(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

Mashmallow
Pte had package for even B1 ward...werby kk package only for class A ward.. so pte after everything may be couple hundred bucks diff (my friend who gave birth in Mt A bill was cheaper than mine)

caitlyn,

happened to read ur posting. I think the stretch mark cream u bought not enof to last all the way. I was using Palmer's stretch mark cream. towards the last trimester it was 1 tube every 2 1/2weeks! Applied 2xs a day n only tummy n hips area.

thanks lin & mich
next appt in 3 weeks time, cant wait! hehe

today went shopping for maternity wear and bought 3 skirts
couldnt find any baby doll dresses though...

thanks Hiroshima and Mich for the advises on flashcard...not sure if i will be discipline to do..keke

Mich, i got ya pm on the 2 brands...will take note when buying pumps..thanks!

I am expecting my 2nd bb in next yr june.. 1st 1 is a boy, which is born this yr may... haha.. very close in age..

this bb edd still unsure yet cos my menses was messy.. only at 12 wk, dr can cfm.. tentativelyy it's 21 jun..

catilyn,

agree with littletot. u will need lots of stretch mark cream esp towards the end of the pregnancy.. u will itcch like mad as ur skin stretches..

mashmallow.. i am doing flashcard for my son now but not sure whether it helps him. but i juz continue doing it hoping that he will absord abit..yeah not easy for wking moms but u will try to do it for the sake of ur child

peng,

same here. My ger born this yr may. Haha... jus found out i'm pregnant with bb no.2
. EDD not sure yet but likely to b jul. Will c doc week after when there's heart beat

Regarding flashcard, i think dun have to buy so expensive 1s. I bought mine at a bookstore in suntec.ABCs 1 box cost $6.90 i think.

Hi gers!

I'm feeling better these days. Went to gynae on Thur. Doc said bb on the big side. 8 weeks but looks like 9 weeks. A bit scared.

Later hoping hb got energy go shopping with me. Thinking of going to Suntec to walk walk. Maybe get some maternity pants.

My Doc is Dr A.L. Lim from TMC. EDD June 16. But doc said bb big, so date may change. Anyone with similar experience. Should I eat less so bb becomes smaller? I'm not eating anything herbal yet. No appetite also la. Sometimes tummy good. Sometimes bad.

any1 here encounter stomachache always.. dun reali know y ? i m onli in 10 weeks.. sometimes the pain is unbearable... couldnt be the bb kicking me right??

Jolene
Baby should not start kicking now as their limbs have not fully develope yet...

phy 'o'
bb on the big side.. then ur doc will have u take blood test...if u dun have the preggie diabetes then is no problem... my1st bb also a little on the big side from 20+ weeks onwards but now he is so short...arghhhhhhh
but what i heard from my mum, and from my boi could be quite true... a baby born not too prematurely and a bit on the big side is easier to care of as fewer incident of reflux... not sure is it true but my boi dun reflux much from baby....

Jolene
Pls check with doc if ur stomachache is too frequent and unbearable.... and provided u dun constipate... my stomach also pain sometimes but due to constipation....kekekekek

I dun take milk...... I hate the smell...and dun dare to drink..... so i take calcium tablet instead....

Glayz
thx for ur advise.. but i dun have constipation.. hehe.. has when to see doc just now.. but she say tis " oh i see, mayb u cant figure which pain u r having.. mayb its a pass motion pain " .. ...........wat the hell s it ??? doesnt i know myself well ?..

Hi Sweet,

Cornual ectopic is when the embyo / sac is seen in the uterus but very close to the fallopian tubes, so it could still rupture. Doctor suspected I was cornual at first but says the pregnancy has now grown inwards into the uterus, so I'm safe.

Sporty, you can read about weight gain here. In the first trimester, 3-5 pounds is recommended for most women but more if you are underweight at the beginning or less if overweight.
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/aboutpregweightgain.html

Hi Lin, thanks, it was a huge relief. One more hurdle crossed!

Mich, the $2600 includes :
-visits from week 12 onwards
- antenatal supplements
- urine tests for sugar and albumin
- ultrasound at each visit
- normal delivery fee
- one post-natal visit
It excludes the actual hospital fees which will come up to another $2000 or so. Nurse said in total about $5K.

Phy-O, did the doctor say how big your baby is at week 8? Maybe you are in week 9 and not week 8, but Dr is basing your gestational age on LMP. Dont worry too much. I think you should eat healthily still. But best to ask Doctor.

Jolene, how do the stomachaches feel like? Cramp or sharp pain? There are several possible reasons for stomachache... could be constipation, connective tissue stretching, endometriosis, cysts, or just gas in the intestines. Best to tell your doctor and describe in detail.

Lizardess, another Dr at TMC recommended me a milk powder specially formulated for expecting mums. Let me check and let you know coz I'm thinking of taking too. I don't drink milk at all but maybe if add to milo, still bearable.

Sweet and Twiggy - glad to hear that your c/up went really well

Sweet - of course you can still join us here
Don't be a stranger hehe ... so comfortable with this gynae?

Twiggy - wow $5k quite a big amount for normal delivery
(should be for 1 bedder
) but if you are very comfortable with Dr Thong, then of course must stay with her
So payment is at one go or at stages?

littletot and peng: congrats and welcome

Talking about stretchmark creams - I haven't go and buy yet!

Cary
dun worry..u not the only one... i also duno what to buy...had bought some butter from Little dreamers previously, the butter get absorbed very well.... but it stinks and ultra oily...not too sure where is the cream now.... but if use mothercare one when u bath...the area u apply on will feel oily means that the cream is not absorbed by the body.....

twiggy..icic.. great that your bb is doing great!
i m interested in the milk powder too! pls keep me informed too.. hehe

cary, this Dr Wong is a bit on the quiet side, so we are still not too sure if we gonna stick with him.. still discussing.. hehe

yesterday, i also just bought the mustela anti stretch mark cream, planning to use that in the day and the clarins one in the nite

btw, i couldnt find the heart mointor in mothercare

Lizardness, I also don't like milk, so I will live with calcium tablets. Other wise I drink a lot or calcium fortified soy milk.

Hi Twiggy, the charges sound ok to me. I did a break down of what I will be paying my gynae and it comes up to be abt the same as yours. My gynae also reputed to be more expensive.
- $600 for package from week 20
- $100 detailed scan
- $300 for supplements
- $200 for blood tests etc
- $1050 for normal delivery

$5K sounds about right. That was what I spent on my first baby - I stayed at the 1 bedder at Mt Alvernia. But I remember about half or so comes from medisave so I think I paid cash about $2K plus. I wanted to stay at the 2 bedder but my hubby said that for privacy sake we should spend the little bit more. And it was good coz he was able to stay over with me as well in the 1 bedder.

Jolene, did you see your gynae or the GP? If its your gynae who give such advice, abit scary lah... think better go see a good gynae coz all aches/pains should be checked out.

Sweet: try thyme maternity in taka for the heart monitor machine thingy....

formular milk powder for pregnanct women... My hubby used to force me to drink it in my last pregnancy... I hate the taste and usually throw up soon after..... so this pregnancy... we decided not to waste money buying stuff that i throw up at the end of the day!

hi littlethots

So qiao.. hee hee.. real careless aren't we? hee hee.. so how's ur bb doing? worried that can't cope with such a young bb?

talking abt milk.. i used to love milk in my 1st pregnancy, drink abt 4 cups per day... as a result, i was so fat!! so if u dun drink milk, oso good cos hopefully dun gain so much milk.. but this time round, i dun like milk.. my appettite for food is so different from the last pregnancy..

jolene, hmm.. i used to have cramps in my last pregnancy cos the utertus is expanding.. but the best is to check with ur dr...

hi cary, thks

Sweet, i bought the heart monitor from kiddy last time.It says can hear heartbeat from 5mths onwards.I try n try n finally could only hear ard 8mths!By then can feel baby moving all the time! So it became white elephant

As for FM for pregnant women, i took Anmum for my 1st pregnancy so i think will continue with this pregnancy ba

mashmallow, peng, i also bought the flashcards from the bulk purchase when my son was 6mths old. Now he is 15mths and they are all still sitting in the box covered with a lid. No dust yet.. haha

Flashcard
I din even bought any..kekekeke lazy mummy will not flash one... I just put my boi in front of tv and on some programmes like ur baby can read for him to watch...

Good morning mommies

how's yr weekend? I had a good one..

Hi Twiggy, the good satay stall is located at Clementi Central (opp. POSB Bank)...always got ppl queuing..i just had it last Friday..yum!

Hi Mommies with MSN messenger, can add me in? then can chat when free
my msn - [email protected]

my next gynea visit is in 1 dec...still a long way...sometimes worry how bb is doing..anyone feels the same way like me?

where can i find the mustela cream? any mommy can advise? meanwhile i am only using normal moisturizer cream like jergen..ok?

Elizabeth
Its normal to worry...really....
but once we went to see gynae and see the scan...our heart will ease for time being before the whole worrying starts again....

hi cary, managed to get 1 bra for myself...bought it from Taka, the counter sales gal who took my measurment is very experienced.....I managed to fit into 90D size....

wow, didnt know that kiddy palace has the heart mointor thingy.. but if can only heard from 8mth onwards, then not very "wu hua".. hahaha

elizabeth, my next appt is also on 1st Dec!
the mustela cream u can get from kiddy palace..

gd morning ger,

tis tread is real fast..

re: hanging clothes

mashahllow, i'm not sure what effect would be on the baby or if there is. i think the concern of stretching to hang cloth is more of a precautious not to over stretch yourself that may affect preganancies. cos it is heavy when there is over load on a pole. and since you r in your 5th mth..then u need not worry cos it did not mention abt the development of the baby.

but i would strongly recommend u not to do hsework like wat u doing which is heavy and tough...folding clothes will be good enough.

re: flash card

flashing of card to infant at earlier age do help...it is all abt early development. which will stimulate the child brain when there is huge amount of object flash in front of them.

like nicky's mom, we had the same set bought from the BP which still seat in the box...the reason is that those GD card is bulky and heavy and not easy to control when flashing.

we had only used the math card (dots) and flashing of picture card which is samller and due to our work we only manage to flash to him over wkend and twice over wkday...to my first son...i'm not sure how much it work on him but heard from friend and parent is that son is smart for his age.

hope it is truth lor...

Hi Twiggy,

same as you
I've gone to the gynae on sat. My baby's growing well too ..and i have to go back in 3 weeks' time to do the down sydrome test too.. i think they called it the OSCAR test.

hey gals.. went to my gynae for check up last sat.. now bb is 8wks+ old.. 2.01cm..
bb is waving his hand at us too when doc was doing the scanning.. so exciting.. heehee..
but doc scolded me for losing weight.. hai..
gotta c him again next friday.. ;o)
btw my msn is [email protected]

Hi Janice

my bb also 8wks + but only 1.85 cm leh altough doctor say normal size but from the books i read seems small ... I tot losing weight is normal during first trimester esp if u have MS ?

Janice, i'm in my 9th week.
Also went gynae last sat and also saw bb waving his hand at us.
So cute!

I lost 3kg since preg.
Am still getting MS and headache now.
what abt you?

those mommies week 10 and above, are you guys feeling better? my tiredness is getting better...can shop half day w/o feeling Zzzz nauseas also limit to evening only...

hi twiggy, i am scheduled to do the test in my week12 too.. heard from the nurse must test between week12 to 13, else too late to test liao...

This morning is bad. Couldn't control my vomit. So floor and t-shirt also have. Had to rest also as I was having a bad headache.

Just wondering, anyone here goes to your gynae for MC? My gynae did say I can go and ask for MC, but I dun really know how to tell the doc. Any advise?

hi tanzz, i understand from my gynae that usually they have to do it between 11-13 weeks coz this is the end of the 1st trimester and they can meansure the thickness of the fetus' neck to determine if there is any abnormalities.

My gynae gave me a booklet to read on this. I supposed you gals got this too?

hello mummies...
morning to all
went for me scan on sat to see my bb..am in my 10 week 3 days.bb very active inside kicking legs and hands..when bb saw us look at him/her , he/she turn it's body then out the thumb inside his/her mouth and sucks...haha so funni..bb is 3.5cm big now

lizardess,

I'm also in the 9th week now...how come u gals can see the hands waving? I only can see a 22.5cm bean with a heartbeat pounding very fast..am i supposed to see the hands and legs now? getting abit worried now...:s

hmm...quite a few bought the GD cards ah...

JT
guess i better pass the housework to my hubby from now on..anyway, i do take note not to overdo if i am doing the housework..
by the way, the maths card (dot) also from GD or you DIY?