(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

vone, you are here to share your remedy of rubbing vicks at the sole! hehe. =) i did for sarah as suggested. seems good. she slept better.

justme:

haha glad it works ^^ I did it for jaylen too and he slps better as well. I also lift up his cot's bed to a slight 45 degree angle to prevent backflow of his mucus

ecookie: yup that's a whole meal. now she's on three meals a day.

9am (1 cube fruit puree and 2tbsp rice cereal)
1pm(1 cube vege puree and 2tbsp rice cereal)
6pm(1 cube vege puree and 1tbsp rice cereal).

milkfeed is 7am, 11am, 3pm and 9pm (either 150mls or 180mls). overfeed or not eh? *wonders* she just crossed over the 7kg mark, think now 7.2kgs.

wise,
I think all bb now super active lor, jerald can just had a power nap for 30min & his battery is fully charged liao scary right.. i think we'll have problem running after them when thy starts to walk faintz.. But hor i can't help kissing him when he's sound asleep really looks so innocent haha..

Fau,
good your bb can eat/drink well, myra is taking semi solids at bfast and dinner time, but her milk feed has decreased. still monitoring lor, hope will pick up cos i'm also intro stage 2 milk now, wondering if the new FM taste that she dunt like.

irene, wise: how many naps your bb take in the day? mine takes a nap every 2 or 3 hours ... each time abt 30min to 1hour or so

hi mommies esp those still BFing,

need to vent...

i've been using my Medela Mini Electric Duo for the last 5 months. pumping 4x for the first 4 months and now 3x a day. i have a feeling it is starting to fail. Bcos i am now yielding lesser after 15 mins and i can still feel my breasts are still full. i also massage and squeeze my breasts during. do you reckon i should dump my Duo and quickly buy a better more expensive pump as it will last longer, i am quite upset becos i bought this pump cos it was cheaper than the PIS and now it seems to be failing, is the PIS a good investment for long term pumping what about AMEDA? i need to get something lightweight as i lug my pump to and fro everyday.

or do you think its just my imagination that the pump is failing and that my yield is normal. i am yielding 100ml each pump as compared to 160 to 200ml before. Im so upset becos my bb is coming to 7 months already and i have plans to stop pumping soon. but i didn't want this to be the reason to stop. idiot pump! so angry!

voice,
yeah the bassinet 'gum gum ho' for maegan. if she's abit longer then will be quite cramp.
your trip is at end of the year, by then sam will b quite big boy liao.

the last time when i went to korea wif my son (then 16mths old), we bgt him a child tix as well as he cudnt fit in the bassinet.
we brought along the carseat and attached/secured on the flight seat.

u may wan to consider that. but ned to cfm the dimension of the seat of the flight.

wise,
Clara is the winner haha...

merkon,
It depends lor cos everytime after milk or cereal about 1hr plus later he'll wan to nap. The longest time is 3hrs but tat is only once in a blue moon or we sleep together with him other than tat would be 30min - 1hr plus.

madlynette,
i can understand your frustration. i am using ameda. so far it has been serving me well. its light weight and more silent compared to PIS. i have a colleague using PIS and she sweared by the suction pressure and the ability of emptying out her breasts very efficiently. so far, i hv not tried PIS.

BUT i accidentally dropped the ameda motor one day at work (3weeks ago). the pressure / suction never felt the same as before. hence i was oso skeptical about the efficiency now as well.

same sentiments as you... i hv plans to stop pumping soon.

madlynette/darmae
talking abt electric pump - aiya, i hv bought 2nd hand one from one of the mummies here (this forum). though is cheap (i paid $160 w/o warranty). It served me quite well - almost 5 mths but recently, don't know y, it starts (same as madlynette), the suction not very efficient too. after 1/2 hr sitting there to pump, can still feel the breast like not fully emptied. so sad. but luckily hv a spare manual medela harmony, now using it at home as well office, so much convenient to bring to and fro office & home, but of cos hand a bit suan lah. but can feel that "every single drop" is being emptied from breast.

dArMae - Do you know the service centre for ameda pump? My pump , the rubberband inside broke then cannOt use le.

It's really mah more quiet hor.

vone thanks ... try that on Carlson that's why he still can sleep well at night but i know that he is feeling uncomfortable as he give out the 'sigh' sound while sleeping .... so sad
he also keep vomitting out the milk and also diarrea ... think its the phm la

Darmae: yah lor...must bring car seat, a requirement to have a child restraint device for child under 2yrs old when having a seat. So troublesome, got to check out the dimension and car seat requirement. In anyway, we need to bring car seat along, cos' canada regulation, all children needs to have a car seat/booster.

hehe..faith so cute. bo gay is good mah..now nynke will bite me when i BF her..ouchie...

I've strated another BP on pouch sling. it was planned before both girls fell sick..jia lak...now check mails and also have to monitor the 2 girls. sieske is better and she's just so happy about not going to school.

this weather is so damn hot!!!!! those in office enjoying free aircon..hehehe..

mad, abt pump. I used medela single pump previously. It'll somehow 'lose power' after few mths of usage. I used for 1 yr and now lent to my frena nd she said it's really 'losing power' liao...ameda dual is still ok so far, quieter. I bought in USA at USD150. but i'm not sure whether mine can go for servicing here or not.. touch wood.

emily, maid has yet to arrive? mine..we are ok with her so far. HB mentioned that she eats a lot though. I bought instant noodles, biscuits and instant coffee for her. SHe has been waking up in middle of nite and cook noodles to eat for past 2 nites. we sleep like pigs so did not hear any sound from kitchen. My sis says i have to be stern to her and tell her eat bread and dun cook in middle of nite. i dun know how to tell her leh...

bubumama

My bb is drinking friso too. I called Friso recently regarding the milk strike that bb had. They arranged to send a can of Friso 2 to me but hvnt arrived yet cos i missed the delivery man ;( Dun noe got to wait how long, in the end i went ahead to purchase a can of Friso 2 and just started yest.

amy hmmm ... ask her to eat more rice for dinner la ... aiyo where got ppl cook in the middle of the night one .... oh you getting a new maid ???

Carissa too keep asking me if she is sick cos she dun want to go school ... haha i keep saying No not sick to her

Aiyo now dying to go home and see my boy ... waiting for hb to come and fetch me ... cannot tahan liao want to go off now

voice: i took malaysian airlines the other time. went to the website and they say if u request early they can provide bassinet during the flight. if you driving there, the rental company may also have car seats for rent. that's my experience in australia. dunno how it's like in canada thogh ...

re: lunch
star, florence, blueskye, mind if we postpone the lunch date tomorrow to another day? i have to collect a bp item too from patsy. bought alexa bags from her and tomorrow is the only day i can collect from her, else have to wait till next week. very gian to get the bags ASAP. hahahahaha! we arrange another day k?

voice, saw the spree there. is it much cheaper? now i dare not buy from spree liao. i overspent A LOT! hb scolded me till i chao tao. all for his son leh. hohohoho

merkon, am referring to car seat needed to attach on aircraft seat(if you purchasing a seat for your child) for infant under 2yrs old.

gingerleaf,
yup, we brought along the carseat. but only used it on the plane. left it in the hotel during the rest of the trip.

the HK tix for maegan is abt 300+ incl tax. i cant rem exact cos it was my dad who paid for it.

florence,
i duno abt the ameda svc centre...

Hi Voice,
Are you flying with your baby?
Flights do provide safety belt for infant. If you carry Sam on your laps during take off and touch down, you will be given a mini seat belt, which you put around baby's waist on one end, and the other end attach to your seat belt. No need to bring car seat for flying lah, try to keep your luggage as light as possible, which is already not easy when travelling with a baby.

Hi Voice,
Think you may want to check out the size of the bassinet provided by Air Canada. Look how cramp the bassinet is, my son was just hitting 5 month then...taken in early March. Luckily there were free seats in the middle row, so we let him sleep there instead.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

bassinet.bmp (39.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Florence,

I dun have their number. I found their address on the warranty card.

Bad news.. My mum got chicken pox and i cannot find anyone to take care of ryann.... I dun think i can take 2 weeks long leave... Now very fan leh..

atinarin,
that carrier been ard for a few mths, i think.
Wanted to get that b4 my beco, coz that carrier is the onli carrier other than bjorn that allows the baby to face front. But I managed to get a pre loved beco, so didnt get pikkolo
There MIGHT be a bp coming up for it in may or june.

hi phoebe

Ooh..sorry to hear tat. May b U can chk with some infantcare centre whether they can take in baby for short term. chk out the MCYS website for list of infantcare centre. Or U n HB take turns to apply leave. Any other family members can help?

Poulinea: where did you go with ur son? We want Sam to have a seat for long haul flight to Canada, plus we need a car seat anyway while traveling in cars, so my SIL advised us to bring. Think now is to find out dimension of aircraft seat, see if our car seat can be attached to it anot. So headache...

Aiyo Phoebe, then how...anyone else in the family can help out? Why don't you deposit Ryann &amp; maid at someone else place during the day, your maid knows how to take care of Ryann?

Hi Voice,
It was 6hr flight to Beijing.
Will you be renting a car (in Canada, I suppose? Which city?), If you rent a car, they may provide car seat for baby. Can check that out.

star07, Voice
Ya lor.. hard time finding ppl to take care of ryann. My maid usually help to take care of ryann but her main duty actually is to take care of my dad who is a stroke patient. So i have got no alternative choice
Recently alot of child care close becos of the HFMD so we also dunno if shld let Ryann go infant care or not. PD advice not to also.
My hubby company lagi worse, work less then 23 days will deduct attendance allowance $350 !!!
So now i also lost...took urgent leave until sat. hope that by then can find someone to help.

re: spree and shopping for bb.
Btmum, I totally understand you! haha. i spent quite a bit for girl girl too! Now I hope I won't click on the spree links... very very tempted too... to avoid online shopping i went out just now ... went to OG chinatown and spent 100 over.. no hope lah me. Must find some sort of income soon, else I will get the wrath from hubby. Any lobangs you mummies have?? for SAHM =P

Phoebe: Hope your mum recovers soon and you get a babysitter. I think they have babysitters online but how reliable i really dont know.

Gingerleaf: Shows how suaku i am about carriers. Anyway i think the Pikkolo causes bbs legs to be spread too far apart, not very good.

Off to SGH in a few mins...