.

Does anyone here whereby the bb will cry each time he want for food and sleep?

I have problem to bring my boy out as he cry so LOUD until all people looking at us ........ so sad....

Shirley, my boy currently takes about 150-160 ml EBM (the small Avent bottle filled to the neck) every 3 hours. The 2 night feeds (before I sleep and middle of night) I give only 125 ml FM cos he tends to sleep and takes a longer time to finish ... so I give less.

Hi Bena,
I also stay in Hougang, can I also join you gals for the gathering? :)

Hi aidanee,
Don't know if you remember me, I'm also from the 2005 Aug/Sept thread. I agree with you, 2nd time more experience and hopefully won't need to spend any unnecessary money. :)

Hi Shirley,
I used to get stared at by those kay poh people when I brought my older one out. I simply ignored them or stared back hard at them. Now when I'm out with a wailing baby and a hyper active toddler, people stare even harder. I still adopt the same attitude. Don't be too affected, you'll become more confident after a few more outings.

Hi Bena,

U're so funny, your definition of 'nursing vacation' is wrong lor - should be a day free from nursing right?!!

My girl used to wake up at night at 3+ or 4+ too. The key to getting the baby to sleep thru the night is to train them to take their daily requirement of milk between 7am and 11pm. Must make sure they don't miss their feeds and wake them up if they go longer than 3 hours. On sleep training, Gina Ford method recommends that when the baby wakes up in the middle of the night at say 3+ or 4+, give only a partial feed instead of the full feed (started off with 3 ounces instead of 4), and thereafter slowly reduce further little by little. By reducing the feed at night, it will have a knock on effect and they'll drink more in the day, so eventually they can last longer at night without a feed. Another impt factor to get them to sleep thru the night is to make sure they don't sleep too much during the day. At 6-8 weeks, maximum naptime between 7am and 7pm is 4 hours - they should be sleeping for 1 hour in the morning, 2 hours at noon, and another 1 hour in the late afternoon.

But she says don't try this sleep training if your baby is low/under weight or premature or has any problems with gain weight without seeking advice from your PD hor.

Hope this works for you too!

Anyone knows if its safe to BF when mummy is having a bit of a sinus attack?

I dislike pumping so i latch bb on around 2-3 times a day only. Wish i could have your resilience.

bluesky: i didnt wake her int he night. But during the day, she also can go for 4-5 hours without feeding. I tried waking her but its impossible. If she does wake a while, she refuses the bottle.

Hi moms,

can anyone put up the formula of how much milk babies should drink? the weight of baby times something divide by something.. or something?? thanks!

Hi loopedbusrides,

i did copied down the formula previously.

XX kg x 2.2 = xx pound.
xx pound x 2.5 = xx / no. of feeding per day = xx oz.

xx oz x 30 = xx ml