(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

blueskye, my girl's face also quite oily! 30mins after bathing, her face will be slightly oily already.. wonder why eh? issit the BM she drinks??

she's 5wks 1day today, and during clinic visit on Monday she weighed in at 4.47kgs.. 1kg up from her birth weight..

Hi Aidanee,
Long time no hear. Glad to know that baby and you are doing well.
Looks like we have a few northeast mums on this thread: Pinkyj, Emily, Wiselyn, and you and myself.. we can organise a gathering when life has stabalised
Of course everyone is welcomed to joined!

hi pillow, angel and bena,

my girl only suck at 1 breast at each feed leh..so the 10 mins is only 1 breast. I alsor ead that shd at least feed 20mins but she simply rejects the 2nd breast and use her hand to push away. i'll try the pacifier method again and see whether can prolong the feed interval time or not.

btw, for total breastfeed babies, how's the poo like for 5 wks old babies? for past few days she poo once a day and its super-watery like diarrhoea. I dun remember my elder one being like that leh. and its so watery that it over-flow her diaper..got to wash those poo stains from her clothes each time.

hi aidanee, punggol buddies
I stay at blk 171B, but now in usa and back only from nov 10.

btw, where is this Dr Lilian Lim's clinic? She seems like a super good one and maybe I'll bring baby to her clinic.

bena,

not sure about the appt thing, cos so far clara's appt was made at the clinic..but i see that during weekdays abt 1 plus, not much pple.

hi bena,
you still remembered me? hahaha...we were talking abt c-section the last time. pleased to read that you had a pain free one...mine was a breeze too.

for your next preg, get a Cl to help. it will be better....

so far i express out and feed throughout the day.i latch on in the am and night to maintain ss...i also not so siao on in "collecting" frozen ebm cos rather give fresh stock. last time, I threw away many because my no.1 did not like the frozen milk taste. sob sob.

amy,
hello, i am at 635b. the new estate facing the island. Oh,usa? let's catchup when u are back!

Hi bena

How do you know that your baby kena reflux? i suspect my gal has reflux too cos she tends to vomit out milk after her feed nowadays.

Also, i m contemplating on giving her bottled ebm instead of complete latch on as i absolutely got no idea of how much she is drinking. This is especially so during the night where she will scream after latching on for abt 5 min.

For mummies who are still latching on, do your babies latch on continuously for 10-20 min?? or latch on for 5 min...ek ek ek, burp than re-latch again n the cycle repeats??

Just wondering how much ang pow you all gave your CL when they left? Mine leaving soon so was wondering what the market rate was...

amy, 5mins can last your bb how long before he ask for another feed ? my bb also seem to be latching shorter and shorter time. so not sure whether is he becoming more efficient or eating lesser and lesser ...

atinarin

i just brought my son to AMK SBCC on mon to take the 6-in-1 jab. He is 7wk now. We were seen by Dr Koh.... quite a senior doc and he looks friendly too. The charges is $160 and we were given a fever med. Truely, my babe had a fever that PM and it was like On-Off thing, hence have to monitor him closely. Thanks God by yesterday evening his fever is gone.

Me also stays in Sengkang

star07, how did u take bb's temp ? did u buy a bb thermometer ?

wonder if i could jus use those digital ones and put under bb's armpit

Hi pillow n amy,

My baby can last abt 2.5hrs for a 5 min feed. Just tested out using bottled ebm, she can consume abt 40ml of ebm in 3min. When she latch on, i can feel that she is drinking at an even faster rate. Guess i have to treat it as she is an efficient eater.

Hi all. I am seriously considering giving up breast feeding liao
Baby has been screaming and crying at almost every feed and it has been very stressful and frustrating. He can even scream himself hoarse. Really really cannot figure out why he cries at every feed. It is so bad that I find myself dreading each feeding and to be honest, I don't like him very much now. Don't want to let this affect my feelings towards my baby so was thinking of giving up breast feeding
But on the other hand, i feel very 'ke xi' that after all my efforts to increase my supply, I still can't give him beyond 2 months

I have been to see the lactation nurses but they say there is no problem with his latching nor milk supply. Unfortunately he wasn't co-operative that day and didn't show off his true colours so the nurse sent me back saying there is no problem with him. Once at home, he acted up again

Sigh, what shall I do??

a ques.. any mommies' bb suckin finger liao? mine is doin it and i'm tryin to break the habit... but dun wan to give pacifier...

Gees!

Tomorrow is my CL's last day.

Wish me luck.

Hi Cheryl,

I intend to angpow her about 40/50. Hope that's the norm.

Wow, so many Northeast mummies : Pinkyj, Emily, Wiselyn, Aidanee, Amy and Star07

Aidanee, ya I remember you
But I don't remember what we talked abt though :p

Wiselyn,
Oh I see.. thanks for the info

Poohwei,
My baby vomits almost every feed. The quantity ranges from a small tablespoon amount to 3-4 tablespoon. Ocassionally, he vomits almost half of his feed! I went to a PD and she thinks he's suffering from reflux. You can try to keep baby upright or at least a little inclined during and abt 15-30mins after his feed, burp him excessively, and avoid having him cry too hard. It helps also to reduce the interval of his feeds too. Oh and dun overfeed him.

It's actually a lot of work for me now to reduce his reflux vomitting. My baby used to be a full latch on baby who can drink like nobody's business but doc says I've overfed him so I now need to monitor his intake. These few days I've been latching him one side and pumping the other side at the same time. Then I'll use the expressed quantity as a gauge to estimate how much baby has taken. If need be, I'll top it up with the expressed milk in a bottle. Excess EBM will be stored. Actually I hardly use the frozen EBM liao and might start discarding some as my freezer is almost full.

Btw, my baby takes 10 mins to drink abt 70ml from the breast (based on expressed quantity of the other breast). But he'll comfort suck for eternity thereafter!

Peapod,
I'm so sorry to hear that. I really wonder why your baby reacts this way! Are you still not responding to pumps? Would you like to try latching baby one side and pumping the other? It helps the milk to flow both for the baby and the pump. I actually observed 7-8 let downs when latching baby and pumping at the same time. If I pump only, I could only have 2-3 let downs..and the quantity is smaller. Maybe by latching and pumping at the same time, baby will have a faster flow, and you will start to respond better to pumps? Only thing is you might need some practice doing that, esp if baby is struggling when latching..Really hope your problem with latching will be solved..very sayang to give up on breastfeeding

Actually sometimes I also feel very negative towards baby (even though it's not his fault). My baby is a little colicky and he is also a very difficult baby. He cries 90% of his awake time. Very bad isn't it? When I hear mummies sharing abt how they can goo gaga with their babies and see how their babies respond by smiling, I feel so envious. I wonder when will mine be smiling back at me. Actually I'll be contented if he can just stay awake without crying.

star07: Thanks for the info. When i called them, they claimed bb needs to be at least 5kg. Mine still cannot make it haha.

pillow: i use the digital thermometer under bb's armpit but best to test when sleeping.

Hi Bena,

Have you tried using a bb bouncer? Maybe with the bouncer... ur bb being in a slightly upright position, he can look around and may not cry so often - since he can take in the sights as compared to being in the cot/ playpan?

I do kindof notice that my bb reacts better to being put in the bouncer than the cot/ playpan. Always wondered if it is becos he can see me better in the bouncer??

Hmmm...

Peapod, so sorry to hear about that. It's indeed "ke xi" to give up now. Like vicki suggested, why not you try feeding him EBM since he's frustrated latching on? Just try ...

Vicki,
Ya, I put him on a bouncer right after a feed and his burp. Sometimes he regurgitate on the bouncer.. he is a serious reflux case. But it's been improving already, though really alot of hard work making sure

Hey been thinking of getting a bouncer for bb too. Any idea where t get those netted ones that were used long ago? I dont fancy the Fisher Price types cos its way too hot.

Hi Bena,

Thanks for the info on reflux. Mine also cry for 90% of the time when she is awake. Sometimes i just get so stressed up and wonder if i am a good mummy. Now i got myself an electronic sarong and it has worked wonders for me so long as she is not hungry/ diaper is dirty.

Hi peapod,

I experience the same thing as u. My girl will scream after abt 5 min of latch on. Today, after testing by feeding her with ebm, i concluded that overfeeding may be the cause of her crying. You may want to feed for a shorter period of time n see if ur baby still screams??

Btw, how long can we keep the frozen ebm?? Whats the difference b/w deep freezer n normal freezer? My whole freezer is packed with frozen ebm n my hubby ask me to just discard the older stock to make way for the newer stock. Any advice?

hi pillow and poohwei,
looks like our babies can be classified as 'efficient eater' or 'sucker'..haha..

as for bouncer, I tried putting her on those fisher price ones (with vibrating mode) and she can only last there for 10mins..guess that's a victory for me already.

hi peapod,
it's good that you are trying to find solutions to make things better. dun feel too bad about unable to direct breastfeed baby, u have been doing a marvellous job already. it's still alright to give EBM whenever possible.

for jabs,
my girl has only taken the Hep B. we learnt from the PD that the next jab is at 8 wks old, by then we'll be in s'pore. btw, ij usa, no 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 (though those vacines mostly developed from usa). u know what they do to baby for those vacines, they give 5 jabs individually in 1 visit. this is bcos medically they disallow 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 and fear of being sued if anything happened. i will be so heartache seeing my baby taking 5 or 6 jabs at different parts of thighs in 1 go.

so confused...one clinic says, 6in1 also must go first month for 2nd HepB jab...another says no need, come second month for all..

Hi Vicki and Blue, I always have problems with expressing, can't seem to have proper let down with the pump so only can collect very little after much squeezing
That's why I have to do total latching.

Hi Bena, I tried the tandem pumping but because my pump is single electic pump, the motor is on the pump itself so very unbalanced and heavy. I have to hold it steady with one hand. Now with baby struggling on the other side, very tough to do both at the same time
I still have problems with expressing, can have only one let-down if I am lucky. Most of the time I can only get about 30ml from 1 breast. But if I latch, baby can get much more (I went to weigh again when I went to see the LC on Monday, baby taking in 130ml after finishing 1 and half side)

Yesterday was especially bad cos baby was cranky, prob due to constipation for 5 days
At the 8pm feed, I was so fedup with his crying that I just passed him to hubby and asked him to give baby FM. I really can't bear to latch him again. That was when I got worried about my negative feelings towards baby.

My baby is also a grumpy one, hardly smiles. He is only more happy in the moring when he is well fed and after i bathe him. Then, he will coo and smile at you when you talk to him. The rest of the day he will be a fussy baby. I like him best when he is sleeping hahaa.

Hi Poohwei, really? overfeeding will cause baby to cry? But sometimes he cries mid-way thru feeding. The breast is still not very empty then. Hmm... maybe he is not very hungry in the first place.

hi mummies,am new to this thread. On the 6in1 (HEXA) jab i also tot i missed the 2nd HepB jab (1st mth) rushed to normal Family clinic last Sun only to find out that HEXA incl the 2nd HepB jab. So only need to jab mth 2, 4 and 6. Me also stay in NthEast Punggol... : )

Hi Bena!
Long time never receive SMS from you already
Oh no so your baby was overeating?? So funny coz you were worried he wasn't getting enuf to eat! Is he still feeding every 2 hours and sucking endlessly? My girl now is on full EBM..I gave up latching coz she always suck for 5-10 mins and then not interested already...and then hungry again 1-2 hours later. Now with bottle feeding ard 125ml, she lasts 3-4 hours. I've also managed to get her on Gina Ford's routine this past week and now she sleeps from 11pm to 7am so I get a good night's sleep!

hi atinarin,
You can get the net bouncers from kiddy palace..they've got pink and blue ones. But the net ones don't have any 'entertainment' like toys hanging from it so baby may get bored sitting in it. I went to John Littles at Marina and they have quite a good selection of bouncers there - they were having a sale for a bouncer with toys hanging which cost only $29 when I went last week.

Hi Peapod,
Sounds like your girl has gas or wind that's why she's crying and screaming when she's feeding coz she's uncomfortable. My girl used to do that alot too and I'll be so frustrated coz I dunno what she's crying for! Maybe you want to try to use Infacol (you can buy this from any pharmacy) - my sister recommended it to me. Its really effective in helping gassy and colicky babies... its more effective than all the ru yi you and gripe water I've tried! And its real easy to use - just give baby a few drops, and it comes with a small dripper that attaches to the bottle cap so no need to wash and sterilize any syringes or spoons. My girl used to cry and cry and when I try to burp her it takes ages to burp (30mins at least) but since I've used Infacol, she burps by herself most of the time once I sit her up and then she continues feeding! Hope you continue with your breastfeeding

Hi <font color="0000ff">Bena</font>..
Oh, sounds like a good idea to organise a gathering for the north east mummies..

Maybe we can open up to other mummies who r interested to join too... I wonder when will be a good time...

pinkyj,
Hehe your baby so clever! Found her fingers already! Mine hasn't yet.. I think its ok for a baby so suck on them - its comforting to them and its better to let them suck their fingers than a pacifier - coz when the pacifier drops out they will be crying for you to pop it back in their mouth!

Hi Cheryl,
I gave my CL $20 ang pao when she arrived, and she did a good job for me so I gave her $80 when she left. There's no 'market rate' lah - just give whatever you want
If you feel she's done a good job, give more.

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..
I really admire your determination to BF ur son.. I haf stopped long time ago...

I cant advise much on BF, but I hope you will be to solve yr problems soon...
Jia You!

Hi <font color="0000ff">atinarin</font>...

I bought 2 bouncers.. so kiasu...

The net type - you can get it at any shop that sell baby stuff / Kiddy Palace... good for afternoon nap, cos it's not hot.. my son sleeps on the bouncer during the day..

The Fisher Price bouncer - more pricey, more for activity... I bought one with vibration, toys and music...

angel,
i dun like her suckin on her fingers leh..
cos she will fling her saliva filled hand on her face and thus got saliva on her cheeks and alas.. rashes...

infacol is effective....my son's reflux is better. i add into his bottle of ebm. i am also controlling his intake. he sleeps in the combi rocker in the day and night cos it can be inclined.

angel,
does ur bb go to sleep at 7pm and u wake him up to feed at 11pm? My boy does not sleep well at night. very noisy and i suspect it is wind in the tummy. He usually drinks at 7pm and by 8-8.30pm,he wants to sleep. And that's when symphony starts. once he is settled, i cant bear to wake him up for his 10-11pm feed. he will sleep from 9pm to 3am, then feed, then wakes up at 6plus.

hi aidanee u mean u just mix the infacol to your son milk?? would he drink.. is it bitter huh.. i scare add to my gal fm later she don't want to drink the milk..

as per aidanee and angel seems infacol is really good.. would go and get a bottle too as i suspect my gal is quite colicky as well.. thanks for the info

amy, am not sure abt my bb being "efficient eater or sucker" coz he takes v long with the bottle. for your bb, if you bottlefeed, does he take long to finish his bottle ?

hi low,
i just add into the milk. very little amount. hope he will never tell the difference. dun want to waste my ebm! i am also trying out giving diluted gripe water in between feed.

Pillow,
i think the gripe water may help to ease his "no poopoo' condition.
jia you!

hello mummies!

seems all the babies in this forum all have different and various pattern...some can eat a while then full already...some can eat a long time yet not full...some eat fast...some eat slow

seems there are no fast and furious way to guage what is good or bad or good or bad...

to me lar...as long baby is growing...gaining weight...smiling at us when we tok to them...think that beats all tirness, frustrations, worries that we all have...

anyway we are all to share our laugther, our tears and experiences...and hopefully each of us dun get into a 'envy' mood for each another lor

back to the original statement...HAPPY MUMMY=HAPPY BABY...but have to add lar...HAPPY MUMMY=HAPPY BABY=HAPPY DADDY=HAPPY FAMILY!

so the key thing is...are your happy?

Yes sir ! heehee

Clement, are you doing night duty as well with Wiselyn ? my hubby helps me out at night but i kinda feel guilty waking him up, coz he's gotta work the nex day.

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I am new to this forum and came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She is an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..
I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of
breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are
comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from
you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 2 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

Yo uncle clement, long time never see you online liao! Last time before our bbs out, we still got time to chat online almost every night ... now hardly anyone on MSN ... even online also status will be "away".

Btw what time your bbs usually wake up for feeds? Mine last time very standard ... after the midnight feed, he usually wakes up around 4 - 4.30 am and then sleeps till 7 plus 8 am. These few nights he sleeps longer ... been waking up around 5 plus in the morning and then 8 plus 9. Hope he can remain this way so that at least I can have a good 5 hours sleep.

i am back.. been dwn with very bad flu. passed virus to my dear bb oso... she suffered quite badly. had blocked nose and hv not been sleeping well. ned to put her on medication and brought to PD to clear/suck the muscous from her nasal. haiz.. but luckily its all over now.

Bena, i am with you. my bb oso cry 90% of her awake time... oso suffering from reflux. always throw out feed.. sometimes see oso "ke sim". same situation, overfed. cos i responded her cries as hunger.. kept latching her and she drink n drink... gave pacifier but she refused, take my breasts for comfort.

she does not take long naps as well.. usu 1 hr then start crying liao.

poohwei, is sarong really effective to get bb to sleep longer? do u hv problem bringing bb out?

angel, i'm interested to learn more abt gina ford's method u use. having bb sleep from 11pm - 7pm is very tempting....

peapod, i believe you are providing well to your bb. mayb there's some other underlying problems to the wailing?
good to check to PD....

darmae, can check with u... how the doc suck out the phlegm or mucus from the nose? my gal is havin a slight cough and very phlegmy throat... i feel so bad.. cos she's mostly on fm now.. dunno if she's on bm will she fall sick not.........haiz....

Hi pinkj,

The last time when my older son got mucus, he was put on the nubeliser (not sure if correct spelling) (an oxygen mask thingy to put on bb face with the appropriate medication). However, must get it from pd one.

Alternatively, my fren used to suck out her kids' mucus with her mouth. She say more effective and faster.

oic aidanee thanks for your info

darmae, sarong really can allow the baby to have longer nap i think they feel more secure in it so sleep more soundly... so far i give sarong to my gal in the afternoon... at night no sarong.. she sleeps in playpen.. when i brought her out.. I use the sarong sling.. so far so good lor.. crossing my fingers hope it remains that way

peapod hope ur boy gets better after seeing the pd... thanks to update us on the reason for his crying.. maybe we can learn from there as well.. thanks n u take care