(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

oh goldfishy, u having cough? do take care. i also kanna cough liao. think is from bb....now bb is getting better. but i never wear any mask leh...do u think the virus will go back to her?

thanks ladies for the well wishes, this morning very busy leh...steams of sms and msn msgs keep flowing in, haahaaa! Not busy with work but busy replying to friends' well wishes!

Pillow: here is the pix, i bought this high chair for Sam last sat, yet to let him try on, is height adjustable with rollers too.

1242108.jpg

hi mummies, im interested in getting a high chair for my baby for feeding purpose.. any brands to recommend?

tiny voice: where do you get your chair from? how much? :p

Happy Birthday to Voice and Poohwei !

I have a Qn regarding weaning off BM. Anyone have any idea how long will it take before there is really no more milk coming out.
My Milk supply has been very low and hence I give up pumping since i can't get much ...less than 20ml. The last time my girl latch on is like 5 days ago for a snack on one side. On the ther other side when I try to latch her, she keep fusing like there is nothing coming out.
But till today, I still feel my breast a bit heavy. If I hand squeeze, I can still see droplets of milk. So do I just leave it ???

hi ecookie: i got mine at Kiddy Palace for $99.90, Mamalove brand.
We didn't want to splurg too much on a high chair so decided on this lor. Cover is detachable for washing and the tray as well.

hi totoro bb,

yah just leave it if u dont feel any discomfort...i remember just stopping to express when i wean on last time when my milk output is ard 30ml per side..

my breasts will leak abit whenever i take hot shower but slowly ceased after 1-2 weeks..never tried to hand squeeze though..

On weaning, some people won't completely have no milk one. Last time even though my gal was weaned off around 6 months, I still have milk when she was 2 years+ and even when I was pregnant with Jordan, I still have milk when I squeeze ... but of cos the quality of milk is different lah. If too long never pump even have milk, the milk tastes different ... from sweet become saltish. Well, as long as no engorgement, just leave it as it is. It's ok I guess.

On high chair, last time I have a similar one as voice's. Nicer but then everytime got to clean the cushion after being dirties, so after that I switched to IKEA's ... easier to clean cos it's plastic. I already let my Jordan sit in the IKEA high chair liao. Now my gal and him "share share" since my gal can also sit on normal chair already.

i've a hand-me-down ikea chair from my SIL. but i thought the tray cannot be remove and height cant be adjusted and all plastic like not v comfy so looking out for alternatives..

perhaps that ikea chair can be continued to be left at my in-laws house for us to use for feeding when we pop by during the weekends..

bena,
sorry i mia after that day...went to operate myself with needle immediately after that and then had to rush out and was busy with cny till today have time to come online. actually i didn't get your PM, but luckily the needle trick worked! managed to clear the duct and was so relieved! thanks to all mummies for your concern. but unfortunately i kenna block duct again on the same place yesterday! super painful! now i really understand how you feel bena, getting blocked ducts all the time is so traumatising! tried the needle thing again but it didn't work initially even after letting my girl latch a few times...the lumps got harder after each latch on, was so scared! then at 11pm after putting my girl to sleep, i tried to prick my nipple again and this time milk started oozing out immediately...heng ah! breastfeeding is really a challenge, whether its undersupply or oversupply! but bena, dun give up! lets jiayou together!

Wish all mummies & babies a Happy Chinese New Year! I'm sure all of you had fun visiting and collecting angpao for your babies!

Heres Faith in her CNY outfit

"Hm...wonder if I'll get lots of angpao later?"
1242199.jpg

"新年快乐!"
1242200.jpg

Voice, happy birthday!!
Why are you working on your birthday?

mummyfaith,
Faith looks so adorable!!

Bena,
Lol! Yes you need to get Zac used to the bottle...you need to get Zac used to the bottle...and you need to get Zac used to the bottle! Good luck!

Re high chair,
Initially I also used the ikea high chair handed down from SIL...its easy to clean like what blue mentioned, but Jade always cried in it. Think it wasn't comfortable or maybe it was too short for our table. So I went out to buy one. I was deciding between the Fisherprice rainforest high chair or the Graco one, both have very good reviews from other mummies. In the end I bought the Graco one from Robinsons during the sale. Now Jade loves to be in her high chair....so I'm pretty happy with my purchase.
Its comfy coz its cushioned, with plastic cover so easy to clean, has 7 height adjustments so can adjust to the height of our dining table as she grows, 3 reclining positions, which comes in handy now coz after I feed her solids, I can recline the chair and she can drink her milk in it. The tray has a cover which can be taken out to wash, and a big plus is that it can be folded really flat for storage.

hi angel, thanks for the recommendations. will check out Graco as well as fisherprice high chairs the next time i hit kiddy palace/robinsons!

Hi Bubumama,
Do take care too.
With regards to your question, if it is the same virus, then the baby won't get it. Otherwise, she may or may not get it.
Better to be careful so I wore mask around lor.
Anyway, usual points of spreading is thru airborne particles. I also avoided touching her nose, mouth or eyes.
Can't bear to see bb sick.

Angel, bo bian leh...with baby on board...annual leaves these days are so precious! Else every year i took leave one...plus planning a long holiday end of this yr, all the more must use my leave prudently. hahahaa!

hi goldfishy
ya true, when bb is sick very xin suan....now at least she is better. u know tat time when she is coughing, in my heart was thinking bb u better get well, let mummy get sick cos mummy is adult. see now suay suay kanna liao, but can see bb jumping in gd health really make me happy too.

u too must take care urself. so how's ur cny?

Hi Voice,
I agree.. I used to take one week annual leave during CNY, but this year I am not taking any leave..

Have to use my annual leave carefully now..

Hi emily, saw ur post that u hv shared with the mummies here abt sending bb pic to the magazine to Mother & Baby. I hv note down the email address, but do we need to state any subject when submitting? pls advise. tks

Goldfishy,
Actually I did try getting Zac on the bottle but he'll rather starve. I have to find a day when he's well ie not sick, not having diaper rash, not just had vaccination and I am also well, ie no blocked ducts and give him the cold turkey treatment from my breast so that he will be forced to take the bottle. Hope you are feeling better already?

Mummyfaith,
so sad that you are also suffering like me. Seems like we are both prone to blocked ducts. Do you pump? Hey I'm buying Lecithin, a food supplement from GNC tonite Kellymom says it can prevent blocked ducts for some moms. I'll let you know if it works after I consume it for a while. Meanwhile, eat less protein cuz my breast surgeon says that I get blocked ducts cuz my breastmilk too rich in protein. You take care...oh and your girl is so cuute!! Mummy really sacrifice alot for her..

justme: yah she's looks very macam betul right? haha! saw your photos also, sarah's hair is to die for! can dahlia have half? :p

brought dahlia to the PD this morning for her cough, which has been around for almost two wks, it's her second visit.

1. mommies who hv given their babies cough meds, care to share the name/s of the meds given by your PDs?

2. with most babies in our thread weighing in at almost 8kgs+.. i have a feeling dahlia is one of the smaller ones. this morning we weighed her and she's only 6.85kgs! anyone else with babies around that weight range?

Hi BuBu MaMa,
I indicated Baby Album in the subject of my e-mail. But I think it doesn't matter to them. Cos they only have one e-mail address.

Hi shotbyfau,
My boy was 6.8kg last week.. I think not all babies are 8kg, just a few, maybe.. Its not a matter of weight.. As long as they are within the healthy BMI, they shd be fine lor..

Emily, Shotbyfau,

Your babies don't look small at all.. I would have guess that they are 7-8kg if u din tell..

Angel,
You take in Zac for 1 day and train him on the bottle for me lah

Bena,
Yes I do pump. Think the main reason I get blocked duct is bcos there were a few times when I didn't latch on faith enough and yet I didn't pump so kenna loh. Yesterday was probably bcos I went to church and couldn't pump for 7hours and faith was left in nursery where they fed her ebm. But last time I never had probs even if dun pump for 8hrs, guess I have to be careful and be more diligent to pump...also realised today that my supply seem to have dropped. I also have a high protein diet so maybe that adds to the prob.

shotbyfau,
saw the clip on dahlia, she can "walk" quite well! is she also sitting on her own already?

Re: SAHM or find job?
Mummies, I have been out of job for a month already and so far no luck in my job search. The funny thing is when I was pregnant, I wanted very much to be SAHM but now that I am jobless for 1mth, I wonder if I shd really be SAHM... I love taking care of my girl and being able to be with her 24/7 is wonderful but I'm worried I can't juggle taking care of her fulltime and coping with housechores. Also I am a little reluctant to become huang lian po, what if there is really a job with great prospects out there? Then theres also financial issues...we can still cope with my hubby being sole breadwinner but I dun wish to add to his pressure and I hate to think that I will lose my financial independence. That will mean no more impulsive shopping or even participating in BPs and sprees! And the worst is my fear of not being able to take good care of my baby! If I become a SAHM, I am 100% responsible for all her needs and growth...its such a huge responsibility! I'm worried that I can't do a good job and hubby will definitely be more demanding in this aspect since I'm SAHM! So really in a dilemma now...

mummyfaith: i think i understand where you are coming from. i wanted to be a SAHM every morn i leave the house for work. that moment, i would give anything to play n feed my baby for an hour more..

but u right in the financial independence part. im most reluctant to give up this part of mine and dun wish to live a restricted lifestyle just depending on my hubby's sole income. cant buy stuff for baby also sad...

perhaps you can just start to look out first? no harm trying mah. if a job with great prospects really come along then can consider grabbing it.

emily,

ahh glad to hear that edison is also not heavyweight. i learnt the equation light doesnt necessarily mean undernourished after i saw the article in ST a few weeks ago..

mummyfaith,

so far she can balance seating unsupported for maybe 10 seconds before she'll tumble over to the side. her 'walk' is so comical, i had to sit down anc control my laughter coz she looked like she's gonna run for the 'waterfall' hehe.

re: sahm/working mom

i have a love/hate relationship between desiring to be a sahm and staying as a working mom. but for the sake of my sanity i think i prefer to be a working mom. more so for the financial and social aspect. also after studying so much i feel a bit sayang to just leave my qualifications in a frame without justification. however i told myself if i have more than two kids (which also means single income must be stable enough to sustain the living standards of 2 adults and three children) then i will consider..

btw, what kind of job are you looking for mummyfaith?

Hi Em,
Sorry I can't remember how much I bought the Graco high chair leh...think abt $200 after discount.

Re working or to be SAHM,
This dilema has been on my mind too. The 1st few years of our baby's life is so impt and it moulds how they will grow up in future, and if we go back to work we can't participate much in it. I want so much to be Jade's main caregiver, rather than leaving her to be cared for by my maid/SIL. But if I don't go back to work, I lose financial independence and freedom. I'm also worried abt my sanity and social life. Its such a tough decision. I think abt it everyday. And I'm going back to work in March...so sianz

mummyfaith,
Take this opportunity of unemployment to enjoy motherhood!

hihi happy new yr everyone,
anyone has an remedy for heat rash? hv gotten med for charlene buy dun seem to work well......

Mummyfaith,
I guess, I am one of those mummies, who disregard her qualification to oversee the baby. I am glad I made this choice although I don't have financial independence now(unless using up my depleting savings is considered financial power). Gone were the days when I swipe the cards like there was no tomorrow. I am very prudent with money now and yes, baby don't have the luxury of having so many wonderful toys and gadgets which are available in the market. My hubby and I always window shop and said "someday, we'll get that for her...".
It sounds really sad, but you can't really have the best of both worlds....

Financial happiness aside, I am proud to say, I can witness Sarah's development every single second of the day! She seemed to be a very content and happy girl to me as well!
So what if I have to scrimp and save and put my family's household expenses first before my own (which consist of me, hubby, and father-in-law). So what if I don't have the latest fashionwear, or go shopping to vent my frustration.
I have a smiley and happy baby to make me feel ever content with my life. As long as all monthly loans and bills are taken care of, for now, I will continue to be a SAHM...

I think, if I were to return back to work, my whole family will be affected. Haha, cos, now my hubby is already spoilt by the fact that I cook and the home is relatively clean and well-managed. He said, its also good to return to a home where your wife and kid is waiting for your return and a homecooked food meal awaits you.

The other thing is, I am feeling uneasy cos, I can't provide money for my aging mum. argh... feel so useless..

So whether you choose to be a SAHM or not, is really up to individual... weigh all the pros and cons. oh, I heard some SAHM have their hands in businesses. DUnno how that works.

Yesterday, Monday, Sarah was very cranky. So unusual. In all, she barely slept for an hour. She fussed the whole afternoon, and I had to bring her down to the playground 4 times in 5 hours! Dunno why,... maybe its a growth spurt. Maybe its teething. Maybe she's super bored looking at mummy all the time.. and no one else. haha... Just hope she'll have a good night rest till Tuesday morning... after 9 am!!

Oh, regarding the SAHM,... I have been out of job for almost 1 year!... QUitted in March last year. I believe I am already obsolete in the job market.

mummyfaith, really love to see your bb's pic. everytime i see the pic, i would send link to my hubby to view.

such a gorgeous girl. my hb will say, can we "chope" her for my baby Shawn ? kekeke is she taken already ? :p

justme: sometimes i feel the same way, that baby is so bored spending time with just the mommy. dahlia went through the cranky-didnt-want-to-sleep phase the day after we came back from our batam trip, she was probably wondering why arent there any outdoor activities for her and why she's cooped up in the house instead of being out.

i wish i can stay home with myra and keep house and cook, but i'm survivng sole on my income. HB is full time artist so not much income from him, hmmmpf! so every month when cheque comes in must spoil myself with retail therapy for myself and myra!

Hi mummyfaith,
Faith is really a beautiful girl.. Her features are very nice & girlish... Has that kind of "arrogant" look in the first picture..

Re: SAHM
To those SAHM mummies, pls treasure and enjoy all the moments with your babies while you can. Remember you are lucky cos not all mummies can afford to do so.

I did think of quitting my job too.. But sad to say, I cant do so.. I have a house loan to service in Msia & support my aging parents... I dont want to exhaust my savings so soon, as they are meant for my son's future education.. Pre-school education is so expensive now.. And also the enrichment classes that we need to consider..

Not sure how is the job market now, I am reluctant to leave my coy bcos they pay well & lots of benefits.. Juggling between work & family isn't easy too... I have sacrificed my personal life, i.e. no time to go spa, facial, shopping with gf etc. Considering all these, I dont even dare to think of having # 2.

emily: yah juggling between work + family is really not easy but dont let them deter u from having #2! babies are such wonderful beings that we should all have more than 1! hehe.

and having #2 will allow ur baby to have some company growing up.. and when we got old, at least they have each other to fall upon...

but having said that, i think #2 will really be a challenge for me! lolz. think the problem is more of who to take care of the babies when we are at work!

my colleague said its really not easy taking care of her 3 mths old baby with her 2 years+ toddler daughter. with her hubby+ her working, her girl was sent to childcare + baby taken care by maid n FIL.. not the best arrangement but bo bian i guess...

irene,

congrats on yet another milestone of jerald. no worries.. teething can start anytime from 4 mths onwards. it isnt too early!

Pillow,
Faith chope by Ryann already!!! =D lolx...

mummyfaith, ya i agree with the other mummies, at least you can see all the "first time" for faith.. mine always witness by my maid and mother... no time for Ryann thus this CNY spent 5 days with him.. now miss him so much at work...

Ryann only 7kg now so mummies dun worry abt over weight or underweight =p

Will post some pics tonight... =p

RE: Weight
My En En is only slightly more than 6kg! So no worries abt weight. With her light weight, she is able to roll and crawl faster than her peers.

RE: Bdae Celebration
I went shopping for my bdae gift yesterday with hubby. Ended up spending $200++ on fisherprice toys for my gal. Never really pamper myself. Also, i realised that Pigeon actually has ready made corn soup for babies who are 4 mths old.

Re: Teething
My gal has been drooling a lot nowadays. Her clothes r always wet and she will bite anything that she sees. Guess that was the reason of why she woke up at 3++am. Now mummy has panda eyes. Really tired to have to juggle work and baby.
1243829.jpg

poohwei: ur baby girl is v cute! i like to see girls in dresses heez...

wah u really know how to pamper ur girl! i still dun feel like spending so much on toys for my baby boy.. more willing to do for his clothes cos his mummy herself is a shopoholic! heh..

but really should start investing in interactive toys hor..