(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Thanks for the bb photo comments!
#2 was only 2.6kg...i shd hav eating more durian b4 labour....

nining,
Ike must be super happy wif all his thosmas toys on his bd party!

xman,
Latching takes v long for my #2 too. I pump and bottle feed him on day time, save more time and prevent sore nipple. He drink v fast fr bottle. Glad bought an electric pump this time, so much faster!!!!

tiny,
Ya, Ivan is at bb sitter there on weekday. I hav more time to rest and go online. kekekek

Mel,
Enjoy the days 4 ur #2 is pop. I did urut this afternoon. How many day shd be enough har? 5 or 7?

an_gal,
Nop, pressie doesn't help at all...hahahaha.

jete

is it ok if i used the birthday photos on my blog??
would i be able to save into my folder?

mel
ooo...mathias sure know how to take photo. he know how to smile and pose...

loh,

More to come on the jealousy issue...
it will take Ivan a few months to get used to didi's presence.

miaon,

when i pump i can pump out only like 30 to 40ml, my gal drink about 60ml each time, when bb latch on directly they can get more as bb can stimulate the let down to get more milk.

Nining,

let me know if there's any sesame street charactor puzzle, i searched online just now and can't find leh.
so pity cant go to the gathering, ruoxi sure happy when she saw zoe cuppie.

an_gal/mel,

popian leh, ruoxi love to drink vetagin so much, always go to open the fridge by herself and cry for it, if we dont offer it she can cry hours, sometimes really drink too much already then we cheat her said no more stocks at home, and promise let her daddy to buy more later.she no dirahea leh, nowadays she only poo once every 2 days.

Enjoy yr 1 kid life first, with 2 kids really not kidding, ruoxi changed a lot after have meimei, though she said love meimei, but her behave changed a lot. last time she almost toilet trained, but now she refuse tell us when want pee or poo, and when my mum bring her to toilet she wont pee in toilet bowl, but later pee on the panties, we hv to let her wear diapers again.

Loh,

yr 2 boys so alike, my 2 gals are alike too, just #2 skin darker and eyes a bit smaller, the rest almost same.

loh,
pressie don help but time will help, give Ivan more time, he will start to play with didi real soon

xman,
u haven show us ur #2 princess pics leh.. hehe
i tink rouxi just want attention nw..

an_gal,
2day my colleagues also keep tellg me 2 pack my bag cos they c me walk like so uncomfortable n tummy so big but i v lazy leh..

Nining,
Hubby's birthday should b easier mah..maybe u shld get him a thomas cake as well! Haha! Aft his bday its urs rite? Or urs then his?then he can get u cuppies! Hehe!

Loh,
last time i did massage after 5days.. Yah,i thk i better enjoy b4 no.2 cm out..

Choco,
Mathias knw how 2 pose meh? Haha! Maybe vain like mummy

Loh,

Congrats...both yr boys looks so alike...!!

Glee/An-gal/Xman

Yeah, Chloe is big eater...whenever there is food she will rush over...now worry she become miss piggy or piglet leh....her C6/7 has been wash and kept away already, cos too tight for her, when she wear it when we go out, its so tight until she sit on the floor and take out her shoe, she rather walk barefoot, I think cos it hurts, as can see her feet turn red after taking out the shoes, now with C8/9, she can run so fast...

loh,
itz so lovely! u may nid more pushes if u have eaten more durians before labour...

mel,
i tink u shld get ready ur hospital bag...ur girl may arrive as a surprise!

An_gal / Mel,
my bday is on 30th but huby oredi bought me sony viao cos my laptop crashed hehehe.. hubby's on 7th sept..

maybe order a mac pro cake for him kekekekeke...

an_gal, nining, i must limit steve's yakult intake then..how about milo and soya milk are those ok? he loves it too.

ill try to post the cake...so lazy to retrieve the pics ;p

Jessel,
I dont limit leh kekeke.. I only lazy..

Milo and soya milk same, he takes 1 at one go, but not daily cos I also lazy to buy when its finished kekekeke..

Just want to share something about teeth and toothpaste. I would like to suggest that mummies bring their toddlers to their teeth checkup soon.

2 weeks ago, while i was brushing Jae's teeth, i spotted some black in one of his molars. Brought him to the dentist Nining recommended, she confirmed my fears. Actually there were 2 confirmed cavities, one on each top molar. She couldn't confirm if there's any other cavities, as it was quite difficult to make him stay still. Her suggestion was to put him under GA to do fillings for that 2 cavities as she doesn't recommend that we wait till he is old enough to sit still for fillings. Total damage for the 10mins visit was $80+ including the oral mousse which is used to apply on the teeth after brushing every night.

We went to seek for a 2nd opinion at a kids dentist over at Camden(Nining: not that Dr Lam is not good hor, we just didn't want to put him through GA, so went to the specialist).

Anyway, i would like to recommend this kids dentist. Upon entering, the waiting area was filled with toys, game console, a playhouse etc. Very nice to keep the little tods waiting. In the examination room, there was a tv screen on the ceiling with cartoon. Anyway, the dentist was able to make him stay still and open his mouth and did a thorough check, confirming only 2 cavities which were not in such a bad shape after all. He doesn't recommend putting little toddlers under GA. The solution is to maintain a good brushing habit, watch his diet and review again in 3 months. Damage for this trip was $104 (consultation $70 and applying something on the teeth $30+ and a colgate kids toothbrush $2.40).

Regarding toothpaste, the dentist recommend using KIDS toothpaste that contains fluoride, eg: colgate or oral-B. When using, just dab a little bit of toothpaste on the toothbrush will do. No need to rinse since they don't know how to spit yet.

Sorry for the super lor soh post. Just want to urge everyone to bring their tods to dentist b4 its too late and had to put the toddler under GA.

jang

oh no...thats sound quite serious...

so u mean we can give toothpaste that contains floride and its ok even if they swollow it?

mel,
u 1 2 b lazy now or gan cheong last min?? heheh

jessel,
Melcolm love soya milk too, is gd for them as high in calcium hehe.. as for milo, i seldom giv cos is heaty

jang,
so is ok to use kids toothpaste nw? if they swallow will be no gd for them?

choco, an_gal,

the dentist mentioned that adults' toothpaste is 1000parts fluoride and kids one is 500parts. Of course if swallow in large quantities will not be good for them, that's y they recommend that u just dab the tooth paste and not squeeze out a lot like you see in advertisement.

i also thought that fluoride-free is better for them at this age, but since the dentist is the expert, i definitely will follow his advise. i advise bringing the tods for a checkup better. especially if your kids are taking sweet stuff.

FYI: Jae doesn't take much sweet stuff. No milo, ribena, ice cream, sweets, chocolates, crackers, biscuits etc. But still got cavities!! dunno where it came from. I thought it was through nursing, but dentist said that nursing and bottles usually causes tooth decay at the front teeth and not the molars..

Glee,

which dentist u calling? Kids Dentist at Camden? that time i wanted the earliest weekDAY appt, its date was 2 weeks later. then i called then up again to check if anyone changed appt then can slot me in. Luckily got one on the following day. u may want to try.. hehe..

choco,

my poor boy is deprived of all the yummy stuff. Of course once or twice a month, he might get a bite off my donut or a lick off my ice cream. :x

jang,
yeap Camden kids dentist on the #13. I tot of bringing her there next mon as i m on leave but the earliest available appt is mid sep so i've to opt for appt on a sat and the earliest for that is in Oct.. but nvm better late than never, and i better get the kids toothpaste tonight. My gal takes lotsa sweet stuff, thou she is using first teeth everyday, but hearing from your experience its quite worrying as it will be terrible if she has a toothache.
thanks for sharing

Jang,
no worries hahaha I am not Dr Lam maaa.. besides its good to have 2nd opinion and yes I would also want to avoid GA!! geez.. too young lah!

Which pedodontic at camden did u go to? Ike is a super lover for sweet stuffs and lately been fighting off toothbrushing again!! T2!!!

Nining,

the dentist at Camden is called Kids Dentist.

This is the website if you are interested. http://www.thekidsdentist.com.sg/ AFter the consultation with the dentist, there will be someone to teach u how to brush their teeth correctly. Its different from brushing adult teeth. Also realised that they are selling cheaper toothbrush. Bought at $2.40 at the dentist, saw Watson selling at $3+.

ya lor.. i lost a few nights sleep worrying about putting him under GA.. the thought of it is so scary.

Oh yes... another thing to note, since they tend to bite the toothbrush while brushing, the bristles tend to get damaged easily. We should be changing the toothbrush about once every 3 months.

Glee,

not trying to scare anyone, but its better to start young than to wait till the damage is really bad. We were lucky to escape the GA to do filling this time. Jae's cavities might be because he started teething really early too else maybe i didn't brush his teeth really clean. regretted not being persistent enough on forcing him to brush teeth.

jang,
i agree with u totally, prevention is the best cure. it can be a nightmare for all of us if the kids have to go thru toothache/filling/extraction..

jang

jae is a good boy to sit still and let the dentist check.

i can't imagine for my boy, i think need to strap him to the chair from head to hand to leg

when u r there, is there kiddos who cannot sit still and what will the dentist do?

jang,
thanks for sharing about brushing teeth. I also notice my gals teeth not as white liao. I also a lazy mummy, not so persistent in insisting them to brush teeth! really must do something liao, hai!

aiyo, my gals also cannot sit still, if u grab them, will scream loud loud! Jang, if go dentist then refuse to cooperate must charge or not???

Jang,
I use oral B toothbrush stage 1 for Ike, he's been fighting me off toothbrushing these 2 months (he was OK for about 5 months after his last rebel on brushing).. I have to pin him down and brush him.. somehow he listen to his dad better when it comes to burshing.. sssh...

thanks for the link.. yep Ike chew his brush too, I change weekly leee hahaaha.. not even last 1 month nevermind 3 months!! 1 week the tooth brush look as bad as his bottle brush!!

Twinkle,
if u oredi go inside the dentist room, even if dont sit also kena charge hahaahahah.. the thing I like bout Dr Lam is , 1st visit Ike refused to open his mouth so I still kena charge, but she gave me another appointment, then 2nd one Ike was willing to open his mouth for few minutes (2 min or so) but Dr Lam didnt charge me for him at all!

xman
i'm worried for her when she starts school but there is nothing much i can do. it's something she has to learn how she wants to handle (largely dep on her character, which does not put her at an adv at all).

puppygal
alicia's dress was very nice.

selvi
i'm using the first toothpaste with pigeon toothbrush. first toothpaste best buy from spree, locally sell much more exp.

an_gal
my fren brought her son to the dentist cos the teeth not so white, the dentist said now all kids are like that, cos of certain thing they put in sg water.

adeline
P wear c6/7 still too big, very lose. chloe eats more than p, paige drinks 2 feed of fm, 2 meals and 1 snack.

loh
congrats! the first thing that came to my mind when i saw your #2's photo is he looks so much like ivan.

miaon
not every mom is lucky enough to be able to maintain ss with just pumping. even though i pumped exclusively for P, it was a nightmare keeping ss up. now with latching and pumping, my ss much better.

re: vitagen/yakult
wah, P has never tasted it before. her regular liquids are fm, fresh milk, soy milk, milo, delrosa, and water. tho now and then she gets sips from mom and dad, like starbucks green tea frappe. sweet talk mango smoothie. :D

choco
can but it's low resolution.

xman
what pump are you using? sound like the change in behavior is to seek attention.

jang
jae doesn't eat much sweet thing at all huh? does it have anything to do with your diet? cos i remember you love ice cream and chocolate. :p ebm is already sweet, our diet could make it sweeter. esp if we latch bb to sleep then ebm still in the mouth. did dentist say anything abt that?

nining
you're worse than me, i change it once a month. lol

loh
just read your post on jealousy. give ivan some time and pay lots of attention to the "situation". when you handle #2, dad should handle #1. the you should set aside time to spend specially with ivan and let someone take care of #2. involve him in taking care of didi.

the r/s between #1 and #2 was our biggest worry throughout my pgy, thank goodness things were much better than expected. P was not jealous of L at all and accepted her without reserve.

Hi jang,
Thanks for sharing abt brushing teeth and seeing the dentist. I've been looking for a child-friendly dentist coz my girl I imagine would be screaming her lungs out at my regular dentist.

Anyway just to share, one day I noticed my girl's two front teeth had light grey streaks like some kind of stain on them....and it was getting darker. I was surfing the net on the causes and one of the possibilities is the high iron content in formula. One dentist online recommended baking soda to get rid of the stains. Just put a little bit with the toothpaste and brush. I tried on my girl and it worked! The stains are gone. But they keep coming back, so I do the baking soda brush abt once a week.

But now I'm worried abt cavaties and decay after reading your post! And so I asked my PD when should we bring our kids to the dentist and how often. She recommended first visit by 2 years old. Will definetely be bringing my girl to see the dentist at Camden.

choco,

don't think any of our kids here can sit really still, including Jaeden. he really surprised me when he opened his mouth long enough for the dentist to check.
Maybe he already had experience at dentist with the previous trip. in between his visits, i kept telling him about the dentist is going to check his teeth with that mirror thing. His cousin has this toy dentist set, i'll let him hold it and check my teeth and vice verse. Not sure this had helped. He wouldn't be strapped to the chair la... hehehe... the dentist will ask mummy to lie on the chair then put the child on top of the mummy facing the ceiling. In this case the child will feel more comfortable. I find it quite effective. At the 1st dentist, he sat on the chair but didn't really lie down. With this method, he was able to lie down.

twinkle,

i'm quite sure u will have to pay the moment u step in. Don't think you u have to worry too much. As they specialise with young children, should have many ways of getting them to cooperate?

Nining,

i'm using Oral B stage 2 for Jae, its for 2-4years old? Anyway, i bought the dentist recommended toothbrush which is the colgate one with Pikachu. think the difference not much, only the handle part fatter, easier for parents to grip?

I might change toothbrush every 2-3 weeks also. The bristles always "open mouth" after one week. aiyo..

Jete,

I've been blaming myself for letting him nurse to sleep since young thus causing the cavities. But dentist mentioned that cavities caused by nursing or milk bottles are usually at the front tooth. The molar cavities are caused by sticky sugar, biscuits, candies, chocolates etc. So... i don't think its my diet?

Something to share before i forget again, totally unrelated to teeth:

Please avoid taking Chrysler cabs. You have the right to reject boarding the cab even when its your turn at a taxi queue.

The cab looks very prestige, like Merc cab. But unlike Merc with flag down at $3.20, Chrysler flag down at $5.00. Every meter jump is 30cents!

That time we didn't know. After loading all the groceries and stroller, we hopped into the cab, then realised. Luckily it was from Vivo to redhill only. But the damage was bad enough. Nobody in the right mind will want to board that cab unless they didn't know the pricing or its on company's tab.

jang,
wow that is so unfair for not letting passengers know in advance, just queue in the taxi lane like that!

Long long time never post already thought read a bit here and there when free.
Hope you mummies had enjoyed the birthday bash.
<font color="aa00aa">Nining</font>,
You have always been such a good organiser in all the gathering. Next time can be event co-ordinator

<font color="aa00aa">Cin</font>,
I have heard you loud, you misses us? kekeke I'll bring Qweii and Quinnlyn over to visit you soon. Now whenever we talks about gg swiming, Qweii will ask for Lele. Wahahaha.

<font color="aa00aa">Xman/Miaon/Loh</font>,
Congrats on your #2's arrival. Now it time to put everything you have learnt to take care of #1 into use again. This is what I called getting more experience with each new addition in the family.

<font color="aa00aa">Xman/Loh</font>
It is very very common for your #1 to behave in this manner with a newborn. Imagine they had the attention and love of both mummy and Daddy for the past 2 years and now we are telling them we need to share the love between sibling. (My SIL's 8 years old dd could not accept the fact that she had a new sibling when her mum gave birth last year. After all, she has been having all the attention to herself for the past 7 years). If a 7 yr old kid can behave that way, what more a young 2 yrs old toddler right? So now the key word is to be patient and patient toward them. Show a lot of TLC for #1.
<font color="aa00aa">Loh</font>,
If possible, dun send Ivan off to the nannny's care during this period. If there is a helper like confinement lady around to help, let her handle #2 and you take care of Ivan. Though it will be very tiring for you, but you will be surprise at how fast he will accept the new sibling. By sending him away at this period will only makes him feel even more insecure that now mummy only loves Didi and that is why he is off at the nanny's hse. (Children are very strange. They know alot of thing even w/o being told. They are very good obsever)
<font color="aa00aa">Xman</font>,
Ruoxi's regression toward potty is common. She is not able to accept meimei. In fact, meimei's pressence is upsetting her that causes her to reject potty when she was used to be potty/toilet trained. She is doing it for attention. You are right in putting her back to diaper again. Alternative, you prepared to let her go w/o diaper BUT if she poo or pee in her panty, dun dun scold her. Tell her how upset you are and you need her to behave. If she ever poo/pee in toilet from now on, do praise her and compare that this is something that she can do that baby can't. You may wish to refer to these links for more read up:
http://www.babyzone.com/askanexpert/potty-training-problems-so-close
http://baby.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Potty_Training_Problems

For me I did not faced much of this issue. I was constantly reminded of being tactful to Qweii's feeling. What I did then was:
1) When I 1st came back from the hospital, I carried Qweii immediately and show Lyn, whose was then in cot to her.

2) After 3rd day of my confinment, I started taking care of Qweii myself, from feeding to playing and bathing.

3) Whenever I had time, I will carry Qweii. When Lyn cried, I will carry her to cot and show her that Lyn is crying. Then I will ask her, "Lynlyn is crying. She wants mummy, can I carry her?" Usually she will said yes. When there are a time or 2, she said No, I will request her to help. I carry the crying #2 and place on her lap. Then she heard the loud wail right infront of her, she will push Lyn away and point "want mummy" indicating yes, I can go ahead and attend to #2.

4) I will breast feed Lyn with Qweii sitting beside me. Usually we will be reading a book/watching cartoon or chit-chatting while I nurse Lyn. She knows that after Lyn, it will be her turn to bf. (Breastfeeding helps to cub sibling rivalry cos they have a common interest i.e my breast)and anyway I nursed Qweii she is day 1 old throughout my entire pregnancy. I do not want her to feel that mummy's breast is solely Lyn after her arrival. So I continued with tandem breastfeeding.

5) I rope her in helping to throw a soiled diaper for Lyn. Help to splash water when bathing lyn etc.

6) I started calling her Qweii Jiejie instead of just her name. I gave her a title of being jiejie is very important.

<font color="aa00aa">Miaon</font>,
Be it latching or pumping, it is still a good job
Till now, I latched and pumped. I will latch Lyn 1st, followed by Qweii and finallt a pump. This is because Lyn is such a small drinker since birth and I need to build up my ss through pumping. Then it become with Lyn and Qweii's latching, my breast is still not completely emptied so I had to resort to pumping and also to give her ebm. But in the end, it become overly supply and my freezer was bursting. To clear the stock, I ended up giving Lyn a breast milk spa when she was 6 month old and the rest to my cats.

2824359.jpg

Lyn's milk spa in 10 over litres of bm.

<font color="aa00aa">2nd time mums</font>,
Hang in there. Jia you
Time flies w/o you realising it. I was the 1st to gave birth to #2 in this thread and today she is already 9th month old. (Next month have to start plaaing for her 1st birthday bash)
Some pictures of the kiddos to share

2824360.jpg

Qweii at 24 month with catty

2824361.jpg

Quinnlyn at 9th month old

2824362.jpg

The sisters. Now they are the best playmate for each other.

snnowy,

u r such a good mummy,thanks for spend time to sharing yr experience, I will try some of yr method to ruoxi see if it helps. I tried to let ruoxi latch on, at first she said she doesnt want, then when i tried very hard to persuade her to drink mummy's milk, she's ok liao but so bad she totally forgot how to latch on. so my ss still not so high, just enough for #2, and some of the days still need to top up like 20 to 40ml FM, #2 is a small eater too, but she kept want latch on, can't sleep longer i guess her stomach really too small liao.

time flies, so fast Quinnlyn already 9 months old, and her eye's so bright and big, Qweii is a happy and lovely sister, hope my 2 gals are so loving too later.

and I just read the article that u post,it really helps, the problems there seems exactly the problems i encountered now. I may just stop ruoxi for toilet training at the moment and start again later.

Snnowy,
good GOd!!! You have so much ss until can throw into tub and cats!!! hahaahah!! I am so shocked!!
And you're such a ZEN mom!!